View Full Version : Pre-Season Rumours Thread
11/01/2010, 4:39 PM
Kenny states in today's Derry News that we'll be signing Mark McCrystal from Distillery.
Kenny will be talking to Farren this week about signing him up too.
Emmet Friars said he wants to sign for us, but I very much doubt we'll be paying Newry anything to release him from his contract.
danthesaint
11/01/2010, 4:46 PM
Kenny states in today's Derry News that we'll be signing Mark McCrystal from Distillery.
Kenny will be talking to Farren this week about signing him up too.
Emmet Friars said he wants to sign for us, but I very much doubt we'll be paying Newry anything to release him from his contract.
how is farren?
danthesaint
11/01/2010, 5:40 PM
shels fans, is derek doyle any good???
GlasnevinRed
11/01/2010, 5:48 PM
shels fans, is derek doyle any good???
Wasn't great last year imo. Always tried but lacked the ability. Good in the air as he's tall but that's about it.
Hairy Bowsie
11/01/2010, 6:05 PM
Glasnevin Red, is being too nice because he's like that but i can tell you that Derek "Donkey" Doyle is one of the worst players to play for us since we came down and we've had some awful players.
He's a winger but he couldn't beat an egg. His touch is about as subtle an elephant. He couldn't pass water and that lad who was shot dead in Pearse Street for being in the wrong place at the wrong time has better positioning than him.
He really is that awful.
danthesaint
11/01/2010, 6:09 PM
ok thanks, i guess ;)
Hairy Bowsie
11/01/2010, 6:12 PM
No need to wink, it's well known Gill likes him and wants him in at Pats. If he'd been contracted to Shels, i'd pay you lot to take him off us.
11/01/2010, 6:27 PM
Glasnevin Red, is being too nice because he's like that but i can tell you that Derek "Donkey" Doyle is one of the worst players to play for us since we came down and we've had some awful players.
He's a winger but he couldn't beat an egg. His touch is about as subtle an elephant. He couldn't pass water and that lad who was shot dead in Pearse Street for being in the wrong place at the wrong time has better positioning than him.
He really is that awful.
That is one of the best descriptions of a bad player ever.
11/01/2010, 6:44 PM
He really is that awful.
Yep. That's about the standard we aimed for on the wings at UCD back when he was playing for us. The defence would occasionally slice a ball in his direction. Conor Salmon would jump for the cross with all the timing of a sundial on a cloudy day. Then, Doyle would hoof the ball in the direction of the small of his back, from where it would occasionally bounce nicely for Paul Byrne to score, injuring himself in the process. It wasn't pretty, but it kept us up.
11/01/2010, 6:58 PM
lester nad hynes have both joined us
LeixlipRed
11/01/2010, 8:06 PM
Doyle going to Pats should see them challenging for the A league title in about 2 years time :)
Doomofman
11/01/2010, 8:09 PM
Doyle going to Pats should see them challenging for the A league title in about 2 years time :)
Haha that's optimistic... Ah to be fair.. We've had Fitzpatrick for about 3 seasons and not got relegated...
LeixlipRed
11/01/2010, 8:21 PM
Doyle is a shocking player. Nothing compared to Fitzpatrick.
The Betting Man
11/01/2010, 9:31 PM
He couldn't pass water and that lad who was shot dead in Pearse Street for being in the wrong place at the wrong time has better positioning than him.
:D:D:D
Doomofman
11/01/2010, 10:29 PM
Anyone(Bray or UCD fans in particular) have any thoughts on Paul Byrne?
Dillonman
11/01/2010, 10:34 PM
He couldnt score to save his life from the few times Iv seen him play at Oriel!
shellshocked
11/01/2010, 10:54 PM
He really is that awful.
I hope if Derek Doyle reads this forum that he has a strong character :D..
What Hairy Bowsie missed out mentioning above is that there is an excellent marksman walking the streets of Dublin, has he been signed up yet ?? :D
11/01/2010, 11:20 PM
No need to wink, it's well known Gill likes him and wants him in at Pats. If he'd been contracted to Shels, i'd pay you lot to take him off us.
I'd say it has more to do with Mahon. Doyle was one of his favourites when he was UCD manager, started every week despite been absolutely dire.
