View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40

21/12/2009, 1:41 PM
Years ago I was involved with a Wanderers side that were to play Murroe in the MJC. I got a phone call from the Murroe secretary that morning telling me not to bother travelling, that the pitch was totally unplayable, and they had notified council and the ref of this. More fool me, I believed him, told my lot the game was off, and next thing I know I got a call from the ref ten mins before scheduled kick off time wanting to know where we were. We got booted out, and fined for the non-appearance. Club officials from Murroe even admitted this to council at our appeal, but we still got thrown out. Kilmallock are out I'd say...

js79
21/12/2009, 2:01 PM
In the last round between Boro and Carew if the boro was unplayable the match was to be transferred to carew...Carew had thier picth in order but match went ahead in boro.Yesterday was the same and the boro had their pitch ready...
you are wrong there leather,if the carew v boro game was called off it was to be replayed following sunday in carew park.

leather
21/12/2009, 2:11 PM
there was a blanket postponement the weekend of the 1st fixture and when refixed it was to be transferred.if the boro was unplayable........fact

21/12/2009, 2:13 PM
If you can't post something intelligent, constructive or civil don't bother posting here.

faces
21/12/2009, 2:47 PM
i suppose if killmallock have a gripe with this and actually want to get out of town they will put in an objection.
Anybody from kilmallock know what they are doing if anything?

Ps: Anybody want to cut and post the rule here that this relates to.

it will be known shortly.

viewman76
21/12/2009, 4:23 PM
sorry peoples i need to say this. LIMERICK football is a disgrace, and i mean all over the place. We have so many teams crying like babas looking for any reason to get one over on other teams without doing the manly thing and beating them on the pitch. It is a mans game after all. REMEMBER THE OLD TIMES WHAT HAPPENS ON THE PICTH STAYS ON THE PITCH. I feel the honour has dissapeared from limerick. Teams like regional should hang their heads and now jansboro..... Come on now ye are supposed to be in the top bunch of teams from our great city. Neither one of you can actually be proud of your clubs right now. Some times the big teams get beat sometimes the big teams come up against a potential bannana skin in the cups. What is it that has you all so scared of playing progressing teams. where is the passion gone from the game, why do i dread looking on foot every week now to see something about a top premier team trying to scr*W a lower team. Jansboro ye are steeped with tradition, regional well i think everyone knows whats what with that club (and personally i feel what goes around comes around). What i am trying to say is look at what our (limerick junior soccer premier teams) have come to, only to try and get out of town in the FAI. are either side going to win the cup. ABSOLUTELY NOT. And just to top it all off look at our OSCAR trainer team . I am from old stock people and i feel if you give everything you have on the field of play then no matter what the score is you hold your head up proudly beaten or not and you shake the hand of the man you just battled, and there it ends. On nno grounds do you go crying about it to a council (ldmc) that has trouble wiping its own ar*e at the best of times. Now are dark times for limerick football and teams like boro and regional are dragging us down. Wake up the country is watching and right now laughing

TopperHarley
21/12/2009, 4:57 PM
I Really cant believe what i am reading here.

1.The match is changed to 12pm and both team are on the pitch.
2.The ref calls the game off due to frozen pitch and players head home or wherever else they want to go....That is where this matter should of ended!
3.Then the match is fixed for later in that day!!!!!!!!!!!Where the Hell did that rule come from?Was this rule just made up between the bigger clubs and LDMC?Why wasnt every other game called off swithed to the other venue for later in the day?what the hell is going on?

wild forest
21/12/2009, 5:13 PM
are you actually serious what your saying about kilmallock purposely putting water on goals overnight to get game called off !! outrageous to suggest something like that get a grip.. fair enough they had hurling match but kilmallock still managed to have 15 players all who have played premier football no doubts they were mad to play game never known kilmallock to refuse a game .. at end of day favourtism is given to a few of the big clubs in the city i.e two years ago we were 2 1 up against boro who were going for title against cals and boro player got injured and fair enough he was injured but how with a min to go could match be abandoned and ordered to be replayed doesnt add up ! needless to say we didnt fulfill the rearranged fixture and the mighty boro got their league...:p in our minds we had won fair and square so totally behind kilmallock on this one ....

