View Full Version : Mayo Association Football League
I think that because there is so much football available mid-week, astro-turf leagues etc that younger lads are getting their football here and definitely partying hard at the weekend.
juan pablo
25/03/2010, 10:10 PM
While i am aware that the Masters League has just been concluded. Just wondering does anyone have an idea when the league will start back again??
GoodFootball
26/03/2010, 8:25 AM
I think that because there is so much football available mid-week, astro-turf leagues etc that younger lads are getting their football here and definitely partying hard at the weekend.
This is a bit over the top, anyone who wants to play in an astro league over the mayo league isn't taking football serious at all. The leagues are still as competitive as ever.
Celtic joining the "higher" level in A league has made the super league less competitive and there is less interest in the super league from celtic fans. I think there will be a turnaround in the SL this year myself. With 4 teams going down it should be very competitive. Whether its competitive at the top or not remains to be seen. Ballina will be strong but I think Westport wont be as strong as last year, although they have a new manager which may breath new life into them.
Mayo Red
26/03/2010, 8:51 AM
Ya i heard that alright. Lots of teams stuggling.
What is going on? Can we have a sensible debate on this? Why has the interest been lost in soccer in Mayo with players. Lads seem only interested in drinking and partying.
No bodies committed anymore? What is the general thoughts at clubs? Haven spoken to managers this is going on at alot of other clubs so what is going on?? We have seen the depature of alot of managers and alot of this is due to their dismay at the level of commitment fellas are showing towards their clubs? Do people agree with this. Just this week John MOran stood down after only 3 weeks at Ballinrobe. Was this due to what im on about or what? This is the first season that we are all hearing rumours bout different big clubs not being able to field teams? We've all heard the stories. There has to be some truth? Any thoughts??
There seems to be a general apathy out there though at all levels of the game, even youths football. As regards Ballinrobe, there are very healthy numbers attending training with a lot of young players coming through plus injured players are also attending the sessions to watch, so John Moran's resignation was not as a result of any lack of commitment or effort from the players, or from the club for that matter.
mayo-man
26/03/2010, 10:48 AM
Can any one tell us the real reason why Moran left, he did the same thing to Swinford a couple of seasons ago and left us without a manager right before the start of the season (it actually turned out to be the best thing that could of happened).
terrier
26/03/2010, 11:08 AM
just to put record straight,i had planned to take year out as there is a member off family sick.thought i could manage ballinrobe but the travelling was too much.ive a young family and couldnt give the commitment.there was no problem with players or club,in fact they were brilliant.as to the swinford dig id take winning prem div.over finishing 2nd anyday!!!
pixiehead
26/03/2010, 1:51 PM
There seems to be a general apathy out there though at all levels of the game, even youths football. As regards Ballinrobe, there are very healthy numbers attending training with a lot of young players coming through plus injured players are also attending the sessions to watch, so John Moran's resignation was not as a result of any lack of commitment or effort from the players, or from the club for that matter.
This is my point. Why is the interest and passion not there? I think the league needs to sit down with clubs and discuss what they see as key points to improving the league. I think the league does a great job but its kinda loses the point sometimes with all these new daft rules. They should organise a meeting :meeting: or ask clubs to fill out a Questionnaire with ideas on how to improve the league. from youth up. The lack of interest from players and lack of people wanting to get involved with clubs at committee and youth level will take a shocking hold in Mayo yet i can guarantee. With a recession you would think people would have more time to spare these days but its gone quite the opposite. Some clubs have the finest of facilities in their respective communities and to think that people dont want to get involved in that is beyond belief.
By the way Mayo Red.. Would you happen to be a sligo fan who has an interest in Ballyglass? :wink:
Mayo Red
26/03/2010, 4:50 PM
By the way Mayo Red.. Would you happen to be a sligo fan who has an interest in Ballyglass? :wink:
Nope, but you're right about the Sligo bit!!
renovater
26/03/2010, 11:19 PM
I can understand why you step down, but to be fair to Ballinrobe you did know this before you took the job. (regards illness) your track record not great apart from staying two seasons with Westport b. you might com firm for the record, were you not happy when the A-team job at Westport came up and you were not considered.
