View Full Version : Mayo Association Football League

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

yellowmonkey
02/05/2007, 10:27 PM
I see Mr McGrath was at it again at the Ballyglass Manulla match at the weekend telling the Ballyglass manager to stop smoking on the sideline as it was in the workplace!!. Power trip or what.

He gave a straight red card tonight to an S+f keeper who handeled the ball outside the box. The sad fact is ............ it was under 14s :o
In fairness at least he applys the rules of the games which cant be a bad thing

gunner1
03/05/2007, 2:00 AM
He gave a straight red card tonight to an S+f keeper who handeled the ball outside the box. The sad fact is ............ it was under 14s :o

:D it would be the same rules u/14 as l.o.i.!!!!!!!!! the problem here is the rest of m.l. ref's would give a yellow card & a free:D

Cloggs
03/05/2007, 2:56 PM
:D it would be the same rules u/14 as l.o.i.!!!!!!!!! the problem here is the rest of m.l. ref's would give a yellow card & a free:D

dont particularly see that as a problem.the aforementioned mr mcgrath (as he'd probably like to be called,or possibly sir??!!) has not got one iota of common sense whatsoever.hes a complete control freak and i think he sees a game being more about himself than about the teams involved.fair enough you need a strong ref in the middle of the pitch but you cant even talk to him to see why he gave a free-kick,etc for fear of being booked!he really could do with a spot of cop on!:o

Cloggs
03/05/2007, 2:59 PM
As far as I know the manager just picked a large squad of players he was interested in looking at at the start of the season and then whittled it down a bit. There have been some new inclusions along the way but no actual trials, where, say, clubs could send a couple of players each whom they think may be up to the standard. It's a pity, because I know there are a couple of our lads who are more than good enough and I think the same can be said for most clubs in the lower divisions. Unfortunately they don't get the chance to showcase their talents though, and Mick Wallace hasn't a notion to go to lots of Premier or first division matches to have a look at them. I think it would be a great idea for him to have a separate trial (or trials) for the teams of the three lower divisions, two or three players per club, just in the name of equality. He might be surprised at the players he unearths.

i completely agree with fahy on this one.maybe the idea of even having a few divisional trials before naming the mayo squads would be a bit of a help and then whittle players down from there.from our own clubs point of view gary goggins in definitely well fit for a place on at least a mayo squad.personally i think that he could have been somebody that could have provided that bit of creative spark that was missing in last sundays game.but tis just my humble opinion!:rolleyes:

magpies
03/05/2007, 3:04 PM
I was at the game and Mayo were the better over the first 40 mins. Gave away a very bad goal and were chasing the game after that and the creative spark that was needed was missing. In fairness to Mick Wallace, he is working with a group of players that wants to play for Mayo and can only pick from guys available to him that wants to play. Anyone listening to Jeremy Dee after the game on MWRFM would have a fair insight on the mechanics of the Mayo Oscar Traynor Cup squad. Why the best players don't play for their county/league? they are the guys that should be asked the question.

Any info on Kilkenny?

Cloggs
03/05/2007, 3:04 PM
sure while i'm logged on i might as well ask-does anybody know what the craic is with the aib cup draw for the first round?whens it on?will the games be played on the 13th of may or do we have the weekend off??:ball:

renovater
03/05/2007, 4:08 PM
in my opinion, the best refs are the ones that apply the most common sense to a game, and sadly, mcgrath is seriously lacking in this department.What more can expect from a school teacher,likes to point the finger.is a side line not an open area or may be there a roof over the ground!!!

renovater
03/05/2007, 4:10 PM
In fairness at least he applys the rules of the games which cant be a bad thingits one of the laws of the game and the 15th law is common sense!!!

pixiehead
03/05/2007, 7:24 PM
Whos Got their tickets!!! Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah :p
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/events/sunderland-ticket-details.html

Thunderblaster
03/05/2007, 10:33 PM
Any info on Kilkenny?

Big, direct side that are defensively compact. Tactically competent and a good but not outstanding team.

Thunderblaster
03/05/2007, 10:52 PM

Under Law 12, it is a sending off offence for a player who denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by deliberately handling the ball (this does not apply to a goalkeeper within his own penalty area).

Thunderblaster
03/05/2007, 10:54 PM
its one of the laws of the game and the 15th law is common sense!!!