pearse4t3
21/12/2009, 5:33 PM
Lads keep it in perspective. Janesboro arrived at Kilmallock for the game, the referee made the right decision in calling the game off. The Ldmc rang both club secretary's, and the match referee,to inform the clubs that the game was transfered into Pearse Stadium. Ldmc ring Janesboro to say that the game will be put back to 1:30 , so both teams wouldnt have to fly in the road as the roads were dangerous which was a good decision imo. Referee arrives in the 'boro and says the field is playable, Kilmallock inform Ldmc they wouldnt be coming in. I think it should also be said that Kilmallock had tried to get the fixture changed a number of times during the week due to a hurling game. In August Janesboro accommodated Kilmallock in a league fixture due to a hurling game btw. Theres a number of people knocking the boro after yesterday, but i cant see what they did wrong.

Balbec77
21/12/2009, 6:01 PM
Lads keep it in perspective. Janesboro arrived at Kilmallock for the game, the referee made the right decision in calling the game off. The Ldmc rang both club secretary's, and the match referee,to inform the clubs that the game was transfered into Pearse Stadium. Ldmc ring Janesboro to say that the game will be put back to 1:30 , so both teams wouldnt have to fly in the road as the roads were dangerous which was a good decision imo. Referee arrives in the 'boro and says the field is playable, Kilmallock inform Ldmc they wouldnt be coming in. I think it should also be said that Kilmallock had tried to get the fixture changed a number of times during the week due to a hurling game. In August Janesboro accommodated Kilmallock in a league fixture due to a hurling game btw. Theres a number of people knocking the boro after yesterday, but i cant see what they did wrong.look the facts are we paid the ref the game was off and had left the pitch when the boro rang the fixture secretary to tell him there pitch was playable we had left the field why didnt the ref know so straight away that the game had to go in to the boro he got a call then that he had to go in to the boro i live 5 miles from kilmallock had picked up my kids and gone home to salvage what was left of my only day off in the week to get a call to go to limerick to play a game your havin a laught the ref should known that we had to go in simple as who pullin the fast one kilmallock ya right

The Dark Knight
21/12/2009, 6:18 PM
The key question is, how much notice must be given by the fixture secretary that a team must fulfil a fixture?

If Kilmallock were allowed to take this to a court of law, any judge would rule that 90mins is unacceptable, irrespective of the situation.

However, Kilmallock (along with every other club in the country) are precluded in taking legal action against LDMC, FAI etc, so an appeal would be farcical. Imagine LDMC hearing an appeal against themselves, then the FAI hearing an appeal against one of their competitions and arbitration would take too long.

celticlads
21/12/2009, 6:22 PM
look lads cut the c***.the pitch was like concrete due to weather and thats a fact and could,nt be made playable.

serves you right faces praying all week for the game to be off, keep your mouth shut in future and dont be brinnging attention your way....1 other thing if yer pitch was as bad as you say(like concrete) why were ye out warming up, why was this not called off at 10 or 11 o clock...simple reason ye knew if ye called it off early ye would have to travel in.

clown town
21/12/2009, 6:34 PM
[QUOTE]
]

As a bystander, my club were due to play a CCFL cup match on a Tuesday evening last may. St Peters FC Athlone v Mullingar Ath. Kick off was to be 7pm if I remember correctly.
During the day it became apparent our pitch might not be playable due to a waterlogged pitch. At about 3.30 we informed our league and opposition that our pitch was unplayable. By about 4.30 the game was rescheduled for Mullingar (about 40 miles away) and needless to say we weren't happy about it. We quickly phoned around and were met with one or two issues from the players, one was a bar man due to work that evening and then we had two garda lads, who were due to start their shift at 6 the next morning, in Tullamore and Tuam. We told the league we would not be travelling becuase we felt that although the standard cup rule states the game is switched to the opposition venue in the event of the home ground being un playable, to ask a team to make a one hour car journey, at such short notice was very unfair on players, families etc. The game was awarded to Mullingar, appealed to the LFA and duley dismissed. Sorry Kilmallock but rules are rules and although I think asking a team to switch venues is fine if within 20 miles of the orginal venue, anything above that is unreasonable and fixture should be played another day.

think peters were on the beer,, fr,damo the day before to be honest!!!!!!!

