View Full Version : Mayo Association Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

swinfordfc
15/05/2011, 1:29 AM
The clubs are probably lucky that its only a fine and point reduction, if any of the players got seriously injured more than likely they would not be insured if they were not registered.

Thats very true ..... it would be serious for any club if that happen ... could get sue and be then in serious hot water!

Proton
15/05/2011, 3:08 PM
Correct Round Tower, those clubs can thank them selves lucky!!
Well done who had noted that the players were not registered, That is why its important, that referee's cards are returned.
Its the responsibility of team managers to get there act together, rather than look to blame others.
Would be interesting to here from those who fell foul, too the deduction of pionts.

theboy
15/05/2011, 8:14 PM
Mayo Association Football League have decided to cancel all matches on Saturday 28th May, to Sunday 29th May. This will give everyone a chance to watch the Champions League Final, between Barcelona v Manchester Utd at 7-45.

The only game to be played on Saturday, will be the Mayo Masters League game between Mayo V Down in Milebush Pk at 5pm

Does this mean that all league games are played on the sunday?? or some on thursday evening??? Would they have enough refs to go with all league games on sunday?

Proton
15/05/2011, 8:29 PM
Mayo Association Football League have decided to cancel all matches on Saturday 28th May, to Sunday 29th May. This will give everyone a chance to watch the Champions League Final, between Barcelona v Manchester Utd at 7-45.

The only game to be played on Saturday, will be the Mayo Masters League game between Mayo V Down in Milebush Pk at 5pm

Does this mean that all league games are played on the sunday?? or some on thursday evening??? Would they have enough refs to go with all league games on sunday?
Take it up with J.D

achillrover
15/05/2011, 9:05 PM

Thursday night would help some of us who are heading to London looking for a ticket/beer that weekend!!

rava
26/05/2011, 10:31 AM
What does everybody think of the masters squad. Looks impressive on paper. Only worry its been a while since some of these lads have played 11 a side and some of them have never really played the 11 a side game. I hope they do well as this really has been a success story for the league. Were there any players that didnt make the squad that should have.

Proton
06/06/2011, 4:44 PM
What does everybody think of the masters squad. Looks impressive on paper. Only worry its been a while since some of these lads have played 11 a side and some of them have never really played the 11 a side game. I hope they do well as this really has been a success story for the league. Were there any players that didnt make the squad that should have.
How did they get on against Rossies

rava
08/06/2011, 9:29 AM
How did they get on against Rossies

1-1. A couple of us were just looking at the team and wondering why a few of the following weren't involved Barry Redmond, Alan Larkin, Johnny Jordan, John Noonan Niall and Brian Donnelly. Also its hard to believe that Adrian O'Brien is only good enough to be sub.

pinero
08/06/2011, 5:15 PM
6 trials and training sessions neither of these players appeared at any sessions,enough said,adrian only came in last few out with bad back.

Proton
08/06/2011, 7:03 PM
1-1. A couple of us were just looking at the team and wondering why a few of the following weren't involved Barry Redmond, Alan Larkin, Johnny Jordan, John Noonan Niall and Brian Donnelly. Also its hard to believe that Adrian O'Brien is only good enough to be sub.
Think some of these players feel they should walk on, But Managers have the final say.
Would be interesting to here from those who didn't make it, you have mention. just in case they had no intention of playing for the masters

renovater
08/06/2011, 7:09 PM
May be they didn't show when asked, or may be were not considered

rava
09/06/2011, 8:45 AM
6 trials and training sessions neither of these players appeared at any sessions,enough said,adrian only came in last few out with bad back.

Bad back or no bad back easily the best center half available.

rava
09/06/2011, 8:54 AM
May be they didn't show when asked, or may be were not considered

Its hard to see why they wouldn't have been considered, most of them are still playing in the leagues. If they showed no interest thats a different story. Its just a pity because they could have really made that team very strong.

pinero
13/06/2011, 7:54 PM
good win for celtic in iorras,saw referee and linesmans charged iorras 265 euros for game,with the way times are now,what club can afford them sort of fees.

Closing Time
13/06/2011, 9:03 PM
good win for celtic in iorras,saw referee and linesmans charged iorras 265 euros for game,with the way times are now,what club can afford them sort of fees.

That is scandals. The FAI/Mayo league should do something about the cost of refs. Are they paying tax on this money? I have no problem paying a fair fee but that cost is un defendable as are some of the fees we have to pay for some very poor refs. The GAA counterparts get a lot less what I hear.

rava
14/06/2011, 12:54 PM
That is scandals. The FAI/Mayo league should do something about the cost of refs. Are they paying tax on this money? I have no problem paying a fair fee but that cost is un defendable as are some of the fees we have to pay for some very poor refs. The GAA counterparts get a lot less what I hear.

