View Full Version : 1st division
Pages :
[
9]
Trust me Shels will score ;)
End of season results are meaningless as Shels had nothing to play for. Dundalk won't win ;)
Good to see you getting practice in on the 1st division thread,your gonna be doing a lot of posting here next season:D
jinxy lilywhite
18/09/2008, 1:12 PM
Trust me Shels will score ;)
End of season results are meaningless as Shels had nothing to play for. Dundalk won't win ;)
Put your money where your mouth is then
shame as no major coverage in newspapers as this i has the makings of been a cracker and is going to be a great evenings entertainment. hope shels win so that dundalk will need a win in kingspan century park next week.
We need to win every game
Good to see you getting practice in on the 1st division thread,your gonna be doing a lot of posting here next season:D
Ha, Ha,
Yyyyeeeeeeeesssssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
dfclilywhite
18/09/2008, 10:20 PM
Yyyyeeeeeeeesssssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:):D:)
18/09/2008, 10:55 PM
dundalk won't win ;)
What was that you were saying? ;)
SMorgan
18/09/2008, 11:51 PM
Shels are in for some fines after tonight's match. 3 bottles on to the pitch including one direct hit to the Linesman, for which the game was stopped.
In fairness to the decent Shels fans, they did hand one of the idiots over to the Gardai who took him away in handcuffs.
LeixlipRed
18/09/2008, 11:55 PM
If Dundalk don't win the league now, then no one deserves it. Some shocking defending from Keely jnr tonight. Both goals were his fault. Shocking refereeing as per ****ing usual.
SMorgan
19/09/2008, 12:03 AM
Shocking refereeing as per ****ing usual.
Can't agree LR. I thought the Ref had a first class match. It was funny the way the Shels support were looking for a penalty nearly every time the ball went into the Dundalk box.
Totally agree about Keely. He'd a poor match.
LeixlipRed
19/09/2008, 12:10 AM
The lino on that side missed a couple of blatant handballs. Neither in the box. And Gorman was repeatedly fouled by your centre halves during the game and never won a free. Not saying you didn't deserve your victory but just ****ed at the rubbishness of the officiating. Works both ways, one of our players tackled two footed and should have walked late in the game
19/09/2008, 12:40 AM
Feck ye Shels. Don't want Dundalk coming up:(
SMorgan
19/09/2008, 12:52 AM
You just concentrate on getting the 140k you need over the next few weeks or it won't matter to you what division dundalk are in.
19/09/2008, 1:04 AM
You just concentrate on getting the 140k you need over the next few weeks or it won't matter to you what division dundalk are in.:D Good one...oh wait, that's not funny at all:rolleyes:.
You don't worry about us, we'll be grand, still don't want ye promoted though.
SMorgan
19/09/2008, 1:13 AM
who was joking?
The Lilywhites
19/09/2008, 2:06 AM
Don't want Dundalk coming up:(
Who gives a fùck what you want.
19/09/2008, 4:40 AM
Thank feck that Mark Rutherford was not playing the entire game... LOI legend....caused more grief in 20mins than all the mouthing than McGill did over the 90 mins.....
jinxy lilywhite
19/09/2008, 7:51 AM
F*ckin sweet. Loved every minute it. Crowd was massive.
Hope Finnpark took my advice and put his money where his mouth was. (Buffoon)
Still its done now, concentrate on beating Mons on Sunday week. Nothing like a good old fashioned trip to hell.
A few of the premier league poster are worried that we just might win the league get promoted and dislodge one of them. (Sligo, Finn Harps to name two)
Black and White
19/09/2008, 8:06 AM
Any more Finn harps scum wana post more stupid threads on this...ye are ajoke of a club!!Wer coming to get ye next year!Delaney blatant handball outside the box at the end and ref did nothin so shels lads....ye cant be complaining!we were denied a few "pens" ourselves!! An to be fair,ye deserve ahefty fine after the behaviour of a minority of clowns ye took down last night, the amount of rubbish pelted onto the pitch over that side of the pitch was unreal!!ANTO WHO???huh huh
I have to say i thought Shels really deserved something out of the game last night, they are a decent side, no doubt about it.
Just glad we hung on. Great crowd up.
I have to say i thought Shels really deserved something out of the game last night, they are a decent side, no doubt about it.
Have to disagree there,i thought they were poor up until last 15 mins when we sat back,and even then they just lumped it into our box,i think even shels fans would agree we deserved the win last night
jinxy lilywhite
19/09/2008, 9:26 AM
The Flipside there Oriel is that did we deserve to lose in May. No but we did. Shels maybe should of got something out of the game but remember benno's save. Top notch and that deserves at least to win a game.
eelmonster
19/09/2008, 9:28 AM
Shels looked very ordinary, I thought, until Keely put on Rutherford and that big no. 14 late in the second half, but we thoroughly deserved the win. After we scored our second goal it looked like it was going to be a rout, but we allowed Shels back into the game. I totally agree with Leixlip Red, the refereeing and officiating was shocking, some dreadful decisions and a total lack of co-ordination between ref and his assistants. However, that doesn't excuse the behaviour of some of the Shels supporters, glad to hear the guards nicked one of the little scumbags who were throwing bottles onto the pitch, hopefully it was the guy who hit the linesman.
