View Full Version : Pre-Season Rumours Thread
Dillonman
26/01/2010, 8:01 AM
Gareth O'Connor to Drogs as per Indo:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/coughlan-in-talks-about-takeover-of-cork-city-2031305.html
Hibs4Ever
26/01/2010, 8:09 AM
Gareth O'Connor to Drogs as per Indo:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/coughlan-in-talks-about-takeover-of-cork-city-2031305.html
Great signing for Drogs
Celdrog
26/01/2010, 8:21 AM
Where are Drogs getting all the money?
Just to save everyone else the bother.:D
Where are Drogs getting all the money?
Just to save everyone else the bother.:D
Spoilsport:(
GreenStar
26/01/2010, 9:55 AM
Strong rumour that Turner will sign for Rovers today....
Even stronger rumour that he won't be the only one!!
Redie
26/01/2010, 10:25 AM
Even stronger rumour that he won't be the only one!!
Even stronger stronger rumour he signed for Rovers last November.
26/01/2010, 10:27 AM
Even stronger stronger rumour he signed for Rovers last November.
Even stronger stronger stronger rumours that tey signed him on the wrong forms and the FAI wont accept it :eek:
Redie
26/01/2010, 10:40 AM
Even stronger stronger stronger rumours that tey signed him on the wrong forms and the FAI wont accept it :eek:
A bit of a weak rumour that he signed a contract that was the most valid at the time of signing. Any forms relevant or otherwise to the FAI probably did not exist.
Doomofman
26/01/2010, 10:40 AM
Haha brilliant if true
KBurke
26/01/2010, 11:08 AM
You said it. You can't sign a player for 2010 on a 2009 contract. Even Bohs didn't get that wrong.... :D
Or Derry for that matter
Redie
26/01/2010, 11:39 AM
You said it. You can't sign a player for 2010 on a 2009 contract. Even Bohs didn't get that wrong.... :D
I'm really confused. There were loads of signings announced by clubs between the end of last season and the end of the year - had a very quick look back at this thread - were all those players not really signed as such?
Also what about players who still had a year or two left on their existing contract at the end of last season - are they signed on a 2009 contract for 2010?:confused::confused:
Doomofman
26/01/2010, 11:40 AM
I'm really confused. There were loads of signings announced by clubs between the end of last season and the end of the year - had a very quick look back at this thread - were all those players not really signed as such?
Also what about players who still had a year or two left on their existing contract at the end of last season - are they signed on a 2009 contract for 2010?:confused::confused:
Yeah most players "signed" already aren't properly signed until the FAI approve a clubs budget... I know we're allowed sign players but as of a few weeks ago we were the only team allowed to do so...
Redie
26/01/2010, 11:56 AM
Yeah most players "signed" already aren't properly signed until the FAI approve a clubs budget... I know we're allowed sign players but as of a few weeks ago we were the only team allowed to do so...
Cheers Doomofman but do you know is there a difference between a player signing a contract with a club and a player being signed/registered to play in the league?
Doomofman
26/01/2010, 12:00 PM
Cheers Doomofman but do you know is there a difference between a player signing a contract with a club and a player being signed/registered to play in the league?
I'm not entirely sure... I'd have to assume from what's been said before that players can sign contracts with club all they want but it doesn't mean the FAI is going to register them, especially if it risks putting the budget of the club for the season over.
26/01/2010, 12:01 PM
I think that difference is why it's being suggested Sligo will have to pay Turner although he was technically never their player and is thus free to go to Rovers.
26/01/2010, 12:26 PM
I think that difference is why it's being suggested Sligo will have to pay Turner although he was technically never their player and is thus free to go to Rovers.
If he has a contract (in the general employment sense) with Sligo, he can't just walk out though surely. Do football contracts have one-month-notice type clauses?
