View Full Version : Pre-Season Rumours Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

09/01/2010, 10:34 PM
Longford have apparently signed John Lester, Peter Hynes and Chris Deans

if longford sign them then its longfords last year in the league. Three of the biggest mercenries in the game who wont come cheap, and did i see that longford will be training in dublin this year? why sign these players? yer not gonna win the league, in fact mid table is the best you could hope for as these lads wont throw a boot for ye. ill be back to seeing two buses outside the grounds again, one for the home team one for the away.

thisis only the stepen mcguinness sponsored pfai using provincial clubs within an hour of dublin to keep his clients happy or with club.

CSFShels
09/01/2010, 10:37 PM
Hynes is far from lazy, well at least not these days, would have liked him to sign back for Shels, not as a first name on the teamsheet, but a great option to have nonetheless.

09/01/2010, 11:04 PM
if longford sign them then its longfords last year in the league. Three of the biggest mercenries in the game who wont come cheap, and did i see that longford will be training in dublin this year? why sign these players? yer not gonna win the league, in fact mid table is the best you could hope for as these lads wont throw a boot for ye. ill be back to seeing two buses outside the grounds again, one for the home team one for the away.

thisis only the stepen mcguinness sponsored pfai using provincial clubs within an hour of dublin to keep his clients happy or with club.

The budget Cousins was given is the same as last year's according to him and the club and they managed it last year. I'd have my doubts about these lads too but it's his budget to use as he sees fit. We can't have much worse of a season than the previous two. Besides it's still only rumours.

10/01/2010, 12:39 AM
The budget Cousins was given is the same as last year's according to him and the club and they managed it last year. I'd have my doubts about these lads too but it's his budget to use as he sees fit. We can't have much worse of a season than the previous two. Besides it's still only rumours.

i agree its only rumours now but if he does sign them and adds a few more a squad of 16 will be your lot and when/if a few results go against yee and the crowds vanish.....then we;ll get the "why wont the locals come out and support" threads later on in the season.

id rather see the usual off season midlands merrygoround of players then see those lot arrive down every second friday or sat night to collect their pfai 250/300 award

10/01/2010, 2:01 AM
I know what you mean but frankly we got no crowds last year anyway after the first two or three games. It can't get any worse. It's the same old faces week after week. I'm not saying that these players would necessarily improve crowds but they can't disimprove them. If the club gets into trouble due to paying players too much I won't have much sympathy either (not that I wouldn't help to try and rectify it obviously if necessary). There's still a few people around the place that have gone through the whole boom/bust cycle already and I would hope would not let it happen again. Leaving aside the rights and wrongs of training in Dublin, if we're doing so we'd get players we probably wouldn't get if training in Longford. €100 or so a week for being Dublin based may be more attractive than €150 for coming to Longford. There's probably only Bray that are Dublin based that would have these lads and even then if they stay up they mightn't want them.

gufc2000
10/01/2010, 1:02 PM
Our manager will be announced tomorrow at 3pm

Captain2007
10/01/2010, 1:37 PM
There's probably only Bray that are Dublin based that would have these lads and even then if they stay up they mightn't want them.

Bray released their entire squad ( except 4 u21's) because they simply can not afford them regardless what division they end up in.
They have a first Division budget which would rank among the worst in the Div.

DRDoc
10/01/2010, 2:12 PM
There's probably only Bray that are Dublin based that would have these lads and even then if they stay up they mightn't want them.

Bray released their entire squad ( except 4 u21's) because they simply can not afford them regardless what division they end up in.
They have a first Division budget which would rank among the worst in the Div.

any idea approx how much it is?

da bishop
10/01/2010, 3:42 PM

better explain mercenries to some of us,....the whole league is full of them if thats the case.how would you describe o flynn,o callaghan,kavanagh who played with lims last season.

10/01/2010, 5:39 PM
Certainly wont be missing Longford games from now on.

good to hear eh!!:D its the lester effect you see!!

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 5:45 PM
Alex Williams is supposedly joining St Pats next week from us.

Doomofman
10/01/2010, 5:52 PM
Alex Williams is supposedly joining St Pats next week from us.

Any use?

