View Full Version : Pre-Season Rumours Thread
gufc2000
10/02/2010, 3:27 PM
SC confirmed in today's Galway Independent that Jimmy Brown (Ex Distillery and Glenavon manager) will be joining the club in a scouting role. Similar to the one he had at Dundalk before he took over at Lisburn Distillery.
He also confirmed that Jamie Creaney will be joining the club in a development role.
SC confirmed in today's Galway Independent that Jimmy Brown (Ex Distillery and Glenavon manager) will be joining the club in a scouting role. Similar to the one he had at Dundalk before he took over at Lisburn Distillery.
He also confirmed that Jamie Creaney will be joining the club in a development role.
My god Connor is a disaster...why put Jimmy Browne on the payroll as scout when you have a limited budget!! He did litterally nothing for us before taking the Lisburn job...where he was disgracefully bad and then sacked!!!
eelmonster
10/02/2010, 4:09 PM
That's shocking, I'd be very concerned if I was a Galway fan, only a matter of time before McGinley is signed.
Town Legend
10/02/2010, 6:38 PM
We've offered Mark Doninger(Blyth Spartans midfielder) a contract, he's in Sligo this week with a view to signing.
Was he on the books of Newcastle United when he was younger?
sligorover
10/02/2010, 6:47 PM
Was he on the books of Newcastle United when he was younger?
Yep, was captain and top scorer for their reserves last season. Moved to Blyth this year but has been looking for full time football.
Dillonman
10/02/2010, 7:03 PM
Looks like it's jobs for the lads at Terryland!!
robertob
10/02/2010, 11:01 PM
Yep, was captain and top scorer for their reserves last season. Moved to Blyth this year but has been looking for full time football.
Maybe a stupid question, but is Sligo full time?
danthesaint
11/02/2010, 8:28 AM
wouldnt say so... bohs and maybe rover would be only time team i reckon
Dundalk also full time.....but wages mostly around 400-500 per week AFAIK and with a small enough squad on 1 year deals
We are full time.
11/02/2010, 8:56 AM
Bohs, Dundalk, Sligo and Fingal the only full time teams this year then and all bar Fingal with reduced budgets. Maybe, just maybe, despite all the negativity of clubs struggling and going to the wall we might be edging towards a sustainable league.
11/02/2010, 8:58 AM
with a small enough squad on 1 year deals
Something I was wondering about - how many players have Dundalk signed at the moment? They seemed to release most of last year's squad and then just sign four or five players.
(Let's leave aside that "signed" doesn't necessarily mean "signed" in this league)
srfc1928
11/02/2010, 8:58 AM
We are full time and have been since 1992, bar 4 or 5 seasons under O'Riordan and Cassidy.
More often than not we've had a certain amount of full time foreigners on our books going back as far the 50's/60's, to supplement the team, this would mainly be because our geographical location.
eelmonster
11/02/2010, 9:10 AM
Something I was wondering about - how many players have Dundalk signed at the moment? They seemed to release most of last year's squad and then just sign four or five players.
(Let's leave aside that "signed" doesn't necessarily mean "signed" in this league)
We just signed our eleventh player, Stephen Maher, yesterday (http://dundalkfc.com/news/100210_Maher.asp).
danthesaint
11/02/2010, 9:32 AM
We are full time.
is that only this season?
robertob
11/02/2010, 11:13 AM
We are full time and have been since 1992, bar 4 or 5 seasons under O'Riordan and Cassidy.
More often than not we've had a certain amount of full time foreigners on our books going back as far the 50's/60's, to supplement the team, this would mainly be because our geographical location.
Thanks. Good to know.
Ezeikial
11/02/2010, 12:06 PM
Players signed from last years squad
Peter Cherrie
Shaun Kelly
Liam Burns
Tiaran Mulvenna
Nathan Murphy (on youth forms)
Players from last years squad in training
Simon Kelly
Michael Coburn
Michael Synnott
New Players signed
Alan Cawley (St Pats)
Matt Gregg (Bohs)
Garry Breen (Galway)
Wayne Hatswell (Cambridge Utd)
Stephen Maher (St Pats)
Neale Fenn (Bohs)
Ross Gaynor (Sporting Fingal)
11/02/2010, 12:09 PM
Good old Wayne Hatswell
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkBkr7bD7bw
sligofan4ever
11/02/2010, 6:57 PM
is that only this season?
No, we've been full time since 2007 I think ,but i'm open to correction.
Question for Rovers supporters: Is Conor O' Grady still a part time player ? I remember him returning to us in 2007 on a part time contract when we had just gone full time.
Ezeikial
11/02/2010, 7:21 PM
Good old Wayne Hatswell
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkBkr7bD7bw
Here's the other side -
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KNGa61uY7k&feature=related
That own goal is just superb, quality having Hansen and Lineker laughing about it too, hadnt seen it before. Not a bad second clip either !
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KNGa...eature=related
niallsparky
12/02/2010, 12:10 AM
"Galway United are expected to reveal new signing Wes Charles tomorrow provided terms are finalised with the FAI.
Charles, a native of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines will rejoin the Tribesmen following a short stint in Canada with the Vancouver Whitecaps."
robertob
12/02/2010, 1:08 AM
Wesley Charles is back? Really? I just like this tough defender, tbh!
