View Full Version : Pre-Season Rumours Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

gufc2000
30/12/2009, 7:37 PM
Michael Keane to Cork City according to the Mail...

30/12/2009, 8:04 PM
Didn't Shels get him from us in the first place?

Nope, from us, but Shels won't be retaining him so he could end up anywhere - would be surprised if it was Pat's though after Gill sacked him from Dundalk.

For the record Flood did start his LOI career at Pats.

Ezeikial
30/12/2009, 11:17 PM
Nope, from us, but Shels won't be retaining him so he could end up anywhere - would be surprised if it was Pat's though after Gill sacked him from Dundalk.

There is no doubt that when he is in the mood and focused he can be a really effective player. The question is more about what manager will put up with his attitude.

Kealy has had enough of him, Gill sacked him for "breach of discipline". he played less then 30 games for Pats, Athlone and Shamrock Rovers combined. If he is around for any length of time he will test the patience of manager and team-mates

30/12/2009, 11:57 PM
Is that Shane Fitz? Did he play much for youz last year?

Yes and No.

It is shane alright, but, very unlucky with the injuries with him breaking a few bones...pulled hamstrings etc..

sligofan4ever
31/12/2009, 1:24 AM

I remember him being linked with us around this time last year. I can't quite put my finger on why he was in the papers, did he sue st.pats or something along those lines ?

Doomofman
31/12/2009, 1:33 AM
I remember him being linked with us around this time last year. I can't quite put my finger on why he was in the papers, did he sue st.pats or something along those lines ?

Yeah something along those lines because we sacked him as he didn't reach specific targets regarding his weight IIRC

31/12/2009, 6:53 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/sacked-for-being-too-fat-1431852.html

PIcs don't lie

It wa settled out of court in the end

forza rovers
31/12/2009, 9:29 AM
Where are Sligo getting all this money from? Chris Turner doesnt come cheap, neither do those two lads from Cork!breaking even

unclekev
31/12/2009, 9:51 AM
Did you not hear the 4m lotto was won in Sligo two weeks ago........

31/12/2009, 11:40 AM
Ps At least your club is actively looking for players.

And we aren't...:confused:

31/12/2009, 11:44 AM

Keane, Molloy, O'Callaghan.

We might as well change our name to
"Last Chance Saloon for Giant Egos FC"

srfc1928
31/12/2009, 11:46 AM
It just gets better down in Cork......
Roddy is trying to sign George O'Callaghan
(according to one of todays rags)

Edit. Tiktok beat me to it

bluewhitearmy
31/12/2009, 1:00 PM
Ex-Hearts, good player, still a bit raw though. Currently injured and if I recall correctly will miss a fair chunk of 2010 season. Is he joining you guys? Would be surprised if true.

I was talking to him in Limerick the other day and he was saying he thinks he is signing for us. Doing a course in University of Limerick he never mentioned surgery.

31/12/2009, 1:18 PM
on our own forum on foot.ie a athlone town fan has said that Colm Jinks and Carmine Russo are returning to their old club Athlone town..

31/12/2009, 1:31 PM
Yay!! :d

31/12/2009, 1:42 PM
Yay!! :d

31/12/2009, 2:34 PM
I was talking to him in Limerick the other day and he was saying he thinks he is signing for us. Doing a course in University of Limerick he never mentioned surgery.

Ciaran is only just doing his leaving cert in the summer.

bluewhitearmy
31/12/2009, 3:05 PM
Ciaran is only just doing his leaving cert in the summer.

Not what he told me but i wouldn't know a thing about him apart from he got carried off against us last year.

danthesaint
31/12/2009, 3:40 PM
Keane, Molloy, O'Callaghan.

We might as well change our name to
"Last Chance Saloon for Giant Egos FC"

which molloy is that?? Trevor?

LeixlipRed
31/12/2009, 5:39 PM
Sad to lose Flood. My favourite Shels player since we got relegated :( When on form a class player.

31/12/2009, 6:01 PM
Roddy is trying to sign George O'CallaghanJoined Brighton on trial

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1231/ocallaghang.html

Hairy Bowsie
31/12/2009, 6:52 PM
Sad to lose Flood. My favourite Shels player since we got relegated :( When on form a class player.

