View Full Version : Mayo Association Football League
renovater
17/10/2010, 3:45 PM
latest idea from the idiots at mayo league top table,knowing that they have created a mess by reducing the divisions to 8 teams meaning all teams willl only have 14 league games and probably only 16 games in whole season,they think we should play each other three times in the league now, as has happened many times in the past teams have drawn each other in the divisional cup and on occasion in the mayo cup,could ya imagine playing a team 5 times in one season,ya might even be lucky enough to have to travel to iorras or kilmore 4 times in one season(now that something to look forward ta,better buy an overnight bag)and as a follow up to the quaility of mayo super league mr tom kelly wrote a piece a number of weeks back in telegraph about there been nothing wrong with quailty in the super league seen as ballina had dropped so little points over the season ans still needed to win on last day of season to win league title, i wonder had this 8 team division idea the full backing of the committee or just select few.
Sounds like a real laural and Hardy story.
Stan what another fine mess you got us into.
Beggers believe
This would be foolish to think, after giving the reason was so you would pay less on cost.
theboy
18/10/2010, 10:52 AM
any feedback on the mayo trials from yesterday? did any clubs on here send players out to it?
Round Tower
18/10/2010, 1:52 PM
any feedback on the mayo trials from yesterday? did any clubs on here send players out to it?
Giggs went up from our club did not hear any word on how he got on, he had wonderful season scoing 24 goals played underage for Mayo league.
Back n the game
18/10/2010, 7:03 PM
Giggs went up from our club did not hear any word on how he got on, he had wonderful season scoing 24 goals played underage for Mayo league.
Word is that the ML have defended their decision to hold the trials last sunday and that if clubs were interested in having their players considered for the Mayo squad then they should have forwarded their names to the manager and he would then have watched them at a later date. Now my point is WHEN!!! where is there going to be enough games to view players if 10 clubs decide to put their players names forward.
Im sure that BK wont be going round the grounds next weekend as Ballina will be in FAI action and after that they will have Connaught cup action, So when will these players be assesed??? another lie from the governing body and im sure that if players turned up for trial last sunday they were most likely from Conn Rangers, Kilalla and Claremorris as these clubs had bye's in the cup. This I have no problem with and fair play if some of those guys get on and progress in the squad but im sure other teams would have liked to have their players acknowleged and assesed. will there be another "open" day or will the token gesture just be confined to those who turned up last sunday?
On another note is there rumbelings that Westport players will not make themselves available for selection over the Westport v Ballina debacle and the stag party members who couldn't get the game postponed. I'm sure it will be hard to give service to a league who virtually ended their season by not postponing "that" game.
theboy
19/10/2010, 9:50 AM
Ya its goin to be interesting to see what players will say, if they are asked to join the panel. The westport players will be a huge loss if the decide not to play. The clubs will also have to make a choice when the dinner dance comes round. Will all clubs attend as normal or will they use it to make a point.
secerts
19/10/2010, 1:47 PM
anyone have shield draw
Back n the game
19/10/2010, 6:56 PM
http://inform.fai.ie/league/clubs/news/news.aspx?OrgID=1283#top
Looks like the hirearchy are offering to meet with the club delegates. I wonder is this to justfy their decision and push their intention to stand their ground or would there be any chnce of hoping for them to listen and abolish this farcical structure for 2011??
Round Tower
19/10/2010, 7:18 PM
http://inform.fai.ie/league/clubs/news/news.aspx?OrgID=1283#top
Looks like the hirearchy are offering to meet with the club delegates. I wonder is this to justfy their decision and push their intention to stand their ground or would there be any chnce of hoping for them to listen and abolish this farcical structure for 2011??
Very much doubt it, i think this meeting is to see how the new league will be run, do clubs play each other 2 or 3 times aseason.
FAI Junior cup 2nd Round this weekend any ideeas of possible upsets
portside
20/10/2010, 3:27 PM
This is more of it from the mayo league,make it up as we toddle along.
Did they drop the number of teams to have less games or improve the standard?
What is going to happen is the teams who got relegated will lose players to the bigger teams as they have a taste of the top flight and don`t want to be scrapping to get back up and this will lead to weaker clubs getting poorer and top teams getting stronger which will lead to a bigger divide,this has happened to other leagues around the country.
mystical
20/10/2010, 6:50 PM
would have to agree with portside. way things going it will improve the standard, only cos as you say, players will go to the bigger clubs. beginning to think that the ml's ploy is to reduce the number of clubs involved. if they can fall from existence by silly fines, this surely must eradicate some.
renovater
20/10/2010, 6:52 PM
This is more of it from the mayo league,make it up as we toddle along.
Did they drop the number of teams to have less games or improve the standard?
What is going to happen is the teams who got relegated will lose players to the bigger teams as they have a taste of the top flight and don`t want to be scrapping to get back up and this will lead to weaker clubs getting poorer and top teams getting stronger which will lead to a bigger divide,this has happened to other leagues around the country.
