View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2009/10
trueview6
11/03/2010, 3:03 PM
i've got to say that the rivalry in limerick "junior" soccer is gone well beyond healthy.some clubs are more bothered about what other clubs are doing instead of concentrating on the more important issues within their clubs namely discipline and schoolboy football.
Anyone involved in junior soccer in limerick should be proud and happy that there's 4 clubs in the quarter finals of the biggest club competition in europe and should support the other clubs in an effort to make it an all limerick final.
At this stage it would be great to see a kilmallock v regional final.i'm sure all junior club members would be happy "neutrals" although you always have jealous begrudgers. Some of what's going on in and around these threads should not be associated with the good name of football and is not good for the local leagues or games with some of the local fixtures now laced with hatred for want of a better word. lets have one big hug
Archangel
11/03/2010, 3:05 PM
I have to agree with you twohalves I would love to see the minnows put one over on the big boys and all neutrals would like that. Probably wont happen but this is cup football and a gutsy performance with a bit of luck and who knows.
abbeyvale
11/03/2010, 3:07 PM
Abbey are you still running things below in star seems that your making statements like that, Or would it be that you are hoping that your Garrowen friends get an FAI Alan Barry & Pa Maloney Woin Hanarahan
Alan Barry isn't from Garryowen..............and if all Limerick teams helped each other out rather than trying to dig dirt, then the FAI would be brought back to Limerick a lot more than it has over the years.
P.S
If I was running things below at Star, we'd be fighting relegation...........................ha ha
twohalves
11/03/2010, 3:08 PM
Can't. there would surely be an objection to that!!
Archangel
11/03/2010, 3:27 PM
Kilmallock are a team that plays with no fear away from home and regardless of the opposition play there own game. Which is a good brand of attacking football with talented youth and experienced good players. So Fairview beware of complacency just ask the Boro lads.
twohalves
11/03/2010, 3:28 PM
For me I think St.Michaels,Regional and Fairview will progress this weekend.
Best of luck to all involved.
abbeyvale
11/03/2010, 3:35 PM
For me I think St.Michaels,Regional and Fairview will progress this weekend.
Best of luck to all involved.
My Semi Final Line up is:
Pike
Regional
Fairview
Willow
With an all Limerick final to be held in Jackman Park.
Den Perry
11/03/2010, 4:19 PM
Nobody giving Clonmel much chance here!! I can't comment on Willow, but Town are such a hard team to beat, and have shown a lot of bottle so far, I'd fancy them, but who knows???
I'll guess - Clonmel Town
- Saint Michaels
- Fairview
- Regional
Longshanks
11/03/2010, 4:32 PM
:ball:FAI
Clonmel
Carrick
Fairview
Willow Park
Ballymun
5 out of 8 1/4 finals
:ball: I am only learning :ball:
Take a bow blackwood, the above is a post from 14/08/2009....impressive 3 out of your 5 selections made it
Archangel
11/03/2010, 4:35 PM
Did some checking on Shangan Athletic theyre Dublin AUL Premier A side founded 1990. Won Premier C Lge 2006/07 and won Premier B 2008/09 Colours red and black. Theyre bottom of Premier A, played 7 won 0, drawn 2, lost 5 (deducted 10pts, dont know the story why). They have however excelled in the FAI Junior Cup winning there last two games 4-1. So you could say theyre bit like Portsmouth in the FA Cup (minus the money worries)
Longshanks
11/03/2010, 5:24 PM
Did some checking on Shangan Athletic theyre Dublin AUL Premier A side founded 1990. Won Premier C Lge 2006/07 and won Premier B 2008/09 Colours red and black. Theyre bottom of Premier A, played 7 won 0, drawn 2, lost 5 (deducted 10pts, dont know the story why). They have however excelled in the FAI Junior Cup winning there last two games 4-1. So you could say theyre bit like Portsmouth in the FA Cup (minus the money worries)
I've heard that they won the AUL B league last year and their prize was a trip for team to Spain, apparently they thrashed the hotel and were docked 15 pts as punishment
celticlads
11/03/2010, 5:48 PM
no offence clonmel scraped past star rovers (who should of beating ye) and boro(who lost players and not the same team as they were at the start of the season) in the mjc,i think pike,fairview and regionel would ease past clonmel and probably kilmallock too.st.micheals v pike who ever wins this one will go on to win the fai
Nonsense if any of them teams were drawn away to Clonmel they would struggle to come out of it .Dont get me wrong Limerick junior soccer is strong
but i dont see any team easing past the likes of clonmel at this stage of the competition.
