View Full Version : 1st division

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18

31/10/2008, 9:30 AM
anyone know if its worth a few bob on kildare at home to waterford tonight at 4 to 1. dont know much about kildare but waterford are shocking at the moment . they lost at home to dundalk and lost 5 0 away to lims 2 weeks ago. the only thing i know about kildare is that tony cousins taking over as manager during the week. usually the players will raise their game for a new manager. the players may be useless though.

have not backed it yet but would like opinions

ya i'd go for a draw, with cousins taking over kildare will be up for it like all teams with a new manager coming in.

trevy
31/10/2008, 9:47 AM
The league is wide open again and even Waterford have an outside chance now. I had given up on it after last weekends results but if we beat Kildare tonight and Shels and Fingal draw we could be in with a shout again with Shelbourne at home next Friday night.

monutdfc
31/10/2008, 10:07 AM
I hear Gill was looking over his shoulder at Scully in the stand last night!

Can someone post the remaining fixtures for the clubs still in the mix? (or are they earlier in the thread?)

Louth4sam
31/10/2008, 10:17 AM
wheres all the Dundalk Fans :confused:

At the game you clown. Where else would we be?

Well done Limerick. Played some good stuff at times and did well to hold on. I always felt this would be our toughest match out of the remaining games. Have 4 slow defenders and always struggle against the very quick Limerick team. Limerick could be a very decent side next season.

As for the league, we need a large dose of good luck now but cant see Shelbourne not winning it. Prob deserved it overall and if not for Floods injury they may even have it wrapped up already.

shep
31/10/2008, 10:25 AM
:(Dear Santa,

I Know its early but what i would really like for christmas this year is a 2+ goal win for Fingal.I have been a good boy all year and said my prayers.

Also if you could miraclously guide us to win our last two games even with an incompetant manager at the helm it would be great.

Thanks Santa...your our only hope now

ndrog
31/10/2008, 10:34 AM
the only positive thing to come out of our supporters meeting last was the news that youd f@uked it up again :D

shep
31/10/2008, 10:42 AM
the only positive thing to come out of our supporters meeting last was the news that youd f@uked it up again :D

Oh Yeah Santa,thanks for last years present,although when i asked for Drogheda fans to get their comuppancce i didnt think you would do such a good job!!!!!!

Wheres your money gone..wheres your money gone!!!! Sh*t club no fans!!!!

31/10/2008, 11:25 AM
i hear gill was looking over his shoulder at scully in the stand last night!

Can someone post the remaining fixtures for the clubs still in the mix? (or are they earlier in the thread?)

not exactly good for scully to be in the stand last night. Surely this would have had an effect on gill.

Major Tom
31/10/2008, 11:34 AM
Think RTE need to pull their fingers out and turn some attention to this league.

Just think - if Waterford beat Kildare tonight, and Fingal beat Shels, we'll be going into the last two games of the season with just 2 points separating the top 4.

And just to add extra spice, Waterford play Shels next week.

Like trevy, I thought the game was up for us after the last few weeks.

But after last night, maybe, just maybe...............?

31/10/2008, 11:37 AM
Ya some bit of coverage. Even setanta or TG4 to pick up the last few games in the run in.

jinxy lilywhite
31/10/2008, 11:42 AM
I hear Gill was looking over his shoulder at Scully in the stand last night!

I was in the stand last night. Can't say I saw him though

eelmonster
31/10/2008, 11:43 AM
not exactly good for scully to be in the stand last night. Surely this would have had an effect on gill.

Agree completely, bad form, some members of the board want rid of him, I heard that Pete Mahon was in the stand too, though didn't see him. We don't deserve to win the league, and I wouldn't be surprised to see Waterford sneak it on the last day of the season.

Who was your number 6? He completely dominated the midfield. Have you changed colours, or is that green shirt your third kit?

31/10/2008, 11:48 AM
I'm gutted after last night but it was hardly surprising given the jinx that Limerick have had over us for the last year and a half. It was all doom and gloom in the Lilywhite Lounge after the match last night but looking at the remaining fixtures in the cold light of day, Shelbourne could drop points in any of their three remaining games (the way this division is though, they could also win them all)...