26/01/2010, 12:30 PM
I suppose in the general employment sense, if he's there as little as he is, he can presumably give the standard couple of days' notice and walk out. The transfer window or the three club rule wouldn't affect him though if he was never registered. But that's me guessing to fit what seems to have happened obviously.
marinobohs
26/01/2010, 1:07 PM
Clubs are employers and can enter into contracts with whomever they want and the contract stands on its own terms in law. League registration is in the gift of the FAI and is a totally different matter.
While a player could be contracted (and as per the terms paid) he cannot play in the League without registration of the League.
Contract - legal agreemebt between parties (player/club)
Registration - FAI agreement that player can participate in League.
26/01/2010, 1:18 PM
Strong rumour that Turner will sign for Rovers today....
I wish :(
As long as we get our signing on fee back, let him go.
wexfordned
26/01/2010, 2:13 PM
Clubs are employers and can enter into contracts with whomever they want and the contract stands on its own terms in law. League registration is in the gift of the FAI and is a totally different matter.
While a player could be contracted (and as per the terms paid) he cannot play in the League without registration of the League.
Contract - legal agreemebt between parties (player/club)
Registration - FAI agreement that player can participate in League.
I would agree with this. Chris Turner would have a contract as an employee of Sligo, but could not play in the league until a separate registration was registered with the FAI.
If Shamrock wanted to sign him they/Chris Turner would have to reach agreement with Sligo to cancel his contract before registering him with the FAI.
blue til i die
26/01/2010, 2:38 PM
Whether or not he's registered with the league is surely irrelevant regarding his signing for anyone else? If he's signed a contract with Sligo, then he's an employee of Sligo. FAI registration is a completely different thing. No?
Id think the same, unless the contract/registration form are one and the same.
If they are seperate though the question would be though is theyre any point in Sligo continuing to pay him when the FAI wont register him?
Is there not two contracts? See Derry City FC
The whole point of the derry thing was there was two contracts when tehres only supposed to be one, the standard player contract
garyderry
26/01/2010, 4:11 PM
No it was that the two contracts differed.
I am pretty sure the FAI claim you can only have one contract, once your on an FAI standard contract you cant be on any other contract, the same or different.
mrtndvn
26/01/2010, 4:18 PM
No it was that the two contracts differed.
No it was that we were paying them more than the SPC.
26/01/2010, 5:59 PM
From todays Star:
Robert Bayly on trial with Blackpool.
Barry Molloy close to a move to Bristol Rovers.
Darlington interested in Dan Connor(although he doesn't want to leave til he gets what he's owed...good luck with that).
Dundalk linked with Stephen Maher & John Flood.
Rovers linked with ex-Mons Paul Whelan.
RoversHead
26/01/2010, 6:36 PM
I am pretty sure the FAI claim you can only have one contract, once your on an FAI standard contract you cant be on any other contract, the same or different.Correct ,the player is a free agent.
26/01/2010, 6:40 PM
I am pretty sure the FAI claim you can only have one contract, once your on an FAI standard contract you cant be on any other contract, the same or different.
The FAI also caim an idiot like Fran Gavin is the right man to lead the LoI in the right direction.
bluemovie
26/01/2010, 6:42 PM
did they not shoot him dead years ago ! :o
Can't believe that only got one thanks.:D
RoversHead
26/01/2010, 6:49 PM
Then why hasn't he signed yet if he's so eager to move?I never said he was eager to move, in fact in a previous post I said you shouldnt be worried as he signed for you despite our interest ,Jesus wept.
Dillonman
26/01/2010, 6:51 PM
From todays Star:
Barry Molloy close to a move to Bristol Rovers.
Darlington interested in Dan Connor(although he doesn't want to leave til he gets what he's owed...good luck with that).
Dundalk linked with Stephen Maher & John Flood.
Rovers linked with ex-Mons Paul Whelan.
I really hope we dont sign Flood!!!
PartySaint
26/01/2010, 6:53 PM
From todays Star:
I heard he was signing for Rovers(Shamrock that is)
bingoballs
26/01/2010, 6:53 PM
As has been discussed at length about your new signings, until the contracts are registered with the FAI, none of the above applies.
