View Full Version : Pre-Season Rumours Thread
Dillonman
08/12/2009, 2:07 PM
Gary McCabe is Sligo bound.
Everbody seems to be Sligo bound or Tallaght bound atm!:D Bit of a weird signing there, is he to replace Morrison or is Meenan going to get more game time this year?
Weatherman
08/12/2009, 2:25 PM
Everbody seems to be Sligo bound or Tallaght bound atm!:D Bit of a weird signing there, is he to replace Morrison or is Meenan going to get more game time this year?
McCabe isnt half the player Morrison is! McCabe has no end product IMO!
weecountyman
08/12/2009, 2:45 PM
Anto Flood is gone to Malta! Colleague of mine in HSBC told me he's joining the Rod Squad MkII.
Dillonman
08/12/2009, 3:12 PM
Anto Flood is gone to Malta! Colleague of mine in HSBC told me he's joining the Rod Squad MkII.
Are you effin serious! Thats a very strange move and a huge blow to Shels.
GalwayRed
08/12/2009, 3:29 PM
How did your colleague hear that?
08/12/2009, 3:42 PM
So you work in a bank eh?
http://www.malaysiaminilover.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/mini_cooper_italianjob2.jpg
the_horse
08/12/2009, 4:03 PM
Surely theres no need to have a go at the lad as a result of him being injured, hardly his fault
The Fox
08/12/2009, 5:53 PM
McCabe isnt half the player Morrison is! McCabe has no end product IMO!
McCabe is a quality young player, easily our best and Sligo werent much better than us last year!!! So I would expect him to do well there!!
CSFShels
08/12/2009, 5:54 PM
Thats got to be the most bizarre transfer rumour I've heard in a long time. Probably too bizarre to be true.
weecountyman
08/12/2009, 6:28 PM
How did your colleague hear that?
He works in HSBC and one of the lads in his department plays with Floriana. Strange move but probably short term at best. I thought it was weird with Fabio signing for valletta, but go figure.
CSFShels
08/12/2009, 6:38 PM
He works in HSBC and one of the lads in his department plays with Floriana. Strange move but probably short term at best. I thought it was weird with Fabio signing for valletta, but go figure.
Fair play to Flood if its true, would love to see the lad succeed without having to watch him play for one of our rivals.
I was talking to Roddy over in Malta and he was fairly clear that any Irish footballer going over there would be doing better financially than he would here
The Lep
08/12/2009, 8:49 PM
Last year as in the season just gone or the seaosn before that!
Last year 08/Last season. He wasnt with us this year /this season or next year/season.
08/12/2009, 9:37 PM
Last year 08/Last season. He wasnt with us this year /this season or next year/season.
:confused::confused:
Dillonman
08/12/2009, 9:40 PM
:confused::confused:
Stephen Caffrey.
Captain2007
08/12/2009, 9:47 PM
Derek Pender Bray,s Captain linked to Drogheda & St Pat's
Dave Mulcahy & Derek Foran Signed for Shel's
CSFShels
08/12/2009, 10:02 PM
What is Mulcahy like?
sligofan4ever
08/12/2009, 10:06 PM
McCabe is a quality young player, easily our best and Sligo werent much better than us last year!!! So I would expect him to do well there!!
Up until July maybe, but at the end of the day if we weren't that much better than ye we would've finished further down the table.
GlasnevinRed
08/12/2009, 10:07 PM
Derek Pender Bray,s Captain linked to Drogheda & St Pat's
Dave Mulcahy & Derek Foran Signed for Shel's
Rumour on our forum has it that Foran already wants out (if it is indeed true that he's signed).
Hulsey
08/12/2009, 10:23 PM
What is Mulcahy like?
Easily one of our better players last year. A good, no nonscence type of player who should star for a 1st division side.
CSFShels
08/12/2009, 10:27 PM
Easily one of our better players last year. A good, no nonscence type of player who should star for a 1st division side.
Cheers, what is the Bray side set to look like next year do you know?
Hulsey
08/12/2009, 10:34 PM
Cheers, what is the Bray side set to look like next year do you know?
Its looking like a grouping of 4 or 5 players from last years squad and the bulk of the squad being made up of the A and U20's sides from last year. Some good quality youngsters in the group but badly need a few experienced leaders in the squad as that was our let down last season
CSFShels
08/12/2009, 10:47 PM
Its looking like a grouping of 4 or 5 players from last years squad and the bulk of the squad being made up of the A and U20's sides from last year. Some good quality youngsters in the group but badly need a few experienced leaders in the squad as that was our let down last season
Yeah had a look and the younger teams did seem to do well last year while probably not reaching UCD levels, and not having a Ronan Finn.
Hulsey
08/12/2009, 10:52 PM
Yeah had a look and the younger teams did seem to do well last year while probably not reaching UCD levels, and not having a Ronan Finn.