Did i miss a post or something?

brianw82
31/12/2009, 8:15 PM
Has Jason Hughes of Limerick been linked to anyone? He was on trial with Birmingham a year ago.

31/12/2009, 8:59 PM
Has Jason Hughes of Limerick been linked to anyone? He was on trial with Birmingham a year ago.

http://www.limerickfc.ie/Home/news/091217squad2.html

Signed with us for 2010.

The Lilywhites
01/01/2010, 10:56 AM
Did i miss a post or something?

Keely won't be renewing Flood's contract, or Hynes' for that matter.

CSFShels
01/01/2010, 11:01 AM
Keely won't be renewing Flood's contract, or Hynes' for that matter.
Where dya hear that?

01/01/2010, 2:58 PM
Stuff on Bohs' SCP moved here (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=130064).

villarover
01/01/2010, 9:26 PM
I know. Despite what Daly claims, he's going because you're going to pay him more. If you've got the money, spend it.
Sean Connor is rubbing off ye up there, thinking your bigger than ye actually are.

villarover
01/01/2010, 9:59 PM
Sugar Daddy? Europe money? Doing what every other club does and spends money it doesn't have just for success?

You pick
At least our players got there wages every week all last season. You couldnt say that about most teams in the league.

MMVIII
01/01/2010, 10:23 PM
Where are Sligo getting all this money from? Chris Turner doesnt come cheap, neither do those two lads from Cork!

Turner came here for a significantly less amount than what Shams were supposedly offering.

Our budget has been reduced this season. What part of that do people find hard to believe?

Hairy Bowsie
01/01/2010, 10:27 PM
Our budget has been reduced this season. What part of that do people find hard to believe?

This part
Our budget has been reduced this season.

MMVIII
01/01/2010, 10:39 PM
Ok mate, you keep believing your right.

Our budget has been reduced this season. That is a fact. But hey, you know it all!

01/01/2010, 10:47 PM
Where are Sligo getting all this money from? Chris Turner doesnt come cheap, neither do those two lads from Cork!
Neither do Owen Morrison, Cretaro or Kendrick who have left. Can't believe that people just can't look at the players out before going on about budget increase etc, etc.

SMorgan
02/01/2010, 6:23 AM
Oh I fully accept that Sligo will be working off a smaller budget than last season. It has to. In fact I'd say that the club is regreting signing Turner using the European money that isn't coming. As for Turner turning down more money from Sham Rovers to play with Sly Rovers, give us a break!!

Hairy Bowsie
02/01/2010, 10:31 AM
Ok mate, you keep believing your right.

Our budget has been reduced this season. That is a fact. But hey, you know it all!

No i don't know it all but i have the experience of being the fan of a club who was told "we're working off a reduced budget next season". Now that alone doesn't mean you're wrong and i'm right but i will say don't believe everything you're told by your club.

Now lets say you are right and you are working off a reduce budget, it still doesn't mean you are living within your means.

Personally, looking at the Sligo situation, i don't believe you've reduced your budget but thats just my opinion on it. We'll know who was right come the end of the season but you don't have to get so defensive about it :)

Dillonman
02/01/2010, 10:42 AM
Neither do Owen Morrison, Cretaro or Kendrick who have left. Can't believe that people just can't look at the players out before going on about budget increase etc, etc.

Turner was announced as "signed" well before those players where announced as "released".

wexfordned
02/01/2010, 10:55 AM
Turner came here for a significantly less amount than what Shams were supposedly offering.

It's simple really.

Every player in the league would rather play for Shamrocks than anybody else.

Any player who chooses to sign for another team instead of Shamrock must be signing for them because he was offered more money. There is no other explanation for turning down Shamrock that could possibly make sense:confused:

02/01/2010, 11:07 AM
Turner was announced as "signed" well before those players where announced as "released".

Yeah the club obviously knew those players being released weren't going to be offered new contracts.

Dillonman
02/01/2010, 11:09 AM
Yeah the club obviously knew those players being released weren't going to be offered new contracts.