Apparently the referees are being instructed by their own committee to hit the clubs with everything this year, I wasn't going to post this but I have heard it from so many people at this stage that there must be something in it. It sure would explain the amount of fines given out this year.

CCFC
14/06/2011, 5:02 PM
Apparently the referees are being instructed by their own committee to hit the clubs with everything this year, I wasn't going to post this but I have heard it from so many people at this stage that there must be something in it. It sure would explain the amount of fines given out this year.

Heard that too, i.e give as many yellows as possible, send off managers if possible, fines for kits, pitches, showers anything thats fine-able

jim_bob
14/06/2011, 5:41 PM
with less money from the rent of milebush they have to find the cash somewhere else.
i heard something about monthly targets for fines.

The Don
15/06/2011, 8:53 AM
Heard that too, i.e give as many yellows as possible, send off managers if possible, fines for kits, pitches, showers anything thats fine-able

If this is true we have reached an all time low. Who in their right mind would want to be involved with this sport if this is the way their treated and abused.

rava
15/06/2011, 9:19 AM

The big question is have the league instructed the referees to set out this agenda. If so this surely is a matter for the FAI to investigate, its basically extortion of the clubs and if the referees are implicated they too would have some serious questions to answer.

Round Tower
15/06/2011, 5:35 PM
The big question is have the league instructed the referees to set out this agenda. If so this surely is a matter for the FAI to investigate, its basically extortion of the clubs and if the referees are implicated they too would have some serious questions to answer.[/QUOTE]

I heard that a REf threatened too book a player for looking at him when he went on too look after a injured player,which would be ridiculus.

FahyForever
15/06/2011, 6:04 PM
I saw a ref threaten to SEND OFF a manager in the Masters this year for spreading his arms in a 'What was that for?' manner, but saying nothing. In the same game he told a player not to 'shout' at him by roaring in the players face. When I pointed out the irony he went ballistic. Some are ok but the bottom tier are utterly dire.. Abusing a ref is one thing, but just asking 'why did you give that?' for example, should be fine.

CCFC
15/06/2011, 6:20 PM
The most annoying thing is when you genuinely ask "What was that for?" so you don't do it again, some ref's take it as a sarcastic comment and give ya the whole "I'm the ref" spiel. We gets no respects, I tell ya, no respects!

Ranger
16/06/2011, 10:36 AM
€265 for one game!!!
How the hell do Erris survive financially. They must pay €3-4 grand over a season to referees alone for all teams.
Are they sponsered by Shell !!!!

Round Tower
16/06/2011, 12:36 PM
€265 for one game!!!
How the hell do Erris survive financially. They must pay €3-4 grand over a season to referees alone for all teams.
Are they sponsered by Shell !!!!

J Dooughue is the only ref based in Erris,the ref in that game was from Ballina, the 2 assistants i dont know where they were from,the ref from Ballina would br 90-100 euroes the same if J. Donoughue done a game around Ballina. It must be hard for Erris financially,i dont know if they get much of home support, i expect most Super-league clubs charge on the gate with the 3 officals.

pinero
16/06/2011, 4:03 PM
talking to few in club, closer to 5 grand last year for refs in all and nearly double that for buses for teams, literally fundraising and few sponsors pay for running costs, and throw in scatter of fines as well,will probably have to look at cutting teams to survive,iorras have the biggest ref and travel expenses so something will have to give,few years ago they tried asking mayo league to subsidize refs for them but no go(not there problem)they dont charge for home games only couple big ones, same few at matchs and they help out with club fundraising(not sponsored by shell either much as a couple of mayo legue officals seem to think)

pinero
20/06/2011, 2:49 PM
Heres somthing for ye iorras b playing urlaur in belmullet, local belmullet ref sent ballina to ref game, and mayo league send ref from kilkelly down to ref in iorras(urlaur would be beside to kilkelly)on another note good to see timmy moriarty and john duffy still playing long time since them bucks were in iorras last.

FahyForever
26/06/2011, 9:39 PM
Has anyone tried to use the Mayo League's website lately? If anything it's even more **** than ever. Who runs it???

