View Full Version : Mayo Association Football League
historynut
28/11/2007, 12:14 PM
Many thanks - Joe Dennelson
Redkenrover
28/11/2007, 9:52 PM
Can any one assist ?
Keep records on Junior/Intermediate legues. Believe gone skewwith on records on top league in Mayo (now called super league).
Have full details up to 1999/2000 (Champs Manulla Runn up Ballyglass), can anyone give a revised list to date (only since 2000).
Many thanks
2000 champs----Straide & Foxford---- runners up Manulla
2001 champs----Castlebar Celtic----- runners up Ballyglass
2002 champs----Westport Utd.-------runners up Straide & Foxford
2003 champs----Erris Utd.------------runners up Castlebar Celtic
2004 champs----Westport Utd.-------runners up Castlebar Celtic
2005 champs----Westport Utd.-------runners up Erris Utd
2006 champs----Castlebar Celtic------runners up Erris Utd
2007 champs----Westport Utd.-------runners up Ballina Town
hope this helps
historynut
28/11/2007, 10:09 PM
REDKENROVER
Big thanks, records gone a little sideways since intro of summer league.
If by chance you have data re old Connaught Senior League/Senior Cup , Connaught Junior Cup, would you be kind enough to pm me so I could compare notes.
But thanks for your assistance.
the grape vine
30/11/2007, 8:30 AM
just looking at he weather it not looking to good for the weekend, i say a few of this weekends game in the connacht cup mite not go ahead.
Leveller
30/11/2007, 8:50 AM
just looking at he weather it not looking to good for the weekend, i say a few of this weekends game in the connacht cup mite not go ahead.
I got a phone call yesterday. The Westport vs Galway Bohemians game is to be played in milebush on sunday.
Ballina Town
01/12/2007, 11:04 AM
Careful Pixie.Thats not Mick that has the grief !
pixiehead
01/12/2007, 12:50 PM
Careful Pixie.Thats not Mick that has the grief !
Full Apologies!!! :o Got confused with the 2 Ballina towns. Ill amend that now ;)
renovater
01/12/2007, 9:16 PM
I got a phone call yesterday. The Westport vs Galway Bohemians game is to be played in milebush on sunday.
Well you will have a decent pitch 2 play on, may be a pitch inspection,due to the weather?
You must be paying well to use milebush
Thunderblaster
02/12/2007, 12:08 PM
Well you will have a decent pitch 2 play on, may be a pitch inspection,due to the weather?
Game is off. How much Westport United pays for Milebush is a matter for the committee of Westport United.
renovater
02/12/2007, 1:38 PM
Game is off. How much Westport United pays for Milebush is a matter for the committee of Westport United.
You wouldn't be able to answer that question, because you are out of the committee. Hope you are now preparing to travel to Bohs of Galway as now, the home game goes to them. no second chance anymore!!!:D
gunner1
02/12/2007, 5:49 PM
You wouldn't be able to answer that question, because you are out of the committee. Hope you are now preparing to travel to Bohs of Galway as now, the home game goes to them. no second chance anymore!!!:D
don't agree with you , i think bohs still have to come down here as it was'nt ports fault.
Leveller
02/12/2007, 7:04 PM
From what I have heard, the word is pitches. Thunder will fill you in. The club will address the matter, dont worry.
Leveller
02/12/2007, 7:06 PM
don't agree with you , i think bohs still have to come down here as it was'nt ports fault.
Exactly
theboy
03/12/2007, 3:05 PM
anyone have any idea when the con. cup games that were called off yesterday are to be played?
Cloggs
03/12/2007, 7:34 PM
anyone have any idea when the con. cup games that were called off yesterday are to be played?
the majority of the games are due to be played this coming sunday (9th of december) although the westport and erris mayo league game is also down for sunday so their game against galway hibs will presumably take place the following week.ballina town and urlar are also due to play on sunday in the junior cup.so ballina's game in the con cup won't be played either
Cloggs
03/12/2007, 7:35 PM
i think you're right there gunner.if your pitch isn't playable,despite inclement weather,you have to reverse the fixture
Bestie
03/12/2007, 8:34 PM
i think you're right there gunner.if your pitch isn't playable,despite inclement weather,you have to reverse the fixture
I think ye might not have the facts there lads. My understanding is that the Galway team failed to travel, and were not going to play the game at all. The game should go to Westport.
Thunderblaster
03/12/2007, 9:30 PM
I think ye might not have the facts there lads. My understanding is that the Galway team failed to travel, and were not going to play the game at all. The game should go to Westport.