Yeah but what Im getting at is if Boco is their highest earner and they are cutting back budget wise...(you get my drift)

On another note I received two emails last night saying Robbie Farrell was offered a contract with us.

Dillonman
02/01/2010, 12:30 PM
Have Fingal released anyone or are they keeping everyone who won promotion?

02/01/2010, 12:43 PM
Any player who chooses to sign for another team instead of Shamrock must be signing for them because he was offered more money.

There's also a possibility the player wouldn't want to move to Dublin, or that they mightn't get a game there. Or maybe they just don't like Shams?

Dillonman
02/01/2010, 12:46 PM
There's also a possibility the player wouldn't want to move to Dublin, or that they mightn't get a game there. Or maybe they just don't like Shams?

Might not like the set up either.

02/01/2010, 12:54 PM
Personally, looking at the Sligo situation, i don't believe you've reduced your budget but thats just my opinion on it. We'll know who was right come the end of the season but you don't have to get so defensive about it :)
Why do you think that?

Yeah but what Im getting at is if Boco is their highest earner and they are cutting back budget wise...(you get my drift)
That makes absolutely no sense at all.

Dillonman
02/01/2010, 12:59 PM
Why do you think that?

That makes absolutely no sense at all.

It doesnt matter. Point is, if true, if they're cutting back then how can they offer Turner a 2 year deal well before xmas.

02/01/2010, 1:15 PM
It doesnt matter. Point is, if true, if they're cutting back then how can they offer Turner a 2 year deal well before xmas.
Because they have released players. It's simple, I can't see how there is any confusion.

02/01/2010, 1:26 PM
you do know that a 2 year contract isnt more expensive than a 1 year? they still pay him the sae wages every week? if they are not stupid with money and can pay wages it is a good deal for sligo. their guranteing themselvel 2 years of his services or a season and a transfer fee? its a god buisness and footballing decision?

Boo_Boy
02/01/2010, 1:29 PM

Sweet Jesus, let me break it down. I'll use even and lower numbers to make it easier on you.

Lets say we have a budget of 10,000 per week, we release:
Owen Morrison. -500/pw
Martin Camano. -500/pw
Joe Kendrick. -500/pw
Ger Rafter. - 500/pw
Rob Turner. -500/pw

So 2,500 is taken from the budget, now we have used 7,500 of our 10,000 budget. We sign Turner for 500/pw and now we have used 8,000 of our budget.

So now, read it slow, read it twice.

02/01/2010, 1:47 PM
Sweet Jesus, let me break it down. I'll use even and lower numbers to make it easier on you.

Lets say we have a budget of 10,000 per week, we release:
Owen Morrison. -500/pw
Martin Camano. -500/pw
Joe Kendrick. -500/pw
Ger Rafter. - 500/pw
Rob Turner. -500/pw

So 2,500 is taken from the budget, now we have used 7,500 of our 10,000 budget. We sign Turner for 500/pw and now we have used 8,000 of our budget.

So now, read it slow, read it twice.
i gurantee some eejit will reply saying ''but their not on 500 a week blah blah blah..'' and miss the point entirely..

forza rovers
02/01/2010, 2:24 PM
It doesnt matter. Point is, if true, if they're cutting back then how can they offer Turner a 2 year deal well before xmas.worry about sorting your own club out instead of ours.we are reducing our budget(if you can get that into your head),boco is all but gone, we sign 3 players and let at least 5 go.our budget was 14,000 last season and now its down around 8,000 a week

weecountyman
02/01/2010, 2:29 PM
I know this probably sounds a bit mad, but in terms of budget, how much is made through gate, merchandise and sponsorships (and prizemoney) and how much is shovelled into the club by supporters and well-meaning businesspeople? This isn't just in relation to Sligo, it comes from a conversation I had many moons ago in Benny Bradys regarding such matters. At the time the co-op were trying to put Dundalk right and one of the former head people (a certain travel agent) told me in no uncertain terms that annually he put in around £100,000 punts to keep things afloat, and this was off the books or at best "loans".