Sounds about right
swinfordfc
20/10/2010, 7:27 PM
Lads,
Does anyone knows where you can get the see the Connacht draws for the junior and the youths? ... Be nice to actually see the draws for the various age groups.....
renovater
21/10/2010, 8:42 PM
Lads,
Does anyone knows where you can get the see the Connacht draws for the junior and the youths? ... Be nice to actually see the draws for the various age groups.....
Art Friel your man
youth (u18) or do u mean also schoolboys
Round Tower
22/10/2010, 10:22 AM
FAI Junior Cup Round 2
Any major suprises this weekend and some interesting games with some clubs wanting to prove that they will be in the wrong division next year.
Ballyary V Iorras Aonaithe - Away
Kilmore V Cross Celtic - Home
Partry Athletic V Achill Rovers - Home maybe after E.T or penalities
Ballyheane V Killala - Away maybe after E.T and penalities now on 4.30 Sat
Ballinrobe Town V Conn Rangers - Home after ET and pens
Faghy Rovers V Claremorris - Home after ET
Balyglass V Ballina Town - Away
Clew Bay United V Bangor Hibs - Away ET and pens
I would expect thtat in the other ties no suprises with S&f,Snugboro,Kilt/Knock,Manulla,Westport,Mulranny,Moy Villa,Castlebar Celt all wining.
Has anyone the ties for Round 3 of the Connaught and the FAI cups.
GoodFootball
22/10/2010, 3:59 PM
Art Friel your man
youth (u18) or do u mean also schoolboys
Schoolboys would also be under 18 so I go with Art on this one...
Back n the game
23/10/2010, 10:16 AM
Did many lower division teams send players to the 2nd round off trials last night?? if so was there any feedback??
poker
25/10/2010, 11:26 AM
Some interesting fixtures in next round ballina town v Westport sticks out urlaur v claremorris ballina utd v knock kiltimagh manulla v moy villa kilmore v ballyhaunis
pinero
26/10/2010, 4:39 PM
anyone got full mayo fai junior cup third round draw
Footy Mad
27/10/2010, 6:51 PM
F.A.I Junior Cup Round 3
Sunday 7th November:
Westpot United v Bangor Hibs
Ballyheane v Ballinrobe/Conn Rangers
Ballina Town v Urlar
Manulla v Kilmore
Ballyhaunis Town v Moy Villa
Achill Rovers v Castlebar Celtic
Kiltimagh/Knock United v Ballina United
Claremorris v Iorras Aontaithe
achillrover
28/10/2010, 3:21 PM
F.A.I Junior Cup Round 3
Sunday 7th November:
Achill Rovers v Castlebar Celtic
love it! see ya soon kev!
Round Tower
28/10/2010, 3:53 PM
Achill Rovers V Castlebar Celtic
love it! see ya soon kev!
Ya it would be nice if ye got revenge on him for deserting ye half season, he has been very quiet here lately. Heavy rain and a strong winds coming in off the Atlantic would even up the 2 teams.
Round Tower
28/10/2010, 9:40 PM
Delegate Meeting
Anyone hear anything from tonight's delegate meeting involving chairmans and secetaries from clubs, anyone form the so called club group or any mad change on next seasons divisions will it be play each other 2 or 3 times.
minivan man
03/11/2010, 8:26 AM
any one hear anything about the masters league yet? is it going ahead?
theboy
03/11/2010, 8:29 AM
Was anyone at the meeting last week in milebush?
FahyForever
03/11/2010, 2:20 PM
Starting next Wednesday night in Milebush...
Footy Mad
07/11/2010, 8:17 PM
F.A.I. Junior Cup Round 4:
Ballyhaunis Town v Knock/Kiltimagh
Castlebar Celtic v Ballyheane
Claremorris or Iorras Aontaithe v Ballina Town
Manulla v Westport United
Scheduled for 28th November
Some exciting games in prospect, Ballyhaunis have great chance of reaching open draw in their first season back in the league.
Round Tower
09/11/2010, 8:22 PM
With the dinner dance in under 3 weeks any word on the different individual awards and the divisional team of the year awards. Also did any players from outside the super league make the Oscar Traynor squad
swinfordfc
09/11/2010, 8:56 PM
With the dinner dance in under 3 weeks any word on the different individual awards and the divisional team of the year awards. Also did any players from outside the super league make the Oscar Traynor squad
Go to milebrush tomorrow and see the friendly game - you know more then .....
theboy
12/11/2010, 10:06 AM
Any have this years squad for the oscar traynor team?
pixiehead
15/11/2010, 12:01 PM
Just a reminder that a meeting of the MSCA takes place tonight at 8.30pm in the Travellers Friend Hotel in Castlebar.
Good amount of clubs affiliated to date.
renovater
15/11/2010, 7:31 PM
Just a reminder that a meeting of the MSCA takes place tonight at 8.30pm in the Travellers Friend Hotel in Castlebar.