There are 17 laws of the game!!;) The 15th Law of the Game is the throw in!!:ball:

Cloggs
07/05/2007, 12:04 PM
we doing a points system for the winners of each game in the cup?as in the league and adding them to the league results thus far?

theboy
07/05/2007, 1:04 PM
well done to S&F utd u18 team for beating St.Johns of Sligo 2-1 yesterday at Celtic park in the Connaught Shield Cup. great to see mayo teams doing well.

pixiehead
07/05/2007, 7:20 PM
Ya sound ill do the Table for the Aib Cup and add it to the other on. At present Gazza, Gunner, Leftwing, Swinford, Fahy cloggs AND YOURS TRULY are all level on Points.:D

Thunderblaster
07/05/2007, 8:39 PM
Congrats to all the Mayo sides that picked up silverware in the Flexible Contact Solutions Connacht Underage Cups and Shields. The U.12 game was a cracker between Castlebar Celtic and Kiltimagh/Knock United.

Ranger
08/05/2007, 9:42 AM
Congrats to all the Mayo sides that picked up silverware in the Flexible Contact Solutions Connacht Underage Cups and Shields. The U.12 game was a cracker between Castlebar Celtic and Kiltimagh/Knock United.

Heard a bit about this the same "cracker" :eek: :eek: :eek: but heard it was the Under 10 final.

Cloggs
08/05/2007, 11:19 AM
Ya sound ill do the Table for the Aib Cup and add it to the other on. At present Gazza, Gunner, Leftwing, Swinford, Fahy cloggs AND YOURS TRULY are all level on Points.:D

good man yourself!and i'm still up there!!thats the talk!:D

gunner1
08/05/2007, 1:00 PM

have you all the u/age c/f results please

Ranger
08/05/2007, 2:48 PM

The Youths Girls & Schoolboys leagues' website seems to have died a death as well as the Mayo / Fai one. Fixtures appear in the weekly papers but no mention of results or tables.

Thunderblaster
08/05/2007, 10:56 PM

Castlebar Celtic beat Salthill Devon 3-0 in the U.18 final.

Kiltimagh/Knock United beat Castlebar Celtic 5-2 after extra time in the U.12 final.

Straide and Foxford beat St. John's 2-1 in the U.18 Shield final.

The other three games I was at, in the U.14 final, St. Francis beat Salthill Devon 2-1, the U.16 final saw Mervue United defeat Colemastown United 6-2 and in the U.12 Shield final, Mervue United shaded Skyvalley Rovers 2-1.

09/05/2007, 6:46 AM
There's a separate thread for AIB Cup 2007.

gunner1
09/05/2007, 11:33 AM

Kiltimagh/Knock United beat Castlebar Celtic 5-2 after extra time in the U.12 final.

The other three games I was at, in the U.14 final, St. Francis beat Salthill Devon 2-1, the U.16 final saw Mervue United defeat Colemastown United 6-2 and in the U.12 Shield final, Mervue United shaded Skyvalley Rovers 2-1.

Ranger
09/05/2007, 3:54 PM

Thanks Thunderblaster but all of those results are well covered on the local rags and are from last years competitions. My gripe is that this season is underway for the last month and nobody seems to know what is happening from week to week.

Fireball
09/05/2007, 8:29 PM
The Youths Girls & Schoolboys leagues' website seems to have died a death as well as the Mayo / Fai one. Fixtures appear in the weekly papers but no mention of results or tables.
Have to agree. The PR the underage leagues are getting is abysmal.

threefivetwo
10/05/2007, 10:38 AM
big game sunday, celtic c team v snugboro, tricky one for the buro' !!:D

pixiehead
10/05/2007, 10:18 PM
big game sunday, celtic c team v snugboro, tricky one for the buro' !!:D

The only tricky thing would be you applying to appear on countdown. Its spelt BORO williehead. and that joke is two weeks old . Get with it

11/05/2007, 11:18 AM
There's a separate thread for the AIB cup.The last couple of posts have been moved into it.

mandarin frogs
11/05/2007, 5:21 PM
ya dead right,its only one player and castlebar celtic B aren't pushing for promotion anyways,Its a joke!!last year they had a number of league games outstanding while the league was being played,this clowning around with fixtures isn't on!!!

Not just picking on you Ron, - just one of a few posts lately that contradict themselves
By this reckoning, no club should have a B team, in any division.We should start the farcical reserve league again! Westport B, Manulla B, and Celtic B should all be taken from this division and 7 teams should remain to fight it out? These teams are not just B teams- they are Premier division teams. Same as Ballyheane B are a Division 1 team. And so on...Not every team looks for promotion, they look to achieve what they can, i.e. the premier division title, and just because those 3 cant get promoted doesnt diminish their importance to this division in relation to any other clubs first team. Think this was shown a couple of years ago when celtic won it. Ask any player on any B team in mayo if they want to play at their highest level! think these 3 teams are victims of their own success.

