View Full Version : Pre-Season Rumours Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

footyfollower
07/01/2010, 10:27 PM
This lad doing pre season with Mervue Utd. Played for Shamrock Rovers & Kilkenny City.

http://www.munster-express.ie/sports/soccer/delahunty-signs-usindoor-soccer-deal/

Ezeikial
07/01/2010, 10:57 PM
Roddy Collins, Sean Connor or Jeff Kenna?

Sign them all up - they would be a dream team!

Doomofman
07/01/2010, 11:07 PM
Sign them all up - they would be a dream team!

Yeah a team dreaming of being decent at anything at all...

Ezeikial
07/01/2010, 11:35 PM
...and as Bohs are under embargo, all their signings and re-signings are still free agents at the moment.

I'd expect one or two to go with him myself.

If that were to happen, Bohs would simply go out and sign the next best available players.

blue til i die
07/01/2010, 11:56 PM
Where is the source that Gareth Cambridge is after signing for Waterford.

http://www.waterford-united.ie/tp_news/blues-sign-cambridge/

**FrOsTy**
08/01/2010, 12:25 AM
Just heard that David Breen and Gary Sheehan of Wexford are going to Limerick.

08/01/2010, 9:01 AM
Let it be true.

08/01/2010, 9:17 AM
I'm afraid your sources are wrong. I was talking to him today and he still hasn't signed.
How very strange. Cos it's official that he has. Hopefully it's formalities.

noddy102
08/01/2010, 9:41 AM
How very strange. Cos it's official that he has. Hopefully it's formalities.

Well from talking to him i got the idea that he had been talking to the manager but hasn't spoken to him in a while. I understand that nothing is near signed as yet. Very surprising the club has announced it!

bluewhitearmy
08/01/2010, 10:16 AM

Where did you hear this?

bluewhitearmy
08/01/2010, 12:38 PM

1 the lads on our section that Gary will be staying at Wexford.

08/01/2010, 12:42 PM
Well from talking to him i got the idea that he had been talking to the manager but hasn't spoken to him in a while. I understand that nothing is near signed as yet. Very surprising the club has announced it!
Did it sound like he'll be staying on?

08/01/2010, 12:44 PM
Darlington have signed a Gary Purcell from Pat's according to Sky Sports News:p

08/01/2010, 2:25 PM

Surprised a Prem team hasn't come in for Sheehan yet, he has the makings of a top striker imo, was one of the top 3 or 4 in the first division last season.

Hairy Bowsie
08/01/2010, 2:30 PM
Darlington have signed a Gary Purcell from Pat's according to Sky Sports News:p

I went to school with him. I'm really suprised Darlington have signed him because he was always crap at football, well, that and the fact he died 3 years ago.

08/01/2010, 2:42 PM
I went to school with him. I'm really suprised Darlington have signed him because he was always crap at football, well, that and the fact he died 3 years ago.

Maybe Staunton wanted someone to stiffen up the defence?

08/01/2010, 2:45 PM
I've heard a rumour from a very reliable source (I know how that sounds but this person would have their facts right beofre telling me anything) that Bray have been told they're in the Premier again next season and that Galway won't be. Now whether that's because they're folding or just being demoted I don't know but that's what they've been told today apparently.

08/01/2010, 2:58 PM
I've heard a rumour from a very reliable source (I know how that sounds but this person would have their facts right beofre telling me anything) that Bray have been told they're in the Premier again next season and that Galway won't be. Now whether that's because they're folding or just being demoted I don't know but that's what they've been told today apparently.

I've been told by someone very close to Galway United that the only issue they had was with the taxman and that they are confident of a Prem Licence.

It does seem though that the new manager has been given an amateur budget and will be going with local players next season.

08/01/2010, 3:02 PM
Maybe it'd suit them better to play First Divison on that kind of budget, I don't know. The person heard it from Bray themselves and they mentioned Galway.

