View Full Version : Mayo Association Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

renovater
18/01/2008, 6:27 PM
In the interest of our sanity I will attempt to translate renovaters(now to be known as renovator) posts. Heres my first attempt

That one wasn't too hard in fairness, only two mistakes.
translate R.O'B may be attempted by the monies that appears to be arround the Boro, got it

renovater
18/01/2008, 6:31 PM
bit harsh tarnishing all the players that play for individual clubs with the one brush-obviously there are a big number of players in each team that do care about the club otherwise there wouldn't be any teams around at all!i do see your point as there are a lot of lads out there who just want to play ball but we're not all like that
So we will agree to disagree! dont see to many of them officers of clubs.

renovater
18/01/2008, 6:37 PM
The talk on the street is that the Boro will be more like Castlebar Celtic next season, with so many new players coming from Celtic and pushing out the current players. But as you know time will tell. By the way will Johan be playing himself?
you no ur self, there is alot of loose public talk out there, or lads talking thought empie pint glasses just trying to build there own ego's. regard to Johan if has gone to the boro, it will be the 2 comming

renovater
18/01/2008, 6:44 PM
a good little left footer(mid-field)played with glenisland before c/town.b or c team only at celtic
hardly call a star of the modern game

renovater
18/01/2008, 6:50 PM
Ballyheane youths A.G.M.takes place at Ballyheane club on Wed, 6th Feb, at 7.30.
anyone interested in coaching young players would be welcome to give us a call on the nite. or the Chairman.

Cloggs
18/01/2008, 7:15 PM
So we will agree to disagree! dont see to many of them officers of clubs.

you obviously have your head in the clouds man!look around at any new club or any team thats not that awful long in the league and you'll see that all of them have many officers that are currently playing in the mayo league.this is especially true in the lower divisions.not all clubs are as established as the ones in the higher divisions where they're going to have lads that have played over the years who are still interested in helping out the club.get out your mayo league fixtures book from last year and look it up

renovater
19/01/2008, 4:15 PM
you obviously have your head in the clouds man!look around at any new club or any team that's not that awful long in the league and you'll see that all of them have many officers that are currently playing in the mayo league.this is especially true in the lower divisions.not all clubs are as established as the ones in the higher divisions where they're going to have lads that have played over the years who are still interested in helping out the club.get out your mayo league fixtures book from last year and look it up
The term is head in the sand.
how ever have'nt had the experience you seem to have. but I am sure ur speeking of a small number of clubs just look at the secretary's I see 3 dont need to look any further.Fair play to ur club that has so many players looking after club affairs.Wish I could say the same of ours, and others Iwould no of.:D

Fireball
20/01/2008, 6:25 PM
Kevin's Boys 2-3 Ballina Town. Massive Junior Cup result.

gunner1
20/01/2008, 7:11 PM

well done to ballina

town old boy
20/01/2008, 7:58 PM

Well done Ballina. Fantastic result. Written off by most. Some papers we're already on about the " St Kevins - Killester tie"....again congrats!

swinfordfc
20/01/2008, 8:08 PM
Did Swinford appoint their new manager yet???

They have........

Redkenrover
20/01/2008, 9:40 PM
I know this was posted before Christmas, but I was wondering what happened to the clubs that didnt attend the amateur review meeting hosted by the Mayo league. I know clubs were fined €100 but did any clubs appeal or meet the League? Heard 14 or 15 clubs got fined so someone should have some info!

mossy
21/01/2008, 11:48 AM
Was at Heane game yesterday and enjoyed the football played by the Port, Well as much as I could anyway. The Goals were comic books standard with the usually excellent Fahy messing up for the first Two within the first Ten minutes.
Roache then followed his Goalies lead and presented the third while Munroe on as a sub gifted the last. Other than the schoolboy defending the Heane did ok and refused to wilt even after such calamitous events. Coyne 'the famous' was stoic in defence despite goading from the large travelling support.
I hope the Port go on to win it now as this beautiful football should be rewarded. Their support is like a breath of fresh air as we usually witness Three reporters and a Dog at most Super league matches apart from the Port.
The new management look very professional and the whole club seems to be on the right path.

Thunderblaster
21/01/2008, 11:57 AM
Coyne 'the famous' was stoic in defence despite goading from the large travelling support.

Apparently, he deserved it. Was told by a mate of mine that he was dirty and, apparently, took out Dessie O'Malley.

the grape vine
21/01/2008, 12:49 PM
Was at Heane game yesterday and enjoyed the football played by the Port, Well as much as I could anyway. The Goals were comic books standard with the usually excellent Fahy messing up for the first Two within the first Ten minutes.
Roache then followed his Goalies lead and presented the third while Munroe on as a sub gifted the last. Other than the schoolboy defending the Heane did ok and refused to wilt even after such calamitous events. Coyne 'the famous' was stoic in defence despite goading from the large travelling support.
I hope the Port go on to win it now as this beautiful football should be rewarded. Their support is like a breath of fresh air as we usually witness Three reporters and a Dog at most Super league matches apart from the Port.
The new management look very professional and the whole club seems to be on the right path.

ya, i heard the port played some very slick football yesterday, from what i hear they'll take to stop them in this cup !!