Then Juan Pablo wonders why a game should be called off because a team has a player on the oscar traynor team? of course it should. Why should a team be penalised for having a player representing his (and your) league?
If the shoe was on the other foot?? Correct me if im wrong JP. We're all football men here:ball:

As for this fixture meddling issue- Isnt that why the Mayo league have dates set aside for just such an occurance? Outstanding fixtures dates were originally meant to help out with their oscar traynor preperation and matches. Then they wonder why no-one goes to see their games?!!!! Anyone any thoughts?

As i said- not picking on anyone:)

the dude
12/05/2007, 9:41 AM
well said mandarin

renovater
13/05/2007, 6:56 PM
There are 17 laws of the game!!;) The 15th Law of the Game is the throw in!!:ball:
My mistake thunder its the 18th law the unwritten rule and it apply' to referees
as well :)

renovater
13/05/2007, 7:10 PM
Not just picking on you Ron, - just one of a few posts lately that contradict themselves
By this reckoning, no club should have a B team, in any division.We should start the farcical reserve league again! Westport B, Manulla B, and Celtic B should all be taken from this division and 7 teams should remain to fight it out? These teams are not just B teams- they are Premier division teams. Same as Ballyheane B are a Division 1 team. And so on...Not every team looks for promotion, they look to achieve what they can, i.e. the premier division title, and just because those 3 cant get promoted doesnt diminish their importance to this division in relation to any other clubs first team. Think this was shown a couple of years ago when Celtic won it. Ask any player on any B team in mayo if they want to play at their highest level! think these 3 teams are victims of their own success.

Then Juan Pablo wonders why a game should be called off because a team has a player on the Oscar traynor team? of course it should. Why should a team be penalised for having a player representing his (and your) league?
If the shoe was on the other foot?? Correct me if im wrong JP. We're all football men here:ball:

As for this fixture meddling issue- Is that why the Mayo league have dates set aside for just such an occurrence? Outstanding fixtures dates were originally meant to help out with their Oscar traynor preparation and matches. Then they wonder why no-one goes to see their games?!!!! Anyone any thoughts?

As i said- not picking on anyone:)

Have to agree with you regards to B/C team most players who play on these teams have no interests in playing at higher level only to play at the level they are at.
What should happen is to have a mid week reserve league for all B team players so they are available for there club team at the week end only rule that need to apply is that no A team player can play.
Regards to Oscar Team should be off if players are involved and it would be great to see them turn up and support there fellow player not like the last game when 27 turn up.
Just incase you ask was I there answer is no,as I was away:)

Cloggs
13/05/2007, 7:20 PM
Have to agree with you regards to B/C team most players who play on these teams have no interests in playing at higher level only to play at the level they are at.
What should happen is to have a mid week reserve league for all B team players so they are available for there club team at the week end only rule that need to apply is that no A team player can play.
Regards to Oscar Team should be off if players are involved and it would be great to see them turn up and support there fellow player not like the last game when 27 turn up.
Just incase you ask was I there answer is no,as I was away:)

sure if you had a midweek 'b' team league a lot of lads who come home at the weekend from college and the likes would never get a chance of football.and you'd more than likely have a fair few first teamers getting greedy and playing in the b league during the week as well as playing again in the first team game at the weekend.all the player has to do is sign 'b' and can play whenever they like for whoever they like!westport seem to be well guilty of bending this 'b' team player rule in the extreme.last year david horkan was signed 'b' yet was the best player for the 'a' team and got man of the match in the aib cup final as well as getting the same accolade for the 'b' team in the final of the touhy cup!!and it looks like the same scenario is already happening this year in the case of david hoban who plays for both teams,i think the mayo league need to sort out this issue and players should be regraded as they were a few years ago when they've played a certain amount of games.

threefivetwo
14/05/2007, 1:16 PM
As long as you have 16 players signed 'A' at the start of the year you can sign anyone you want 'B'. I agree maybe it would be better if they changed it

theboy
14/05/2007, 2:38 PM
anyone any up dates on league fixtures after the next 2weeks?

pixiehead
14/05/2007, 8:43 PM
18 Gunner
17 Gazza
17 The Dude
17 Swinford
16 Leftwing
16 Cloggs
15 Pixiehead
15 Fahyforever
15 Lassy
15 Juan Pablo
14 Thunderblaster
13 Irishyop

Thats the league. Gunner you Jammy B**tard :D Im sorry but i didnt Include the new lads on it cause it was taking all night but if ye just send me a PM of yer score (one point per Game) ill include ye i promise :)

swinfordfc
15/05/2007, 8:39 AM
All Castlebar Celtic junior soccer games are off this weekend due to tey involvement in the FAI Youths Cup and good luck to them in that cup.

irishyop
15/05/2007, 8:43 AM
All Castlebar Celtic junior soccer games are off this weekend due to tey involvement in the FAI Youths Cup and good luck to them in that cup.

