View Full Version : Pre-Season Rumours Thread
Doomofman
05/01/2010, 7:23 PM
Russell & Guthrie in talks with Pat's today, Gary Dempsey signed for Darlington for 6 months.
Who does/did Russell play for and is he any use?
I did notice the "sarcasm". I was stating that Bray had a lower budget than Drogheda after all Drogheda's woes in pre season!Some people on here still think Drogheda had the lowest budget last season.
Dundalk fans are all experts on our budget for last season and what we are gonna spend in 2010 :eek: Any chance you could let us know :confused:
ShedShouter
05/01/2010, 8:03 PM
Anyone hear anymore rumours about Glen Crowe Joining Cork City or anyone else.
srfc1928
05/01/2010, 8:30 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkBkr7bD7bw
Thats quality:D
Captain2007
05/01/2010, 9:06 PM
Who does/did Russell play for and is he any use?
Where have you been ? Galway's and one of the best midfielder's in LOI last season.. :confused:
Doomofman
05/01/2010, 9:14 PM
Where have you been ?
Not in Galway anyway.... :p Hmmm I'm always gonna be unsure about people coming from Galway after Kenna
after kenna and not lester, no?
Cork and Bohs under transfer embargo, possibly till the end of the month at least.
Link. (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/bohemians/news.asp?n=37829)
The King won't be coming back it looks like.
05/01/2010, 10:11 PM
Our Budget will be the lowest in the Premier and lower than at least 4 1st division teams hence the exodus. A rumour on Boards .ie was copied on here with nothing to back it although nothing would surprise me in the LOI anymore.
Lower than ours? How bad have things got for you lot?
Dillonman
05/01/2010, 10:37 PM
Dundalk fans are all experts on our budget for last season and what we are gonna spend in 2010 :eek: Any chance you could let us know :confused:
OMG it was common knowledge Bray had a lower budget than you lot last season, ask any Bray fan ffs!:eek:
05/01/2010, 10:41 PM
The Sponsorship pot has all but dissappeared at all levels.BOI arent even giving out calendars to customers this year and loads of firms that have supported us for the last 20 yrs are either gone bust or hanging on by their fingernails.
With 3 LOI teams in Galway this year when the city cant support one just shows the FAI's level of cop on.
gufc2000
05/01/2010, 10:59 PM
John Russell to Bohemians maybe
DUFC4life
05/01/2010, 11:01 PM
OMG it was common knowledge Bray had a lower budget than you lot last season, ask any Bray fan ffs!:eek:So what your trying to say is not only are dundalk fans experts on drogheda united finances but now bray fans aswell?? How have you guys gotten access to our accounts and brays for that matter??
Dillonman
05/01/2010, 11:07 PM
So what your trying to say is not only are dundalk fans experts on drogheda united finances but now bray fans aswell?? How have you guys gotten access to our accounts and brays for that matter??
Yes, yes I do. We have access to everyones accounts, we know everything, we even know where you live, what you eat for breakfast and what your pet is called. Get real.
**FrOsTy**
05/01/2010, 11:09 PM
The Sponsorship pot has all but dissappeared at all levels.BOI arent even giving out calendars to customers this year and loads of firms that have supported us for the last 20 yrs are either gone bust or hanging on by their fingernails.
With 3 LOI teams in Galway this year when the city cant support one just shows the FAI's level of cop on.
Come on. Seriously! Your the one that needs to cop on. I know the FAI are no great shakes but ffs. The FAI didnt make Galway a good team for a few years that meant they were a premier side and it's not there fault that Merve got promoted and stayed up and also not there fault Salthill earned promotion.
Football in Galway. Albeit not with GUFC is pretty good standard. Obviously one of the best junior league set ups in the country if two teams from the area earn promotion in 2 years.
05/01/2010, 11:31 PM
Come on. Seriously! Your the one that needs to cop on. I know the FAI are no great shakes but ffs. The FAI didnt make Galway a good team for a few years that meant they were a premier side and it's not there fault that Merve got promoted and stayed up and also not there fault Salthill earned promotion.
Football in Galway. Albeit not with GUFC is pretty good standard. Obviously one of the best junior league set ups in the country if two teams from the area earn promotion in 2 years.
The standard of Junior Football is not great and as for saying it has one of the best Junior Leagues in the country shows how much you actually know about Galway Soccer.
**FrOsTy**
05/01/2010, 11:33 PM
I don't know anything about Galway soccer. It just seems to me that they would have one of the best if 2 teams froms the country get LOI status in 2 years.
