View Full Version : Mayo Association Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

Back n the game
12/02/2010, 9:31 AM
Well it kinda is a commitment issue when nobody wants to manage any teams! Youth set up has now gone as not enough people on the ground or intrest from surrounding area. If its players thats the problem seems very strange for such a large collection area! If you don't no about Charlestown then how can you have such strong point of view on their defence. As with every club things are ran differently. I know because I've been talking to both past and present players. And not only jnr team in trouble but entire club could, as nobody there to carry it on. So get all your facts right before you go attacking anyone.

My point is up to this juncture there is as much commitment from this club as any other. I also know certain people involved. There may be issues at youth level but you'll find that this is a junior thread and and the junior set up is as commited as ever to proceed as before. From reports there are 25+ players interested in junior football and to say there is a lack of interest is totaly untrue and unfounded.

purplemonkeydis
12/02/2010, 10:24 AM
nobody cares about charlestown really

robben 11
12/02/2010, 10:52 AM
haha straight in no kissing there monkey.... what division are they in??

PlayersOpinion
12/02/2010, 11:04 AM
My point is up to this juncture there is as much commitment from this club as any other. I also know certain people involved. There may be issues at youth level but you'll find that this is a junior thread and and the junior set up is as commited as ever to proceed as before. From reports there are 25+ players interested in junior football and to say there is a lack of interest is totaly untrue and unfounded.

Great turn around from charlestown, last week commitee members where telling players otherwise. Fair play. Purplemonkey, some people in east mayo care alot about there local clubs. Very important to have competition at senior level and for any club to go would be a loss. No point having all the success in sout/west mayo, doesn't leave for a very good future.
Apparantly if it wasn't for your keeper in the play-off final last year people would be saying nobody cares about Conn Rangers!!

yellowmonkey
12/02/2010, 2:56 PM
nobody cares about charlestown really

I dont like Charlestown Ill admit but you cant say things like that either! Are you getting big headed now youve made it to the first division! WOW Youve hit the big time :rolleyes:

sprah1
12/02/2010, 11:00 PM

go for it Jewels!

purplemonkeydis
13/02/2010, 2:34 PM
bit of craic lads dont start crying

minivan man
22/02/2010, 8:11 AM
whats the story with teams this heard a few have folded and that there are a few blasts from the past coming back like ballyhaunis.

yellowmonkey
22/02/2010, 10:06 AM
whats the story with teams this heard a few have folded and that there are a few blasts from the past coming back like ballyhaunis.

The forums gone very quite Surley somone knows the craic with these new sides. Maybe the papers should do a piece on it!

juan pablo
22/02/2010, 10:12 AM
When do the clubs have to have this Press Box etc installed??

yellowmonkey
22/02/2010, 1:37 PM

See superleague forum

pixiehead
25/02/2010, 9:08 PM
League starting on april the 11th and the forums like a bloody morgue???? :(
Snugboro V Clew bay sat in friendly hows other clubs getting on???

pixiehead
25/02/2010, 9:09 PM
;) ;)

yellowmonkey
03/03/2010, 10:54 AM
The league will now not give authorisation to friendlies if teams havent players registered!!! Few games off this weekend so!!!! :eek:

juan pablo
03/03/2010, 2:42 PM
The league will now not give authorisation to friendlies if teams havent players registered!!! Few games off this weekend so!!!! :eek:

Where did you get this info from?

League AGM on tomorrow night.

Kilmore Fan
03/03/2010, 4:13 PM
Where did you get this info from?

League AGM on tomorrow night.

An email was sent out to all club secretarys.

minivan man
05/03/2010, 8:32 AM
whats the story lads any reports from the league agm last night?

Ranger
05/03/2010, 1:11 PM
Check the league website. It's usually up to date with all the relevant information.

CCFC1924
05/03/2010, 5:16 PM
Just came across an old telegraph yesterday and was looking at the sports section. Their was a picture of Pat Tierney(Mc Carthys bar) getting some award for "Mountgable Celtic". I dont remember this club but im told they existed somewhere on the cong-clonbur border.
It got me wondering, what other clubs took part in the Mayo league that folded, where were they from and why did they not survive??
Anyone add to this list or profile the "forgotten" clubs below. Eg, years in exsistance, location, reasons for folding

Thanks in advance

Mountgable celtic??
Quay Hearts ??
Cornboy utd ??
Balla Fc ??
Shrule ??
Shraigh
Newport
Ballyhaunis
Parkside
Doonvier Swifts

Not sure if it's mentioned but I think Castlerea took part too at some stage. Quay Hearts won the first ever Mayo League title :)

Foleybob
06/03/2010, 9:44 AM
what is the mayo junior leagues website address???