100% correct and right!!;)
Thunderblaster
03/12/2007, 9:33 PM
You wouldn't be able to answer that question
I could if I wanted to but it is a matter for the club and not for the forumites on foot.ie.
Macc74
05/12/2007, 12:32 PM
Why don't you ring the Mayo league and ask them how much they charge? They would probably tell you to mind your own business
Leveller
05/12/2007, 12:53 PM
Why don't you ring the Mayo league and ask them how much they charge? They would probably tell you to mind your own business
Good on you Macc!:D
Thunderblaster
05/12/2007, 7:18 PM
Anybody check out the latest gospel according to Gavin Dykes on the CT? Seemingly, he did not like an article on the paper last week.
Closing Time
06/12/2007, 9:58 AM
Anybody check out the latest gospel according to Gavin Dykes on the CT? Seemingly, he did not like an article on the paper last week.
And he is not allowed to have an opinion.
Leveller
06/12/2007, 12:41 PM
Thuderblaster, the badger baiting worked! :D
He is out of his hole, I was wondering where he was he, has been quiet of late.:p
Thunderblaster
06/12/2007, 6:29 PM
But GD seems to be uncomfortable with outside opinions.
pixiehead
06/12/2007, 8:41 PM
Can anyone shed any light on what Tom Kelly was on about in his weekly article. Some major asset thats in the pipeline for mayo soccer but he couldnt tell us what it was. He's such a tease that Kelly :D
Major Irish American Investors for a Multi Million Eircom League club in Mayo who will challange the best in Europe Maybe??:D F.C MAYO GALAXY :D
Thunderblaster
08/12/2007, 4:41 PM
Can anyone shed any light on what Tom Kelly was on about in his weekly article. Some major asset thats in the pipeline for mayo soccer but he couldnt tell us what it was. He's such a tease that Kelly :D
Major Irish American Investors for a Multi Million Eircom League club in Mayo who will challange the best in Europe Maybe??:D F.C MAYO GALAXY :D
I think you should get in touch with the bould Tom Kelly and he might fill you in more on that story!!
pixiehead
10/12/2007, 7:53 PM
I think you should get in touch with the bould Tom Kelly and he might fill you in more on that story!!
What the big secret?????????????????????? :eek:
Thunderblaster
12/12/2007, 9:54 PM
Secrets must be kept a secret!!;):D
Cloggs
15/12/2007, 8:42 PM
best of luck to the three mayo sides playing in the fai junior cup tomorrow.hopefully they'll carry on the recent good form of mayo teams in the competition:ball:
Closing Time
17/12/2007, 9:55 AM
best of luck to the three mayo sides playing in the fai junior cup tomorrow.hopefully they'll carry on the recent good form of mayo teams in the competition:ball:
Bad day for Mayo with only Celtic progressing after a derserved 1-0 win against a good Tralee side. Shocked that Utd went out, any word on the game. Also surprised with the Manulla result. I wonder how did the officials do considering Mossie article in the MN. Heard Refs not to happy.
Closing Time
17/12/2007, 10:38 AM
What the big secret?????????????????????? :eek:
Youths back using & paying for Milebush
Heard that Johan Collins & Damian Burke new management team for the Boro with Declan Kilkelly the new coach. Is it true JC is funding the senior team and bringing a number of new players from various clubs around Castlebar & beyond (pay for play). Heard a number of ex celtic players on their way to the Boro. What will happen to the current squad, play for the B team? This is great news for the Boro faithful.
17/12/2007, 10:41 AM
Heard that Johan Collins & Damian Burke new management team for the Boro with Declan Kilkelly the new coach plus the coup de grâce or the pièce de résistance if you will Stevie Gavin player/coach. Is it true JC is funding the senior team and bringing a number of new players from various clubs around Castlebar & beyond (pay for play). Heard a number of ex celtic players on their way to the Boro. What will happen to the current squad, play for the B team? This is great news for the Boro faithful.
Nobody is getting paid. Declan Kilkelly will be hired for specific training sessions and I assume will be finanicially reimbursed for his time as any professional would. But besides him, no one is getting paid. Lets nip that one in the bud straight away.
the grape vine
17/12/2007, 10:56 AM
Heard that Johan Collins & Damian Burke new management team for the Boro with Declan Kilkelly the new coach. Is it true JC is funding the senior team and bringing a number of new players from various clubs around Castlebar & beyond (pay for play). Heard a number of ex celtic players on their way to the Boro. What will happen to the current squad, play for the B team? This is great news for the Boro faithful.
sounds very interesting, i say alot of players would like to be apart of that set-up, has the making of a very good management team !! who the ex-celtic players been talked about !!