alidiei
21/12/2009, 6:40 PM
[QUOTE=alidiei;1295498]boro got a walk over today...

im a bit confused lads did the boro get the walk over or is kilmallock appealing or is there even a decision made by the ldmc etc etc????

the ref said it was a walk over but i take it there will be an objection so it will be a few weeks before its sorted

The Dark Knight
21/12/2009, 6:43 PM
[QUOTE=thomas72;1295718]

the ref said it was a walk over but i take it there will be an objection so it will be a few weeks before its sorted

A ref cannot give a walkover, thats for the league/FAI to decide.

alidiei
21/12/2009, 6:43 PM
sorry peoples i need to say this. LIMERICK football is a disgrace, and i mean all over the place. We have so many teams crying like babas looking for any reason to get one over on other teams without doing the manly thing and beating them on the pitch. It is a mans game after all. REMEMBER THE OLD TIMES WHAT HAPPENS ON THE PICTH STAYS ON THE PITCH. I feel the honour has dissapeared from limerick. Teams like regional should hang their heads and now jansboro..... Come on now ye are supposed to be in the top bunch of teams from our great city. Neither one of you can actually be proud of your clubs right now. Some times the big teams get beat sometimes the big teams come up against a potential bannana skin in the cups. What is it that has you all so scared of playing progressing teams. where is the passion gone from the game, why do i dread looking on foot every week now to see something about a top premier team trying to scr*W a lower team. Jansboro ye are steeped with tradition, regional well i think everyone knows whats what with that club (and personally i feel what goes around comes around). What i am trying to say is look at what our (limerick junior soccer premier teams) have come to, only to try and get out of town in the FAI. are either side going to win the cup. ABSOLUTELY NOT. And just to top it all off look at our OSCAR trainer team . I am from old stock people and i feel if you give everything you have on the field of play then no matter what the score is you hold your head up proudly beaten or not and you shake the hand of the man you just battled, and there it ends. On nno grounds do you go crying about it to a council (ldmc) that has trouble wiping its own ar*e at the best of times. Now are dark times for limerick football and teams like boro and regional are dragging us down. Wake up the country is watching and right now laughing
what have the boro done wrong could you tell me as for the regional situation the rules were broke and they rightly went threw

TopperHarley
21/12/2009, 7:08 PM
The only question that has to be answered is
Were in the updated LDMC rule hand book (that was updated at the start of the season)does it say that a team has to travel to the oppostions field only hours after the match has been called off????

pearse4t3
21/12/2009, 7:16 PM
The only question that has to be answered is
Were in the updated LDMC rule hand book (that was updated at the start of the season)does it say that a team has to travel to the oppostions field only hours after the match has been called off????

That rule wouldn't be in the LDMC rulebook as it's an FAI competition, it would be in the FAI rulebook Topper.

oscar
21/12/2009, 7:54 PM

listen to this fella,it wasn't too long ago ye were down in the garryowen green with yer measuring tapes,and here you are waffling on about old times,spare me

oscar
21/12/2009, 8:02 PM
two years ago we were 2 1 up against boro who were going for title against cals and boro player got injured and fair enough he was injured but how with a min to go could match be abandoned and ordered to be replayed doesnt add up ! needless to say we didnt fulfill the rearranged fixture and the mighty boro got their league...

2-1 up with 10 mins left(and time to be added on) and we had been awarded a penalty,this has nothing to do with the FAI cup so stop dragging this thread off topic

SeniorBlue
21/12/2009, 9:37 PM
Viewman76 are you for real or what. Clubs fight their own corners and rightly so, each and every club have signiicant expenses every season so why would they not put up a fight to stay in the FAI or any other competition. To say Janesboro and Regional are wrong is just absurd, Janesboro travelled a long distance on sunday and are aggrieved at what happened, Regional had every right to object to an illegal player, so i don't understand how you say either of these issues are ruining Limericks reputation. They are two very well run clubs and contribute alot to local soccer on a junior and schoolboy fronts. I get to see alot of junior games this time of year and looking at the limerick premier league compared to any other league its a close and very interesting league to be involved in. Its people like you who try to drag down soccers reputation making ridiculous statements and i don't even know if you really are a Fairview man but your club and every other club no matter if they are premier league or not would stand up and voice their opinions if a decision affected them. I also believe Kilmallock have every right to fight their corner on this, i hope the game goes ahead in the Boro now and may the best team win

workdodger
21/12/2009, 11:17 PM
this is a very bad situation and it again highlights the poor administration in leagues around the country! It seems to be happening in every league and is becoming increasingly frustrating for teams that try and promote their leagues in a professional manner. It doesnt help when small minded people put up comments about teams being out drinking just to try and take away from rival teams! It really shows up the immiturity of peoples comments. It just sums up that Irish organisations really dont have a clue.