Foleybob
06/03/2010, 10:14 AM
what the leagus website address?

CCFC1924
06/03/2010, 2:36 PM
RE the A League, the only thing that saddens me is the lack of a challenge we'll be giving in the Super League and Connacht Cups. We have a great history in the Conn Cup, but maybe this is a great opportunity to reform and build from the bottom. We have some quality youth coming through the ranks so maybe in a few years normal service will resume along with progressing through the national ranks :)

Can I ask why some people think getting rid of 'b' and 'c' teams would help the Mayo League? I don't see the problem personally.

achillrover
06/03/2010, 5:13 PM
we're off on 11th April

Fair Play
06/03/2010, 9:25 PM
what the leagus website address?
It is a bit complicated but you will probably get to what you want eventually www.mayofootball.ie
You then have to go to whatever section you want whether it is schoolboys or juniors

CCFC1924
07/03/2010, 1:50 AM
Of course the summer league is making it tougher for Mayo teams to do well in both conn cup and fai junior. No team is in full training at the moment, no team is playing week in week out and no team in Mayo would've had a full squad available for the weekends games (at a guess).

For example, we had 11 players yesterday, 6 who played more than 5 games, and 3 who played no games in the super league last year. Got a man sent off and should've still won a game against a sligo super league side who are in the middle of their season.

ML are right to have summer league, why is every other county staying winter league? Pitches are cr@p, games called off, miserable weather and the league of ireland is played in the summer; are these not enough reasons to have a summer league for every irish county league?

I definitely think others should follow suit with summer soccer though. The amount of games postponed in the SFAI, Mayo Cup and Conn Cups at underage level recently is mad. Better weather, better surfaces = better football. I'm open to debate folks :)

CCFC1924
07/03/2010, 1:52 AM
Apologies, must confess, I didn't read you whole post :(

But I agree with you :D

Cloggs
07/03/2010, 12:26 PM
It is a bit complicated but you will probably get to what you want eventually www.mayofootball.ie
You then have to go to whatever section you want whether it is schoolboys or juniors

i think that its www.mayoleague.com not ie.tried .ie before and couldn't get through but i could well be mistaken-wouldn't be the first time!!

pixiehead
07/03/2010, 1:00 PM
Where is the proposed pitch in Fahy and has it been started yet??

AB84
07/03/2010, 8:47 PM
Mayo posters any views on Shangan who beat Ballina 4 1 in round 6 of junior cup this year.they are now in 1/4s away to regional of limerick.thanks in advance

Spot Kick
07/03/2010, 9:35 PM
Mayo posters any views on Shangan who beat Ballina 4 1 in round 6 of junior cup this year.they are now in 1/4s away to regional of limerick.thanks in advance
I dont know anything about Shangan but you might pick up something from the report on the Mayo site. Try this link and then look for match reports on the league news http://inform.fai.ie/league/clubs/news/news.aspx?OrgID=1283#top or have a look at the report on Western People for the week before last. I believe they had a very good player in the middle of the pitch who was bald.

Norm
08/03/2010, 11:28 AM
Where is the proposed pitch in Fahy and has it been started yet??

Across the road from the national school. It has been started alright, as with all good plans however, it has hit a few hitches along the way. More then likely it will be next season before junior soccer is played on it. Possibility that the underage will be on it before then.

pixiehead
08/03/2010, 12:14 PM
Across the road from the national school. It has been started alright, as with all good plans however, it has hit a few hitches along the way. More then likely it will be next season before junior soccer is played on it. Possibility that the underage will be on it before then.

I hate to sound pesimistic but that area is tiny! I cant see how you would fit a full pitch on that! :(
Is that the dressing rooms that started then beside it ??? Theres a big drop on the side and back of it which would be a nightmare for wide balls? Only my opinion not having a go before anyone says anything!

pixiehead
08/03/2010, 12:19 PM
Friendley
Anyone who has players registered for friendlies and are looking for a game can phone me Snugboro 085 8136835. Game will be 8pm sat evening in Milebush. Cost to be split. Its very hard to find anyone who has a team registered yet!! Thanks

juan pablo
08/03/2010, 5:45 PM
Can anyone confirm are those fixtures on the Mayo League Website Official???

Norm
09/03/2010, 5:58 PM
I hate to sound pesimistic but that area is tiny! I cant see how you would fit a full pitch on that! :(
Is that the dressing rooms that started then beside it ??? Theres a big drop on the side and back of it which would be a nightmare for wide balls? Only my opinion not having a go before anyone says anything!

