View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44

Forever Red
28/11/2010, 3:42 PM
will defo be a loss to regional boyblue. both good players for regional the last couple of seasons

Janesboro 2 - 3 Mungret

Big three points for Mungret this morning, espeicially given we had alot of players out and were definately without 4 starters at least. Boro started well and scored through a def pen after about 25mins. (Glasheen took it) Mungret had a good few chances and deservedly equalised through McNicholas after 40mins. The second have was a very good contest. Boro scored a free kick with about 20 mins left. Mungret started to push and to be fair Boro could of got one or two on the break but Mungret got level when Ger Burke swiveled and shot with about 10 left. We won it with 2 or 3 minutes left again through Keith McNicholas. Not much in it but a great result for us. Finally, the boro pitch was unreal this morning - definately think its the best pitch in town.

abbeyvale
29/11/2010, 10:16 AM
Table updated above

trueview6
29/11/2010, 12:10 PM
poor result for the boro 4pts away from the bottom two.

gaidin
29/11/2010, 3:34 PM
poor result for the boro 4pts away from the bottom two.

Balla in 4th and they are only 5points off the bottom two.

Cueball
29/11/2010, 6:32 PM
You must be some sort of a genius to have figured that one out:lamp:

leather
30/11/2010, 3:22 PM
poor result, if you dont take your chances that is what happens....
my compliments on your mathematical skills.

leather
01/12/2010, 9:05 AM
Lads, just got word that Tom power Snr has passed on. probably one of the best refs ever to don the black in Limerick...our thoughts are with his family who have had a few tough year...

leather
01/12/2010, 1:00 PM
Funeral arrangements for Thomas Power is crosses tomorrow night 4.30-6pm
and our lady of Loudres church Friday at 11am.

Inswinger
02/12/2010, 12:58 PM
Hi lads, just wondering what the pitch in Knockainey is like, big, small, wide, tight? Surface? Cheers

balls
02/12/2010, 1:04 PM
its fairly poor pitch but there a good side plenty of talent and enormous heart. there pitch is near bruff co limerick a difficult side to beat on there own patch

faces
03/12/2010, 8:22 AM
anyone hear that all games off the weekend.

xpskid
03/12/2010, 11:16 AM
anyone hear that all games off the weekend.
All off bar the MJC

historynut
05/12/2010, 10:38 PM
Am aware Pike Rovers were Limerick Premier League Champions last season, anyoe able to confirm runners-up - cheers

lfc at heart
09/12/2010, 9:47 AM
sunday 12th dec
KBO Premier League
Mungret Reg v Regional Utd, 11.00, M Kiely Shannon Town v Ballynanty Rvs, 11.00, G Clancy Aisling v Corbally Utd, 11.00, R Peiper,

happy days
09/12/2010, 11:44 AM
just proves how bad league is pike+view way to strong for other teams

Bout as competitive as the Desmond league at this stage....Agree Pike and View miles ahead and will only get stronger. Regional and Boro gone backwards which is a pity.. Regional are a joke of a club if you ask me. They are a golf society playing soccer..Some players returned to there roots ( from regional) and realised too many mediocre players in there thinking they are GOD...Ye know who i'm on bout !!!

faces
09/12/2010, 11:56 AM
Bout as competitive as the Desmond league at this stage....Agree Pike and View miles ahead and will only get stronger. Regional and Boro gone backwards which is a pity.. Regional are a joke of a club if you ask me. They are a golf society playing soccer..Some players returned to there roots ( from regional) and realised too many mediocre players in there thinking they are GOD...Ye know who i'm on bout !!!
lads its easily say pike and the view are miles ahead.but if everyone stuck to their own it would be a better league.

Fairkop
09/12/2010, 9:23 PM
the way things are going that gap between pike,view and the rest will widen especially where pike are concerned,bar one or two almost all players leaving leag of ireland locally are gone or will go to pike so hard to compete with that.the standard of football in the premier is at one of its worst periods ever and the difference in points total between the top two and the rest will make interesting reading at seasons end.

faces
10/12/2010, 8:40 AM
the way things are going that gap between pike,view and the rest will widen especially where pike are concerned,bar one or two almost all players leaving leag of ireland locally are gone or will go to pike so hard to compete with that.the standard of football in the premier is at one of its worst periods ever and the difference in points total between the top two and the rest will make interesting reading at seasons end.

its not a bad league.get rid of pike and fairview and it would be a super league.im not disrespecting them but they should go league of ireland as they have a lot of league of ireland players anyway.