Goals4fun
22/12/2009, 7:08 AM
listen to this fella,it wasn't too long ago ye were down in the garryowen green with yer measuring tapes,and here you are waffling on about old times,spare me

lol :D

But i do agree with a small bit. Again it is the ldmc incompetence to have something done properly. All clubs playing FAI should have been told (formually during the week) that if the home pitches were unplayable by 11.30 and the away pitch was playable, that the game would revert to the away pitch in the afternoon for a 2pm kick off. But no, they (ldmc) got a call to say it was off, crapped themselves in case the fai gave out about not have the ties complete, and made an on the spot decision to reverse the fixture. IMO that is too late and not right. Apart from the travel, players have eaten/planned for a match at 12, plus junior players should not be on call as it is only junior football.

IMO the Boro have done nothing wrong (maybe they told the ldmc their pitch was playable in hope of the reverse fixture against an understrength Killmallock side), Killmallock have taken a stance on not travelling for whatever reason. I think that match should be played sunday the 27th dec or else Sunday 3rd Jan.....

PS: I never hear on any of the other threads on foot , of players continusouly slagging of the league, highlighting the down falls, as much as people do about the LDMC. To me this is either a crap set up ior else the ldmc like the limelight.....

faces
22/12/2009, 7:30 AM
sorry peoples i need to say this. Limerick football is a disgrace, and i mean all over the place. We have so many teams crying like babas looking for any reason to get one over on other teams without doing the manly thing and beating them on the pitch. It is a mans game after all. Remember the old times what happens on the picth stays on the pitch. I feel the honour has dissapeared from limerick. Teams like regional should hang their heads and now jansboro..... Come on now ye are supposed to be in the top bunch of teams from our great city. Neither one of you can actually be proud of your clubs right now. Some times the big teams get beat sometimes the big teams come up against a potential bannana skin in the cups. What is it that has you all so scared of playing progressing teams. Where is the passion gone from the game, why do i dread looking on foot every week now to see something about a top premier team trying to scr*w a lower team. Jansboro ye are steeped with tradition, regional well i think everyone knows whats what with that club (and personally i feel what goes around comes around). What i am trying to say is look at what our (limerick junior soccer premier teams) have come to, only to try and get out of town in the fai. Are either side going to win the cup. Absolutely not. And just to top it all off look at our oscar trainer team . I am from old stock people and i feel if you give everything you have on the field of play then no matter what the score is you hold your head up proudly beaten or not and you shake the hand of the man you just battled, and there it ends. On nno grounds do you go crying about it to a council (ldmc) that has trouble wiping its own ar*e at the best of times. Now are dark times for limerick football and teams like boro and regional are dragging us down. Wake up the country is watching and right now laughing

spot on lad well said.

faces
22/12/2009, 7:40 AM
serves you right faces praying all week for the game to be off, keep your mouth shut in future and dont be brinnging attention your way....1 other thing if yer pitch was as bad as you say(like concrete) why were ye out warming up, why was this not called off at 10 or 11 o clock...simple reason ye knew if ye called it off early ye would have to travel in.

1.yes we did look for match to be rearranged WHICH WAS DENIED.2.it was up to referee to call off match.
3.we did not know anything about traveling in.
4.its imaterial what any one thinks or says on this matter because its going to be up to fai to handle.
5.i wont shut my mouth when ive nothing to hide or deny.
6.end of and wait for fai descision.

leather
22/12/2009, 8:09 AM

you must have amnesia...Refusing to play a lawson cup match because you were still in the fai,(gave a walk over) Trying too humilate a Fine club like geraldine(who have supplied you with most of your players for 20 years) by refusing to play on the garryowen green even though your own fairgreen resembeled a ski jump for 30 years..... i can go on about a lot more instances if you want.. i doubt very much if you have any association with fairview

Fr Damo
22/12/2009, 8:14 AM
this is a very bad situation and it again highlights the poor administration in leagues around the country! It seems to be happening in every league and is becoming increasingly frustrating for teams that try and promote their leagues in a professional manner. It doesnt help when small minded people put up comments about teams being out drinking just to try and take away from rival teams! It really shows up the immiturity of peoples comments. It just sums up that Irish organisations really dont have a clue.