I think they are alright

the grape vine
15/05/2007, 10:23 AM

yes best of luck to the cactlebar youths team and all managment team!!

theboy
15/05/2007, 10:54 AM
So does this mean that the below games are off??

Sunday, 20 May 2007 14:30 PREM
Ballinrobe Town - Achill Rovers :
Bangor Hibs. - Swinford :
Fahy Rovers - Ballyglass :
Straide & Foxford Utd. - Castlebar Celtic B : OFF
Westport Utd. B - Manulla B

Saturday, 19 May 2007 19:30 sUPER LEAGUE
Claremorris - Glenhest Rovers :
Erris Utd. - Castlebar Celtic : OFF
Manulla - Crossmolina :
Snugboro Utd. - Ballina Town :
Westport Utd - Ballyheane

irishyop
15/05/2007, 11:20 AM
So does this mean that the below games are off??

Sunday, 20 May 2007 14:30 PREM
Ballinrobe Town - Achill Rovers :
Bangor Hibs. - Swinford :
Fahy Rovers - Ballyglass :
Straide & Foxford Utd. - Castlebar Celtic B : OFF
Westport Utd. B - Manulla B

Saturday, 19 May 2007 19:30 sUPER LEAGUE
Claremorris - Glenhest Rovers :
Erris Utd. - Castlebar Celtic : OFF
Manulla - Crossmolina :
Snugboro Utd. - Ballina Town :
Westport Utd - Ballyheane

Yes, I have heard that there are games next Thursday week, it maybe them!

theboy
15/05/2007, 12:57 PM
Fair play, cheers

Cloggs
15/05/2007, 3:03 PM
yes best of luck to the cactlebar youths team and all managment team!!

yeah best of luck to the celtic lads!hopefully they manage to do it.lets see the whole county getting behind them regardless of what club you play for:ball:

Cloggs
15/05/2007, 3:05 PM
As long as you have 16 players signed 'A' at the start of the year you can sign anyone you want 'B'. I agree maybe it would be better if they changed it

yeah thats the problem i reckon.sorry about my bit of a rant about 'a' and 'b' team players before but its just a bit annoying as you can sign any joe soap for the 'a' team so long as you have the 16 and think that rule may be being exploited

couchpotato
16/05/2007, 4:33 PM
best of luck to celtic the weekend, they certainly have the talent to win. the CT gave them a fair bit of coverage, cant remember erris getting 10% of that a few years back??

Cloggs
16/05/2007, 6:28 PM
best of luck to celtic the weekend, they certainly have the talent to win. the CT gave them a fair bit of coverage, cant remember erris getting 10% of that a few years back??

the ct is a castlebar paper so its no major surprise that they're giving celtic a good bit of coverage.not that i'm complaining in the slightest as any soccer coverage in the local papers is great.i doubt whether they gave erris anywhere neat the same coverage when the played a few years ago although correct me if i'm wrong as i couldn't say for sure.

Cloggs
16/05/2007, 6:44 PM
Claremorris v Glenhest Rovers claremorris
Erris Utd. v Castlebar Celtic draw
Manulla v Crossmolina manulla
Snugboro Utd. v Ballina Town ballina town
Westport Utd v Ballyheane westport

GlenhesTilliDie
17/05/2007, 6:50 AM
Clarmorris v Glenhest (Away)
Erris Utd v Celtic (Away)
Manulla v Crossmolina (Home)
Snugboro v Ballina Town (Away)
Westport v Ballyheane (Home)

I hope westport give ballyheane a good beating , might keep a few of the heane lads back down ta size

swinfordfc
17/05/2007, 7:51 AM
Claremorris v Glenhest Rovers claremorris
Erris Utd. v Castlebar Celtic Draw when it is play!
Manulla v Crossmolina manulla
Snugboro Utd. v Ballina Town ballina town
Westport Utd v Ballyheane westport

irishyop
17/05/2007, 8:01 AM
Claremorris v Glenhest Rovers - Claremorris
Erris Utd. v Castlebar Celtic - Castlebar Celtic
Manulla v Crossmolina - Manualla
Snugboro Utd. v Ballina Town - Town
Westport Utd v Ballyheane - Wport United