Goals4fun
10/12/2010, 9:39 AM
its not a bad league.get rid of pike and fairview and it would be a super league.im not disrespecting them but they should go league of ireland as they have a lot of league of ireland players anyway.

get rid of pike and fairview and you will be left with a average league to be honest. when was the last time, a team outside pike and fairview to win a munster or national cup (at junior level).

if the players they have are of league of ireland standard then the players should sign with LOI clubs.....not try and convert a club due to the players it has now....

faces
10/12/2010, 11:53 AM
get rid of pike and fairview and you will be left with a average league to be honest. when was the last time, a team outside pike and fairview to win a munster or national cup (at junior level).

if the players they have are of league of ireland standard then the players should sign with LOI clubs.....not try and convert a club due to the players it has now....
i agree with you lad but if fairview or pike hadnt the league of ireland players they wouldnt be winning those.fairview beat us 3 0 last year in quarter final of fai.i reckon if they hadnt their league of ireland players we could have got a result.thats the difference.i seriously think the ldmc should look at junior clubs signing of loi players and put a halt to it.one minute they are geting paid in loi and the next they can tog out in junior soccer.ridiculous.

balls
10/12/2010, 12:18 PM
its the same in most top junior leagues lads im sure alot of clubs in tipp feel the same bout clonmel town and saint michaels but what can you do only just get on with it. although i must admit pike and view really do have alot of ex loi players, but thats due to limerick fc having very high turnover of players over past 5 or 6 years with 20s team and a league players included too so there are alot of players in the city who can claim to be ex loi players, the only thing that would worry me is if pike signed john tierney then you would clearly see something was wrong, no way should a player of his ability be going back playing junior football

thomas72
10/12/2010, 12:50 PM
if john tierney has gone to pike that is a frightening signing for pike and one which will leave every other club in the town including fairview miles behind. tierney is a premier LOI player hw will destroy junior clubs in town. the league is so one sided with view and pike signings like this will make it impossable to compete.

balls
10/12/2010, 1:19 PM
tierney is wanted by cork , waterford half the loi first division and in my opinion could easily play premier loi on the wing he may not score enough as a central striker to play for top loi club up front, but at junior level his pace strength and skill would be frightening, pike will walk fai if he comes aboard

faces
10/12/2010, 2:18 PM
tierney is wanted by cork , waterford half the loi first division and in my opinion could easily play premier loi on the wing he may not score enough as a central striker to play for top loi club up front, but at junior level his pace strength and skill would be frightening, pike will walk fai if he comes aboard

what you basicaly have is two loi teams playing in the junior league.its a joke really that it has gone to this.the league and cups will be shared between them with pike geting most if not all.would it not be in there interest to try and improve themselves at a higher level than winning everything every year in the junior league.

tedd11
10/12/2010, 4:25 PM
i dont know about league of ireland lads but they should both consider going munster senior league.mervue havent exactly made the transition to league of ireland very well.i think pike and fairview would both be near the bottom of the first division in loi but would be strong in munster senior league against the likes of rockmount and douglas hall etc.cant see pike doing it tho until they win that coveted first fai junior cup.if both them reams combined subs left to join other teams or there original clubs it would close the gap some bit.such a waste for quality players to be wasting there time warming the bench constantly and getting afew mins here and there.medals mean nothing if your warming the bench all year.

blinkx
10/12/2010, 6:23 PM
At the moment, it isn't worth the time for a Limerick Team to join the MSL, the vast majority of the teams are from Cork, which would mean a trip to Cork nearly every second weekend.

At the end of the day, your always going to have the better players being attracted to the clubs who are challenging in the later stages of the MJC and FAI most years. It's just the way it is. If Fairview and Pike went up a level you'd have another 2 teams replacing them, you'd be hard pushed to find a league where more than 4 teams have a realistic chance of winning the league.

silvercircle
10/12/2010, 6:57 PM
Pike already left junior football in the 50s to play in the munster senior league, and I can never see that happining again..as a life long Pike supporter I get more enjoyment when pike play the view..Boro..balla..Star..Carew pak..and ballylanders...on that point I would not follow pike to matches in the mun senior league..but would continue to be a pike supporter.

abbeyvale
10/12/2010, 11:04 PM
what you basicaly have is two loi teams playing in the junior league.its a joke really that it has gone to this.the league and cups will be shared between them with pike geting most if not all.would it not be in there interest to try and improve themselves at a higher level than winning everything every year in the junior league.

A bit like Celtic and Rangers in Scotland...................same colours aswell.

IMO..........There should be a max of ex LOI players (ie: that have played LOI in the previous 5 seasons) allowed sign for a Junior club, but then again what can you do when players only want one thing these days.....................with trophies being second choice

blueboy2
10/12/2010, 11:10 PM
I think they have a bigger budget than celtic and rangers though.

abbeyvale
10/12/2010, 11:11 PM
I think they have a bigger budget than celtic and rangers though.

