View Full Version : 1st division
Pages :
[
17]
We had to play 3 U18's on account of injuries but even still it was a shocking performance.
Dundalk should be kicking themselves that they didnt hit double figures!
That was an unbelievable result last night. I was checking it on aertel. Athlone obviously rolled over very easily unlike when they've played us this season and drawn each time:mad:.
Dundalk in pole position now.
Whats the feeling in the Waterford camp,do you fancy it tonight against Shels??
07/11/2008, 9:12 AM
We had to play 3 U18's on account of injuries but even still it was a shocking performance.
In the spirit of todays revelations; did the players have have much money on it? ;)
Was a really bad display alright ash.How many of you travelled up?? Who was the guy wearing the yellow boots and gloves for you...should never be allowed near a football pitch again!! Yeah we looked like scoring every time we went forward.
Carmine Russo ... he's usually not that bad.
I think Colm Jinks is the only one who could walk away with some dignity after that ...
even at 7-0 he was giving his all.
I only spotted about 6 fans for Athlone ... and of that Battery Rover and meself are
connected to the club so that means only about 4 turned up off their own bat.
[QUOTE=passinginterest;1054140]In the spirit of todays revelations; did the players have have much money on it? ;)
I hope so as its they only way they deserve payment for this week!
Felt sorry for Kevin Dunne, young lad getting his 1st start at centre back. Poor lad was roasted,
couldnt get to grips with the bounce at all. And all our free kicks ... jaysus no lift in them at all.
I dont think 1 kick was over chest height!
We had a few players starting who were carrying injuries too and only for lack of cover
probably wouldnt have even been in the squad but the scoreline says it all.
randomcomment
07/11/2008, 9:43 AM
That goalkeeper gave the worst goalkeeping performance I've ever seen in my life. Who is he?
Ciaran Kelly, due to work etc he only arrived in Oriel shortly before kick off
07/11/2008, 10:04 AM
Shels could be missing 9 tonight, gives Waterford a great chance.
eelmonster
07/11/2008, 10:12 AM
I read that too, sounds like ... gamesmanship.
Lamper.sffc
07/11/2008, 10:17 AM
Fair play to Dundalk. Athlone have been difficult to break down all season.
Big game tonight, Massive game id say.
Sporting fingal v Monaghan utd:D:o:(
07/11/2008, 10:21 AM
i read that too, sounds like ... Gamesmanship.
ya possibly, like a virus supposedly hitting the limerick camp the last time we played ye.
jinxy lilywhite
07/11/2008, 11:10 AM
ya possibly, like a virus supposedly hitting the limerick camp the last time we played ye.
Was that a virus or just an media mind game
L37Ultra
07/11/2008, 11:13 AM
Was that a virus or just an media mind game
Na, some players did have the flu I heard but don't think it was a widespread in the squad as the media potrayed it. It worked didn't it :p
jinxy lilywhite
07/11/2008, 11:23 AM
Na, some players did have the flu I heard but don't think it was a widespread in the squad as the media potrayed it. It worked didn't it :p
It did but I wont really care when we win the league next week :p
L37Ultra
07/11/2008, 11:29 AM
It did but I wont really care when we win the league next week :p
Only when we do you a favour by beating Shels ;)
trevy
07/11/2008, 12:28 PM
Whats the feeling in the Waterford camp,do you fancy it tonight against Shels??
Yeah we need a win to have any chance going into the last game and its our last home game of the season so we need to give it everything. We're only missing 2 players and Shels seem to be missing a lot so we have a decent chance.
Our recent form has been poor,only one win in 5 but hopefully we can turn it around for tonight.
Black and White
07/11/2008, 12:36 PM
Hoping for a waterford win tonight...if that where to happen then all we would need next week would be a draw! If ye win ye have a hard game...dont think monaghan have lost to any of the top four in Monaghan this season...they beat shels twice, held ye to a draw an held us to 2 draws me finks!!
Black and White
07/11/2008, 12:48 PM
An just a note on last nights game...athlone cant really complain about being mauled,too much and having the "we where depleted" etc etc excuse! ye still had several really experienced players on last night...Kelly used to be Derry and Sligos 1st choice keeper, McGhee, Lavine(waste of space),O'Dowd on the bench,Rossitor(whom Cassidy destroyed and was taken off after 30mins), mccartney, to name but a few!!!
No one is complaing about beinh hammered, although we did have 3 youngsters playing thats why I said
but even still it was a shocking performance.
Just to note though that of the experienced players, both Rossiter & Reilly were carrying knocks going in to the game.
Not an excuse cos at the end of the day we were brutal, injuries or not.
... and Jinks and Russo.
They had enough there to put up a better showing alright.
Happens like that though, and from our point of view really it was the defeat that was key, not the scale of it.
The one glimmer of hope we have is the mindset of Dundalk on the final day.
IF we were to win tonight, which we have to do to take it to the last day anyway, then Dundalk will realistically only need a draw at Kildare.
If they're going in needing a win you'd back them all day long, but if only a draw is needed, and Gill starts off looking for that...
As I say, it's only a glimmer. :)
Battery Rover
07/11/2008, 1:14 PM
Not an excuse cos at the end of the day we were brutal, injuries or not.
Definitely no excuses.
Just to conform injuries etc
Kevin Dunne - centre half - first ever game and he will remeber it forever but will also have learnt from it.
Robbie Egan - Only second start for Athlone - One for the future definitely
Injuries
Ian Rossiter - ankle - should not of even been on the pitch due to this
Phillip Reilly - ankle - Could barely walk getting onto the bus and only played with heavy strapping
Ian Coffey - ankle - heavilly strapped so he could play
Des Hope - always carries injury but had to play due to both regular centre halfs Jim Sheridan and Nigel Keady unable to play
Niall Scullion who was on the bench unabale to come on as sub due to reoccurence of ankle injury in warm up. Third time this season we have had a player injured in warm up in Oriel. Not the pitches problem just bad luck.
Regular starters Robbie Hamm and Anthony Hayes both injured.
Out of the panel of 20 we barely had the 16 needed to travel to make up the squad available.
But as said above no excuses totally outplayed on the night by a much better team who were well up for it.
On a side note I hear that Dundalk -1 goal were 6/5. Wonder how many got on that
jinxy lilywhite
07/11/2008, 1:22 PM
... and Jinks and Russo.
They had enough there to put up a better showing alright.
Happens like that though, and from our point of view really it was the defeat that was key, not the scale of it.
The one glimmer of hope we have is the mindset of Dundalk on the final day.
IF we were to win tonight, which we have to do to take it to the last day anyway, then Dundalk will realistically only need a draw at Kildare.
If they're going in needing a win you'd back them all day long, but if only a draw is needed, and Gill starts off looking for that...
As I say, it's only a glimmer. :)
That is my fear my blue friend. What happens tonight will set our tone for next weeks game. If shels win tonight we will win with the hope that limerick are good enough to get something. However if Shels lose or draw our mindset as you say will be too draw but we may just approach the game just to see it out.
i'd still prefer a waterford draw or victory tonight.
(never thought i'd this but) C'mon the blues
07/11/2008, 1:23 PM
Des Hope - always carries injury but had to play due to both regular centre halfs Jim Sheridan and Nigel Keady unable to play
I remember des when he used to play with Roscommon County under the old fella, always gave it his best.
jinxy lilywhite
07/11/2008, 1:24 PM
Definitely no excuses.
Just to conform injuries etc
Kevin Dunne - centre half - first ever game and he will remeber it forever but will also have learnt from it.
Robbie Egan - Only second start for Athlone - One for the future definitely
Injuries
Ian Rossiter - ankle - should not of even been on the pitch due to this
Phillip Reilly - ankle - Could barely walk getting onto the bus and only played with heavy strapping
Ian Coffey - ankle - heavilly strapped so he could play
Niall Scullion who was on the bench unabale to come on as sub due to reoccurence of ankle injury in warm up. Third time this season we have had a player injured in warm up in Oriel. Not the pitches problem just bad luck.
Regular starters Robbie Hamm and Anthony Hayes both injured.
Out of the panel of 20 we barely had the 16 needed to travel to make up the squad available.
But as said above no excuses totally outplayed on the night by a much better team who were well up for it.
On a side note I hear that Dundalk -1 goal were 6/5. Wonder how many got on that
In fairness now your no. 13 who came on caused a few slight problems with his enthusiasm. He looked decent enough for 10-15 mins.