Thats the dressing rooms beside it alright. We'll be putting up those high poles & netting to avoid chasing balls.

pixiehead
10/03/2010, 12:43 PM
Thats the dressing rooms beside it alright. We'll be putting up those high poles & netting to avoid chasing balls.

Is it not a bit tight though??? :confused:

The Don
10/03/2010, 3:53 PM
Is anyone interested in a friendly this Sunday.

Norm
10/03/2010, 8:44 PM
Is it not a bit tight though??? :confused:

It meets the size requirements set out. Looks tight alright.

pixiehead
11/03/2010, 12:17 PM
Heard Reilly left the Gaffers spot in the Barony? Can anyone confirm. I heard he had a huge outburst at the AGM. I dont agree with this complaint that the season went on too long and players are tired. Yes the league did drag on but how the hell could teams be tired with the massive time breaks their were inbetween games!!! Their actually more rested than anything!! Daft excuse

murphs jewels
11/03/2010, 12:20 PM
Is anyone interested in a friendly this Sunday.

Squad should be reistered by then so I'll get on to the powers that be and get a game on. Might have to be your place tho as I think there's an U16 tie in Charlestown. PM me details and we will arrange something.

pixiehead
12/03/2010, 7:30 AM
Ay one know when fixtures are out. The league website is practicly empty? Doesnt give any clubs contacts, events , fixtures ect :brolly:

pinero
12/03/2010, 9:38 PM
they might be a big gap between games but players have to keep training in between and season goes on too long for clubs involved in out side competition all he was saying was to give these boys a rest at the end and push super league season back a bit, so teams would have games in november and december when they are involved in outside competition,also think mayo league officals dont listen to teams, fixture list out for season,games on bank holidays again, and that was one of things all clubs in every division asked for at workshop was to leave these free so much for listening to clubs,clubs have no input into running of league they decide like it or lump it.

pixiehead
15/03/2010, 12:21 PM
they might be a big gap between games but players have to keep training in between and season goes on too long for clubs involved in out side competition all he was saying was to give these boys a rest at the end and push super league season back a bit, so teams would have games in november and december when they are involved in outside competition,also think mayo league officals dont listen to teams, fixture list out for season,games on bank holidays again, and that was one of things all clubs in every division asked for at workshop was to leave these free so much for listening to clubs,clubs have no input into running of league they decide like it or lump it.

where are the fixtures?? :computer:

pixiehead
15/03/2010, 7:52 PM
Anyone looking for a game Sunday Snugboro are available !!! 085 8136835 0r PM :ball:

NoelM
17/03/2010, 4:25 PM
Anyone looking for a game Sunday Snugboro are available !!! 085 8136835 0r PM :ball:

I just checked the fixtures on the mayo league web-site and there's no sign of Snugboro B in the div 2 list. Are you guys entering a B team this year?

swinfordfc
17/03/2010, 7:20 PM
I just checked the fixtures on the mayo league web-site and there's no sign of Snugboro B in the div 2 list. Are you guys entering a B team this year?

They not .... they replaced by Ballyvary Blue Bombers

Tough league - Ballyvary Blue Bombers, Ballyheane B, Claremorris B, Cross Celtic, Charlestown, Glenhest, Glenisland, Swinford B, S+F Utd B and Westport C

pixiehead
17/03/2010, 7:51 PM

No. We lost half our A squad and half the B squad so we just have one squad to compete this year !! Ye will miss us!!! :disappointed:

renovater
18/03/2010, 10:40 PM
Western harps even beat Ballyheane,not sure where they played. think the year was 88

Back n the game
24/03/2010, 2:42 PM
Just heard that Glenisland have withdrawn from the league.... anyone else hear anything???:ball:

pixiehead
25/03/2010, 1:20 PM
Just heard that Glenisland have withdrawn from the league.... anyone else hear anything???:ball:

Ya i heard that alright. Lots of teams stuggling.

What is going on? Can we have a sensible debate on this? Why has the interest been lost in soccer in Mayo with players. Lads seem only interested in drinking and partying.
No bodies committed anymore? What is the general thoughts at clubs? Haven spoken to managers this is going on at alot of other clubs so what is going on?? We have seen the depature of alot of managers and alot of this is due to their dismay at the level of commitment fellas are showing towards their clubs? Do people agree with this. Just this week John MOran stood down after only 3 weeks at Ballinrobe. Was this due to what im on about or what? This is the first season that we are all hearing rumours bout different big clubs not being able to field teams? We've all heard the stories. There has to be some truth? Any thoughts??