KBurke
12/02/2010, 7:44 AM
Don't know how true the Wes stuff is. The source is Wikipedia. Local paper says that Stephen o'Donnell has signed for Galway and Bobby Ryan will be training with us for the next 2 weeks. Thomas Heary is expected to sign over the weekend. The thought of Wes and Heary at the back is a bit scary.
It was on Wesleys wiki page and some lad posted it on our own forum. Stepen O'Donnell is a great signing we are well covered in midfield now but we need 2 good forwards to and a couple of defenders to sort out the squad.If Seamus Conneely and Paul Sinnott resign we might need one more centre half.
14/02/2010, 12:27 PM
Letterkenny Rovers 1 - 1 Finn Harps
Oisin McMenimen with the goal.
We play The Irish Army side on Wednesday night and Sligo at home on Thursday followed by Cockhill Celtic on Saturday.
14/02/2010, 2:31 PM
We play The Irish Army side on Wednesday night and Sligo at home on Thursday followed by Cockhill Celtic on Saturday.What time is kick-off Thursday?
14/02/2010, 4:55 PM
Not 100% sure as of yet, will post here as soon as I get word. 7.30pm would be the guess.
harps1954
14/02/2010, 5:53 PM
Not 100% sure as of yet, will post here as soon as I get word. 7.30pm would be the guess.
Yes, 7.30pm kick-off.
15/02/2010, 10:55 AM
Don't know if any of you have heard it, but Pat Fenlon is going to move upstairs at Bohs to make way for a world class manager and long time fan
I'm a gypsy and I've been a gypsy for many years.
More... (http://sify.com/sports/rudderless-eriksson-says-he-is-a-gypsy-and-has-been-a-gypsy-for-many-years-news-news-kcpoOejbhhh.html)
The Lilywhites
15/02/2010, 7:35 PM
A bit off topic but Declan O'Brien scored four goals for Valletta tonight.
I dont think he even reached that total with us for the first half of last year.
D.24saint
15/02/2010, 9:04 PM
fair play to him always liked fabio but wouldnt imagine Dingli Swallows are up to much
15/02/2010, 9:25 PM
fair play to him always liked fabio but wouldnt imagine Dingli Swallows are up to much
You dunno what you are talking about man, haven't a clue. They are a top European side, it's clear. I mean, their first ever win in top flight Maltese football was to beat Roddy's Floriana in Floriana back in late October, what more evidence do you need?
D.24saint
16/02/2010, 8:48 AM
true to beak down the tactical genius of the Rodster they must be a top drawer side after all he did win a double with Bohs.
Maroon 7
18/02/2010, 9:59 PM
Latest from Galway.
Jamie McKenzie, James Creaney and Karl Sheppard have all officially signed for United.
Scottish born defender Jamie McKenzie has played League of Ireland football with Sligo Rovers and was Captain of our Connacht neighbours for a period of time.
Irish youth International Karl Sheppard joins from Everton having joined the Merseysiders from Shelbourne youths in June 2007.
James Creaney has played at left back for United in pre-season.
United have signed experienced centre half Thomas Heary. 31 year old Heary was Captain of Dundalk last season and was previously with Bohemians.
dfclilywhite
18/02/2010, 10:21 PM
Robert Bayly who was with Fingal last year came on as a sub for Dundalk tonight against Drogheda.
CSFShels
18/02/2010, 10:23 PM
He'd be a top signing.
Dillonman
18/02/2010, 10:33 PM
Ex Bray striker John Flood scored both our goals. Looked very lively, ran after everythoing, could of scored a hat-trick.
corkharps
18/02/2010, 10:57 PM
The latest name for Dingle?
18/02/2010, 11:03 PM
Aaron Greene to sign for Bohs by the weekend according to the rumour mill.
18/02/2010, 11:09 PM
Aaron Greene to sign for Bohs by the weekend according to the rumour mill.
I'd thought that was confirmed. Really does get hard to differentate between rumours and confirmed signings....
18/02/2010, 11:25 PM
not confirmed yet Dodge. He had been training and togged out for a couple of the friendlies but i think he had been holding out for a deal from across the water. I think we put him down as bar staff so budget-wise we're all good.
Lamper.sffc
19/02/2010, 2:11 AM
Robert Bayly who was with Fingal last year came on as a sub for Dundalk tonight against Drogheda.
If yous got him that would be a great signing.
The guy is quality
Unfortunately he is not great for team morale. A bit off the wall tbh. Still worth having though.
OneForTheFuture
19/02/2010, 8:31 AM
The latest name for Dingle?
A lady of the night....Hailing from Dingle;)
gufc2000
21/02/2010, 6:33 PM
Rhys Meynell, Bobby Ryan, Bee Ami and Pablo Rodriguez all played for Galway today against Limerick
baz-dcfc
21/02/2010, 7:22 PM
Derry City have signed
Darren Cassidy (Unattached) former Coleraine and Newry player
Thomas McBride (Northampton Town)
Eugene Ferry (Resigning for Derry after returning from University).
Captain2007
22/02/2010, 4:11 PM
Ex Bray striker John Flood scored both our goals. Looked very lively, ran after everythoing, could of scored a hat-trick.
John Flood has signed for Drogheda.
WindmillWarrior
23/02/2010, 9:55 AM
John Flood has signed for Drogheda.
you sure about that mate? He was playing for D*ndalk against us the other night!
Rasputin
23/02/2010, 12:09 PM
Any word from Bray or Shels fans on Foran's future?
Seems to be dragging on a bit at this stage.