The crazy thing is, if Fingal were to win 2-0 tonight then we'd be back on top.. I think I'll have to go to Tolka tonight to see what happens. If Shelbourne do win tonight then it's hard to see them not getting the point in Waterford and the home win on the last day that would be enough to clinch it. However, if Fingal do manage to get a result tonight then it's still wide open.. The result last night actually gives Fingal even more of an incentive to try and win tonight.

jinxy lilywhite
31/10/2008, 12:03 PM
I think we are clutching at straws here and the quicker we realise it's over then the less painful it will be :( in the long run

31/10/2008, 12:06 PM
I think we are clutching at straws here and the quicker we realise it's over then the less painful it will be :( in the long run

I don't think I'm clutching at straws yet. Shels have only gotten 2 points from their three matches against Fingal so far this season.. I'm definitely waiting until 10pm tonight before throwing in the towel. :ball:

The Sheliban
31/10/2008, 12:33 PM
I don't think I'm clutching at straws yet. Shels have only gotten 2 points from their three matches against Fingal so far this season.. I'm definitely waiting until 10pm tonight before throwing in the towel. :ball:

Quite right too. I really can't see us getting seven points from our last three games.

31/10/2008, 12:34 PM
who was your number 6? He completely dominated the midfield. Have you changed colours, or is that green shirt your third kit?

wasn't at the match so it WAS either lyons (small fella) or colbert (taller one). Both are very good midfielders.

31/10/2008, 12:37 PM
Limerick at full strength.

Dave Ryan; Peter White, Paul Danaher, Tommy Barrett, Brian Cleary; David Ryan, Wayne Colbert, Thomas Lyons, Paul Walsh; Gary Sheehan, John Tierney.

Just the small matter of our captain and our Irish U-18 international midfielder ;)

The Lilywhites
31/10/2008, 12:38 PM
Colbert I think.

31/10/2008, 12:41 PM
Who was your number 6? He completely dominated the midfield. Have you changed colours, or is that green shirt your third kit?

Wayne Colbert, one of the best midfielders in the Division.

It is both our third kit and ugly as sin.

jinx that Limerick have had over us

Yes, it must be some kind of voodoo curse, nothing to do with the quality of football. :rolleyes:

No worries boys.

We beat ye no hassle.

We'll beat Shels no hassle. :)

Be sure to thank that loudmouth clown Gill for your worries though.

31/10/2008, 12:57 PM
Any radio stations doing live coverage of the Shels v Fingal game tonight?

31/10/2008, 12:57 PM
Congratulations Limerick. We where beaten by a bunch of kids. .

Ten of those 23 or under ;)

Keep that team and you'll go far next season. Its a pity you couldn't perform in the opening stages of the season because you would be winners

We didn't have that team in the opening stages of the season. :o

Buile Shuibhne
31/10/2008, 1:02 PM
Any radio stations doing live coverage of the Shels v Fingal game tonight?

Not that I know of and we're not doing text updates on our MB tonight. Everyone's going to be at the game.

31/10/2008, 1:03 PM
Ten of those 23 or under ;)

Don't tell Mick Wallace that, he'll have the U.12's out next week to prove that we're unique and have the youngest squad on the planet :eek:

31/10/2008, 1:03 PM
Not that I know of and we're not doing text updates on our MB tonight. Everyone's going to be at the game.

pity, i'll just have to keep an eye on extratime.

31/10/2008, 1:04 PM
pity, i'll just have to keep an eye on extratime.

RTE radio will probably have updates on Radio One Extra or Long Wave or whatever they call it.

31/10/2008, 1:07 PM
RTE radio will probably have updates on Radio One Extra or Long Wave or whatever they call it.

cool cheers, i'll check them out.

jinxy lilywhite
31/10/2008, 1:14 PM
We didn't have that team in the opening stages of the season. :o

Where did you unearth them from?
Are they all registered? :rolleyes:

31/10/2008, 1:35 PM
Where did you unearth them from?

The Junior Leagues and the like

Are they all registered?

Yep :)

eelmonster
31/10/2008, 1:38 PM
Are they all registered?

Ha, if only. Colbert, eh. He was excellent last night, hope you can hang on to him ;)

31/10/2008, 1:42 PM
What is this "The Colbert Report"?!.

*gets coat*

Lamper.sffc
31/10/2008, 2:09 PM
Do yous think many Dundalk fans will come down to the match tonight or are yous all too down in the dumps.
I still think its way too early to be chucking in the towel.:confused:

jinxy lilywhite
31/10/2008, 2:19 PM
The Junior Leagues and the like

Yep :)

you have to say fair play to kerley and your board for taking a punt on them

31/10/2008, 2:35 PM
Do yous think many Dundalk fans will come down to the match tonight or are yous all too down in the dumps.
I still think its way too early to be chucking in the towel.:confused:

I'll be there Lamper. Should be a few other Dublin based fans who will pop along also..