At this stage of the season I wouldn't worry too much about it. It was on the cards that we had to hammer somebody. Athlone had nothing to play for(Kildare have no chance of overtaking you for 10th). I don't know how we didin't hit double figures and I'm actually dissappointed in that
I don't know how we didin't hit double figures and I'm actually dissappointed in that
Was just chatting about that with one of the lads on the way home from the
match ... imagine being Giller and storming into the dressing room after hitting
us for 7 and going on a rant on how they didnt do themselves justice!
The only upshot from night from our perspective is that young lads like
Dunner, Robbie Egan and Coffs got some 1st team experience as I'd be fairly
certain that they will be more involved in the squad next season.
Mistakes were made but they will learn from them and it'll make them better.
Never like congratulating Dundalk but fair play, ye were unquestionably the better
team and inflicted the kind of hammering our performance deserved.
Funny though as before the game I was chatting to Ritchie and he was joking
about us rolling over and loose 4 or 5 nil. I said we usually dont need to roll over
to let in a load of goals in Oriel and we laughed and joked about it ..........
Battery Rover
07/11/2008, 2:05 PM
Number 13 that came on was Ian Coffey. One very good thing I noticed in the game was that the young lads in their first seasons with the club never gave up even when 7-0 down and that was excellent to see although I would have never doubted their committment to the blue and black
Youths4Ever
07/11/2008, 10:13 PM
Shel got the result then needed tonight surely there's to lose now
07/11/2008, 10:17 PM
I'll go to Kildare next Saturday and just hope Limerick don't put out the pathetic line up they put out tonight..
07/11/2008, 10:21 PM
Shel got the result then needed tonight surely there's to lose now
Ya all they have to do is beat Limerick and not worry about Dundalk's result (unless of course Limerick are leading Tolka), but Dundalk have to keep an eye on the score in Tolka even if they are beating Kildare. Limerick are going to give it everything in the last match so if Shels do beat Limerick they won't do it easily and will most certainly have worked for the title right up to the last day and be deseved Champions.
07/11/2008, 10:22 PM
I'll go to Kildare next Saturday and just hope Limerick don't put out the pathetic line up they put out tonight..
as i said in the other thread, not going to happen:D;)
oriel
07/11/2008, 10:56 PM
Holiday, Limerick not the problem, Waterford were a joke tonight, chance to draw level and make a fight of it ??? nothing to offer in response.
In saying that shels might be happy tonight, they still have to win on sat night.............
GlasnevinRed
08/11/2008, 12:24 AM
Holiday, Limerick not the problem, Waterford were a joke tonight, chance to draw level and make a fight of it ??? nothing to offer in response.
In saying that shels might be happy tonight, they still have to win on sat night.............
Waterford were ok tonight. Gave us a few scares but we held on. It's obviously by no means over but I'm much more confident now than I was before tonight. Over a week to recover now for any injuries or illnesses. Saturday will be tense
Youths4Ever
08/11/2008, 12:03 PM
where you at the game? I only ask because I was and Waterford where far from a joke. IMO should have made some changes sooner but where not a joke
higgins
08/11/2008, 2:20 PM
Waterford and the ref tried everything to get that equaliser but it never came.
All 11 players (and sub) were superb for Shels last night.
Waterford gave it everything and could have had 3 or 4 red cards they were that fired up.
One game to go :)
Dundalk fans still think they are favourites ?
08/11/2008, 3:25 PM
Of course we're not. For the record, the bookies have it: Shelbourne 1/2, Dundalk 6/4.
Limerick are a good team though and I can't see your match against them being a stroll in the park.. If Fingal were able to hold you to a 0-0 then Limerick can too.
Having said that, I think you've taken 19 points from the last 21 available and if you do go on and beat Limerick then I'll hold my hands up and say well done. The table doesn't lie at the end of the day.
:ball:
The Lilywhites
08/11/2008, 3:26 PM
Obviously not. It's all over. Congrats. :ball:
LeixlipRed
08/11/2008, 5:22 PM
Fantastic travelling support from the Reds last night. Bring on Saturday
Youths4Ever
08/11/2008, 6:29 PM
Waterford and the ref tried everything to get that equaliser but it never came.
All 11 players (and sub) were superb for Shels last night.
Waterford gave it everything and could have had 3 or 4 red cards they were that fired up.