Thunderblaster
21/01/2008, 12:57 PM
ya, i heard the port played some very slick football yesterday, from what i hear they'll take to stop them in this cup !!

And they are really out to win the Connacht Cup this year. For the lads, it is the missing piece of the jigsaw. The slick football is no surprise given that the two Messiahs prefer it to be played that ways. Much better than Thunder Football or hoofing any day of the week.

mossy
21/01/2008, 3:42 PM
Apparently, he deserved it. Was told by a mate of mine that he was dirty and, apparently, took out Dessie O'Malley.

Absolute B/S. Wasn't even a free and indeed none was given. Some of his tackling was hard and maybe reckless but not that challenge.

town old boy
21/01/2008, 5:15 PM
Cbar Town now have a manager and I hear Johnny Byrne is staying.

pixiehead
21/01/2008, 6:45 PM

Flip sake Lad, any chance of a name :D

Closing Time
22/01/2008, 9:22 AM
Flip sake Lad, any chance of a name :D
Must have adapted the FAI policy for appointing a manager

Closing Time
22/01/2008, 9:26 AM
How bad is the injury

Thunderblaster
22/01/2008, 11:32 AM
I heard that it was heavy bruising.

Thunderblaster
22/01/2008, 11:41 AM
Absolute B/S. Wasn't even a free and indeed none was given. Some of his tackling was hard and maybe reckless but not that challenge.

From what I heard, Dessie got away with bruising. Thank God it wasn't more serious. I was at a game two weeks ago and there was a two-footed tackle and the referee didn't even show a card. Football is a contact sport, but tackling must be executed within the laws of the game, and reckless tackling falls outside the remit. I'm sure that Leveller or Macc74 might either corroberate or contradict the story.

renovater
22/01/2008, 12:06 PM
I know this was posted before Christmas, but I was wondering what happened to the clubs that didnt attend the amateur review meeting hosted by the Mayo league. I know clubs were fined €100 but did any clubs appeal or meet the League? Heard 14 or 15 clubs got fined so someone should have some info!
it got the bin, best place for it:)

Thunderblaster
22/01/2008, 12:18 PM

Welcome back to the land of the living!!!:D:D

Thunderblaster
22/01/2008, 12:29 PM
No further gossip of interest in the Mayo footballing fraternity?

Closing Time
22/01/2008, 12:40 PM
Welcome back to the land of the living!!!:D:D
Reading in the MN see S. Ryan & J. Maughan might be called into the Mayo squad due to players missing. Niall Walsh on trial with Portsmouth this week and should be involved with Celtic's U-17 against Salthill Devon on Sunday.

Thunderblaster
22/01/2008, 3:11 PM
They have........

Who is he/she?

gunner1
22/01/2008, 3:17 PM

t flynn??????? a good clubman

town old boy
22/01/2008, 5:10 PM
t flynn??????? a good clubman

Yeah T Flynn with assistance from Mick. Both good clubmen. Only for them and their like there would'nt be a club! Hopefully this season will usher in a change in fortune for the Town. Promotion would be nice!
Any further news on the over 35's. I hear now it's not going ahead.

pixiehead
22/01/2008, 5:50 PM
Yeah T Flynn with assistance from Mick. Both good clubmen. Only for them and their like there would'nt be a club! Hopefully this season will usher in a change in fortune for the Town. Promotion would be nice!
Any further news on the over 35's. I hear now it's not going ahead.

Tony is a sound aul skin and i agree that they are both good club men but realisticly its a bad idea to have a committee member as Manager. It usually ends up in tears. Surely an external appointment would have been suitable. Whats Skobby gone at so???

Redkenrover
23/01/2008, 9:26 PM

I take it ye didnt pay it so!!!!;) Heard the league collected €1400.

Thunderblaster
24/01/2008, 1:38 PM

It must have been paid or else Ballyheane's fine would have been doubled and further non-payment would have resulted in suspension for the club.;)

town old boy
24/01/2008, 4:09 PM
[QUOTE=pixiehead;860108]Tony is a sound aul skin and i agree that they are both good club men but realisticly its a bad idea to have a committee member as Manager. It usually ends up in tears. Surely an external appointment would have been suitable. QUOTE]

Neither of them are on the committee. Get your facts straight!!

pixiehead
24/01/2008, 6:28 PM
[QUOTE=pixiehead;860108]Tony is a sound aul skin and i agree that they are both good club men but realisticly its a bad idea to have a committee member as Manager. It usually ends up in tears. Surely an external appointment would have been suitable. QUOTE]

Neither of them are on the committee. Get your facts straight!!

