View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40

Daydreamer
28/03/2010, 10:34 PM
what about hickey,m.sheehan(xregional)d.osullivan etc

True thats 3 ...Pike, Neville only playing with Pike 2 season and a half brendan Daly and cleary dave ryan and D RYAN All this year not to mention all the others carroll barry , , boris and Mullins .the only ones that could be considered Long Term Pike men are Mcgarry enright o'grady and possibly maloney and o donovan...Boro have a lot of ex corbally Tier owns, fitzimons
etc. regional are the same dont think any played underage...agree with balbec about kplmallock though

SeniorBlue
28/03/2010, 10:43 PM
lads in all fairness kilmallock are probably the only team in the premier that have all local players playing from there home town or area,i would love to hear from anyone that can disagree with me.

Regional have alot of lads from around my area playing with them from the Dooradoyle area, you have Galin, Finucane, Ahern, Reidy, O donoghue, Danaher, Mullins, O Connell,Conway, i remember a good few of them started with Regional when a friend of mine Ger Harney was over the team many years ago.

the bandit
29/03/2010, 2:23 AM
It amazes me the amopunt of people on this site that know what is going on in the pike club[mulla/damo,.No1 from pike has come on here n said anything n try as ye mite ye still have,nt got a statement or anyrhing from any1 on here.Im sure if pike done something wrong they will be punished accordingly and listening to yer posts its more than obvious ye no nothing about the rules regardin senior players,Lets all just let the fai decide and thanks for all the accusing posts ye have just made us more determined to gon on and win the cup.Pike have kept their dignity ,ye call it silence i call it dignity.Also it was interestin to read every papers qouting that pike were cleared of any wrong doing and the good name of our club was kept in tact, i will leave every other club in town now to stay on this site and bicker about pike .ur right hoops pike done notting wrong and there will be no replay micks where beaten fair no replay fact

Poolman
29/03/2010, 10:49 AM
ur right hoops pike done notting wrong and there will be no replay micks where beaten fair no replay fact

So what's goin to happen now?will st.michaels be thrown out?if pike done nothing wrong they will have to be thrown out surely.why did they go to all this bother in the first place?

serpico
29/03/2010, 12:22 PM
It was originally set for Saturday 03rd April at 7.30pm in Jackman Park, has it changed?

When the draw was made in Cooke park after pike had BEATEN st michaels the view and reg match was fixed for sat night by the fai and PIKE and clonmel sun.the junior council must have changed that fixture date.and as for the gates I think both clubs get a share of gate receits so I don't think council get their hands on it all.they have plenty of it anyway with the rent off Limerick and all the fines.did kilmurry lodge sponsor all their new suits or daily star.ha ha

barryk
29/03/2010, 1:13 PM
when the draw was made in cooke park after pike had beaten st michaels the view and reg match was fixed for sat night by the fai and pike and clonmel sun.the junior council must have changed that fixture date.and as for the gates i think both clubs get a share of gate receits so i don't think council get their hands on it all.they have plenty of it anyway with the rent off limerick and all the fines.did kilmurry lodge sponsor all their new suits or daily star.ha ha

the ldmc are not to blame for this one. The fai dictated the time so as to allow people go to the pike v limerick game (after all senior soccer is their main concern)

Poolman
29/03/2010, 3:32 PM
your wrong regional will get a share and ldmc will pocket most of it,as it is a home draw for regional they are entitled to some of the gate view will get none even thou they will bring most of the support

You're wrong fairview will get a share.FACT.ask reg and view had they to share gate with st.pauls and crumlin.st michaels and pike would also have shared gate mightn't be fairly shared but they do share.

29/03/2010, 3:38 PM
Lads, just in case ye weren't aware, use of the word "fact" in a post doesn't make your statements more believable. Quite the opposite.

Poolman
29/03/2010, 3:54 PM
Lads, just in case ye weren't aware, use of the word "fact" in a post doesn't make your statements more believable. Quite the opposite.

Ok they'll definetly get a share.

old git
29/03/2010, 6:06 PM
you are not listening to me......

Pike should be through if they did nothing worng. say michaels beat them in the replay, why would that be fair? The result should stand as they were found of no wrong doing...

wonder if mr john delaney ( FAI) ex st michaels had a slight pull for his old club ;)

daisycutter
29/03/2010, 6:26 PM
wonder if mr john delaney ( FAI) ex st michaels had a slight pull for his old club ;)
on the leader paper today it stated that pike were appealing the decision,and that someone from michaels contacted leader sport to say there will be no replay going ahead,they are also prepared to take their appeal to the "very highest authority".....talking to a pike lad today hes 100% certain st micks will be gone and pike will be playing in the semi against clonmel.........

maestro
29/03/2010, 6:45 PM
We must remember that Regional had not the hardest path to the semi would Park have got this far i wonder......