DUFC4life
05/01/2010, 11:53 PM
Yes, yes I do. We have access to everyones accounts, we know everything, we even know where you live, what you eat for breakfast and what your pet is called. Get real. well you do know everything about droghedas finances, so i shouldnt really be suprised you know everything else.
bluewhitearmy
05/01/2010, 11:55 PM
So it wold be better for the fai to tell salthill they are not allowed up or mervue to pull out because gufc are already in the loi?
bluewhitearmy
05/01/2010, 11:56 PM
Yes, yes I do. We have access to everyones accounts, we know everything, we even know where you live, what you eat for breakfast and what your pet is called. Get real.
What is his pets name?
Riddickcule
06/01/2010, 2:32 AM
Fido?
Dillonman
06/01/2010, 8:01 AM
What is his pets name?
You dont want to know!;)
prince20
06/01/2010, 8:04 AM
I don't know anything about Galway soccer. It just seems to me that they would have one of the best if 2 teams froms the country get LOI status in 2 years.
Hi Frosty,
My own belief on why the teams were promoted is that the A divisons that they were playing in contained the weakest teams. AFAIK Mervue finished 3rd in their division and still get promoted as they beat Kildare in a play off.
In Salthills group was Castlebar Celtic,Derry City Reserves,Drogheda United Reserves,Dundalk Reserves,Finn Harps Reserves,Galway United Reserves,Sligo Rovers Reserves,Tullamore Town. The other group consisted of Bohemians Reserves,Bray Wanderers Reserves,Cobh Ramblers,
Cork City Reserves,FC Carlow,St Patrick's Athletic Reserves,Shamrock Rovers Reserves,Sporting Fingal Reserves and Tralee Dynamos.
The fianl tables can be found at
http://www.loi.ie/index.php/matchzone/newstalk-a-championship
Salthills group certainly looks a lot weaker and the only Dublin team they played against (Shamrock Rovers in the play off at home) they lost.
06/01/2010, 8:59 AM
If that's the case, they'll be relegated fairly soon anyway, so Galway have nothing to worry about.
Seems to me from the thread we had on it earlier that it's partly Galway's fault for completely neglecting ther underage structure, which helped allowing Mervue and Salthill to develop strong structures and get the players to compete at this level.
So it wold be better for the fai to tell salthill they are not allowed up or mervue to pull out because gufc are already in the loi?
John Delaney has already asked salthill that they not apply for a first division licence as he is against 3 clubs from the Galway region but also said that he cannot stand in their way if that is what Salthill wish to do.
If that's the case, they'll be relegated fairly soon anyway, so Galway have nothing to worry about.
Seems to me from the thread we had on it earlier that it's partly Galway's fault for completely neglecting ther underage structure, which helped allowing Mervue and Salthill to develop strong structures and get the players to compete at this level.
Incorrect, United along with the Galway FA wanted a structure in place but such is the rift between junior and senior football clubs in Galway it was never going to happen. It has always been that way from living memory unfortunately.
Lower than ours? How bad have things got for you lot?
Rumours have it that GUFC could be going amatuer to financially survive next season. :(
06/01/2010, 9:35 AM
Incorrect, United along with the Galway FA wanted a structure in place but such is the rift between junior and senior football clubs in Galway it was never going to happen. It has always been that way from living memory unfortunately.
Hm. Fair enough. Wasn't the impression I got out of the Galway clubs thread (thought Galway were just focussing on the first team, with the result that the As and the 20s failed so badly last year), but I wasn't reading it too closely.
06/01/2010, 10:38 AM
United have been trying for ages to work through the Galway FA to set up a proper youth Structure. We had an excellent one which won the FAI U16 cup but the local junior clubs (Salthill & Mervue) objected because the best players were joining us and it was scrapped. Mervue subsequently took players from all over Galway and not an eyebrow was raised.
The FAI have stated on loads of occasions that they want one Team in Galway ie GUFC with us working in conjunction with the Galway FA and Junior Clubs to work toward that aim wher players would naturally progress through the ranks with United being the top of the Pyramid.
The lack of any kind of a senior structure such as the the Connacht CSL has caused huge problems.Its all Academic now as we are going to have three clubs with not a hope of any of them breaking even and where the huge work at Underage level at Mervue & Salthill could be put in danger.
Celdrog
06/01/2010, 1:22 PM
Drogs almost have a team now.
New signings are Michael Daly, Corie Treacy and Damien Brennan.
Resigned are Paul Skinner, Alan McNally, Conor Kenna, Jamie Duffy, Paul Crowley, Brendan McGill and Eric McGill.
Matthews is also talking to Harris and Crowe.
Can the Dundalk lads tell us how much each of them are on as the club won't disclose it?
**FrOsTy**
06/01/2010, 2:07 PM
U
The FAI have stated on loads of occasions that they want one Team in Galway ie GUFC with us working in conjunction with the Galway FA and Junior Clubs to work toward that aim wher players would naturally progress through the ranks with United being the top of the Pyramid.
I'm sure they have. However, they can't do anything about the fact that Mervue and Salthill have earned promotion.
