View Full Version : Mayo Association Football League
irishyop
02/06/2007, 10:59 PM
Two brilliant strikes by Glynn, fair to him, took the 2 goals really well. He is single handidly pushing Galway on!!
pixiehead
04/06/2007, 6:06 PM
any Fixtures out???? :confused:
Cloggs
04/06/2007, 7:53 PM
any Fixtures out???? :confused:
Saturday 9th June 2007
Elverys Sports Super League—Round 6
Ballina Town v Glenhest Rovers 7.30pm
Ballyheane v Manulla 7.30pm
Castlebar Celtic v Crossmolina 7.30pm
Erris Utd. v Claremorris 7.30pm
Snugboro Utd. v Westport Utd. 7.30pm
Welcome Inn Hotel Division 2B—Round 7
Ballyglass ‘B’ 0 v 3 Hollister 7.30pm
Glenisland Utd. v Ballina Town ‘B’ 7.30pm
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd. v Castlebar Celtic ‘C’ 7.30pm
Swinford ‘B’ v Cross Celtic 7.30pm
Sunday 10th June 2007
Welcome Inn Hotel Premier Division—Round 6
Achill Rovers v Swinford 2.30pm
Ballinrobe Town v Westport Utd. ‘B’ 2.30pm
Ballyglass v Castlebar Celtic ‘B’ 2.30pm
Fahy Rovers v Bangor Hibs. 2.30pm
Manulla ‘B’ v Straide & Foxford Utd.2.30pm
Welcome Inn Hotel Division 1—Round 6
Charlestown Athletic v Partry Athletic 2.30pm
Conn Rangers v Killala 2.30pm
Kilmore v Inver Utd. 12.00pm
Moy Villa v Ballyheane ‘B’ 2.30pm
Mulranny Utd. v Urlaur Utd. 2.30pm
Welcome Inn Hotel Division 2A—Round 7
Ballina Utd. v Erris Utd. ‘B’ 2.30pm
Ballyvary Blue Bombers v Straide & Foxford Utd. ‘B'
Snugboro Utd. ‘B’ v Castlebar Town 2.30pm
Valley Rovers v Clew Bay Utd. 2.30pm
Ranger
04/06/2007, 9:41 PM
Rather than going into a long winded debate the members of the league are elected in the normal way, with others asked to take up positions which they refuse to do due to club commitments.
Like I said you can meet the league to discuss the problems you seem to be having rather than airing them to Joe public.
I would view any further comment to be taken as a negative on your part
yours in sport
Reno
Reno,
Thanks for your reply and point taken.
But any chance you might send me a P.M. on this site to respond to my points raised??
Olander
05/06/2007, 4:35 PM
interview with derek glynn on our site for anybody http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/news-features/glynn-just-the-tonic!.html :)
Cloggs
07/06/2007, 1:46 PM
Ballina Town v Glenhest Rovers home
Ballyheane v Manulla draw
Castlebar Celtic v Crossmolina home
Erris Utd. v Claremorris home
Snugboro Utd. v Westport Utd. away
gunner1
08/06/2007, 9:06 AM
Ballina Town v Glenhest Rovers home
Ballyheane v Manulla home
Castlebar Celtic v Crossmolina home
Erris Utd. v Claremorris home
Snugboro Utd. v Westport Utd. away
irishyop
08/06/2007, 11:12 AM
Ballina Town v Glenhest Rovers HOME
Ballyheane v Manulla HOME
Castlebar Celtic v Crossmolina HOME
Erris Utd. v Claremorris HOME
Snugboro Utd. v Westport Utd. AWAY
Ranger
08/06/2007, 3:16 PM
Ballyheane v Manulla DRAW
Erris Utd. v Claremorris DRAW
swinfordfc
08/06/2007, 4:05 PM
Ballyheane v Manulla DRAW
Erris Utd. v Claremorris HOME
couchpotato
10/06/2007, 12:05 PM
howd da super league go last nite. did westport match celtics 14??
pixiehead
10/06/2007, 5:51 PM
howd da super league go last nite. did westport match celtics 14??