The FAI actually rejected Turners initial contract as it was not on the correct form and Sligo made no effort to close that loophole, so there is no contract to cancel. He has not at any point been a Sligs player and has been a free agent all this time. If they were foolish enough to pay a player whose contract was voided by the FAI, thats their problem.
We obviously are not all as clever as shams, or should I say sly
RoversHead
26/01/2010, 6:57 PM
We obviously are not all as clever as shams, or should I say sly:confused::confused:Do explain Im intrigued.
bingoballs
26/01/2010, 7:06 PM
:confused::confused:Do explain Im intrigued.
How did shams come to know that a player who had just signed a two year contract with a different club was in actual fact game ball to try and sign????
RoversHead
26/01/2010, 7:25 PM
How did shams come to know that a player who had just signed a two year contract with a different club was in actual fact game ball to try and sign????Was reported in the press ,is it ok for us to read the papers?
Doomofman
26/01/2010, 7:28 PM
Was reported in the press ,is it ok for us to read the papers?
Nope... Down with that sort of thing
Celdrog
26/01/2010, 7:42 PM
How did shams come to know that a player who had just signed a two year contract with a different club was in actual fact game ball to try and sign????They saw it on a confidential internal Bohs memo.
bingoballs
26/01/2010, 7:44 PM
Was reported in the press ,is it ok for us to read the papers?
Would be interested to find out if ye approached Sligo Rovers for permission to talk to turner or did ye go straight to the player himself? God knows, micheal o niell did enough talking about him in the papers since he signed for us.
gufc2000
26/01/2010, 7:47 PM
Rumours that Tom French will be replacing Johnny Glynn as Mervue manager
RoversHead
26/01/2010, 7:59 PM
Would be interested to find out if ye approached Sligo Rovers for permission to talk to turner or did ye go straight to the player himself? God knows, micheal o niell did enough talking about him in the papers since he signed for us.Eh he didnt sign for you so your permission would not be needed ,do try and keep up.
RoversHead
26/01/2010, 8:03 PM
But Michael O'Neill can do no wrong! NO WRONG!I dont agree, Im yet to be convinced by him ,he failed to get us to turn up for many a second half last season.Why are all Sligo fans looking for an arguement?
Dalymountrower
26/01/2010, 8:33 PM
What happened to Turner`s contract clause that supposedly allows him to follow Connor`s silver trail to the next unfortunate club, is his Galway move dead in the water?
Great player but his attitude stinks. I hope he does go to Trefoil Rovers as I could see him and Ricer in a digging match within a week.
Dillonman
26/01/2010, 8:36 PM
What happened to Turner`s contract clause that supposedly allows him to follow Connor`s silver trail to the next unfortunate club, is his Galway move dead in the water?
Great player but his attitude stinks. I hope he does go to Trefoil Rovers as I could see him and Ricer in a digging match within a week.
Galway cant match his wage demands.
bingoballs
26/01/2010, 8:40 PM
Eh he didnt sign for you so your permission would not be needed ,do try and keep up.
Are you sure about that? Was this not supposed to be a done deal since the weekend? Why have ye not announced it if there is no problem with it?
RoversHead
26/01/2010, 9:07 PM
Are you sure about that? Was this not supposed to be a done deal since the weekend? Why have ye not announced it if there is no problem with it?contact your club for details or go to your mb and ask them ok .
Rumours that Tom French will be replacing Johnny Glynn as Mervue manager
ya just been confirmed glynn steps down all not well at mervue (when money becomes an issue)
gufc2000
26/01/2010, 10:01 PM
It was always highly unlikely he would join us anyway. While Connor was interested, we just simply cannot afford the wages
**FrOsTy**
26/01/2010, 10:37 PM
Don't know if it's been mentioned yet but I've heard Mick Wallace has stepped down as first team manager in Wexford to concentrate on the younger lads with Noel O Connor taking over as first team manager.
GlasnevinRed
27/01/2010, 11:03 AM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=1399
Kev Doherty re-signs for Shels. Hopefully can stay fit as he had a great start to last season.