Black and White
19/09/2008, 10:17 AM
Shels deserved nothing from last night...im not being biased or anything but we played the better football, they were chasing the game from the start and the entire secong half all they did was lump the ball into the box and players falling over and then mcgill screaming and shouting at every instance looking for a pen! If the referee was any decent robbie hedderman would have been sent off, its a yellow card offense for slamming the ball into the ground when a decision goes against you and he did it four times last night.As well as a few late tackles which the ref just gave a free for. He also "attacked" a five yr old on the shed side for not giving the ball back to him when it went out for a throw in. Like comeon, the wee "fella", just kicked it back onto the pitch!no need for that kind of cr!!p!!
finnpark
19/09/2008, 10:22 AM
Well done Dundalk, was shocked to see Dundalk winning but welcome to the top tier. Just hope we are still there next season. Good to see another border club in the premier.
Your €80M for the TG4 Tv deal is on the way to you :D
eamoss
19/09/2008, 10:50 AM
Last night was great and all beating our title rivals but I think we might be jumping the gun we aren't promoted yet we still have 8 games left. Waterford still have two games in hand to us and if the win both games we are only 2 points clear.
We always mess up against Monaghan so by Sunday week we could be one point behind.
Your €80M for the TG4 Tv deal is on the way to you :D
Sweet :D
jinxy lilywhite
19/09/2008, 11:02 AM
Last night was great and all beating our title rivals but I think we might be jumping the gun we aren't promoted yet we still have 8 games left. Waterford still have two games in hand to us and if the win both games we are only 2 points clear.
We always mess up against Monaghan so by Sunday week we could be one point behind.
Sweet :D
Oh so very true. Last series beat Waterford but then only picked up one from the next 6. Rollercoaster ride indeed.
I be a fervant Wexford Youths supporter tonight. On Monday I'll support the Shels.
HarpoJoyce
19/09/2008, 11:13 AM
Shels looked very ordinary, I thought, until Keely put on Rutherford and that big no. 14 late in the second half, but we thoroughly deserved the win. .......
Darren Forsyth, played a small number of senior games for UCd this season. Was very prolific in the 'A' Division before going to Shelbourne in july.
19/09/2008, 11:24 AM
Who gives a fùck what you want.Yourself, SMorgan and jinxy lilywhite obviously saying as you replied.
jinxy lilywhite
19/09/2008, 11:43 AM
Who gives a fùck what you want.
Yourself, SMorgan and jinxy lilywhite obviously saying as you replied.
Actually I don't give a f what you want. You look after your club and we'll look after the best run club in the league.
Darren Forsyth, played a small number of senior games for UCd this season. Was very prolific in the 'A' Division before going to Shelbourne in july.
Looked very dangerous last night,strong in the air.
19/09/2008, 1:48 PM
"It's ****ing on now, chaps." ;)
LeixlipRed
19/09/2008, 4:07 PM
I reckon if we win our last 9 games we'll finish a good bit clear. however, there isn't a chance in hell that's gonna happen. And Forsyth was class last night. Gives 100% even though he's got the touch of a rapist. Sparky should have started. Even at his age he's class at this level. Dundalk deserved it but we really are both ordinary teams. Dundalk fans talking about displacing Harps/Sligo in the Premier would want a quick reality check there.
3 points is vital for Waterford United tonight and I reckon we need another win Monday night v Shelbourne to keep the pressure on Dundalk. If Shels lose Monday night they'll probably be out of contention as well.
The Lilywhites
19/09/2008, 8:52 PM
Three horse race with Fingal now out of it. Could be down to a head to head between Dundalk and Waterford if Shels get beaten on Monday.
adamd164
19/09/2008, 9:06 PM
If Waterford win on Monday now this title race will really hot up. Would narrow the gap to just 2 points.
Lamper.sffc
20/09/2008, 11:57 AM
What a way to end your promotion hopes. Two dreadful games from our team. 3 horse race that may end up being 2 soon depending on mondays game.
If Shels lose Monday night they'll probably be out of contention as well.
Three horse race with Fingal now out of it. Could be down to a head to head between Dundalk and Waterford if Shels get beaten on Monday.
3 horse race that may end up being 2 soon depending on mondays game.
Have all ye fellas forgotten everything that has happened in the league before last week or something? :D
Or is it a new rule that all the twists and turns in a season have to stop in the middle of September? :eek:
If any of the top teams were in the habit of winning all their games they'd have been champions ages ago. They're not, so it's a bit previous to be talking of teams 'out of it' just yet, when the right couple of bad results will catapult any of the four back into the mix.
Come on Shels,do yourselves(and Dundalk:D) a favour by getting a positive result tonight.Gonna head up to this,will there be much of a crowd??
22/09/2008, 10:15 AM
I was going to go myself but it wouldn't be much fun to go to a football match hoping for a 0-0 draw..