No in Fact Snugboro deserved at least a draw and Even the Westport Players Said they Robbed us. Massive respect to them for saying this as not too many sides would admit to this. Awful nice bunch of Lads and a good clean game. Top Club!!! :cool:
pixiehead
10/06/2007, 5:52 PM
any fixtures for this week Fellas :confused:
yellowmonkey
10/06/2007, 7:11 PM
any fixtures for this week Fellas :confused:
Thats your job ;)
pixiehead
13/06/2007, 7:30 PM
http://www.elevenaside.com/galwayutd/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=28013
the grape vine
14/06/2007, 8:24 AM
http://www.elevenaside.com/galwayutd/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=28013
just looked at that link, good article !!!!
pixiehead
15/06/2007, 11:11 PM
Another 2 Goals by Derek tonite. Unfortunatley we went asleep in the last 20 and gave away a penalty. Harps were poor in General but its no excuse. Up to Ballyboffey now !!
pixiehead
15/06/2007, 11:13 PM
Id be the first to give out about pitches but i have to say huge credit to Swinford on the quaility of the surface of the pitch this week. Pool table material :ball:
swinfordfc
16/06/2007, 1:29 PM
Id be the first to give out about pitches but i have to say huge credit to Swinford on the quaility of the surface of the pitch this week. Pool table material :ball:
Thanks pixiehead - we aim to please! :D
Cloggs
16/06/2007, 1:54 PM
Castlebar Celtic - Ballina Town away
Claremorris - Erris Utd. away
Glenhest Rovers - Ballyheane away
Manulla - Snugboro Utd. home
Westport Utd - Claremorris home
Thunderblaster
16/06/2007, 5:59 PM
Castlebar Celtic - Ballina Town Draw
Crossmolina - Erris Utd. Away
Glenhest Rovers - Ballyheane Away
Manulla - Snugboro Utd. Home
Westport Utd - Claremorris Home
Fireball
17/06/2007, 9:43 PM
Well done the Town A team today. Nice away win over Celtic. :D
renovater
18/06/2007, 11:41 PM
Well done the Town A team today. Nice away win over Celtic. :D
Have to say it was impressive:)
irishyop
19/06/2007, 11:37 AM
I think a hats off to Knock/Kiltimagh for this.
"K&K Utd Show Sportmanship Of The Highest Order
18/06/2007
The K&K Utd Captain and Manager showed sportmanship of the highest order when they intervened when Celtic C player Declan Levelle was sent off in the wrong. Both individuals went to the ref after the game and confimed that Declan should not have been sent off. The ref Mr. Tony Cosgrove took this information on board and has written to the Mayo League requesting the red card to be down graded. The Mangement of the C team would like to thank K&K Utd for their sportmanship and the ref Mr. Tony Cosgrove for writting to the Mayo League. Well done to all involved "
From http://www.castlebarceltic.com/
swinfordfc
19/06/2007, 11:48 AM
Good to see - congrats on that - well done K+K Utd
renovater
19/06/2007, 1:55 PM
Good to see - congrats on that - well done K+K Utd
Good to see sport being the winner
well done to all concerned
pixiehead
19/06/2007, 8:49 PM
18/06/2007
The K&K Utd Captain and Manager showed sportmanship of the highest order when they intervened when Celtic C player Declan Levelle was sent off in the wrong. Both individuals went to the ref after the game and confimed that Declan should not have been sent off. The ref Mr. Tony Cosgrove took this information on board and has written to the Mayo League requesting the red card to be down graded. The Mangement of the C team would like to thank K&K Utd for their sportmanship and the ref Mr. Tony Cosgrove for writting to the Mayo League. Well done to all involved "
What actually happened i wonder ????
Does the ref feel like a plonker now :D
Closing Time
20/06/2007, 9:45 AM
What actually happened i wonder ????