Redkenrover
27/03/2010, 12:46 AM
This is my point. Why is the interest and passion not there? I think the league needs to sit down with clubs and discuss what they see as key points to improving the league. I think the league does a great job but its kinda loses the point sometimes with all these new daft rules. They should organise a meeting :meeting: or ask clubs to fill out a Questionnaire with ideas on how to improve the league. from youth up. The lack of interest from players and lack of people wanting to get involved with clubs at committee and youth level will take a shocking hold in Mayo yet i can guarantee. With a recession you would think people would have more time to spare these days but its gone quite the opposite. Some clubs have the finest of facilities in their respective communities and to think that people dont want to get involved in that is beyond belief.
I would be grateful pixiehead if you wouldn't associate or confuse me with that vagabond Mayo Red. He's nothing but trouble:wink:
On a serious note, I have been saying this for the past few years that Mayo football could find itself at a crossroads very soon, I do think that there is a problem with committment from not only players but people in general towards their clubs. Alot of clubs have the same faces involved for years with no one to replace them.
As far as sitting down with clubs, this happened a few seasons ago with a workshop, from memory I dont think many of the issues clubs raised were taken on board.
While I agree with the progress made in regard to facilities etc, some of the new criteria for grounds is difficult to understand, i.e. scoreboards, stewards at matches, press boxes etc.
I wonder how many League of Ireland clubs have scoreboards? None in the Showgrounds in Sligo for one.
And is the reason the press dont come out to cover games is because there has been no press boxes?
Think the league needs to look at why teams are struggling to field teams, player drop out rather than trying to introduce more rules about facilities. Mayo are streets ahead of many of our neighbouring counties in this regard, as many of you will know when you play outside the county in Connaught Cup and FAI junior cup
pixiehead
27/03/2010, 8:29 AM
I would be grateful pixiehead if you wouldn't associate or confuse me with that vagabond Mayo Red. He's nothing but trouble:wink:
OH right!! Its you then!!! HA HA ya I was 100% sure i seen you leaving Terryland Disapointed last season :dance:
It will be ground hog day again this season !
So whos Mayo Red..... Fecking 'ell im surrounded by bloody rovers fans :sweat:
Redkenrover
27/03/2010, 9:11 PM
OH right!! Its you then!!! HA HA ya I was 100% sure i seen you leaving Terryland Disapointed last season :dance:
It will be ground hog day again this season !
So whos Mayo Red..... Fecking 'ell im surrounded by bloody rovers fans :sweat:
Let's just say I've left there more times happy than I've left disappointed!
As for Mayo Red I cant make it too easy for you. You'll just have to do more detective work, like I'll have to do myself, just have to keep an eye on the 'Boro this year to see who's wearing the GUFC scarf!! That's if you're not too embarrased to wear it.:D
pixiehead
28/03/2010, 8:49 AM
Let's just say I've left there more times happy than I've left disappointed!
As for Mayo Red I cant make it too easy for you. You'll just have to do more detective work, like I'll have to do myself, just have to keep an eye on the 'Boro this year to see who's wearing the GUFC scarf!! That's if you're not too embarrased to wear it.:D
Ah you know who I am! Id a spell out there few years back. And if you still cant guess Ill give you a wave when the ball goes past Dick Brush in Terryland this year :ball:
MAROOOOOOON ARMY!!!!!! :victory:
GoodFootball
28/03/2010, 10:33 AM
I can understand why you step down, but to be fair to Ballinrobe you did know this before you took the job. (regards illness) your track record not great apart from staying two seasons with Westport b. you might com firm for the record, were you not happy when the A-team job at Westport came up and you were not considered.
If family members are sick then stepping down is understandable.