Dillonman
06/01/2010, 2:23 PM
Drogs almost have a team now.
New signings are Michael Daly, Corie Treacy and Damien Brennan.
Resigned are Paul Skinner, Alan McNally, Conor Kenna, Jamie Duffy, Paul Crowley, Brendan McGill and Eric McGill.
Matthews is also talking to Harris and Crowe.
Can the Dundalk lads tell us how much each of them are on as the club won't disclose it?
A years supply of hunky dorys...left over from last season.
Thats all Glen Crowe needs to hear so :D
Doomofman
06/01/2010, 2:57 PM
BERMINGHAM SIGNS FOR SAINTS
St Patrick's Athletic have signed former Shamrock Rovers and UCD defender Ian Bermingham.
Bermingham played under Pete Mahon during his UCD days and becomes Mahon's 10th signing of the season.
Yup...
danthesaint
06/01/2010, 3:23 PM
Pity, as he is a great prospect, but his social habits are a disgrace. Pats is about his level, on and off the pitch.
i rate him higher than i do stevens, think he is a smashing little player
pats level on and off the pitch, meaning what??
what level are we off the pitch, im so sorry we arent renting a ground......;)
gufc2000
06/01/2010, 4:09 PM
Dave Rogers linked with our job according to the Indo
06/01/2010, 4:48 PM
but still tho its a football forum and he picks out "yaz" out and comments on it. get over it. like he more things to worry about bar my spelling :)
At the end of the day this thread is supposed to be about pre-season rumours so most of the most recent comments should be removed and it should be brought some way back on topic. Also i agree with the comment about Mahon not putting up with Bermingham if he was to carry on like that. I'm sure it won't be a problem or he'll be told where to go.
06/01/2010, 4:50 PM
who bermo or stevens?
Bermo.
Stevens only played a couple of first team games for us and was torn apart by Ryan Guy in one of them. Obviously he quite young at the time and seems to have come on since.
danthesaint
06/01/2010, 4:54 PM
Bermo.
Stevens only played a couple of first team games for us and was torn apart by Ryan Guy in one of them. Obviously he quite young at the time and seems to have come on since.
yeah i think he was more of a right midfielder, he seemed to drift inside which left holes at the back. most of our goal conceded last year was problem from down the left i think
06/01/2010, 5:58 PM
I don't have time to go through this to remove the stupidity right now, so closed until tomorrw.
07/01/2010, 10:02 AM
Thread re-opened. But can we keep away from the club slagging crap, from all sides? The Rovers/Pat's/Bohs triangle wasn't the only one, although it was the worst.
The Betting Man
07/01/2010, 10:05 AM
Its in 1 of the papers that Glen Crowe is over with Darlington
Not on a wind up or anything here,but i presume Fenlon will look to bring some of the better Bohs lads with him to Tannadice.For the better wages i am sure it would be very tempting to alot of them.
gufc2000
07/01/2010, 10:12 AM
A Dundalk fan on our forum says that Dundalk want Mark O'Toole from us. As far as I am concerned, they are more than welcome to him
marinobohs
07/01/2010, 10:34 AM
Not on a wind up or anything here,but i presume Fenlon will look to bring some of the better Bohs lads with him to Tannadice.For the better wages i am sure it would be very tempting to alot of them.
Probobly wait until he gets there first :rolleyes: would be no surprise if when he settles in that Nutsey looks at LOI players given that is the league he knows best and there is a history of managers dragging a group of players around (back to Jim McLoughlin days and beyond). It will depend on what he identifies as the team needs and if there are players here (throughout the League) that are up to it.
marinobohs
07/01/2010, 10:59 AM
...and as Bohs are under embargo, all their signings and re-signings are still free agents at the moment.
I'd expect one or two to go with him myself.
Wishfull thinking !! any names, Barry Murphy ? Raf Cretaro ? But they have turned down smaller clubs already ;)
07/01/2010, 11:01 AM
Its in 1 of the papers that Glen Crowe is over with Darlington
He's in Wexford doing his UEFA B licence. At least he was supposed to be anyway.
Hairy Bowsie
07/01/2010, 11:05 AM
Thread re-opened. But can we keep away from the club slagging crap, from all sides?
Think you know everything because you are a UCD, well eff you!!!
07/01/2010, 11:37 AM
You were mere seconds away from an infraction there. :D
marinobohs
07/01/2010, 11:54 AM
I was thinking more Shelley or Keegan, but the risk remains....
Can Bohs hire a new manager while under embargo?
think we can sign a manager but not 100%. Loss of Nutsey will lessen attraction to the club for some players but how much of a factor this is or how interested he would be in players from LOI is still unknown. Shelley turned down other clubs before agreeing to resign for Bohs, not sure this will change it.
expect Nutsey more likely to go shopping in the summer.