Well we beat NCW handy enough and they were 20 pts better than ye last yr

headtheball4
29/03/2010, 6:58 PM
Well we beat NCW handy enough and they were 20 pts better than ye last yr

Thats not saying much for Regional. Last season was last season. Almost every team is beatable on any givin day. Just looking forward to the match sunday sould be a good one.

P.S I hear that Regional are paying for all park players into jackman park for the semi final just to show their are no hard feelings......FACT......

lfc at heart
29/03/2010, 7:05 PM
So what's goin to happen now?will st.michaels be thrown out?if pike done nothing wrong they will have to be thrown out surely.why did they go to all this bother in the first place?

the reason St Michaels have an objection in is because of the carry on of Connie at the game, with his hand gestures, if he hadnt done that there would have been no objection, and rightly so.

Blackpanther
29/03/2010, 7:45 PM
the reason St Michaels have an objection in is because of the carry on of Connie at the game, with his hand gestures, if he hadnt done that there would have been no objection, and rightly so.

Thats a load of tripe, Michaels would have objected no matter what you cant blame Connie for that its a ridiculous statement.

maestro
29/03/2010, 7:58 PM
Thats not saying much for Regional. Last season was last season. Almost every team is beatable on any givin day. Just looking forward to the match sunday sould be a good one.

P.S I hear that Regional are paying for all park players into jackman park for the semi final just to show their are no hard feelings......FACT......

Why would there be hard feelings?

bald eagle
29/03/2010, 8:11 PM
John Delaney is much too smart for that kind of behaviour.

Spindoctor
29/03/2010, 9:34 PM
do people forget there is a semi final taking place in Jackman park this weekend?best of luck to both teams,this is afterall the biggest game some of these players will have or will ever play in! anyone care to hazard a guess at the starting line-ups of both teams?

da bishop
29/03/2010, 9:41 PM
Thats a load of tripe, Michaels would have objected no matter what you cant blame Connie for that its a ridiculous statement.your probably right however the great one hardly did his clubs image any good given his behaviour.

abbeyvale
29/03/2010, 10:20 PM
FAI Junior Cup Semi-Final
Sunday 04/04/10 @ 12.00, Jackman Park
Regional Utd v Fairview Rangers

Also (even though its not relevant to this thread).

Munster Senior Cup 1/4 Final
Sunday 04/04/10 @ 2.30, Pike Club
Pike Rovers v Limerick FC

lfc at heart
29/03/2010, 10:55 PM
Thats a load of tripe, Michaels would have objected no matter what you cant blame Connie for that its a ridiculous statement.

no what was rediculous was the carry on of Connie on the day and it put the finger up to fair play and all that and it wasnt liked by the fai reps watching the game, thus the objection, connie should hang his head in shame for the gesture he made, I hope it comes back and haunts him!!!!

the bandit
29/03/2010, 11:20 PM
because day thought there had big fellas in big places watch this space fact lads

Poolman
30/03/2010, 12:01 AM
because day thought there had big fellas in big places watch this space fact lads

Welcome back panther.never heard so much crap from lfc.does he honestly think that's why st michaels objected .he would love to have him in his club.

Goals4fun
30/03/2010, 7:28 AM
FAI Junior Cup Semi-Final
Sunday 04/04/10 @ 12.00, Jackman Park
Regional Utd v Fairview Rangers

Also (even though its not relevant to this thread).

Munster Senior Cup 1/4 Final
Sunday 04/04/10 @ 2.30, Pike Club
Pike Rovers v Limerick FC

bloody great, i've a game fixed locally for 2.30..........can't see either, well done LDMC. thanks a bunch

Goals4fun
30/03/2010, 11:21 AM
who do you wanna see win it i no you still have a lot of friends up in pike but do you have a soft spot for regional

well being honest (taking into consideration i played with 2 of the 3 limerick clubs in the last 4/8)
1- Pike - as i had 3 good years there and still a few friends up there
2 - Regional - know some of the lads quite well and they knocked us out this year
3 - Fairview - only last due to the number they have won. would be nice to see another limerick team win it first, but if not, then let it reside at the fairgreen.

faces
30/03/2010, 11:38 AM
faces i agree 100 per cent but surely you understand that a team in town is gonna lose its good players to bigger clubs and imo foot ball in killmallock is also about the parish which is good.

fair enough but surely if your on top of league you can either hold on to them or attract them.understandable if they move to limerick for the few quid but not another junior team.

the bandit
30/03/2010, 1:22 PM
well being honest (taking into consideration i played with 2 of the 3 limerick clubs in the last 4/8)
1- Pike - as i had 3 good years there and still a few friends up there
2 - Regional - know some of the lads quite well and they knocked us out this year
3 - Fairview - only last due to the number they have won. would be nice to see another limerick team win it first, but if not, then let it reside at the fairgreen.
everyone knows you'll be shouting for fairview.