Are you some kind of media wannabe or something with the questions? A bit much dont ya think??
juan pablo
29/03/2010, 2:12 PM
How is everyone finding the new Mayo League website?? Are clubs finding it benefecial and will it be maintained throughout the season?
Redkenrover
29/03/2010, 6:54 PM
Ah you know who I am! Id a spell out there few years back. And if you still cant guess Ill give you a wave when the ball goes past Dick Brush in Terryland this year
MAROOOOOOON ARMY!!!!!!
http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:2T-pOCHjI7ZzUM:http://zatetic.files.wordpress.com/2008/01/sherlockholmes_wrong.jpg (http://zatetic.files.wordpress.com/2008/01/sherlockholmes_wrong.jpg)
Now I'm relly confused, by any chance would your brother be a Mayo League legend and Spurs fan? Or am I barking up the wrong tree!:dog:
pixiehead
29/03/2010, 8:20 PM
http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:2T-pOCHjI7ZzUM:http://zatetic.files.wordpress.com/2008/01/sherlockholmes_wrong.jpg (http://zatetic.files.wordpress.com/2008/01/sherlockholmes_wrong.jpg)
Now I'm relly confused, by any chance would your brother be a Mayo League legend and Spurs fan? Or am I barking up the wrong tree!:dog:
Dont be given him a big head now!! :clap:
Redkenrover
29/03/2010, 8:35 PM
Dont be given him a big head now!! :clap:
We need to acknowledge his greatness! He's getting old now. As for the waving in Terryland, your hands will be in your pockets so!!!
renovater
30/03/2010, 6:18 PM
Yes To Both question
renovater
30/03/2010, 6:21 PM
He was touted to be apart of the new Westport A team Back room staff
GoodFootball
30/03/2010, 7:41 PM
He was touted to be apart of the new Westport A team Back room staff
Westport have back room staff? Jesus this league is more professional than I thought...
Don't think he was offered the Westport job, they needed an outside influence to get them G'd up again in my opinion and they could well have got their man. Now they could do with a striker to score 20 goals a season :)
pixiehead
30/03/2010, 8:06 PM
Yes To Both question
I really hope your not answering to questions clearly posed to me? :angry3:
Unbelieveable!!!!!
pixiehead
30/03/2010, 8:08 PM
I see Celtics Astro has been approved by the powers that be for league games. Can anyone confirm if that includes junior football? If so it will a nightmare to play on because of the width. I cant see it actually suiting the brand of football they are trying to promote at the club but maybe im wrong?:question:
Cloggs
01/04/2010, 1:21 PM
p burns set to take over at fahy so i hear-possibly bringing a few new faces with him
theboy
01/04/2010, 2:03 PM
p burns set to take over at fahy so i hear-possibly bringing a few new faces with him
great signing for fahy if this is true, cant see any of the westport players leaving and playin for fahy.
So who's westport manager for this season??
MayoLeague5
01/04/2010, 3:09 PM
I sense an April fool!!:D
taztkblue
02/04/2010, 9:11 AM
is the rumours true that both glenhest and glenisland have pulled out of the league?
Cloggs
02/04/2010, 9:49 AM
fair play!was only messing to see if anyone would bite.;)wish it was true to be honest but alas no!