Good amount of clubs affiliated to date.
Why not hold it in the home of Mayo football,Since clubs have paid to use it.
pixiehead
16/11/2010, 7:15 PM
Why not hold it in the home of Mayo football,Since clubs have paid to use it.
Because Berlin has branded the organization illegitimate. A threat rather than a collective of people with the game at heart....real football people.
pixiehead
16/11/2010, 7:29 PM
Congrats to Sligo on Sundays win. Great advertisement for domestic football. Well done to Ciaran Kelly on a great game. Great to see the cup coming west. Redkenrover will be a happy boy :sheep:
Good to see the continued success of McGrath also!
Redkenrover
16/11/2010, 8:13 PM
Congrats to Sligo on Sundays win. Great advertisement for domestic football. Well done to Ciaran Kelly on a great game. Great to see the cup coming west. Redkenrover will be a happy boy :sheep:
Good to see the continued success of McGrath also!
Absolutely, pixiehead, redkenrover is a very,very happy boy!!! Good to see Galway still in the premier div. too. Always enjoy the trip to terryland and a handy 3 points, ha ha. Cheers for your congrats.
Round Tower
16/11/2010, 8:38 PM
Absolutely, pixiehead, redkenrover is a very,very happy boy!!! Good to see Galway still in the premier div. too. Always enjoy the trip to terryland and a handy 3 points, ha ha. Cheers for your congrats.
Congrats to all in Sligo Rovers it was great for Cieran Kelly after last year disapointment. We had them up in 2004 for the opening of our new pitch and club house.
Thunderblaster
16/11/2010, 10:08 PM
Some interesting fixtures in next round ballina town v Westport sticks out urlaur v claremorris ballina utd v knock kiltimagh manulla v moy villa kilmore v ballyhaunis
Now I can see the source of a rumour doing the rounds back on the 25th October. Everyone in Westport got mugged by that story
renovater
18/11/2010, 6:56 PM
Because Berlin has branded the organization illegitimate. A threat rather than a collective of people with the game at heart....real football people.
Is that your opinion? or have you applyed to use the home of Mayo Football and been turn down.
secerts
25/11/2010, 11:33 AM
can you sign up players after dec 1st for con cup & fai ???
Timberlegs
25/11/2010, 2:09 PM
dont think so but not 100% definite
Round Tower
25/11/2010, 5:09 PM
FAI Junior Cup 4th Round
The last round before the open draw lets hope the dinner dance tomorow night does not leave too many sore heads.
Predictions - all games will be very tight
Ballyhaunis Town V Kiltimagh-Knock Utd - Away
Castlebar Cel - Ballyheane - Home
Iorras Aonaithe V Ballina Town - Away
Manulla V Westport Utd - Away
Round Tower
27/11/2010, 9:55 AM
Mayo League Dinner dance
Any one got who got the awards last night such as club of the year, the different divisional player of the year awards, golden boot awards, hall of fame. personalty of the year.
achillrover
27/11/2010, 1:21 PM
http://www.midwestradio.ie/mwr/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=73:mayo-league-honour-their-stars&catid=35:sport&Itemid=55
Round Tower
27/11/2010, 2:41 PM
http://www.midwestradio.ie/mwr/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=73:mayo-league-honour-their-stars&catid=35:sport&Itemid=55
Thanks i seen on the new Mid West web site just a question Item No 16 their is 3 prixe money's €300- Clew Bay ,€200- Ballyhaunis ,€100- Ballyheane and it does not say what it they are for, these are different from the club of the year awards.
jim_bob
27/11/2010, 4:16 PM
that would be the world cup sweep we had spain so we won the 300 drinking money!!!!
renovater
29/11/2010, 9:33 PM
there is the january window provided the player is not cup tied
yellowmonkey
02/12/2010, 10:05 PM
I see in the paper that Mark Rowland has taken over as Manager of celtic Super League side. Good luck to him and fair play for taking the Job however it is a sign of the continuing waining interest in the super league when a club like celtic cant attract a manager with credentials. Fahy where in the same boat last year and Snugboro are currently searching among other clubs Im sure. Also Harry Jennings has stepped down as assistant at Celtics A league side. So, is this a case that football as a game in this county is taking a beating or is it a case of a general lack of interest of former players to get involved in coaching and Management?
We have already seen a lack of commitment from players at clubs and towards training and general commitment so is the game in decline in the county at present?
Discuss..........
theboy
03/12/2010, 11:44 AM
How many clubs are without managers?
Any word on who mite be filling these gaps?
theboy
03/12/2010, 11:45 AM
Not much talk about the oscar traynor set up, who's in the squad?
pixiehead
03/12/2010, 11:50 AM
Its in the connaught. They got beat in a friendly against galway already......TBH theres no real interest in it in the county
Your wrong there pixie theres actually no interest whatsoever in it.:)