Waterford did try for equaliser but I seriously don't know why you brought ref into it made bad decisions for both teams but by no means influenced outcome of game
Shles support was good
GalwayRed
08/11/2008, 7:05 PM
Waterford werent a joke last night even if they didnt put in their best performance as has been said they were fired up for it and it wasnt surprising they ended with 10 men. Either way we were superb last night and its hard to fault a single player in a red jersey. Well deserved victory and a fantastic turnout for an away match. Limerick wont be easy by any stretch of the imagination and i doubt theyll put out the team they played against Kildare
GlasnevinRed
09/11/2008, 6:16 PM
The team really showed they wanted it in the RSC on Friday as did Keely. If they show the same dedication and fight for everything, I can't see us being stopped.
I know it won't be easy but we're almost there
higgins
09/11/2008, 8:05 PM
but I seriously don't know why you brought ref into it
In the 92nd min he allowed a throw that went out on the half way line to be taken about 20 yards further up. Due to the heavy wind this allowed the thrower to aim for the centre of the box.
It was clearly giving Waterford an advantage.
Yeah he did that deliberately to give us an advantage alright.
Funny, then, that he didn't realise that not awarding ye a penalty earlier might have offered us even more of an advantage!
Bit of a lapse out of him there.
To be honest, that's the kind of referee favouritism we, or Dundalk, could do without. :D
(Not saying it wasn't a penalty BTW, it was, I saw the replay at half time.)
Youths4Ever
09/11/2008, 9:50 PM
In the 92nd min he allowed a throw that went out on the half way line to be taken about 20 yards further up. Due to the heavy wind this allowed the thrower to aim for the centre of the box.
It was clearly giving Waterford an advantage.
What about ever other throw in and free kick Shelbourne and Waterford got through out the match ref was poor at insuring that throw in and free kicks where taken from where meant to be from for 90+ plus mins was it ok then or just when Waterford where given the advantage cause Shelbourne took plenty advantage of his slackness on this as well
Higgo
09/11/2008, 10:05 PM
Higgins, don't even bother gettin' involved. The fact of the matter is....when the pressure was on, the players showed a fantastic hunger for the fight, the support was second to none and we got the reward we deserved. I'm not saying it's over, far from it. But some of the comments in this thread are petty in the extreme. I don't know why so many people dislike Shels (St. Pats being the exception), at least we took our (deserved) punishment with some dignity and are trying to re-build within our means. This thread smacks of jealousy and pettiness in my opinion, sad really when you consider what we have brought to this division this year.
Lamper.sffc
09/11/2008, 11:13 PM
at least we took our (deserved) punishment with some dignity
If by dignity you mean bitterness and blaming everybody else but yourselves then yeah i would agree.;)
Youths4Ever
10/11/2008, 9:15 AM
Higgins, don't even bother gettin' involved. The fact of the matter is....when the pressure was on, the players showed a fantastic hunger for the fight, the support was second to none and we got the reward we deserved. I'm not saying it's over, far from it. But some of the comments in this thread are petty in the extreme. I don't know why so many people dislike Shels (St. Pats being the exception), at least we took our (deserved) punishment with some dignity and are trying to re-build within our means. This thread smacks of jealousy and pettiness in my opinion, sad really when you consider what we have brought to this division this year.
Why not get involved cause someone made a rational point? Several Shels fans on here think everybody is out to get them I was merely stating a fact that the ref was not exactly strict throughout 90 mins about where free kicks and throws in where taken from and both teams took advantage of this
I have made no extreme comments I merely stated what I saw at the game yes some people do make extreme comments but to be perfectly honest I could care less who wins yes it would be nice to get rid of Thursday night trip to Dundalk but if not so be it. If (I say if as not over yet but fully expect them to win) Shels win the first division then will have deserved to.
10/11/2008, 3:32 PM
Regular starter... and Anthony Hayes
See that says a lot in itself...
Lamper.sffc
15/11/2008, 11:58 PM
Congratulations Dundalk. Hope you do well next year in the top flight.
Shels:p
Black and White
16/11/2008, 1:25 AM
Dundalks going up going up...dundalks going uuuuuuuuuppppppp!!shels who???
Congrats Limerick agus thank you!!hearts in your mouth stuff!!!
And another note....shels fans...radio reports suggested a good few car windows smashed in round drumcongrath...care to explain????
GenerationXI
16/11/2008, 1:30 AM
And another note....shels fans...radio reports suggested a good few car windows smashed in round drumcongrath...care to explain????
Some Shels fans are scum. End of. :rolleyes: