View Full Version : Mayo Association Football League
pixiehead
18/12/2007, 5:13 PM
Well said, as you have mentioned a number of Celtic people are still unhappy with GD and the number of players he has signed for the club. You should re think your position as there are very few true clubmen left. Its now 'what the club can do for me and not what we can do for the club'. Yes this new management team will bring success to the Boro but at what cost. Look at all the players that have played for Celtic over the years, and how many are involved now once they have stopped playing. I do agree that the Boro community spirit (a real plus that Celtic has lost many years ago) will be lost due to so many new players coming in for a couple of season and will only be concerned if they get a game or not. But the success might compensate for this? Best of luck to a real clubman.
Cheers C.T!!
renovater
18/12/2007, 8:17 PM
Nobody is getting paid. Declan Kilkelly will be hired for specific training sessions and I assume will be finanicially reimbursed for his time as any professional would. But besides him, no one is getting paid. Lets nip that one in the bud straight away.
Is The Prodical Son forgiven then?
renovater
18/12/2007, 8:29 PM
Mid- West nor any other Media Have contacted Myself or any other Committee member on the present situation. I am aware that these pages are frequented by the latter so if any one would like truthfull information Contact Myself 085 8136835 or Brendan Mullins (PRO) 0872071620 to Avoid Bullsh1t Rumours
The shoe must be on the other foot, When did rumours or bull sh1t bother you,
You are always happy to spread muck when it suited:)
pixiehead
18/12/2007, 10:36 PM
The shoe must be on the other foot, When did rumours or bull sh1t bother you,
You are always happy to spread muck when it suited:)
Ya Whatever
irishyop
19/12/2007, 12:03 PM
Any names of what Ex Celtic players are moving to the Boro?
Closing Time
19/12/2007, 1:59 PM
Any names of what Ex Celtic players are moving to the Boro?
Heard nothing concrete, but the talk is that JC has put up 20k of his own money towards running the team at the Boro? Some say money available for paying players, but I could not see the Boro allowing this. I wish we had a JC at Celtic, fair play to him.
swift
20/12/2007, 12:33 AM
Heard nothing concrete, but the talk is that JC has put up 20k of his own money towards running the team at the Boro? Some say money available for paying players, but I could not see the Boro allowing this. I wish we had a JC at Celtic, fair play to him.
Why? Has the gravy train come to an end?
20/12/2007, 12:03 PM
Four clubs have officially graduated to eircom League of Ireland status ahead of the new 'A Championship Division' due to get under way next year.
The quartet accepted to the A Championship are; Mervue United, Tullamore Town, Salthill Devon and Sporting Fingal.
The new league will be the third tier of the eircom League of Ireland where clubs will get the opportunity to win promotion to the First Division. League winners will earn €20,000.
"We are delighted to welcome four new clubs into the league," said Fran Gavin, Director of the eircom League of Ireland. "The A Championship was introduced to improve both player and club pathway into the eircom League of Ireland and we feel that it is a very important step forward for the league.
"There is now a clear route into the eircom League of Ireland for clubs with ambitions of playing in the league, something that did not exist before."
June 2008 is the start date for the new league, while a shield competition will begin in March.
How close were Celtic to being one of these Clubs. Why didn't they make it. Have they made provisions to be included in the forthcoming years. I'd love to see Celtic make strides towards the Eircom League, believe it or not but I'm a Castlebar Celtic fan.
Closing Time
20/12/2007, 12:39 PM
How close were Celtic to being one of these Clubs. Why didn't they make it. Have they made provisions to be included in the forthcoming years. I'd love to see Celtic make strides towards the Eircom League, believe it or not but I'm a Castlebar Celtic fan.
I dont think they applied. Entering the U-20 Eircom League. Should have applied as Junior football in Mayo is rubbish and getting worse.
gunner1
22/12/2007, 5:39 PM
Happy x/mas to all in mayo league
renovater
25/12/2007, 6:42 PM
Think Celtic would like to play at the highest level, but may be there grounds may not be up to the required standard to enter A championship. only they can tell us.
renovater
25/12/2007, 6:49 PM
I have heard the same story from a Castlebar man 20K of his own monies as sponsorship, at leased he putting his money were his mouth is. Good luck to him hope he can provide the players he requires
the grape vine
03/01/2008, 2:37 PM
I have heard the same story from a Castlebar man 20K of his own monies as sponsorship, at leased he putting his money were his mouth is. Good luck to him hope he can provide the players he requires
anyone hear how the big spending Boro are getting on with there big recruitment plan for the up coming season ???
yellowmonkey
03/01/2008, 6:52 PM
anyone hear how the big spending Boro are getting on with there big recruitment plan for the up coming season ???
Theres only one big spender and its not the club. Any spondullies are coming from Collins. Every ones Quick to forget that the Man walk out on Snugboro when they needed him the most just to get his name in the paper a few times. That was short lived and he couldnt handle not being in the spot light anymore so this is his latest attention seeking scheme :mad:
He couldnt care less about snugboro just as long as the glare is back on him in some shape or form. Make no mistake, he loves all this attention. If he had any interest in the Boro he (A) Wouldnt have left in the first place and (B) Asked about 20 Celtic lads to join the ranks. ;)
Thunderblaster
04/01/2008, 5:59 PM
Word on the street suggests that Castlebar Celtic acquired the signatures of winger, Joey Maloney and goalkeeper, Danny O'Leary. Any truth in that story?
Cloggs
04/01/2008, 6:52 PM
Theres only one big spender and its not the club. Any spondullies are coming from Collins. Every ones Quick to forget that the Man walk out on Snugboro when they needed him the most just to get his name in the paper a few times. That was short lived and he couldnt handle not being in the spot light anymore so this is his latest attention seeking scheme :mad:
He couldnt care less about snugboro just as long as the glare is back on him in some shape or form. Make no mistake, he loves all this attention. If he had any interest in the Boro he (A) Wouldnt have left in the first place and (B) Asked about 20 Celtic lads to join the ranks. ;)
it must be very disheartening from a snugboro commitee person's point of view to see so many new faces coming in as i'm sure they won't be playing solely for the love of the club as if they were wouldn't they already be there?!also will these new lads be willing to work behind the scenes-sell tickets and the likes?what are the current players on the snugboro team going to do with the influx of new blood?whats the general concensus within the club about the appointment of JC?
Cloggs
04/01/2008, 6:54 PM
whats the opinion on how the mayo junior side will fare in this season's oscar traynor competition?any new and exciting players on the scene/in the squad from what was there last year?
couchpotato
04/01/2008, 8:22 PM
it must be very disheartening from a snugboro commitee person's point of view to see so many new faces coming in as i'm sure they won't be playing solely for the love of the club as if they were wouldn't they already be there?!also will these new lads be willing to work behind the scenes-sell tickets and the likes?what are the current players on the snugboro team going to do with the influx of new blood?whats the general concensus within the club about the appointment of JC?
i agree, i feel collins is setting himself for a big fall. they never going to break into the big 3 anyway so wat are the ambitions.
on another note surely the existing snugboro players must feel disheartend. if there is going to be an influx of players where will the current squad go?
pixiehead
04/01/2008, 9:09 PM
The Current players will have to play B Football. There is a rule that all players have to sell 5 tickets before before signing but to be honest ive heard that for the last 3 years running . Do you think the likes of Fintan McHale and Darragh Ainsworth are going to gorunning around town selling €50 Snugboro tickets. And as for the supporters whats it going to be like supporting a New Look NON- Boro Side. The committee have made their decision and im not going to go into the reasons why out of respect. I took my stand and ill leave it at that. I never thought id see the day the Club "Sold Out" but here it is and thats life
Closing Time
06/01/2008, 12:00 PM
Word on the street suggests that Castlebar Celtic acquired the signatures of winger, Joey Maloney and goalkeeper, Danny O'Leary. Any truth in that story?
Yes its true
Cloggs
06/01/2008, 12:03 PM
anyone go to the mayo game yesterday?how'd they get on?
BallyBoy
07/01/2008, 8:40 AM
Galway League 2 Mayo league 0
A strong and impressive Galway outfit proved much sharper than Mayo in this Oscar Traynor game at Terryland Park today. Mayo's cause was not helped with the late withdrawl of Dessie O'Malley ('flu victim), Joe Lawless (back injury), and the longer term injury to Mick Duffy. Danny Scahill also had to pull out of the squad after failing a late fitness test.
Mayo played with the advantage of a strong breeze in the first half but it was Galway that were first to threaten when an effort by Keith Ward hit the upright and Dave Goldby's follow up header went narrowly wide in the 6th minute. It took until the 20th minute before Mayo had a serious attempt on goal - good interplay between Shane Hynes and Tom O'Connor set up the latter some 10 yards from goal but his effort went narrowly wide when a goal seemed the obvious outcome.
Ollie Keogh in the Galway midfield was the dominant force in this sector, and was ably assisted by Alan O' Donovan on the right. Mayo, despite playing a 5 man midfield, were not finding their men with the same degree of fluency as Galway, and Mayo were somewhat fortunate when poor passing led to O'Donovan's effort going across the face of goal and narrowly wide after 30minutes.
Mayo were however unfortunate to concede after 40 minutes when the defence failed to clear a relatively easy situation, and the ball fell to O'Donovan who crossed for the inrushing Ollie Keogh to hammer home Galway's opening goal past the helpless Josh Tierney. Keogh was injured in the process, and was replaced by the equally impressive Mike Tierney.
Mayo upped the tempo in the second half, and were beginning to show good signs of recovery but were dealt a hammer blow when O'Donovan's cross from the right was only partially cleared by Josh Tierney and substitute Sean Reilly (on for the injured Martin Geraghty) to the unmarked Keith Ward, who hammered the ball past Tierney to give Galway a comfortable 2 goal cushion after 55 minutes.
In an all out effort to recover something from the game Alan McDonnell was introduced for Pat Fitzgerald, and Eugene Gorman came on for Sean McHale, with the Mayo side reverting to a 4 - 4 -2 formation with Gorman up beside Vinny O'Malley in attack. This looked like paying quick and rich dividends when Vinny O'Malley did well and found the in rushing Tom O'Connor on the left only to see the latter's effort expertly saved by Padraic Lally in the Galway goal, and pushed out for a corner. This however was to be the nearest that Mayo would come to scoring despite finishing the stronger of the two sides. Final efforts from Tierney (Galway), Gorman and O'Malley in the closing minutes came to nothing.
Galway
Lally, Rabbette Stephen, Lawless, Rabbette Seamie, Emmet Byrne, Jamie O'Driscoll, Simon Walsh, Keith Ward, Ollie Keogh, Alan O'Donovan, Dave Goldby subs S Crowe, E Browne, M Tierney, M Gilmore, P Konik, M Colby, D Roach
Mayo
Josh Tierney, Niall Walsh, Tom O'Connor, Tommy Walsh, Martin Geraghty, David Horkan, David Cameron, Pat Fitzgerald, Sean McHale, Vinny O'Malley, Shane Hynes subs Eugene Gorman, Philip Devers, Sean Reilly, Alan McDonnell, Niall Gallagher, Ger O'Boyle, Malachy Byrne
Referee John Doyle (Galway)
Mayo's next match in the group is at home to Donegal on Sunday 27th January at Milebush Park
Regards
Joe Butler
sinabhuil
07/01/2008, 3:27 PM
Is this league going ahead? Any details. Anyone looking for players?
Cloggs
07/01/2008, 4:08 PM
Galway League 2 Mayo league 0
A strong and impressive Galway outfit proved much sharper than Mayo in this Oscar Traynor game at Terryland Park today. Mayo's cause was not helped with the late withdrawl of Dessie O'Malley ('flu victim), Joe Lawless (back injury), and the longer term injury to Mick Duffy. Danny Scahill also had to pull out of the squad after failing a late fitness test.
Mayo played with the advantage of a strong breeze in the first half but it was Galway that were first to threaten when an effort by Keith Ward hit the upright and Dave Goldby's follow up header went narrowly wide in the 6th minute. It took until the 20th minute before Mayo had a serious attempt on goal - good interplay between Shane Hynes and Tom O'Connor set up the latter some 10 yards from goal but his effort went narrowly wide when a goal seemed the obvious outcome.
Ollie Keogh in the Galway midfield was the dominant force in this sector, and was ably assisted by Alan O' Donovan on the right. Mayo, despite playing a 5 man midfield, were not finding their men with the same degree of fluency as Galway, and Mayo were somewhat fortunate when poor passing led to O'Donovan's effort going across the face of goal and narrowly wide after 30minutes.
Mayo were however unfortunate to concede after 40 minutes when the defence failed to clear a relatively easy situation, and the ball fell to O'Donovan who crossed for the inrushing Ollie Keogh to hammer home Galway's opening goal past the helpless Josh Tierney. Keogh was injured in the process, and was replaced by the equally impressive Mike Tierney.
Mayo upped the tempo in the second half, and were beginning to show good signs of recovery but were dealt a hammer blow when O'Donovan's cross from the right was only partially cleared by Josh Tierney and substitute Sean Reilly (on for the injured Martin Geraghty) to the unmarked Keith Ward, who hammered the ball past Tierney to give Galway a comfortable 2 goal cushion after 55 minutes.
In an all out effort to recover something from the game Alan McDonnell was introduced for Pat Fitzgerald, and Eugene Gorman came on for Sean McHale, with the Mayo side reverting to a 4 - 4 -2 formation with Gorman up beside Vinny O'Malley in attack. This looked like paying quick and rich dividends when Vinny O'Malley did well and found the in rushing Tom O'Connor on the left only to see the latter's effort expertly saved by Padraic Lally in the Galway goal, and pushed out for a corner. This however was to be the nearest that Mayo would come to scoring despite finishing the stronger of the two sides. Final efforts from Tierney (Galway), Gorman and O'Malley in the closing minutes came to nothing.
Galway
Lally, Rabbette Stephen, Lawless, Rabbette Seamie, Emmet Byrne, Jamie O'Driscoll, Simon Walsh, Keith Ward, Ollie Keogh, Alan O'Donovan, Dave Goldby subs S Crowe, E Browne, M Tierney, M Gilmore, P Konik, M Colby, D Roach
Mayo
Josh Tierney, Niall Walsh, Tom O'Connor, Tommy Walsh, Martin Geraghty, David Horkan, David Cameron, Pat Fitzgerald, Sean McHale, Vinny O'Malley, Shane Hynes subs Eugene Gorman, Philip Devers, Sean Reilly, Alan McDonnell, Niall Gallagher, Ger O'Boyle, Malachy Byrne
Referee John Doyle (Galway)
Mayo's next match in the group is at home to Donegal on Sunday 27th January at Milebush Park
Regards
Joe Butler
cheers for that very informative report ballyboy
Thunderblaster
07/01/2008, 4:50 PM
Whatever about the Oscar Traynor cup side, the Mayo U.12, U.14 and U.16 teams all came out with victories over the weekend. The U.12s beat Longford 4-1 at home, the U.14s beat Longford 3-2 away and the U.16s beat Galway 1-0 at home.
Cloggs
08/01/2008, 11:08 AM
Whatever about the Oscar Traynor cup side, the Mayo U.12, U.14 and U.16 teams all came out with victories over the weekend. The U.12s beat Longford 4-1 at home, the U.14s beat Longford 3-2 away and the U.16s beat Galway 1-0 at home.
great to hear that the underage sides are all going so well.hopefully it means a bright future in store for the senior side if they keep doing as well as they are!
town old boy
08/01/2008, 7:41 PM
Is this league going ahead? Any details. Anyone looking for players?
Heard it's going ahead with 6 teams...Cbar Town, Cbar Celtic, Snugboro and Ballyheane that I know of. As for what ex greats of the Mayo League will grace its fields again.....who knows!!
Anyone looking for a team could always get in touch with Anthony McDonnell, Cbar Town.
the grape vine
09/01/2008, 3:26 PM
i say it wont be long till most teams will be back in full training for new season ahead,and the transfer and rumours will start..
Gaillimh Al
09/01/2008, 8:33 PM
Mayo's U-15 side lost 4-1 to Galway tonight in Terryland. Report in Friday's Mayo Advertiser.
RuelFox
10/01/2008, 10:38 PM
Word on the street is that cbar town need a new manager and cannot find one anyone know anythin
town old boy
11/01/2008, 3:38 PM
Word on the street is that cbar town need a new manager and cannot find one anyone know anythin
Hav'nt heard any names mentioned. Although I did hear that one of the present players fancied a go!!
pixiehead
12/01/2008, 1:11 PM
As Galway Utd polish off the Squad for the new season ive heard only 6 of the under 21s have been kept at Terryland and Ronan O'Boyle isnt one of them...... Back to Celtic so??
Closing Time
12/01/2008, 1:21 PM
As Galway Utd polish off the Squad for the new season ive heard only 6 of the under 21s have been kept at Terryland and Ronan O'Boyle isnt one of them...... Back to Celtic so??