pixiehead
04/04/2010, 9:02 AM
I see from the fixtures that Glenhest and Glenisland have gone! Add to this the withdrawl of snugboro B and you start to wonder whats going on in Mayo. Castlebar town couldnt be sure they would have a squad either this year and had to stay out. Also where are the fixtures for Westport C and the proposed Ballyhaunis team or have these bitten the dust also? The league should do some homework as to why this is happening or it might make a good article in the local rags if the pencils want somthing to write about but in all honesty what is going on?? :ghost:
swinfordfc
04/04/2010, 3:04 PM
I see from the fixtures that Glenhest and Glenisland have gone! Add to this the withdrawl of snugboro B and you start to wonder whats going on in Mayo. Castlebar town couldnt be sure they would have a squad either this year and had to stay out. Also where are the fixtures for Westport C and the proposed Ballyhaunis team or have these bitten the dust also? The league should do some homework as to why this is happening or it might make a good article in the local rags if the pencils want somthing to write about but in all honesty what is going on?? :ghost:
They nine teams in Division 3 hence thats why Ballyhaunis dont have a game next weekend ..... Glenisland are gone and thats why Westport C are not playing. However Glenhest are still in it but S+F Utd are involved in a Connacht Cup semi final so thats why that game is call of ..... Hope that answered some of your question pixiehead
pixiehead
04/04/2010, 4:10 PM
They nine teams in Division 3 hence thats why Ballyhaunis dont have a game next weekend ..... Glenisland are gone and thats why Westport C are not playing. However Glenhest are still in it but S+F Utd are involved in a Connacht Cup semi final so thats why that game is call of ..... Hope that answered some of your question pixiehead
Oh i see cheers!
And where are ballyhaunis going to play because im sure they dont have any proper facilities or are the league giving them a bit of lee way?
juan pablo
04/04/2010, 6:45 PM
Friendly:
Ballinrobe Town 0 - 0 Swinford.
Was a fairly even match i thought.
MayoLeague5
05/04/2010, 12:46 AM
I got confirmation from glenhest last week that they wouldnt be entering a team but maybe things have changed?? and as for glenisland i heard today they are in!! anyone know the certain facts?
Footy Mad
05/04/2010, 10:00 AM
Now thats the season is about to begin, does anyone know how many teams are goin to be relegated/promoted from each division. I know four are being relegated from SuperLeague and two promoted from Premier Division but after that its not very clear. If they want to reduce each Division to 8 teams next season then six teams will have to be relegated from Premier and eight from first Division. Is this the way its goin to be or was anything decided upon yet?
FahyForever
05/04/2010, 9:59 PM
Now thats the season is about to begin, does anyone know how many teams are goin to be relegated/promoted from each division. I know four are being relegated from SuperLeague and two promoted from Premier Division but after that its not very clear. If they want to reduce each Division to 8 teams next season then six teams will have to be relegated from Premier and eight from first Division. Is this the way its goin to be or was anything decided upon yet?
The whole thing is a joke. No one yet has explained to me why they decided to change the Super league to eight teams. Four less games? It's certainly not about raising the standard, as that just makes no sense. Is it the Mayo league being obsessed with re-branding and re-titling and constantly being seen to evolve? Hard to say no. Clubs are in crisis at grassroots and the Mayo League are more interested in being able to say to other county league boards; 'Did you notice all our clubs have press boxes and score boards?'.
GoodFootball
06/04/2010, 9:44 AM
fair play!was only messing to see if anyone would bite.;)wish it was true to be honest but alas no!
Wish it was true??? I think management will not be a problem now, its just about getting players fit, playing together and the same committment as last year and we should be good to go.
theboy
06/04/2010, 11:12 AM
any thoughts on the start of the SL this weekend? have any teams added or lost players / managers over the last while?
Cloggs
06/04/2010, 12:29 PM
Wish it was true??? I think management will not be a problem now, its just about getting players fit, playing together and the same committment as last year and we should be good to go.
wasn't intended as any slight on the current management set up gf as i think that the effort and commitment from jc is without equal at the club but surely any club in the ml would jump at the chance to have the likes of p b in charge of their team?
pixiehead
06/04/2010, 3:18 PM
How did Fahy manage to have a game called off for a wedding??? Always thought this was against the league rules??? I remember our club trying to have a change of date for a wedding and not being allowed............:bulgy:
GoodFootball
06/04/2010, 7:08 PM
wasn't intended as any slight on the current management set up gf as i think that the effort and commitment from jc is without equal at the club but surely any club in the ml would jump at the chance to have the likes of p b in charge of their team?
I know what you meant :)
I'm sure PB would be a good manager if he was interested.