Does the ref feel like a plonker now :D
The Ref was excellent. The incident happened behind his back and what he saw was two players rolling on the ground one trying to defend himself from the other. His call was both players should be sent off, but once he heard the true story he wrote to the Mayo League. Think before you call someone a plonker. Don't always try a take a negative out of something positive. Well done to K&K Utd.
mandarin frogs
20/06/2007, 5:44 PM
18/06/2007
This does the heart good! After all the negatives lately on these threads about mayo refs (good AND bad gunner!), fantastic to see such a refreshing approach by mr T. Cosgrove. If "Closing Time" can confirm that the refs back was turned, then he can only go on what he has seen. But then for him to take the time to listen to views of both sides, and use common sense, and help to clear the lad, shows a human side that some wouldnt ( and havent) shown.(Think "Fahy forever" mentioned that lately).
Mr Tony Cosgrove, I salute you!
As for the Knock/Kiltimagh Captain and Manager- You are a credit to your club and your league! Can someone please Name these men?
Its about time there was some positive posts on these threads. i think we should post any simular examples of good reffeering on the general mayo thread. In fact, lets start a positive refs survey! Great to see such sportsmanship and sensible reffeering:):ball:
Thunderblaster
20/06/2007, 9:05 PM
And the act of fair play should be recognised at the Mayo AFL Dinner Dance in November.
town old boy
20/06/2007, 10:12 PM
18/06/2007
It's a pity we can't all be as fair and honest as this. Many of us have the win at all costs mentality but incidents like the one above can only serve to improve and further the game at all levels. Well done to all involved!
Also good luck to the Celtic U-21 team on Sat. Lets hope they have a good run in the competition. It can only help to improve the standard and profile of the game in the county.
pixiehead
20/06/2007, 10:40 PM
The Ref was excellent. The incident happened behind his back and what he saw was two players rolling on the ground one trying to defend himself from the other. His call was both players should be sent off, but once he heard the true story he wrote to the Mayo League. Think before you call someone a plonker. Don't always try a take a negative out of something positive. Well done to K&K Utd.
OOOPPS. Taken Back!! Fair play to all involved
pixiehead
20/06/2007, 10:48 PM
Ya Great to see eircom league in the town. Hopefully we will see a senior side one day. However i dont think they will get a big a support for the games. Through no fault of celtic but the game V shamrock rovers showed that we are still stuck in a GAA dominated Town/ County. I was angry with the support shown for the game and the effort celtic put in that day so i think they are a long way off. But fair play to all involved and hopefully we will see the tribesmen whip them in celtic one day ;)
irishyop
21/06/2007, 8:39 AM
They are playing Galway United U21 as far as I am aware!
Are any of ye non Celtic heads going up for a look on Sat evening?
I see Ronan O'Boyle is gone to Galway United, at this rate it maybe worth a trip up to Terryland soon
21/06/2007, 1:25 PM
Best of Luck to Ronan, best player I've played against in Mayo so far.
Thunderblaster
22/06/2007, 4:06 PM
They are playing Galway United U21 as far as I am aware!
Monaghan United
irishyop
22/06/2007, 4:12 PM
Monaghan United
TB - I was responding to the quote of "hopefully we will see the tribesmen whip them in celtic one day ", in saying the Celtic U21 will be playing Galway United U21 side in League. Mr O'Boyle will be back playing against his old team mates ;)
Thunderblaster
22/06/2007, 4:21 PM
And there is Eoin McCormack from Ballina with Galway United U.21s. GUFC U.21's played the FAS boys in Milebush last night. Don't know the score of that one. Will be an emotional homecoming for Boyler.
town old boy
22/06/2007, 8:50 PM
Fantastic goal from Derek Glynn tonight. The way he's going at the moment he might go further than the Tribesmen!!