08/01/2010, 3:07 PM
Maybe it'd suit them better to play First Divison on that kind of budget, I don't know. The person heard it from Bray themselves and they mentioned Galway.

The same person that told me though was the same person who claimed Devon were putting in a stand in Drom.

08/01/2010, 3:15 PM
I'd say Bray are certainties to be in the Premier again, it's just a case of who they replace and if anyone comes up with them. Shels would be next in line presumably.

08/01/2010, 3:26 PM
Bray have to replace Cork.

Don't want Shels to replace Galway. I think Galway will be muck next year.

danthesaint
08/01/2010, 3:38 PM
Bray have to replace Cork.

Don't want Shels to replace Galway. I think Galway will be muck next year.

someone said on our forum, shels and bray have been told to prepare for premier division foot.ie

im gutted if its true about shels, would love to see them rot.

altho it makes a mockery of the hole playoff system last season.

CSFShels
08/01/2010, 3:53 PM
im gutted if its true about shels, would love to see them rot.
And the fact that you're one of the teams that we'll probably finish ahead of.

08/01/2010, 3:57 PM
altho it makes a mockery of the hole playoff system last season.

I don't think the play-off system could be made a more of a mockery as things are.

noddy102
08/01/2010, 4:04 PM

I'm not too sure. I think he is waiting to hear back from the club and its the club who should be making the next move.

08/01/2010, 10:33 PM
Doubt very much he'll have the time with his new TV role.

http://23.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_kty6sm5cNX1qzu5lco1_400.jpg

**FrOsTy**
08/01/2010, 11:17 PM
Not much in the way of a transfer but we've brought Gary Keane up from our U20's to our senior team.

One of the players of the year last season Gary can play unfront wide right or centre mid. Good box to box player. Poors mans Gerrard for all the world.

gufc2000
08/01/2010, 11:20 PM
Our manager should be announced by early next week

Dillonman
09/01/2010, 11:14 AM
In todays Star that Faz turned down a move to Czech side Brno after a trial last week and is currently on tirla with German side Dresden!

weecountyman
09/01/2010, 11:50 AM
In todays Star that Faz turned down a move to Czech side Brno after a trial last week and is currently on tirla with German side Dresden!

Good move, Dresden have a great set up and a fair bit of cash behind them. And I think, if I'm not completely wrong, Ivo Ulich is still with them.

Blue Man
09/01/2010, 3:01 PM
Longford have apparently signed John Lester, Peter Hynes and Chris Deans

**FrOsTy**
09/01/2010, 3:01 PM
Word on the street is we hoping to sign Liam Kearney. I myself highly doubt it but apparently it's who Hendo is after so make of it what you will.

09/01/2010, 3:02 PM
Longford have apparently signed John Lester, Peter Hynes and Chris Deans
Seriously? They'd be good signings for our standards! :eek:

Blue Man
09/01/2010, 3:07 PM
Seriously? They'd be good signings for our standards! :eek:

So i hear. Kevin Cronin has also re-signed and Thomas Hyland has signed as well. He was playing at University of Memphis for the last few years.

09/01/2010, 3:10 PM
So i hear. Kevin Cronin has also re-signed and Thomas Hyland has signed as well. He was playing at University of Memphis for the last few years.

Awh right thats good if true! Cronin had a shocking start with us last season when he signed, playing at left back, but when moved into the centre he improved greatly. Never heard of Hyland.

Thanks for the information though!

saintmaniac
09/01/2010, 3:16 PM
Chris Deans is a W**ker though.

Agree on that, Pats fans can testify on the Deans front, he made a gesture to us at a game last year, and it did not go down well. Ended with abuse being thrown at him every time we played him, to the extent that he was booed whenever he got on the ball. Think he got sent off the night that they beat us in Richmond, which was met by a hefty cheer :D Probably the only thing to cheer about that night to be fair...