Mangement as you said is sorted, just need to do it on the pitch now ;)
GoodFootball
06/04/2010, 7:11 PM
How did Fahy manage to have a game called off for a wedding??? Always thought this was against the league rules??? I remember our club trying to have a change of date for a wedding and not being allowed............:bulgy:
6 of us are getting married the same day...
pixiehead
07/04/2010, 8:51 AM
6 of us are getting married the same day...
Feckin Civil Partnerships!! :messed:
I hear the league has suspended some good football people over the registration mess THEY created this year. Honestly have some of these people no shame or sense of the current crisis most teams in the league are facing at the moment.
pixiehead
08/04/2010, 10:34 AM
I hear the league has suspended some good football people over the registration mess THEY created this year. Honestly have some of these people no shame or sense of the current crisis most teams in the league are facing at the moment.
Tell us More
Some secretaries and managers used their imagination in signing the new forms and picked up some crazy suspensions. If truth be told I would say their isnt a registration sheet in the whole league that hasnt at least a couple of questionable signatures.
juan pablo
08/04/2010, 3:31 PM
Can anyone tell me when will the Masters league be up and running again?? - i am aware that the current season has just finished ;)
Redkenrover
08/04/2010, 8:46 PM
On a slightly related note do clubs realise that the coaches workshop taking place at the weekend is now COMPULSORY to attend. Clubs not attending will be subject to discplinary action and fines. This is announced 2 days before the workshop. All along it has been an invite to take part. I think it is a disappointing day when the league now is forcing people to attend these things on:
1. A working day for most people
2. Despite the fact it is geared towards coaching 15-16 year old's this directive is from the junior league.
3. All managers will be out on Sunday with the start of the league.
It has to be realised that people involved in Mayo clubs are doing so on a voluntary basis, the way things are going there will be no one to coach teams or run clubs, I know of alot of people that are becoming very disillusioned with the way the league is going.
I'm all for educating people, but the league needs to adapt with changing circumstances, why not run some of these courses at night, when people might find it easier to attend. Gone are the days of getting time off work that easily.
I wonder do other leagues have the same proceedures, I appreciate we have some of the best facilities in the country down to the hard work of the league management committee, but at what price?
The fact is the whole thing is just one big charade. Make it look like we are this iconic league that all other junior leagues should look upon and revere, when in reality a lot of clubs are finding it hard to survive with the league placing increasing financial pressue on them and then suspending the people most likely to raise the funds. The stantard of play is decreasing at an alarming rate, I honestly thought that a new chairman would see a change to a more player orientated league but alas seems like he has been indoctrined into the Mayo league faith. Pity because he fought the good fight for many years for his club. Of course nobody can say a word because if you do you will get the Moy Villa treatment, hammered for every step out of line for years to come.
09/04/2010, 10:38 AM
If anyone wants to send in their clubs results so they appear on the snugboro website/manulla website and possibly a few others in development plus on this scoreboard
http://scoreboard.snugboro.com
Then PM me with your mobile number and I'll set it up for you.
FahyForever
09/04/2010, 11:03 AM
The fact is the whole thing is just one big charade. Make it look like we are this iconic league that all other junior leagues should look upon and revere, when in reality a lot of clubs are finding it hard to survive with the league placing increasing financial pressue on them and then suspending the people most likely to raise the funds. The stantard of play is decreasing at an alarming rate, I honestly thought that a new chairman would see a change to a more player orientated league but alas seems like he has been indoctrined into the Mayo league faith. Pity because he fought the good fight for many years for his club. Of course nobody can say a word because if you do you will get the Moy Villa treatment, hammered for every step out of line for years to come.
I agree totally regarding the mayo League, they care more about outside perceptions of the league than the clubs involved. At a recent meeting I was at, two clubs didn't turn up; 'Thats 200 euro for us anyway', said the ex chairman with a smile. You can't run a voluntary football league like a prison camp, punishing those who don't do what you say. And as you very astutely point out, the standard is getting worse the whole time...