Strong rumours that we have Chris Shields, Dane Massey, Dave Webster and Jake Kelly under contract for next season. If thats true thats a decent spine and with a years experience under their belts they can only be better next year. An experienced head beside each and we could compete next year
Ciaran W
08/12/2009, 10:55 PM
Have rovers really signed quigley, stevens and bobby ryan from pats ?
Dillonman
08/12/2009, 11:35 PM
Where'd you hear that?
PartySaint
08/12/2009, 11:47 PM
Stevens yes but dont know where you heard about the other 2
Ciaran W
09/12/2009, 12:13 AM
Off my friend,i didnt believe him either
danthesaint
09/12/2009, 9:06 AM
hope yaz dont get quigo, the other two im not too bothered about.
Quigo is a great player, didnt play the maywest under kenna, but tbh who did!
Buile Shuibhne
09/12/2009, 11:33 AM
John Gill has today accepted the post of Assistant Manager of St Patricks Athletic.
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=1375
Presumably a manager has also been appointed?
Danny
09/12/2009, 11:38 AM
Pete mahon to be annouced later today
weecountyman
09/12/2009, 12:31 PM
I was talking to Roddy over in Malta and he was fairly clear that any Irish footballer going over there would be doing better financially than he would here
Declan O'Brien (from figures released by Valletta) is on at least €1,500 a week plus car and apartment, which is normal for the club - their wage budget is more than 100k monthly. Not bad if you can get it, but I doubt it'll be the same for Anto, Floriana have a tiny budget.
chatterbox
09/12/2009, 7:09 PM
Derek Pender Bray,s Captain linked to Drogheda
Yes please........:)
Celdrog
10/12/2009, 12:46 AM
Yes please........:)And Damien Brennan - Shels captain.
Both done deals apparently
10/12/2009, 8:29 AM
Matthews must be putting together a crew to sail off into the sunset with all the captains he is collecting.
WoodquayBoy
10/12/2009, 8:53 AM
Russell for Sligo if Cretaro goes to Shams, as expected? Though I think Russell will demand a clause in his contract regarding the kinds of cups used for tea
10/12/2009, 9:46 AM
They won't be able to bring any new players in, apart from the scholarship scheme I suspect.
Don't underestimate the scholarship scheme though. Four months ago, we'd never heard of Paul Corry, and now he's the obvious replacement for Finn (though I'd rather have the two of them obviously, as they worked so well together in the last couple of months).
Mulhall and Rusk have signed on for next season, in addition to all the scholarship players. Only question marks at the moment are over those on the PFAI list, and Mulhall signing despite being on that list is a nice boost.
Russell for Sligo if Cretaro goes to Shams, as expected? Though I think Russell will demand a clause in his contract regarding the kinds of cups used for tea
He's a lovely footballer. Thought he had a great season for ye last year. What's this about tea cups?
LeixlipRed
10/12/2009, 9:51 AM
And Damien Brennan - Shels captain.
Both done deals apparently
Great player. No apparent weaknesses. Other than the fact he's hopelessly ****e.
The Betting Man
10/12/2009, 9:53 AM
I think he is Bohs bound according to people in Dublin
WoodquayBoy
10/12/2009, 10:00 AM
I think the fact Deegan is staying with ye (Bohs) means interested has waned? Could be wrong. As for the teacups, won't say too much as it is just a rumour, but think Pizzagate in Old Trafford
eamo1
10/12/2009, 10:03 AM
I had thought Raf to Sham's and Russell to Bohs were done deals,obviously not.Both class players who could easily cut it over in England but im happy they'll be staying in the LOI.
10/12/2009, 10:05 AM
Has Bohs' transfer embargo expired?
Dillonman
10/12/2009, 12:21 PM
Theres a piece in today's Star newspaper interviewing Stephen McGuinness and he said that he has received alot of contact from all around Europe in relation to players on that PFAI list, places such as Hungary, Cyprus, Malta, England and Scotland to name but a few.
10/12/2009, 1:48 PM
Theres a piece in today's Star newspaper interviewing Stephen McGuinness and he said that he has received alot of contact from all around Europe in relation to players on that PFAI list, places such as Hungary, Cyprus, Malta, England and Scotland to name but a few.
I call bull****.
I think the fact Deegan is staying with ye (Bohs) means interested has waned? Could be wrong.
honestly, i dont know - but my take would be that Deega didnt do himself any favours this year with the amount of suspensions he picked up. He needs to clean his game up and maybe another season in LOI will help him do that and get back to the sort of dominance he displayed during our "we are invincible" season. :)
Has Bohs' transfer embargo expired?
still waiting, last i heard.
10/12/2009, 5:22 PM
Matthews must be putting together a crew to sail off into the sunset with all the captains he is collecting.
well in fairness to daisy brennan he spent a season and a half under his stewardship with ltfc...
10/12/2009, 5:23 PM
I heard last night that Jason McCartney,Mick Foley and Brian McCarthy have left the club..
prince20
10/12/2009, 6:50 PM
Any else hear that Gareth Cronin to be Keelys assistant at Shels following John Gills departure to St Pats???