Wouldn't go that far but some people think they know the rule book, implementation of those rules is how you judge someones worth.

If it's true that the game was only arranged after boro claimed their pitch was playable it seems al a bit underhanded. Don't know the history of the two teams here so going to keep out of it now!

Get a life
22/12/2009, 8:23 AM
Why is there so much chaos over this Kilmallock Boro incident? There is alot of mudslinging going on, for absolutley no reason. Neither club have done anything wrong. From what I can make out the facts are as follows:

1. Kilmallock's pitch was unplayable, and the game was quite rightly called off
2. A suggestion was made that the game be played in the Boro. This is not an official obligation and Kilmallock are well within their rights to refuse to travel. I'd say deep down that the Boro were happy to avoid a potentially sticky tie, and now get ome advantage.

This tie should now be settled in the Boro, and not in front of some committee. Lets get to the football lads

Get a life
22/12/2009, 8:27 AM
Viewman76 are you for real or what. Clubs fight their own corners and rightly so, each and every club have signiicant expenses every season so why would they not put up a fight to stay in the FAI or any other competition. To say Janesboro and Regional are wrong is just absurd, Janesboro travelled a long distance on sunday and are aggrieved at what happened, Regional had every right to object to an illegal player, so i don't understand how you say either of these issues are ruining Limericks reputation. They are two very well run clubs and contribute alot to local soccer on a junior and schoolboy fronts. I get to see alot of junior games this time of year and looking at the limerick premier league compared to any other league its a close and very interesting league to be involved in. Its people like you who try to drag down soccers reputation making ridiculous statements and i don't even know if you really are a Fairview man but your club and every other club no matter if they are premier league or not would stand up and voice their opinions if a decision affected them. I also believe Kilmallock have every right to fight their corner on this, i hope the game goes ahead in the Boro now and may the best team win

This fella most certainly is not a Fairview man, and well spotted

Goals4fun
22/12/2009, 8:30 AM
Why is there so much chaos over this Kilmallock Boro incident? There is alot of mudslinging going on, for absolutley no reason. Neither club have done anything wrong. From what I can make out the facts are as follows:

2. A suggestion was made that the game be played in the Boro. This is not an official obligation and Kilmallock are well within their rights to refuse to travel. I'd say deep down that the Boro were happy to avoid a potentially sticky tie, and now get ome advantage.

This tie should now be settled in the Boro, and not in front of some committee. Lets get to the football lads

I think it was because there was suggestions that Kilmallock watered the pitch to assist in it being frozen, to get the match off as they had hurlers.
Then the chaos of the ldmc got involved and word seems to be that Boro were handed a walk over......

maybe it is going to be postponed and played at Pearce stadium in the coming weeks, which i hope hapens for the sense of junior football

Fr Damo
22/12/2009, 8:34 AM

It is an FAI Junior Cup rule. I cannot find it on the net but have it the rule book from 2008/2009. I'll PM you Denis Cruise email address if you like, he's the FAI Cup secretary and his ducks will be in a row!

faces
22/12/2009, 9:13 AM
i think it was because there was suggestions that kilmallock watered the pitch to assist in it being frozen, to get the match off as they had hurlers.
Then the chaos of the ldmc got involved and word seems to be that boro were handed a walk over......

Maybe it is going to be postponed and played at pearce stadium in the coming weeks, which i hope hapens for the sense of junior football

lads its easy to end all this.as far as im concerned neither team are wrong.so if the boro pick up the phone and tell mike reagan the fixture secretary that the match can go ahead sunday morning in the boro that should solve it.

leather
22/12/2009, 9:40 AM
dosen't work that way unfortunatley...a few years ago lawson cup tie involving boro and other club..other club asked for postponment, boro agreed council awarded walkover to boro as other team refused to fullfill original fixture..