Cloggs
23/06/2007, 5:55 PM
Saturday, 23 June 2007
Ballyheane - Ballina Town away
Claremorris - Glenhest Rovers draw
Westport Utd - Manulla home
Snugboro Utd. - Erris Utd. away
pixiehead
23/06/2007, 6:20 PM
I see Ronan O'Boyle is gone to Galway United, at this rate it maybe worth a trip up to Terryland soon
Its always worth a trip up anyhow. I dont see why more people dont support the nearest LOI team anyhow. Then again Mayo is seeping with Armchair Man U Fans :rolleyes: Real Soccer Fans!! :rolleyes:
gunner1
25/06/2007, 1:53 AM
This does the heart good! After all the negatives lately on these threads about mayo refs (good AND bad gunner!), fantastic to see such a refreshing approach by mr T. Cosgrove. If "Closing Time" can confirm that the refs back was turned, then he can only go on what he has seen. But then for him to take the time to listen to views of both sides, and use common sense, and help to clear the lad, shows a human side that some wouldnt ( and havent) shown.(Think "Fahy forever" mentioned that lately).
Mr Tony Cosgrove, I salute you!
As for the Knock/Kiltimagh Captain and Manager- You are a credit to your club and your league! Can someone please Name these men?
Its about time there was some positive posts on these threads. i think we should post any similar examples of good refereeing on the general mayo thread. In fact, lets start a positive refs survey! Great to see such sportsmanship and sensible refereeing:):ball:
This does the heart good! After all the negatives lately on these threads about mayo refs (good AND bad gunner!),
are u having a go??
u see some people leave them self's wide open!!!
[B] If "Closing Time" can confirm that the refs back was turned,[/B
if his back was turned he was not in a position to to make a decision,
referees can only make calls on facts,
gunner1
25/06/2007, 1:58 AM
And there is Eoin McCormack from Ballina with Galway United U.21s. GUFC U.21's played the FAS boys in Milebush last night. Don't know the score of that one. Will be an emotional homecoming for Boyler.
i don't think boyler played but he was at the game, he was also at the u/21 game.......
Mad Moose
25/06/2007, 3:31 PM
Its always worth a trip up anyhow. I dont see why more people dont support the nearest LOI team anyhow. Then again Mayo is seeping with Armchair Man U Fans :rolleyes: Real Soccer Fans!! :rolleyes:
I'm taking my nephew up in a couple of weeks for his first LoI game. So has Ronan O'Boyle moved to Galway Utd then. I read the same news on the U-21's forum.
mandarin frogs
25/06/2007, 4:54 PM
This does the heart good! After all the negatives lately on these threads about mayo refs (good AND bad gunner!),
are u having a go??
u see some people leave them self's wide open!!!
[B] If "Closing Time" can confirm that the refs back was turned,[/B
if his back was turned he was not in a position to to make a decision,
referees can only make calls on facts,
1-not having a go at anyone-actually the opposite!
2-Dont see your argument here- i agree with you! Read it again gunner. i said that he can only go by what he has seen- and he did! But he took views from other parties on board regarding the red card, and thats my point.:ball::)
couchpotato
25/06/2007, 6:54 PM
speaking of referees, i seen mcgrath referee a game recently, and i think he has really copped, seems to understand the players better now, one time you could never talk him, i think e even smiled that day i saw him!!
irishyop
25/06/2007, 9:49 PM
He took charge of the U21 game on Sat evening @ Celtic park, he made a very good job of it in fairness, very anonymous which is where you want refs to be!
Closing Time
25/06/2007, 10:24 PM
Why should we support a LOI team. It's your home team we should be supporting not a team 50 miles away.
gunner1
26/06/2007, 1:54 AM
1-not having a go at anyone-actually the opposite!
2-Dont see your argument here- i agree with you! Read it again gunner. i said that he can only go by what he has seen- and he did! But he took views from other parties on board regarding the red card, and thats my point.:ball::)
if your not having a go why bring my name into it???????????????????
mandarin frogs
26/06/2007, 9:33 PM
if your not having a go why bring my name into it???????????????????
mentioned you before you'd jump down my throat about my point about refs. Shouldnt have bothered really, coz its clear youre not reading them correctly!
And you got on my case anyway!:)
case closed i hope- please dont reply for the sake of replying! i wont be awake for your 3/4AM reply!!!!!:D