Closing Time
17/12/2007, 11:03 AM
Nobody is getting paid. Declan Kilkelly will be hired for specific training sessions and I assume will be finanicially reimbursed for his time as any professional would. But besides him, no one is getting paid. Lets nip that one in the bud straight away.
DB is joining for his love of the Boro. Just the talk around the bars of Castlebar at the moment. I will take it as pub talk and leave it at that.
Closing Time
17/12/2007, 11:05 AM
sounds very interesting, i say alot of players would like to be apart of that set-up, has the making of a very good management team !! who the ex-celtic players been talked about !!
Prefer not to say as it was all pub talk. But is a great management set up. Could'nt see that team working with the current squad of palyers even if they are good clubmen. Interesting times a head for the Boro.
the grape vine
17/12/2007, 11:24 AM
Prefer not to say as it was all pub talk. But is a great management set up. Could'nt see that team working with the current squad of palyers even if they are good clubmen. Interesting times a head for the Boro.
ya, i would imagine alot of new faces in the team !!
Closing Time
17/12/2007, 1:38 PM
Mid-west Radio has said that Stevie Gavin will also be on the clubs wage bill. Great move, any other paid jobs out there.
17/12/2007, 1:39 PM
Stevie's not getting paid either. Stevie is joining as player coach and Snugboro will likely pay for his coaching badges but that offer is available to everybody at the club if they wish.
Closing Time
17/12/2007, 1:59 PM
Stevie's not getting paid either. Stevie is joining as player coach and Snugboro will likely pay for his coaching badges but that offer is available to everybody at the club if they wish.
Now now of course he is getting money, be it for coaching/playing what ever. Fact. As I hear it Celtic could'nt guarantee the weekly money. If it was just the coaching badges that would have not been an problem for Celtic. Three on the pay role DK, SG & DB fair due to the Boro to be able to fund this. Be honest.
17/12/2007, 2:04 PM
Now now of course he is getting money, be it for coaching/playing what ever. Fact. As I hear it Celtic could'nt guarantee the weekly money. If it was just the coaching badges that would have not been an problem for Celtic. Three on the pay role DK, SG & DB fair due to the Boro to be able to fund this. Be honest.
Sounds like the words of a green eyed monster to me? Stevie said he's not getting paid and I believe him. Celtic didn't offer him any coaching positions at all. It'll be an interesting season whatever happens. Alan English will be in charge of the B Team. Come on the Boro
the grape vine
17/12/2007, 2:07 PM
thats a big signing for the boro..
Closing Time
17/12/2007, 3:24 PM
Sounds like the words of a green eyed monster to me? Stevie said he's not getting paid and I believe him. Celtic didn't offer him any coaching positions at all. It'll be an interesting season whatever happens. Alan English will be in charge of the B Team. Come on the Boro
Not at all. It will great to have a strong Boro and make castlebar a hot bed of Football. Regarding the payments just asking for the truth. It will be interesting to see how many ex Celtic players will be lining out for the Boro next season. From what I hear quite a lot. Best of luck with the new management team.
pixiehead
17/12/2007, 5:50 PM
As the secretary of snugboro Football Club i can tell you that no one is getting anything from the Club funds Bar Declan Killkelly who will act as a external coach. I wish to God CT that we were paying them as that would mean we actually had Money!! As a committe we have always maintained a No pay stance primarily because our New grounds have not been fully paid for and development is continuing. We the committee have employed Yohan Collins and his Management team where not spoken of on the night he was interviewed. Now wheither people want to take my word for this is up to them . I have been patient enough to to explain our situation when the bottom line is that its no one business. I cant be fairer then that
pixiehead
17/12/2007, 5:55 PM
Mid-west Radio has said that Stevie Gavin will also be on the clubs wage bill. Great move, any other paid jobs out there.