Get a life
22/12/2009, 9:44 AM
dosen't work that way unfortunatley...a few years ago lawson cup tie involving boro and other club..other club asked for postponment, boro agreed council awarded walkover to boro as other team refused to fullfill original fixture..

Hopefully common sense will prevail here

oscar
22/12/2009, 10:10 AM
according to a senior ldmc committee member last night "they're gone"
his words not mine

Goals4fun
22/12/2009, 10:16 AM
his words not mine

would that surprise you from them muppets. maybe you have to be a certain muppet and once you get that far you get a job with the fai.....

Surely they would have to have a meeting and get all the facts first and make a judgement then. But no ,there you have it a 'senior ldmc committe member' shouting his mouth off, what power does to some people.....

but will it ever change, maybe when people stop playing real football and take up virtual football....:eek:

old git
22/12/2009, 10:19 AM
his words not mine

surely as an FAI competition " FAI" would make that decision and inform clubs .. don't think it is right that a senior ldmc member can be telling people " they're gone" before clubs even know..:mad:

Goals4fun
22/12/2009, 10:19 AM
Hopefully common sense will prevail here

ha ha......sorry....can'tttt............tttyyypppeeee ...properlly....as................ammmmmmm....llll lauughijng sooooooooo muchhhhh.........
ldmc.......does ....not.......= ...commmooommmm sennnssseeeee.......:D

square it
22/12/2009, 10:27 AM
his words not mine
they should be gone. the way i heard it was the ref told the players before they left killmalock the match was refixed to the boro.killmalock wanted to watch a hurling match that day so any team looking to put another sport first should not be in the big comps

thomas72
22/12/2009, 10:31 AM
you are wrong there leather,if the carew v boro game was called off it was to be replayed following sunday in carew park.

leather is correct carews pitch was lined and ready in case of boro pitch had been unplayable boro v carew had to be played that morning but the diff... is both clubs are only a stone throw away from each other. in regards kilmallock havin been told to travel into the boro at 12 o clock is a bit harsh it will be interesting to see how this one pans out. IMO the fair thing is to play it in the boro just my opinion

22/12/2009, 10:37 AM
Seems like a serious case of wires being crossed and the LDMC jumping to a decision before knowing all the facts. If both teams agree to it the game should be played Sunday morning. Get it over and done with an start the new year fresh without dragging this any further than it has to.

faces
22/12/2009, 10:41 AM

different circumstances.each case is different.

Get a life
22/12/2009, 10:43 AM
ha ha......sorry....can'tttt............tttyyypppeeee ...properlly....as................ammmmmmm....llll lauughijng sooooooooo muchhhhh.........
ldmc.......does ....not.......= ...commmooommmm sennnssseeeee.......:D

It's the FAI's decision

22/12/2009, 10:48 AM
It's the FAI's decision

Let's be honest, the same goes for the FAI as the LDMC.

faces
22/12/2009, 11:03 AM
they should be gone. the way i heard it was the ref told the players before they left killmalock the match was refixed to the boro.killmalock wanted to watch a hurling match that day so any team looking to put another sport first should not be in the big comps

dont always believe what you hear.

faces
22/12/2009, 11:06 AM

sorry leather but if both teams agreed with playing it at pearse stadium it would def inetly happen.fact

Goals4fun
22/12/2009, 11:18 AM
sorry leather but if both teams agreed with playing it at pearse stadium it would def inetly happen.fact

are you sure? do you realise that would be taking the power away from the LDMC or FAI.....:eek:

what ever are the rules is what will decide this. I don't expect there to be a clause of 'same day transfer' in the FAI junior cup . It normally happens the following week.
I expect a replay but you never never know what will come of this.

leather
22/12/2009, 11:19 AM
Where did you get your fact..

faces
22/12/2009, 11:38 AM
Where did you get your fact..

think about it now john.no two teams are wrong.

leather
22/12/2009, 11:44 AM
as i stated earlier, a few years ago boro and another team agreed not to play on a certain date at the request of the other team. ldmc stated that they decide the fixture not the teams...the other team were dismissed from the competition. we did not want to progress under those circumstances but we did not have any control over the decisions of the people who run football.