Goals4fun
30/03/2010, 1:37 PM
good answer ha ha ha

why the laugh...?

Goals4fun
30/03/2010, 1:37 PM
everyone knows you'll be shouting for fairview.

if i was i would have put them at number 1. .....????

saintsfan
30/03/2010, 2:53 PM
a very good example would be that heffernan lad that left ye for st micheals if he stayed he would ave still been in an fai 1/4 final.

Sure, wasnt Heffernan in a 1/4 final with Saint Michaels?!!!!!

the dazzler
30/03/2010, 4:32 PM
any truth pike+saints appeals thrown out?

the bandit
30/03/2010, 5:47 PM
how do you mean thrown out.sure they did'nt even get a hearing yet.did st michaels not appeal to senior council?..and if it's true what happen's now.the word is pike have all their paperwork in order so st michaels will probably thrown out.there not doing themselves any favours.

historynut
30/03/2010, 6:00 PM
According to the FAI site it states that in fairness of the game the original match declared null and void and St Michaels v Pike Rovers to be replayed. Have I missed a further development ?

nononsense
30/03/2010, 6:14 PM
The appeals were not heard yet.

Blackpanther
30/03/2010, 6:21 PM
The appeals were not heard yet.

Heard that both appeals were ruled out of order as they were not received on time, can anyone confirm from Michaels or Pike

the bandit
30/03/2010, 7:24 PM
Heard that both appeals were ruled out of order as they were not received on time, can anyone confirm from Michaels or Pike
thats the rumour going round alright.so what happens now does the replay go ahead,surely they cant go back to senior council now.and apparently st michaels are refusing point blank to a replay so will they be thrown out.......................

nononsense
30/03/2010, 9:33 PM
Could I repeat, the appeals were not heard yet.

awiseman
30/03/2010, 9:55 PM
come on the saints

saintsfan
31/03/2010, 11:31 AM
come on the saints

I would like to second that! According to Star yesterday, Saints successfully won their appeal over Pike Rovers (1st appeal) ie, Pike did field one or more illegal player - but reckoned a reply was the fairest result ie, FAI did not have the balls to throw Pike out first time round appeal - But both clubs appealing the decision, Pike to play the replay and Saints appealing the 1st decision made!

gaidin
31/03/2010, 12:14 PM
I would like to second that! According to Star yesterday, Saints successfully won their appeal over Pike Rovers (1st appeal) ie, Pike did field one or more illegal player - but reckoned a reply was the fairest result ie, FAI did not have the balls to throw Pike out first time round appeal - But both clubs appealing the decision, Pike to play the replay and Saints appealing the 1st decision made!

Ans saints threw away a 2 goal lead and lost....

mulla
31/03/2010, 1:19 PM
Ans saints threw away a 2 goal lead and lost....

and what has that got to do with his post

gaidin
31/03/2010, 2:16 PM
and what has that got to do with his post

Nothing..Just reminding him that they threw away a 2 goal lead..Whats that got to do with you?

gaidin
31/03/2010, 2:23 PM

I also agree with you though :)...If Pike were found to have played an illegal player (known to them or not) they should be thrown out. The fai are setting all sorts of precedents by giving a replay. Either Pike were wrong (then should be thrown out) OR they werent (then why a replay?)

31/03/2010, 2:46 PM
A replay here is the only sensible conclusion. Pike have played an illegal player-plain and simple. The reason they played him is that their local governing body, the LDMC, mis-informed them as to the status of this player or players. Therefore Pike were unaware of the situation as a result of this mis-information and it should be pointed out here that the LDMC are representatives of the FAI in the area. Pike had no reason to question the judgement of the LDMC (who have admitted responsibility)and picked their players according to what they were informed the rules were. Saint Michaels objection is valid, but not water tight legally and if this matter is not resolved the way the FAI ruled (ie a replay) then it will get ugly and go to arbitration. If this happens, there's not a court in the land that will rule against Pike. If I were Michaels manager I would grab the replay chance with both arms while it is still on the table.

Longshanks
31/03/2010, 3:39 PM
Joesoap,

'Pike have played an illegal player-plain and simple. The reason they played him is that their local governing body, the LDMC, mis-informed them as to the status of this player or players.'