If he applies himself and puts in a bit of effort while on the pitch he could be a very good player at this level, has the talent and capabilities to get into double figures for a season and more. Hasn't been arsed since 2007 though which is a shame as he actually is quite a good player.
Saw those two on the PFAI list today and was surprised that I hadn't heard anything about Mahon going for them. Shane Fitzgerald is on the list too, can't imagine you'll get anymore misfortune. Whatever about Mahon being able to get the best out of young players coming through his ability at judging players' current ability is shocking.
Doomofman
11/01/2010, 11:27 PM
Whatever about Mahon being able to get the best out of young players coming through his ability at judging players' current ability is shocking.
Shhhhh everything's perfect...
11/01/2010, 11:43 PM
If he applies himself and puts in a bit of effort while on the pitch he could be a very good player at this level, has the talent and capabilities to get into double figures for a season and more. Hasn't been arsed since 2007 though which is a shame as he actually is quite a good player.
While his attitude has been criticised, he's also very injury-prone. Not that the two are completely independent, but I think injuries have made the difference between him being a very good player and... well, whatever he's actually become - I've not seem much of him lately.
Regarding Mahon and Doyle, I don't think there was anyone better than Doyle at the club, so it's harsh on Mahon.
Riddickcule
11/01/2010, 11:56 PM
Meh,
Reminds me of Nicklas Bendtner
Riddickcule
12/01/2010, 12:16 AM
He's Danish?
No he's lanky and clumsy
12/01/2010, 12:54 AM
Regarding Mahon and Doyle, I don't think there was anyone better than Doyle at the club, so it's harsh on Mahon.
Killian Gallagher was one, Podge was also a better left winger than him so he could have been moved out there and Byrne or Purcell could have slotted in upfront, which would have made the side stronger despite their lack of application. System could have been changed as well in necessary, could have played a diamond (which I admittedly am not a fan of) with a number of very good centre mids at the time and a serious dearth of any somewhat talented players on the wing (of which Doyle was the worst).
Nevertheless, he was clearly a favourite of Mahon's, not just him been picked as who he considered to be the best left winger, but in relation to the team (which can be seen in his re-signing of him) which is a scandalous judgement call considering he was our worst first team regular that season (2008).
BohsFans
12/01/2010, 1:05 AM
Galway's squad been ripped to shreds atm!
We are in talks with John Russell and Higgins turned us down at the las minute for more money at Bohs!
http://blackandwhitetown.squarespace.com/home/2010/1/5/hatswell-appointed-as-number-two.html
Funny the way any time any player dares turn down an offer from Dundalk, their fans immediately qualify it by saying the player has turned them down for "more money at *"!
* insert clubs name
Oh and it's always the last minute too :D:D
12/01/2010, 9:12 AM
It's also interesting that in 2008, when we were looking to get rid of players to bring new blood in, it was Doyle and Byrne whom Mahon gave the boot to, with lack of effort apparently a reason. Interesting that Pete's looking to get the two of them back.
Doyler was excellent for us in 2007 - scored eight goals before breaking his leg in September. Never really got his form back after that. Byrne got 5 goals in his first 76 minutes for us, but again, injuries hit rather hard, and there's always a feeling that he could be a much better player simply if he wanted to be.
12/01/2010, 9:21 AM
lester nad hynes have both joined us
its not confirmed by the club yet but I would expect it to happen. I spoke to the secretary and she said that noone has signed yet but Cousins is talking to players and news will come out in the coming days..
Funny the way any time any player dares turn down an offer from Dundalk, their fans immediately qualify it by saying the player has turned them down for "more money at *"!
* insert clubs name
Yawn.......sure Bohs are role models for all of us in terms of PR
Ezeikial
12/01/2010, 9:42 AM
We tried a different spin before - but the "Kenny turns down Dundalk for less money at Derry" line just didn't work too well !!
chris turner seen in galway this morning apparently. Also, 2 new zealanders as well as players from england, scotland and northern ireland heading to galway for our first training session on saturday morning. A lot of last seasons players are also commiting themselves to next season with gufc again, with Alan Murphy and Derek O'Brien already confirmed.