And thats the truth

Spindoctor
14/12/2010, 12:24 AM
you are suggesting that Fairview and Pike should go and play in another league...let me make a suggestion to you..go and play in the Desmond league where ye belong.
These clubs are only allowed to field 4 or 5 regraded players each season and there are other clubs in town with ex-LOI players(Aisling,Boro,Carew).
The success and the fantastic facilities you associate with these two clubs are far more likely to be attracting these players and afterall who could blame these lads for wanting to be the best and being part of the best clubs in town!

lfc at heart
14/12/2010, 9:58 AM
fair play to Pike and View they are a credit to the Limerick League I think the standard of football in both Pike and Fairview is what all junior soccor clubs should be aiming for in Limerick but I do think there should be a limit on how many players each team can sign because the present rules mean that pike and fairview can sign as many players as they want and can have very good players sitting on the bench all season. all this does is make every other team in the league(s) weaker

its a shame that good players are willing to sit on the bench all season just to collect a medal, they cant really say i helped a team to win a league or cup if they played 3 or 4 games all season, to be honest players sitting n the bench all season havent really contributed to anything except make the other teams weaker.

it would be interesting to see if a rule was brought in that said only 20 players can sign for each team that way the likes of Aisling, boro, carew, bala and the rest of the teams would might get some of the players siting on the bench all season and it would bring up the quality of these teams but until this rule is brought in it will be Pike and view every year, mainly Pike as they are the best junior team in the country at the moment

Roadend
14/12/2010, 10:25 AM
I'm not involved in either team but why should a rule be brought in to limit signings. If a player wants to go up and warm the bench for either of these sides what can you do. At the end of the day its all about playing a game of a Sunday and if they are willing to go up and watch on from the sidelines that is their choice, however ridiculous the rest of us think it is.

Roadend
14/12/2010, 12:34 PM
,just another bit of news all referees have to get garda vetted so u will see one or two of them leaving by the end of the season
Why, what have you done?

abbeyvale
14/12/2010, 1:19 PM
KBO Premier Lge P W D L F A Pts
Fairview Rgs 12 12 0 0 35 11 36
Pike Rovers 11 10 0 1 35 6 30
Regional Utd 10 7 1 2 23 13 22
Ballynanty Rovers 11 4 4 3 28 25 16
Mungret Reg 11 3 3 5 22 27 12
Janesboro 10 4 0 6 16 26 12
Carew Park 8 3 2 3 17 12 11
Corbally Utd 10 3 2 5 13 22 11
Kilmallock 9 3 1 5 19 15 10
Aisling Annacotty 10 3 0 7 15 24 9
Star Rvs 10 2 2 6 11 22 8
Shannon Town 12 0 1 11 10 41 1

Fixtures
Sun 19/12/10
Kilmallock v Carew Park, 11.00, J Carey

faces
14/12/2010, 3:13 PM
KBO Premier Lge P W D L F A Pts

Fixtures
Sun 19/12/10
Kilmallock v Carew Park, 11.00, J Carey

cant see it going ahead

thomas72
19/12/2010, 10:14 AM
kilmallock v carew park is still down to go ahead the man on the moon can see this game is not going to go ahead BUT for the second time in five weeks carew are going to be made travel out to kilmallock to be told go home its off this is a complete joke what are the LDMC up to at all

thomas72
19/12/2010, 12:11 PM
kilmallock v carew park is still down to go ahead the man on the moon can see this game is not going to go ahead BUT for the second time in five weeks carew are going to be made travel out to kilmallock to be told go home its off this is a complete joke what are the LDMC up to at all

kilmallock v carew park OFF

team just leaving the clubhouse when they were told well done LDMC :bigsmile:

HuRya
19/12/2010, 1:16 PM

In fairness now Thomas,Buzz Aldrin or Neil Armstrong can hardly see the Kilmallock pitch from up there!?

Fairkop
19/12/2010, 6:25 PM
kilmallock v carew park OFF

team just leaving the clubhouse when they were told well done LDMC :bigsmile:

A lot of people were put out today by one man,are the rest of the ldmc sheep or are they going to speak up.
Nearly every league was pulled early,but our man must have been looking at the mediteranean forecast instead.
One ref rang him up to check of an afternoon match and was told to carry on it would be ok.
The clubs would want to get up to the meeting and stop this solo artist in his tracks.

blinkx
20/12/2010, 9:43 AM
A lot of people were put out today by one man,are the rest of the ldmc sheep or are they going to speak up.
Nearly every league was pulled early,but our man must have been looking at the mediteranean forecast instead.
One ref rang him up to check of an afternoon match and was told to carry on it would be ok.
The clubs would want to get up to the meeting and stop this solo artist in his tracks.