Mid- West nor any other Media Have contacted Myself or any other Committee member on the present situation. I am aware that these pages are frequented by the latter so if any one would like truthfull information Contact Myself 085 8136835 or Brendan Mullins (PRO) 0872071620 to Avoid Bullsh1t Rumours
Cloggs
17/12/2007, 6:18 PM
Mid- West nor any other Media Have contacted Myself or any other Committee member on the present situation. I am aware that these pages are frequented by the latter so if any one would like truthfull information Contact Myself 087 9257917 or Brendan Mullins (PRO) 0872071620 to Avoid Bullsh1t Rumours
pixie you need to relax!;)with the season now ended what else is there to talk about for the clubs that are out of the fai/connacht cups other than whatever idle gossip may be meandering its way throughout the towns!where else can a man ask such questions other than on this website?isn't that what its here for??
pixiehead
17/12/2007, 6:22 PM
Not at all. It will great to have a strong Boro and make castlebar a hot bed of Football. Regarding the payments just asking for the truth. It will be interesting to see how many ex Celtic players will be lining out for the Boro next season. From what I hear quite a lot. Best of luck with the new management team.
On a personal Level i am deeply unhappy with what will ultimatley result in our club becoming the "graveyard for disgruntled Hoops" . I am well aware that the club has not got enough Quailty at the moment to stay in the Super league however these appointments will no doubtably lead to an influx of Celtic (and Other) players who have zero allegance to Snugboro F.C and only to number one. I would much rather see my club playing in the lower leagues with a community spirit enveloping the lads who have served us well through Good times and Bad rather than a club of "Super Stars" who didnt make it at Pavillion Road. I have the Upmost Respect For Collins, Gavin , Damo and Dec and they know this, but i do not invisage the same future which will without doubt Rip the Heart out of Who Snugboro F.C are and abate the Zeal upon which our Club was made. Because of this i will not be standing for election As secretary in the coming weeks. Im aware im strongly in the minority but as ive stressed before this is not a professional league. I know for a fact people at Celtic where not Happy when this occured there and its for the same reasons that im off on this rant. Im Boro through and through and of the mind that we look after our own. However Very soon we wont have "our own"
BORO RIP (1986-2007)
Closing Time
18/12/2007, 10:18 AM
As the secretary of snugboro Football Club i can tell you that no one is getting anything from the Club funds Bar Declan Killkelly who will act as a external coach. I wish to God CT that we were paying them as that would mean we actually had Money!! As a committe we have always maintained a No pay stance primarily because our New grounds have not been fully paid for and development is continuing. We the committee have employed Yohan Collins and his Management team where not spoken of on the night he was interviewed. Now wheither people want to take my word for this is up to them . I have been patient enough to to explain our situation when the bottom line is that its no one business. I cant be fairer then that
Fair enough. Just advised by a very good source that DB & SG are getting money. I know DB will not be involved unless he is getting paid. Must be JC company funding these two and not the club directly as you have confirmed.
Closing Time
18/12/2007, 10:31 AM
On a personal Level i am deeply unhappy with what will ultimatley result in our club becoming the "graveyard for disgruntled Hoops" . I am well aware that the club has not got enough Quailty at the moment to stay in the Super league however these appointments will no doubtably lead to an influx of Celtic (and Other) players who have zero allegance to Snugboro F.C and only to number one. I would much rather see my club playing in the lower leagues with a community spirit enveloping the lads who have served us well through Good times and Bad rather than a club of "Super Stars" who didnt make it at Pavillion Road. I have the Upmost Respect For Collins, Gavin , Damo and Dec and they know this, but i do not invisage the same future which will without doubt Rip the Heart out of Who Snugboro F.C are and abate the Zeal upon which our Club was made. Because of this i will not be standing for election As secretary in the coming weeks. Im aware im strongly in the minority but as ive stressed before this is not a professional league. I know for a fact people at Celtic where not Happy when this occured there and its for the same reasons that im off on this rant. Im Boro through and through and of the mind that we look after our own. However Very soon we wont have "our own"
BORO RIP (1986-2007)
Well said, as you have mentioned a number of Celtic people are still unhappy with GD and the number of players he has signed for the club. You should re think your position as there are very few true clubmen left. Its now 'what the club can do for me and not what we can do for the club'. Yes this new management team will bring success to the Boro but at what cost. Look at all the players that have played for Celtic over the years, and how many are involved now once they have stopped playing. I do agree that the Boro community spirit (a real plus that Celtic has lost many years ago) will be lost due to so many new players coming in for a couple of season and will only be concerned if they get a game or not. But the success might compensate for this? Best of luck to a real clubman.
quay heart
18/12/2007, 4:59 PM
pixie and closing excellent threads.its sad when real club persons have to suffer in this money go round that is mayo lge football of late.any other new managers in lge for coming season ?