Dillonman
12/01/2010, 10:08 AM
* insert clubs name
Oh please, as if I made that up, Iv better things to be doing with my time...thats why I posted the bloody press release to show what OUR manager said about YOUR club.
Dillonman
12/01/2010, 10:09 AM
chris turner seen in galway this morning apparently. Also, 2 new zealanders as well as players from england, scotland and northern ireland heading to galway for our first training session on saturday morning. A lot of last seasons players are also commiting themselves to next season with gufc again, with Alan Murphy and Derek O'Brien already confirmed.
Looking very bright atm in Galway!!!
Dillonman
12/01/2010, 10:16 AM
Turner leaving Sligo already!
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/loi/news.asp?n=37870
12/01/2010, 10:20 AM
Looking very bright atm in Galway!!!
it sure is dillonman, and as I said elsewhere, he has got a much bigger budget than first forecasted due to heavy investment in the club by a local businessman.
danthesaint
12/01/2010, 10:55 AM
Jason Gavin gone from pats.
weecountyman
12/01/2010, 11:52 AM
Jason Gavin gone from pats.
Big loss, any idea where to?
PartySaint
12/01/2010, 12:12 PM
Big loss, any idea where to?
More importantly its a big earner off the books, There have been a few rumours that he is going to Oz and that Rovers are interested a few people saying he might just give up football altogether
Lamper.sffc
12/01/2010, 12:44 PM
Some good news alright. Glad to hear its looking a little better for yous now and some new investment cant hurt.
Dillonman
12/01/2010, 12:51 PM
More importantly its a big earner off the books, There have been a few rumours that he is going to Oz and that Rovers are interested a few people saying he might just give up football altogether
I heard that Foster is an admirer of Gavin's so could be heading our way for all we know!
The Betting Man
12/01/2010, 1:11 PM
I thought I read a few weeks ago that Fingal were looking at Gavin
He's probably getting quite uncomfortable at this stage.
Doomofman
12/01/2010, 6:11 PM
Ex Bray player Paul Byrne has signed for us....
Opinions people!!
Hulsey
12/01/2010, 6:22 PM
Opinions people!!
As soon as he seemed to be hitting his stride got injured and never really recovered. Not too bothered we haven't re-signed him, very lazy at times and was a terrible finisher for us
superjohnny
12/01/2010, 6:22 PM
Hes muck.. pats are seriously going to struggle next year.
total hoofball
12/01/2010, 6:24 PM
Opinions people!!
Always looked an uninterested/lazy player whenever I saw him play but I'm sure the UCD lads will have a better analysis as he had about 4 seasons at Belfield
edit: Hulsey probably has it spot on about him
Opinions people!!
Sorry to hear that :p
Injury prone is an understatement when talking about Byrne, Lazy and a very poor finisher at this level, and for such a big guy he actually was'nt even that good in the air. I've always liked Pats as a club but am very surprised at the level of player they have been signing this season, knew money was tight but didn't think it was that bad.
On another note, another ex-player of ours, Derek Foran, who i would rate as one of the best young defender in the country has signed for Sligo Rovers from what i've heard, great signing for them if true.
Dillonman
12/01/2010, 7:03 PM
Thomas Heary to Galway, new signings for us by end of week:
http://blackandwhitetown.squarespace.com/home/2010/1/12/foster-to-unveil-new-faces-by-end-of-the-week.html
I heard Simon Madden is over on trial with Stan's Darlo revolution
bingoballs
12/01/2010, 7:35 PM
Turner leaving Sligo already!
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/loi/news.asp?n=37870
Galway are paying for him with the compensation they will get from Dundalk!
gufc2000
12/01/2010, 9:48 PM
Thomas Heary to Galway, new signings for us by end of week:
http://blackandwhitetown.squarespace.com/home/2010/1/12/foster-to-unveil-new-faces-by-end-of-the-week.html
Are you sure thats definite?
Dillonman
12/01/2010, 10:27 PM
Galway are paying for him with the compensation they will get from Dundalk!
Waht compensation? do you wana explain?? He was owed money so he was free to leave, he sought legal advice so alls in order, wont be getting a penny from us, will be getting a player from you lot though!:D