Ice-man
11/03/2010, 7:47 PM
Latest odds Paddy Power:
Fairview Rangers 1/4 v 6/1 Kilmallock - Draw 4/1
Willow Park 6/4 v 7/5 Clonmel Town - Draw 23/10
St Michaels 13/8 v 6/5 Pike Rovers - Draw 12/5
Regional United 2/5 v 4/1 Shangan Athletic - Draw 10/3 - Regional to win AET.
My predictions in BOLD.
Best if luck to all team involved.
i think the limerick posters will be brought back down to earth this week when the"mighty" pike bow out to saint michaels..clonmel town will win too by the way ..feck yere all limerick final in hugh jackman park..all tipp final in cooke park more like
Ha ha, any of the remaining Limerick teams would beat Clonmel, and that includes Kilmallock (no disrespect to the county boys).
some boy to talk rubbish
blackjack
11/03/2010, 8:39 PM
wanye colbert is out for sunday for pike even if the match went ahead tonight,those phone calls worked,i actually hope pike and fairview go into the semi and pike hammer them the best of luck to all teams invovled this weekend and hopfully see the final in jackman park
for a matter of fact if the phone calls did not happen pike would of played wayne sunday and if pike won st micheals would have objected and st micheals would have won the objection.
[QUOTE=blackjack;1332778]for a matter of fact if the phone calls did not happen pike would of played wayne sunday and if pike won st micheals would have objected and st micheals would have won the objection.so in one way thanks for making them but ye still are the lowest of the low:)
goldengirls
11/03/2010, 8:58 PM
Ha ha, any of the remaining Limerick teams would beat Clonmel, and that includes Kilmallock (no disrespect to the county boys).
nobody will beat clonmel this year. willow will be first, then hopefully a limerick team in the semi and in the final
serpico
12/03/2010, 2:09 AM
Willow Pk are unbeaten in all competitions this year and beat last years beaten finalists St. Peters in the 1st round who happened to defeat Clonmel Tn in the semi final. So I reckon the Athlone side are a force to be reckoned with.
Pike will be very strong sunday don't worry bout that.
Dirk Diggler
12/03/2010, 9:36 AM
St. Michaels are going to have to play very well to beat Pike after all this. This tough draw suits pike down to the ground. The what seemed like easier draws has caught them down the years. Pike to win 1-0. Killmallock will run Fairview very close I think. Regional will beat shangan if they don't make any silly mistakes and Clonmel to beat willow.
skipper
12/03/2010, 10:04 AM
St. Michaels are going to have to play very well to beat Pike after all this. This tough draw suits pike down to the ground. The what seemed like easier draws has caught them down the years. Pike to win 1-0. Killmallock will run Fairview very close I think. Regional will beat shangan if they don't make any silly mistakes and Clonmel to beat willow.
iv seen clonmel play and there a decent side but iv also seen willow play many times , and i have to say willow r too strong for clonmel , willow to win the junior cup for me , they r very fit , they can mix it and they get goals from all over the park
maestro
12/03/2010, 12:11 PM
[QUOTE=blackjack;1332778]for a matter of fact if the phone calls did not happen pike would of played wayne sunday and if pike won st micheals would have objected and st micheals would have won the objection.so in one way thanks for making them but ye still are the lowest of the low:)
I'd say I owe you a packet of fags or two , silk cut purple right?:eek:
celticlads
12/03/2010, 1:08 PM
its fairview,pike,clonmel and shangen for me. dont think it matters who pike are missing i still think they will be far too strong. clonmel to beat fairview in semi and pike to beat shangan, some final then.
leather
12/03/2010, 1:16 PM
View, Pike, Shangen & willow for the semi-finals
maestro
12/03/2010, 1:20 PM
View, Pike, Shangen & willow for the semi-finals
you know nothing about Shangan yet you have them to beat Regional, oh the bitterness
the real deal
12/03/2010, 1:21 PM
you know nothing about Shangan yet you have them to beat Regional, oh the bitterness
im gonna make a bold prediction and go wit regional to win the f.a.i
maestro
12/03/2010, 1:24 PM
A boy the 'Real deal' that's more like it!:)
the real deal
12/03/2010, 1:51 PM
A boy the 'Real deal' that's more like it!:)
i think ye have every chance of beatin anybody on the day best of luck sunday anyway
goldengirls
12/03/2010, 2:18 PM
it seems to me that people are basing their predictions about town after only seeing them against star. suits us, we were terrible that day. we will be laughing on sunday. i expect us to be tournament favourites on sunday night
ronburgundy
12/03/2010, 2:27 PM
best of luck to both tipp sides this weekend, heres my honest opinion ( its probably way off ). i expect pike to just have a bit too much for saints, it will be very tight though and could go all the way to penalties,certainly cant see more than one goal seperating the sides. i feel saints have an excellent and experienced backline but will probably rely on set pieces too much to score. clonmel n the other hand have a little more about them going forward, they are a battle hardened cup side now having been to the semis a couple of times in the last few years. i dont know much about willow but hear they are on a par with st peters who clonmel really should have beaten last year. il go with 2-0 for town. really fancy them to win it out
BigfeetBigsocks
12/03/2010, 2:28 PM
it seems to me that people are basing their predictions about town after only seeing them against star. suits us, we were terrible that day. we will be laughing on sunday. i expect us to be tournament favourites on sunday night
It wasn't that your were terrible that day is was because you weren't allowed to get out of first gear by a spirited Star team performance and a more clinical team would have taken advantage of that. So some people might think it will happen again this weekend and Willow will be more clinical. As they say people are entitled to opinions best of luck to all teams left.....