GoodFootball
05/07/2011, 10:53 AM
Straide & Foxford Manulla - S & F
Castlebar Celtic Conn Rangers B - CELTIC
Partry Athletic Clew Bay United - CLEW BAY UNITED
Ballina Town Kiltimagh/Knock United - BALLINA TOWN
Charlestown Athletic Fahy Rovers - FAHY ROVERS
Ballyhaunis Town Achill Rovers - BALLYHAUNIS
Westport United Ballyheane B - WESTPORT
Fahy Rovers B Iorras Aontaithe - IORRAS

Could be some good pairings in the quarter finals if all go as predicted, obviously clew bay are favorites to win it at this stage :D

swinfordfc
05/07/2011, 12:17 PM

Could be some good pairings in the quarter finals if all go as predicted, obviously clew bay are favorites to win it at this stage :D

Whats your predictions for the shield?

achillrover
05/07/2011, 1:25 PM

agree with all predictions except those two.

Sheep Farmer
07/07/2011, 12:39 PM
Con Gold Cup - Round of 16 Predictions

Charlestown Athletic Fahy Rovers - CHARLESTOWN
Ballyhaunis Town Achill Rovers - ACHILL

Explicit
07/07/2011, 1:35 PM
agree with all predictions except those two.

Fahy won't underestimate Charlestown like claremorris did. Hopefully it'll be a good scrap.

Sheep Farmer
09/07/2011, 4:38 PM
I feel fahy will be to strong for Charlestown this weekend and C'town run will come to an end??

Gavs Up
09/07/2011, 4:44 PM
Not playin well last couple of games but can assure Fahy wont leave with a win easy...

Thunderblaster
11/07/2011, 8:36 PM
Fahy won't underestimate Charlestown like claremorris did. Hopefully it'll be a good scrap.

Looks like Fahy Rovers have underestimated the cup giant-killers that are Charlestown Athletic....:D

Proton
14/07/2011, 9:28 PM
The big question is have the league instructed the referees to set out this agenda. If so this surely is a matter for the FAI to investigate, its basically extortion of the clubs and if the referees are implicated they too would have some serious questions to answer.
I would say first of all get your house in order, referees are instructed by the league's to carry out reports, there is no hidden agenda.

Back n the game
14/07/2011, 11:02 PM
Too many ref's on power trips in the league..... would serve them better to get fitter, keep up with the play and deal with matters on the field of play. Iv'e been involved in Mayo soccer for almost 20 years but nothing beats the class of 2011 where I have witnessed some utterly shambolic, pathetic and sometimes unbeliveable decisions and instructions issued by the man in the middle. Clubs do their best week in week out to try to survive financially and this is normally down to voluntary members marking pitches, washing kits fundraising and for what..... the fat cats to send amatuers to clubs on match day so they can rule over whats accaptable and what is deemed fine worthy.... Its the ML who needs to get their "house in order" and stop chooking the life out of clubs dying on their feet..
If the referee's had any morals this is what should be on match reports and highlight the extremes that every club in Mayo goes through in order to survive and provide an outlet/entertainment to the ordinary chap in the community so they can have a release from all the negativity thats round the country at the moment. Some of these refs forget where they and what they are there for and instead of common sence prevailing crazy cards for managers attending injured players, fines for impropper socks and worst of all the fact that you can no longer question any decision has really scraped the bottom of the barrell.... All I can say is God save us all

rava
15/07/2011, 8:34 AM
I would say first of all get your house in order, referees are instructed by the league's to carry out reports, there is no hidden agenda.

I have no idea what your "get your house in order" jibe is about or who you might think your addressing. Also it might come to your attention that quite a number of people on this forum have issues with some of the innocuous decisions made by refs this season which have lead to serious fines and suspensions for the clubs. If you can explain this then I am all ears, if not please save your condescending comments for someone that cares.

towner
16/07/2011, 10:45 AM
Would have to agree with many of the comments posted regarding referees. Referees although appointed by the relevant leagues, are employed by a club to do a job fairly and with regard to the safety of the participants. In this day and age, can clubs afford to pay people between €90-€250/week for substandard 'work' potentially (and has done) landing participants in hospital, where there was no control over a game or where a referee is just unable to keep up with play. Due to the recesssion, many clubs are cutting back on teams, maybe there now is too many referees, and perhaps the only way of ensuring one gets regular games as 'commisssion' is determined by the amount of revenue brought into the league via fines Does anyone assess referees randomly?, What is the process of complaint against a referee that would not result in a backlash against the complainant or the club in general. Do clubs not pay enough in affiliations to Junior, Youths and Womens leagues and subsequently to the CFA, SFAI, WFAI and FAI to justify a proper independent assessment procedure? There are several very good referees in Mayo, that are in it for the enjoyment of the sport, not the money as the sole aim and are worth every cent, however, there are many refeees that are costing clubs dearly in every respect - financially, player safety, etc and above all the overall promotion and enjoyment of the sport. Is it worth it????