Shels win wouldnt be bad Holiday!!!!
22/09/2008, 10:22 AM
Shels win wouldnt be bad Holiday!!!!
It wouldn't be the worst alright but I'd still prefer a draw. That would keep us a nice bit ahead of Waterford while at the same time it'd pretty much eliminate Shels from the promotion race (in my opinion).
jinxy lilywhite
22/09/2008, 10:28 AM
I think the way tonights game will go is that both teams will play not to lose. Shels season hangs on a thread tonight where a win will put them 6 behind (alot to do but can claw their way back if we allow them). Waterford can play for a draw and try their chances against us in the RSC. But whoever loses tonight (especially Shels) will have too much to do.
The league title destination is far from being a fore gone conclusion and we won't really know until the after the Dundalk Waterford game who will probably win the league.
We are the best placed but we have to hold it. A trip to Hell this weekend and if we come out of that with 3 points then we will be one step closer.
76pts will win the league for whoever gets there first.
Seagull-4-life
22/09/2008, 1:09 PM
In terms of drama, it's far more exciting than the Premier Division
jinxy lilywhite
22/09/2008, 1:19 PM
Can any Shels or Waterford heads give us their thoughts on the outcome of the game. Pretty big game tonight for both clubs and the 1st in general
In terms of drama, it's far more exciting than the Premier Division
Most things are settled in the Premier though. Bohs are certs to win. Any other postitions is purely european.
At the bottom though it looks like 3 from Harps, UCD, Cobh and Galway. 30 points will probably spell safety for 4th from bottom.
I certainly believe Dundalk, Shels, Waterford and Fingal could hold their own in the premier. In the premier you just need to make sure your not one of the three worse teams there to survive. whereas in the first you need to win the effin thing while selling your soul in the meantime.
Seagull-4-life
22/09/2008, 1:25 PM
Can any Shels or Waterford heads give us their thoughts on the outcome of the game. Pretty big game tonight for both clubs and the 1st in general
Most things are settled in the Premier though. Bohs are certs to win. Any other postitions is purely european.
At the bottom though it looks like 3 from Harps, UCD, Cobh and Galway. 30 points will probably spell safety for 4th from bottom.
I certainly believe Dundalk, Shels, Waterford and Fingal could hold their own in the premier. In the premier you just need to make sure your not one of the three worse teams there to survive. whereas in the first you need to win the effin thing while selling your soul in the meantime.
Ye that's wghat I meant like relegation aside (although it is very exciting) everything's virtually decided while Div 1 loads can still happen
higgins
22/09/2008, 2:03 PM
The only thing making the First Division exciting is that the four teams are mostly rubbish.
We've a back four that can't stop making mistakes and yet I could count on one hand the number of chances you created last week in Oriel.
You're not good enough, Shels are not good enough , Waterford and Fingal certainly are not good enough..
Whoever wins and goes up will come straight back down to be honest. Unless you throw out half the team.
You lost to Bray recently in the cup, that's the level you are at.
You'll be up against Bray and Harps next year for the drop.
jinxy lilywhite
22/09/2008, 2:22 PM
The only thing making the First Division exciting is that the four teams are mostly rubbish.
We've a back four that can't stop making mistakes and yet I could count on one hand the number of chances you created last week in Oriel.
You're not good enough, Shels are not good enough , Waterford and Fingal certainly are not good enough..
Whoever wins and goes up will come straight back down to be honest. Unless you throw out half the team.
We lost to Bray after a replay. Went out to a magnificent goal that was worthy of winning any game.
Last week you say you could count how many chances we created on one hand. Fair enough but we took those chances and won the game.
We are good enough because the gap between the top 4 of the first and the bottom 6 in premier is minimal.
Stop being bitter because your team couldn't last the pace.
Louth4sam
22/09/2008, 4:48 PM
Yeah i think that is a fair enough statement. We have a few good players but also too many ordinary players. We are a 1st division team remember :)
I wouldn't agree with this at all. If you believe the newspaper report from a few weeks back our wages where one of the most competitive in the league outside of the big four. Yes of course we would need to "throw out half the team" most promoted teams that want to stay up need to do that. I also think our proximity to Dublin makes us a lot more attractive to Dublin based players rather than Harps, Sligo, Galway etc. You only have to look at how rovers performed when they got promoted.
Would we stay up if promoted? I don't think we would with Gill in charge. I like the guy but i think he makes too many mistakes but if he gets us up he definitely should get a shot at keeping us there.
jeff24
22/09/2008, 7:17 PM
''Can any Shels or Waterford heads give us their thoughts on the outcome of the game. Pretty big game tonight for both clubs and the 1st in general''
id b happy with a draw our away form tis season has'nt been great, and hopefully our home games against dundalk and shels willkeep us in it
22/09/2008, 8:50 PM
if dundalk go up no offence but robbie farrell is not a premier division footballer.. did nothin for us did nothin for dublin city.. .
22/09/2008, 8:58 PM
but was great for us......5th top goal scorer in the league on 12 goals. God I dream of having someone score 12 goals for us this season!