Jebus Man :eek: Relax :confused:
I saw them going to what looked like a committee meeting in the welcome inn not so long ago so i just presumed they were on it?? If im not mistaken they where before. Furnish me with who is so and then take a chill pill ;)

pixiehead
24/01/2008, 6:36 PM
In Fact here Are my Facts........
Mayo League Annual 2007... page 61....
Chairperson.........(and PRO) .......Tony Flynn
Comm Member...........................Michael Flynn

So dude, unless you guys have had your AGM and changed things around and its hasnt been in the paper...How are my facts surposed to be right :confused:

renovater
24/01/2008, 8:16 PM
I take it ye didnt pay it so!!!!;) Heard the league collected €1400.
Its my understanding that they were instructed to bin it. from the top.
there would have been red faces had it reached Connaught in appeals

renovater
24/01/2008, 8:27 PM
Tony is a sound aul skin and i agree that they are both good club men but realisticly its a bad idea to have a committee member as Manager. It usually ends up in tears. Surely an external appointment would have been suitable. Whats Skobby gone at so???
Good luck to Tony and Mick, it wouldn't be there first time to take up the post as team managers. The record will show the best teams played under them.
They are the rock of The Town, when others left they stayed to pick up the pieces.
By the way I here da Boro are not to happy with you on what U write on dot ie
Also hear that ur heading for Newzealand, before you go you will gives all the murkey bits.

town old boy
25/01/2008, 6:54 AM
In Fact here Are my Facts........
Mayo League Annual 2007... page 61....
Chairperson.........(and PRO) .......Tony Flynn
Comm Member...........................Michael Flynn

So dude, unless you guys have had your AGM and changed things around and its hasnt been in the paper...How are my facts surposed to be right :confused:

Is it not now 2008?? Chairman...Mick Heneghan Secretary....Mick O'Malley

renovater
25/01/2008, 4:38 PM
Guess you out foxed pixie:o

pixiehead
25/01/2008, 7:13 PM
Good luck to Tony and Mick, it wouldn't be there first time to take up the post as team managers. The record will show the best teams played under them.
They are the rock of The Town, when others left they stayed to pick up the pieces.
By the way I here da Boro are not to happy with you on what U write on dot ie
Also hear that ur heading for Newzealand, before you go you will gives all the murkey bits.

The Fecking Cops wouldnt ask as many Questions as you Reno!!! And Hair dressers and Taxi Drivers dont have as many rumours as ya!!

pixiehead
25/01/2008, 7:15 PM

Thats fair enough but how are we surposed to know? No need for the thickness on both posts. A simple "we've had our AGM" would have surfised. Alot of clubs have not had theirs and until they have the officers are still offical.

Ranger
27/01/2008, 10:52 PM
Who is he/she?

Bttt please

30/01/2008, 6:25 PM
No more allegations about players getting paid (unless you have evidence to back it up).

The posts earlier about it are in rubbish.

theboy
01/02/2008, 11:51 AM
Not alot said this week on the Mayo win over Donegal. Good results whichs leaves it in there hands. seems they were missin alot of big names. would like to see them do well. its good for mayo football the better they do.

01/02/2008, 1:08 PM
Moved over here CT, forumites get pedantic when you go off topic(especially the limerick boys). Regards Snugboro signings. New players aren't top secret but we're only doing fitness work so far, so won't know who's joining until later on in the season. We've had people training at this time of the season before but no sign of them by the start of the season so I'll wait until then to confirm anyone.....

Closing Time
01/02/2008, 4:50 PM
Moved over here CT, forumites get pedantic when you go off topic(especially the limerick boys). Regards Snugboro signings. New players aren't top secret but we're only doing fitness work so far, so won't know who's joining until later on in the season. We've had people training at this time of the season before but no sign of them by the start of the season so I'll wait until then to confirm anyone.....
I hear what you are saying. But who is trying out or is that top secret also

Thunderblaster
01/02/2008, 4:52 PM
The Fecking Cops wouldnt ask as many Questions as you Reno!!! And Hair dressers and Taxi Drivers dont have as many rumours as ya!!

Am I late for nominating this for Post of the Month?

pixiehead
01/02/2008, 6:35 PM
I hear what you are saying. But who is trying out or is that top secret also

Ive heard, Robert Moore, Paul Curry, Paul walsh, Niall walsh and thats a few but its not first hand :o

Thunderblaster
01/02/2008, 8:57 PM
Am I late for nominating this for Post of the Month?

Unfortunately, I am. Probably would have got no votes anyway.