Seems the only logical outcome is the removal of Pike from the FAI Junior Cup. I'd hazzard a guess and indeed wager a few quid that the illegal player/s played in previous rounds of the FAI Junior Cup also. ~And if this is the case you would have to seriously question the validity of Pikes participation in the Junior Cup and indeed the integrity of Junior football. Most posters on here accept that Pike played an illegal player(indeed the FAI Junior Council seem to too) and they therefore broke the rules of the comp., they have to be thrown out for the sake of the competitions future, it is after all an amateur Cup.

Also posters here are saying that if St. Michaels go on to win the Junior Cup because of the removal of Pike what value is on that medal. Well if Pike go on to win it what value is on that medal?? especially if they have played illegal player/s in more than one round of the comp.!!! I know from previous years Cups that Pike are determined to win the Junior Cup by hook or by crook because of a local rivallary with a certain club who will remain nameless.

Before I get bashed for being 'anti Pike' I wish to state I'm not and I wouldnt begrudge them winning the junior Cup(we have a Pike plaque hanging in our local boozer from a few years back?!?!) but if they win it this year having played illegal player/s in at least one round it will be terrible for all involved, Pike included.

kev08
31/03/2010, 3:45 PM
Joesoap,

'Pike have played an illegal player-plain and simple. The reason they played him is that their local governing body, the LDMC, mis-informed them as to the status of this player or players.'

Seems the only logical outcome is the removal of Pike from the FAI Junior Cup. I'd hazzard a guess and indeed wager a few quid that the illegal player/s played in previous rounds of the FAI Junior Cup also. ~And if this is the case you would have to seriously question the validity of Pikes participation in the Junior Cup and indeed the integrity of Junior football. Most posters on here accept that Pike played an illegal player(indeed the FAI Junior Council seem to too) and they therefore broke the rules of the comp., they have to be thrown out for the sake of the competitions future, it is after all an amateur Cup.

Also posters here are saying that if St. Michaels go on to win the Junior Cup because of the removal of Pike what value is on that medal. Well if Pike go on to win it what value is on that medal?? especially if they have played illegal player/s in more than one round of the comp.!!! I know from previous years Cups that Pike are determined to win the Junior Cup by hook or by crook because of a local rivallary with a certain club who will remain nameless.

Before I get bashed for being 'anti Pike' I wish to state I'm not and I wouldnt begrudge them winning the junior Cup(we have a Pike plaque hanging in our local boozer from a few years back?!?!) but if they win it this year having played illegal player/s in at least one round it will be terrible for all involved, Pike included.
its a player not players ie carroll as a know of he didnt play against nenagh,springfield just against aisling

serpico
31/03/2010, 4:00 PM
Joesoap,

longshanks i presume you're from ballygawley celtic.for your information pike have not played an illegal player,yu are just listening to all the rubbish that people who have'nt a clue whats goin on are posting,so why dont ye just mind yere own business for once.

Longshanks
31/03/2010, 4:40 PM
longshanks i presume you're from ballygawley celtic.for your information pike have not played an illegal player,yu are just listening to all the rubbish that people who have'nt a clue whats goin on are posting,so why dont ye just mind yere own business for once.

Serpico you have 'outted' me, I wouldnt be clued in on FAI policies, as you might remember my club wouldnt have the luxury/neccesity to have to regrade palyers and the last time i checked this was a public forum.

I can only comment on what I've read here(from Pike posters too lets not forget) and in the National press. I'm struggling to get my head around it, 1. Pike did nothing wrong, 2. St Michaels did nothing wrong, 3. TSDL did nothing wrong 4. LDMC did nothing wrong........(or 4a. LDMC did something wrong), over to the FAI.....'lets have a replay'??? I dont get it. As I stated when the replay was ordered it appears to be a fudge of the issue, maybe because of the standing of the clubs involved. I couldnt imagine if you put my club in Pikes position that the SLDL would take the hit and a replay would be ordered. Or put my club in St Michaels position that the FAI would order a reply with Pike if there was no actual wrong doing. Could you??

Anyway the quicker this is put to bed the better.......Best of luck to both clubs in this weeks semi, the winners might get the final played before the World cup starts!!

blackjack
31/03/2010, 4:52 PM
correct ,the people on here should or going by the info they have already are working for the fai,it is all only here say but ye are right about 1 thing saints wont play pike again cos pike done nothing wrong and dont forget they objected against 6 pike players and also the star has said saints were successful in their objection i think not. the fai have cleared pike of any wrong doing but because mr deleaney was backing saints they bottled it and gave them a 2nd chance.

fact,fact,fact

mulla
31/03/2010, 5:05 PM
Nothing..Just reminding him that they threw away a 2 goal lead..Whats that got to do with you?

about as much as its got to do with you and unless he has a memory like a gold fish i'm pretty sure he remembers the game