serpico
12/03/2010, 2:53 PM
Pa moloney 4/1 first goalscorer paddy powers came up trumps last week 2 weeks in a row??!
blackjack
12/03/2010, 3:54 PM
[QUOTE=blackjack;1332785]
I'd say I owe you a packet of fags or two , silk cut purple right?:eek:
I say it is more the latter:hat:
hooper74
12/03/2010, 3:58 PM
Pa moloney 4/1 first goalscorer paddy powers came up trumps last week 2 weeks in a row??!
Where are you getting these prices from? i have checked online and cant find a first goalscorers market??
serpico
12/03/2010, 4:24 PM
Where are you getting these prices from? i have checked online and cant find a first goalscorers market??
In pp shops here in limerick
Redman028
12/03/2010, 4:27 PM
Best of luck to both T.s.d.l teams this weekend. It would be fantastic for the league to have 2 teams in the last 4
Tipp Top
12/03/2010, 6:00 PM
Best of luck to both T.s.d.l teams this weekend. It would be fantastic for the league to have 2 teams in the last 4
Best of luck to Saints and Town and hopefully an all Tipperary final will still be a possibility Sunday evening
carrick hoops
12/03/2010, 8:20 PM
Best of luck to Saints and Town and hopefully an all Tipperary final will still be a possibility Sunday evening
best of luck to st.michaels against "the great panel/squad of pike " !!!!!!
inspiron
12/03/2010, 11:50 PM
Hard to see Saints winning Sunday, Pike are strong and will offer much more then the feeble efford Carrick managed last week.
serpico
13/03/2010, 8:03 AM
Best of luck to pike,kilmallock,and shangan tomorrow.pike will have it all to do but they will be well up for it.:D
supersol
13/03/2010, 8:27 AM
I thought we were very unlucky not to get to the final last year..I really fancy Clonmel Town to go one better this year in the f.a.I. I dint think there will be many other teams besides us and saints from tsdl challenging tho!
Freddy,
You know your TSDL Sides well!!
Both your Predictions to Challenge are in the last eight!!!
Send me tonights Lotto numbers bud!!
supersol
13/03/2010, 8:31 AM
[QUOTE=blackwood;1211587]:ball:FAI
Clonmel
Carrick
Fairview
Willow Park
Ballymun
Blackwood,
Again excellent Predictions!!
Clonmel / Fairview / Willow in Last Eight!!
Ballymun clashed with Clonmel thus you could have predicted 1/2 of the Last Eight!!
complexman
13/03/2010, 9:08 AM
i think ye have every chance of beatin anybody on the day best of luck sunday anyway
Best of Luck to Clonmel Town. we are up against it but I know they will give it everything
balls
13/03/2010, 10:01 AM
not a chance that game be off, unless there was a death or something with one of the clubs
beautiful day for football, best of luck to all teams
updates for todays game would be great if anyone can help.Town/Willow is only one ill have updates on!
LmkSnr
14/03/2010, 12:23 PM
Fairview 3 - 0 Kilmallock
leather
14/03/2010, 1:38 PM
Watched the 1st 55 or so mins of the Fairview V Killmallock match this morning. Good match between two evenly matched teams.Thought that Killmallock played the prettier football in the first half, maybe a little naieve in their general play. View missed one good chance in the 1st half after scoring but Killmallock could have had a goal or two aswell, one very bad miss with a free header. View missed peno early in 2nd half.Great decision by the linesman, Defo peno. Ref was not giving it..... had to go at that stage....
Credit to the groundstaff up in the view, have not seen the green in that good condition at this stage of the season in years...well done...new works look the job well done to all...
town 1-0 up after 30 secs