Surprised Hynes is gone to Longford. I won't miss Lester but at First Division level, he could definitely make a difference with his free kicks alone.

Blue Man
09/01/2010, 3:19 PM
Agree on that, Pats fans can testify on the Deans front, he made a gesture to us at a game last year, and it did not go down well. Ended with abuse being thrown at him every time we played him, to the extent that he was booed whenever he got on the ball. Think he got sent off the night that they beat us in Richmond, which was met by a hefty cheer :D Probably the only thing to cheer about that night to be fair...

Surprised Hynes is gone to Longford. I won't miss Lester but at First Division level, he could definitely make a difference with his free kicks alone.

I was surprised to hear those signing tbh. Not sure where that kind of money is coming from. As i said, this is just what I heard

Doomofman
09/01/2010, 3:20 PM
I feel sorry for Longford regarding Lester... It gets pretty frustrating watching an overweight guy do SFA for most games... Yeah he scores the odd goal... But I'd rather have a player that can run for 90 minutes of game rather than a guy that would only run 90 minutes to get to the chipper before it closes

09/01/2010, 3:20 PM
I was surprised to hear those signing tbh. Not sure where that kind of money is coming from. As i said, this is just what I heard

That's what has me suspicious as well, coz we have no money, and I doubt those lads would come cheap.

09/01/2010, 3:22 PM

The budget is no bigger than last season from what I know. Maybe the fact we're apparently going to be training in Dublin again is an attraction for some of them.

Blue Bear
09/01/2010, 4:00 PM
The budget is no bigger than last season from what I know. Maybe the fact we're apparently going to be training in Dublin again is an attraction for some of them.

Whereabouts will ye train in Dublin?? Lester has serious ability is he wants to use an Hynes is a threat, especially in the air. Am unconvinced about Cronin, not a great player. Surely the budget went up if these players are indeed signed!?

09/01/2010, 4:08 PM
I don't know where exactly they'll be training, I just heard Cousins wants them training in Dublin. He apparently has a good few connections in the Junior and schoolboy clubs so he may have somewhere lined up. Under Alan Mathews we trained in the Garda facilities in Westmanstown. In the last couple of years we've been training in Athlone and Longford. Cousins himself was quoted as saying that he was working off the same bduget as last season and had no problem with that. It is a good time to be doing deals with players this season in fairness but I'll wait and see on these prospective signings there's been nothing confirmed yet.

Iorfa2MaccaJim
09/01/2010, 5:45 PM
** FrOsTy ** Wrote

Not much in the way of a transfer but we've brought Gary Keane up from our U20's to our senior team.

One of the players of the year last season Gary can play unfront wide right or centre mid. Good box to box player. Poors mans Gerrard for all the world.

That's great news Frosty. I heard good things about Keane last year.

09/01/2010, 8:06 PM
Certainly wont be missing Longford games from now on.

09/01/2010, 9:05 PM
Certainly wont be missing Longford games from now on.

I hear JL has already approached a security agency to help him out for Longford games against Mons.

09/01/2010, 9:10 PM
I hear JL has already approached a security agency to help him out for Longford games against Mons.

I know he is scared of me but jaysus thats extreme!

gufc2000
09/01/2010, 9:21 PM
Sean Connor is the favourite for our job according to the Daily Mail, can't see him getting it though and don't want him to either

sheao
09/01/2010, 9:56 PM

Yeah i rember a similar incident with Deans when City were away to Bray last October. He went came over and started celebrating in front of the small number of City fans that were there after Bray beat us 3-2 . If i remember it did'nt go down well either

Hulsey
09/01/2010, 10:29 PM
Yeah i rember a similar incident with Deans when City were away to Bray last October. He went came over and started celebrating in front of the small number of City fans that were there after Bray beat us 3-2 . If i remember it did'nt go down well either

Good defender but as shown by the above post he can be brain dead at times with off the ball antics. Would be a great signing for Longford though