10/01/2010, 5:54 PM
better explain mercenries to some of us,....the whole league is full of them if thats the case.how would you describe o flynn,o callaghan,kavanagh who played with lims last season.

well it looks like two of the three will be playing with us again this season and not for megabucks money so there well off being mercenaries. next gripe please there bish :)

10/01/2010, 5:57 PM
Our manager will be announced tomorrow at 3pm

any idea who it is??? :confused:

Doomofman
10/01/2010, 5:59 PM
any idea who it is??? :confused:

Sean Connor :p

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 5:59 PM
Any use?

Scottish, scored quite a few for us but has severe off the field problems, namely gambling according to quite alot. His name was connected with all the betting scandals surrounding us during the seaosn but there is no evidence to support that, thats just going by word of mouth on our forum.

He started off with a band but then just petered out and barely busted himself towards the last few games. He said he wants to stay with us but it remains to be seen if our board will have him back. I feel that he will come back to haunt us if he goes.

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 6:00 PM
Sean Connor :p

Really doubt its Connor, the man needs a big budget to work with and he doesnt come cheap himself. I fear for Galway if it is him.

Doomofman
10/01/2010, 6:01 PM
Scottish, scored quite a few for us but has severe off the field problems, namely gambling according to quite alot. His name was connected with all the betting scandals surrounding us during the seaosn but there is no evidence to support that, thats just going by word of mouth on our forum.

He started off with a band but then just petered out and barely busted himself towards the last few games. He said he wants to stay with us but it remains to be seen if our board will have him back. I feel that he will come back to haunt us if he goes.

Ah we needed someone to replace Fitzer... I really can't imagine Mahon would be signing people with off the field problems...

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 6:03 PM
Ah we needed someone to replace Fitzer... I really can't imagine Mahon would be signing people with off the field problems...

Like i said and would like to point this out before any bans are handed out, thats going by word on our forum. His form dipped dramatically towards the end of September and barely scored for us then. Attitude on field just seemed very off as if he didnt give a damn!

Doomofman
10/01/2010, 6:05 PM
Like i said and would like to point this out before any bans are handed out, thats going by word on our forum. His form dipped dramatically towards the end of September and barely scored for us then. Attitude on field just seemed very off as if he didnt give a damn!

Yeah we had plenty of that last season as well... Mahon doesn't seem to take any crap from players though... So obviously he think's he'll preform if he's thinking of signing him...

10/01/2010, 6:10 PM
Really doubt its Connor, the man needs a big budget to work with and he doesnt come cheap himself. I fear for Galway if it is him.

I have been told that the manager and his team are all galway based people. With the club running on what is an amatuer budget, no major/shock names will be announced in any ranks this season. :(

Doomofman
10/01/2010, 6:11 PM
I have been told that the manager and his team are all galway based people. With the club running on what is an amatuer budget, no major/shock names will be announced in any ranks this season. :(

Ouch.... Sounds like things are pretty bad over there...

10/01/2010, 6:14 PM

French is the name I hear mentioned for the job, but then, in the past few days Connor has been mentioned but I would highly doubt that he would travel to Galway and back 3 (or more) times a week from Killybegs for pennies.

10/01/2010, 6:14 PM
Ouch.... Sounds like things are pretty bad over there...

Very..... everyone in galway will be shocked if we DONT first bottom of the league this season.

Doomofman
10/01/2010, 6:16 PM
Very..... everyone in galway will be shocked if we DONT first bottom of the league this season.

On the upside... You can only really meet or exceed your expectations for next season :D

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 6:17 PM

You'd never know man, ye unearted a fe decent managers from nowhere last few season to get your players to overperform!

10/01/2010, 6:19 PM
French is the name I hear mentioned for the job, but then, in the past few days Connor has been mentioned but I would highly doubt that he would travel to Galway and back 3 (or more) times a week from Killybegs for pennies.

Do you think connors will work for a club whos budget is rumoured to be around €150 per week per player, for a squad of 20 players? Tom French will get it unfortunately, but, the only good thing will be that Barry Ryan should be his assistant, meaning that we at least have a good keeper again this season !

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 6:23 PM
Do you think connors will work for a club whos budget is rumoured to be around €150 per week per player, for a squad of 20 players? Tom French will get it unfortunately, but, the only good thing will be that Barry Ryan should be his assistant, meaning that we at least have a good keeper again this season !