I heard he was?
gunner1
13/01/2008, 11:47 AM
you got it wrong this time pixie,he is one of the 6
renovater
14/01/2008, 2:14 PM
May be with all those euros I HERE are being thrown around the boro,he may opt for ye.:D
14/01/2008, 2:29 PM
May be with all those euros I HERE are being thrown around the boro,he may opt for ye.:D
In the interest of our sanity I will attempt to translate renovaters(now to be known as renovator) posts. Heres my first attempt
Maybe with all those Euros I HEAR are being thrown around the boro,he may opt for ye.:DThat one wasn't too hard in fairness, only two mistakes.
renovater
14/01/2008, 2:45 PM
The Current players will have to play B Football. There is a rule that all players have to sell 5 tickets before before signing but to be honest Ive heard that for the last 3 years running . Do you think the likes of Fintan McHale and Darragh Ainsworth are going to go running around town selling €50 Snugboro tickets. And as for the supporters whats it going to be like supporting a New Look NON- Boro Side. The committee have made their decision and im not going to go into the reasons why out of respect. I took my stand and ill leave it at that. I never thought id see the day the Club "Sold Out" but here it is and that's life
Hate to say I could have told you so, players are only interested in playing football, they couldn't give a toss on the finance of your club or any club.
What you got to do is not lose the identity of the club. by bringing to many outsiders. as this distroys the make up of your club.
renovater
14/01/2008, 2:49 PM
What happened to the last one Mr Celtic
Cloggs
14/01/2008, 5:24 PM
Hate to say I could have told you so, players are only interested in playing football, they couldn't give a toss on the finance of your club or any club.
What you got to do is not lose the identity of the club. by bringing to many outsiders. as this distroys the make up of your club.
bit harsh tarnishing all the players that play for individual clubs with the one brush-obviously there are a big number of players in each team that do care about the club otherwise there wouldn't be any teams around at all!i do see your point as there are a lot of lads out there who just want to play ball but we're not all like that
pixiehead
14/01/2008, 7:47 PM
you got it wrong this time pixie,he is one of the 6
Take yer word for it so. Maybe the lads down in Galway got it wrong :confused:. Anyhow r u sure u dont want any of them Calendars ;)
couchpotato
14/01/2008, 7:54 PM
is their manager gone too. i heard johnny byrne was joining celtic b with ambitions for the A team, an other exits?
Closing Time
15/01/2008, 11:37 AM
The talk on the street is that the Boro will be more like Castlebar Celtic next season, with so many new players coming from Celtic and pushing out the current players. But as you know time will tell. By the way will Johan be playing himself?
the grape vine
15/01/2008, 11:46 AM
The talk on the street is that the Boro will be more like Castlebar Celtic next season, with so many new players coming from Celtic and pushing out the current players. But as you know time will tell. By the way will Johan be playing himself?
what current celtic do the boro think that they can realistically get from celtic,a lot of players will say they'll sign but when it comes to putting pen to paper its a different story..
Closing Time
15/01/2008, 2:23 PM
what current celtic do the boro think that they can realistically get from celtic,a lot of players will say they'll sign but when it comes to putting pen to paper its a different story..
Rather not say as I cannot confirm if they are going or not. Maybe the boro lads can advise who they are. Dont want to make the same mistake as the CT.
15/01/2008, 2:27 PM
Yes the Connaught made a fool of themselves with that. Until players have signed for the club then everything is just rumour and speculation. No new players have signed for the club yet(none of the current squad have signed either). Let the rumours fly though, its a little bit of entertainment at this time of year.
yellowmonkey
15/01/2008, 7:55 PM
Have to agree with Joe. But to be honest from what ive heard there isnt a great deal of Celtic Lads Coming. They are Quite Loyal and Celtic should be proud of that. Its not only Celtic anyhow, there are other clubs and if Lads turn up, which im sure they will you cant stop them !!!!! As for Yohan I think An injury has ruled him out for the season
Thunderblaster
15/01/2008, 9:41 PM
Did Swinford appoint their new manager yet???
Closing Time
16/01/2008, 8:37 AM
Have to agree with Joe. But to be honest from what ive heard there isnt a great deal of Celtic Lads Coming. They are Quite Loyal and Celtic should be proud of that. Its not only Celtic anyhow, there are other clubs and if Lads turn up, which im sure they will you cant stop them !!!!! As for Yohan I think An injury has ruled him out for the season
I could name four Celtic lads, or the pub talk have (not including SG) but we will wait and see. No one is suggesting that players should be stopped. If they cannot make it at their club of course they should be allowed to move to another club where they will make an impact. I agree what Mossy said in his excellent Mayo News column this week that the top players do not move from strong clubs. It will be interesting to see how many players of last years team will make the starting 11.
the grape vine
16/01/2008, 11:17 AM
is their manager gone too. i heard johnny byrne was joining celtic b with ambitions for the A team, an other exits?
who is johnny byrne ??? is he any good??
gunner1
16/01/2008, 4:16 PM
who is johnny byrne ??? is he any good??
a good little left footer(mid-field)played with glenisland before c/town.b or c team only at celtic