FahyForever
20/07/2011, 12:53 PM
Does anyone know where I could access the information on the League's Top Scorers in the various divisions? The Mayo League's insane website used to have them but decided to abandon them half way through. Which, to be fair to them, is at least consistent with the majority of their policies. Perhaps they will introduce them again at the very last minute so no one knows whats happening until they decide to reveal all. They might even add some 'new innovative idea' like headed goals don't count...

Fair Play
20/07/2011, 1:13 PM
Does anyone know where I could access the information on the League's Top Scorers in the various divisions? The Mayo League's insane website used to have them but decided to abandon them half way through. Which, to be fair to them, is at least consistent with the majority of their policies. Perhaps they will introduce them again at the very last minute so no one knows whats happening until they decide to reveal all. They might even add some 'new innovative idea' like headed goals don't count...
I think you will get all if you click on the Stats Icon on the left hand side of the screen, and then select the competition or division that you want. All the details on goals and yellow cards etc are there. The new format is not great but at least the information is there the whole time. Very poor coverage on the games now since the FAI changed the format.

NoelM
21/07/2011, 2:37 PM
I just wondered what people think about the amount of point deductions this year for clubs playing unregistered players etc, it seems to have happened a lot.
Is it a problem with numbers or with the registration process? Also how are teams caught out, is it by the opposition reporting them or by the league itself?

Back n the game
22/07/2011, 7:47 PM
I just wondered what people think about the amount of point deductions this year for clubs playing unregistered players etc, it seems to have happened a lot.
Is it a problem with numbers or with the registration process? Also how are teams caught out, is it by the opposition reporting them or by the league itself?

I know in Charlestown's case it was discovered by the club and they then contacted the league to inform them that the registration form for the player in question was not at Mr Sweeney in time for his involvement. However their honesty was punished so ............ damned if you do damned if you dont. However if this is is a punishable offence then so should the non apperance of clubs to fulfill fixtures, why should clubs be allowed to forfit games and give the opposition free points and go unpunished?? With the season as short as it is all teams should be fighting for every point, but when clubs get points for nothing then everyone else is playing for 2nd place.

Thunderblaster
23/07/2011, 9:50 AM
A number of weeks back, Westport United had three sent from the dugout during the Iorras Aontaithe game. On each occasion, the linesman (referee's assistant) brought to the attention of the referee as to what was said in the dugout. The physio was the first to go following critical remarks about the officiating in the game, which was termed as abuse towards the match officials. The two assistants went at the one time, one for apparently saying Jesus Christ and the other apparently for making a remark about the fines that would be incurred on the club for the dismissals. The three appeared before the MAFL and one was hit with a fine and one month suspension following the meeting.

short_frank
26/07/2011, 8:05 PM
I just read the article in the Mayo News and the Connaught Telegraph about the Touhy Cup Final and I don't know what match the reporter was watching but it wasn't the match we were at.
To quote him " Partry never got going in the Touhy Cup Decider ". Well according to match officials I spoke to afterwards as well as general football folk who were watching the game Partry played the better football and had the greater possession but had a lack of cutting edge up front. Indeed as one very knowledgeable football person I spoke to afterwards said that if Partry had McHale up front the game would have been over early. He said that the second goal came from a peach of a cross when in fact it deflected off the head of a Partry player and fell fortuitously for the Bangor forward.
The article was full of inaccuracies about the match we all watched. If this is the standard of reporting how are people who didn't make the match supposed to get an accurate view.
Fair play and congrats to Bangor they finished their chances well and won the cup but my only beef is that Partry played some good football and dominated large parts of the match without getting the credit they deserved.:mad:

Proton
05/08/2011, 9:06 PM
A number of weeks back, Westport United had three sent from the dugout during the Iorras Aontaithe game. On each occasion, the linesman (referee's assistant) brought to the attention of the referee as to what was said in the dugout. The physio was the first to go following critical remarks about the officiating in the game, which was termed as abuse towards the match officials. The two assistants went at the one time, one for apparently saying Jesus Christ and the other apparently for making a remark about the fines that would be incurred on the club for the dismissals. The three appeared before the MAFL and one was hit with a fine and one month suspension following the meeting.#
You know what they say!!!
Closed mouths keep flies out

purplemonkeydis
06/08/2011, 12:21 PM
does anyone know which day the shield is being played.the saterday or the sunday?

Gavs Up
06/08/2011, 2:54 PM
Shield is on Sunday. Con gold cup on the saturday at 6pm ko I think. Some very big ties with Cbar and Ballina lookin like it gonna be a cracker. home tie against Erris for ourselves which is gonna be a very tough one, gonna be massive underdogs again but we were happy enough as long as we got a home tie...

Round Tower
20/08/2011, 10:03 AM
What happens if Westport B get relegated from Premier A and Westport C win or finish 2nd in league 1.