Tragically bad pun, but 100% agreed. LDMC seem to have lost sight of the main reasons they're there... Clubs as of recently seem to be getting the short end of the stick.

widow
21/12/2010, 10:07 AM
Thats a complete joke in fairness. All games should be called off on the Friday in this weather. As for the Pike and Fairview dominance. As far as I can see it's Pike dominating and Fairview are the only ones challenging them. Think we all remember how dominent the view were in the 90's, think they won 8 out of the 10 premier leagues that decade as well as dominating provinical and national cups and that ended like Pike's dominance will end. The rest of the league just has to try and compete and get better. Also this talk of league of ireland players coming back to junior soccer. I've seen alot of LOI players who weren't very good at all over the years. So everyone has to stop wingeing over this club signed him and that club signed him, its not fair ****e. Pike often only have 3 subs so they aren't the reason why the rest of the league is gone to the dogs. Concentrate on yourselves.

tedd11
21/12/2010, 3:04 PM
Thats a complete joke in fairness. All games should be called off on the Friday in this weather. As for the Pike and Fairview dominance. As far as I can see it's Pike dominating and Fairview are the only ones challenging them. Think we all remember how dominent the view were in the 90's, think they won 8 out of the 10 premier leagues that decade as well as dominating provinical and national cups and that ended like Pike's dominance will end. The rest of the league just has to try and compete and get better. Also this talk of league of ireland players coming back to junior soccer. I've seen alot of LOI players who weren't very good at all over the years. So everyone has to stop wingeing over this club signed him and that club signed him, its not fair ****e. Pike often only have 3 subs so they aren't the reason why the rest of the league is gone to the dogs. Concentrate on yourselves.

i agree with you to an extent widow.as far as i can see there are afew things affecting the quality of junior soccer as a whole.

1-lads cant afford,are being put under pressure not to by there bosses and are losing a fortune by travelling half the country for games due to work and personnel commitments.

2-there are alot of lads emigrating.

3-weather implications like mentioned at the moment with the farce thats going on over games.

4-players trying to juggle junior soccer with GAA

i dont think theres a premier club in the town or lower division clubs for that matter who havent suffered throughout the last season or two especially with the above points ive made.there are still alot of good players playing junior soccer.at the moment maybe pike just have that few more than others which is making the difference.and the fact that some of the bigger clubs are giving petrol money to lads to drive in to training and games defo helps sway a lad if they are unemployed which unfortunately alot of people are at present.
in saying all of the above tho limerick district still have one of the strongest premier divisions in the country and i think we should be all doing our best to make it better and not knock it.you get some very competitive games in the league and alot of good rivalries.

Fairkop
10/01/2011, 9:13 AM
3-weather implications like mentioned at the moment with the farce thats going on over games.

Our man in the ldmc had another good weekend,down for our match yesterday morning not knowing what was happening again,players unable to make it to our own ground to travel out the country.
We find out that the matches were off as it was on the radio the day before,our secretary wasn`t informed of this until he rang him.Are the ldmc going to continue this by not telling clubs officially, it is run by rumours of a message on the radio.I saw another team waiting around as well so they were in the same situation.

thomas72
10/01/2011, 9:41 AM

Our man in the ldmc had another good weekend,down for our match yesterday morning not knowing what was happening again,players unable to make it to our own ground to travel out the country.
We find out that the matches were off as it was on the radio the day before,our secretary wasn`t informed of this until he rang him.Are the ldmc going to continue this by not telling clubs officially, it is run by rumours of a message on the radio.I saw another team waiting around as well so they were in the same situation.

i have to agree with this if all games are called off does somebody from the ldmc ring every club secretary in all divisions surely they cant expect every club to find out by word of mouth or haven to listen to a radio to find out.

10/01/2011, 10:54 AM
Personal attacks on other members here will be met with a suspension or a permanent ban,don't say you weren't warned.

abbeyvale
10/01/2011, 12:12 PM

Sun 16/01/11
Kilmallock v Star Rvs, 11.00, R McCann
Mungret Reg v Regional Utd, 11.00, M Kiely
Corbally Utd v Shannon Town, 11.00, R Broe
Ballynanty Rvs v Fairview Rgs, 11.00, F O’Neill

historynut
10/01/2011, 2:46 PM
Re The League website, any reason why the photo gallery has been removed, was some fascinating old photos with some interesting club histories attached.

abbeyvale
12/01/2011, 10:08 PM
My Predictions:

Sun 16/01/11
Kilmallock X Star Rvs,
Mungret Reg X Regional Utd,
Corbally Utd 1 Shannon Town,
Ballynanty Rvs 2 Fairview Rgs,

True Supporter
15/01/2011, 1:09 PM
My predictions:
Kilmallock 3 Star