He wont, he wanted tonnes of money with us sure!

gufc2000
10/01/2010, 7:03 PM
Tom French is expected to be announced on Galway Bay FM in a few minutes...

gufc2000
10/01/2010, 7:05 PM
Its Sean Connor :eek:

Doomofman
10/01/2010, 7:06 PM
Its Sean Connor :eek:

Told ya :p

10/01/2010, 7:11 PM
Told ya :p

I blame you so !!!! BOOOOOOOO !

Ezeikial
10/01/2010, 8:02 PM
He wont, he wanted tonnes of money with us sure!

Not so - Sean Connor was on a very modest salary at Dundalk.

Expect major fallout between him and Nick Gleeson, as Nicky tries to exercise some control over him.

10/01/2010, 8:31 PM
Not so - Sean Connor was on a very modest salary at Dundalk.

Expect major fallout between him and Nick Gleeson, as Nicky tries to exercise some control over him.

Oh, them Gleeson's are hoors.

Celdrog
10/01/2010, 8:35 PM
Not so - Sean Connor was on a very modest salary at DundalkThink he's talking about him wanting a big budget

10/01/2010, 9:17 PM
Think he's talking about him wanting a big budget
I'm sure he was made well aware of the major reduction in Galway's budget this year (which may have possibly been sacrificed slightly to get him in?). He's proven he get results on the pitch but the damage he seems to do at all the clubs he's at behind the scenes has given him a bad reputation and leaves him in a situation where he has to take whatever job becomes available.

11/01/2010, 8:26 AM
Daniel O Donnell in todays indo quoting that Fenlon staying with Bohs,

Daily Mail quoting un-named FAI sources that Bohs within the 65%SCP for 2009.

Sill rumours and completely at variance with BCWTD`S Bohs Almanac and Pineapple Stu`s Crystal Ball Accounting system, so the journalists must be wrong?

That has never and will never happen in the history of Journalism.

danthesaint
11/01/2010, 8:54 AM
Drogs in talks with Glen Fitzpatrick apparently, hate that :D

ndrog
11/01/2010, 10:46 AM

No chance it was started as a joke :confused: ( fingers crossed )

marinobohs
11/01/2010, 10:51 AM

Wasn't he at Drogs before ?

11/01/2010, 11:02 AM
Wasn't he at Drogs before ?
yeah he did! why do ye dislike him lads i taught hell do a job for a lower PD side? (no offence)

danthesaint
11/01/2010, 11:48 AM
yeah he did! why do ye dislike him lads i taught hell do a job for a lower PD side? (no offence)

didnt do much with pats in his 3 years. might do a job in the first division

KBurke
11/01/2010, 2:28 PM
Any chance of keeping things on topic lads?

11/01/2010, 2:31 PM
Any chance of keeping things on topic lads?

Class! I actually laughed out loud at this!

11/01/2010, 2:38 PM
Bohs Rovers stuff moved to the SCP thread. Ye've already got two full threads to yourselves; let's not have them spilling into other threads too.

total hoofball
11/01/2010, 2:56 PM
didnt do much with pats in his 3 years. might do a job in the first division

He has been so bad since he scored those two goals against Lille I don't think he would be up to anything in the First or even the Leinster senior. Has he even scored 10 goals in the past 5 years?

Doomofman
11/01/2010, 3:30 PM

Ah the Wonder Striker.... Bargain for Drogheda if you ask me ;)

Celdrog
11/01/2010, 4:11 PM
Ah the Wonder Striker.... Bargain for Drogheda if you ask me ;)It was a wind up.
Didn't Pats give us €20k for him a couple of season ago:eek:

Very nice bloke but a very poor finisher. He lived off those goals against Deportivo

ndrog
11/01/2010, 4:37 PM
Ah the Wonder Striker.... Bargain for Drogheda if you ask me ;)

No thanks we will leave him to our fellow relegation candidates , Dundalk might be interested in him :D

11/01/2010, 4:39 PM
It was a wind up.
Didn't Pats give us €20k for him a couple of season ago:eek:

Very nice bloke but a very poor finisher. He lived off those goals against Deportivo
lille