"There's only one Robbie Doyle!" :eek:

christo
31/10/2008, 2:38 PM
anyone know if its worth a few bob on kildare at home to waterford tonight at 4 to 1. dont know much about kildare but waterford are shocking at the moment . they lost at home to dundalk and lost 5 0 away to lims 2 weeks ago. the only thing i know about kildare is that tony cousins taking over as manager during the week. usually the players will raise their game for a new manager. the players may be useless though.

have not backed it yet but would like opinions

I don't know Kildare have a few good players who never got a run under Ryan for some reason or another and the ones who did play weren't motivated enough.A team under new managment sometimes can raise their game but we are missing one of our best players who's away on international duty with the under 18's. We did go close to beating them under Ryan so if your feeling slighty risky I'd go for it. Another factor is that we have to play Monaghan on Sunday so we might field a slighty weaker team and play for a draw and go for the win against Monaghan. But we do need all the points that we can get

Joey Killester
31/10/2008, 3:56 PM
Im unbelivably excited and nervous at the same time, you have to love football.

Lamper.sffc
31/10/2008, 5:56 PM
I'll be there Lamper. Should be a few other Dublin based fans who will pop along also..

"There's only one Robbie Doyle!"

Blasphemy :D

Just about to leave for the game. Im sh#ting it. Cant wait. Will it be :) or :(

31/10/2008, 8:44 PM
Ha, if only. Colbert, eh. He was excellent last night, hope you can hang on to him ;)

I couldn't for the life of me see him moving to Dundalk if that's what you mean.

Lamper.sffc
31/10/2008, 8:47 PM
Sh*t club no lights, Sh*T club no lights.

Have you paid the esb nooooo nooooo :D

What a complete let down.
Hey holidaysong did you travel down?

Rumour is the game will be played on monday.

31/10/2008, 8:50 PM
I think Fingal should get a 3-0 win.

Now that's Entertainment!!

The Lilywhites
31/10/2008, 8:54 PM

Tomorrow night or Sunday afternoon was what was being discussed.

boris
31/10/2008, 9:02 PM
monday eveningfor the match was the talk as i left the ground. but one
the shels officials was saying it depended on the lights being fixed so that could be still up in the air. any shels fans want to tell us about the posters that they were about to display until the lights went out!!!, even had a dundalk crest????
a bit of hassle getting money back but eventually in the end shels paid out but most poeple had gone home!!!! just adds to the excitment. who said fingal would bring nothing to the league!!!!

LeixlipRed
31/10/2008, 9:09 PM
There's some charity game on Sunday so that's out more than likely. Monday sounds good. Just hoping it's not on tuesday as I've a game myself.

31/10/2008, 9:11 PM
I think Fingal should get a 3-0 win.

Now that's Entertainment!!

Bloody teams moaning about the lights. They could have got a few cars to line up along the touchline and shine the lights on the pitch. Look what Limerick have started :mad:

31/10/2008, 9:15 PM
They could have got a few cars to line up along the touchline

In Tolka Park??

01/11/2008, 12:09 PM
Sh*t club no lights, Sh*T club no lights.

Have you paid the esb nooooo nooooo :D

What a complete let down.
Hey holidaysong did you travel down?

Yeah I was there. There was about ten Dundalk fans up behind and to the right of the Fingal fans.. The funniest was when we started up a 'you haven't paid the ESB' chant and the Fingal fans looked at us not knowing who the hell we were. They had a little whisper among themselves and then decided to join in! :D

I did have to leave the relative safety of the Fingal end to venture over to the sea of red and down the tunnel to get my refund though. I took quite a bit of stick about the Limerick result.. :o I don't think I would have worn the Dundalk colours if I'd known I was going to end up down there!

dannydundalk
01/11/2008, 7:10 PM
Yeah I was there. There was about ten Dundalk fans up behind and to the right of the Fingal fans.. The funniest was when we started up a 'you haven't paid the ESB' chant and the Fingal fans looked at us not knowing who the hell we were. They had a little whisper among themselves and then decided to join in! :D

I did have to leave the relative safety of the Fingal end to venture over to the sea of red and down the tunnel to get my refund though. I took quite a bit of stick about the Limerick result.. :o I don't think I would have worn the Dundalk colours if I'd known I was going to end up down there!

fair play holidaysong

Higgo
01/11/2008, 8:32 PM
Yeah I was there. There was about ten Dundalk fans up behind and to the right of the Fingal fans.. The funniest was when we started up a 'you haven't paid the ESB' chant and the Fingal fans looked at us not knowing who the hell we were.!

That really was the essence of comedy:rolleyes:

01/11/2008, 8:33 PM
That really was the essence of comedy:rolleyes:

More entertaining than sitting quietly in the dark.. :rolleyes:

Higgo
01/11/2008, 8:44 PM
More entertaining than sitting quietly in the dark.. :rolleyes:

Just don't bother goin' on Monday and, regardless of the circumstances which arise, you won't have to put up with anything like you endured last night:rolleyes: