View Full Version : 1st division
Pages :
[
12]
Lamper.sffc
06/10/2008, 10:51 AM
Waterford Bottled it because they knew they'd be top if they won. Thats what I call bottling it. Waterford have to play Fingal this coming Friday and thats a massive game for ye and it depends on which Fingal turns up.
Which fingal turns up may just depend on how we do against athlone. If we beat them then waterford will get a harder game from us no doubt. The waterford game would be too important a game for fingal to loose.
If we draw or are beaten by athlone then the game against waterford will not have the same significance as we would be out of the running for the title at that point. Im just hoping for 6 points this week
Battery Rover
10/10/2008, 9:10 PM
The way the results are going it looks like no one wants to get promoted as with some of the big clubs in serious trouble and probably not going to get Premier licences the first division looks like the place to be
Maybe Gill should concentrate more on getting Dundalk promoted instead of mouthing off to the papers about matters that don't concern him :D
Battery Rover
10/10/2008, 9:24 PM
Maybe Gill should concentrate more on getting Dundalk promoted instead of mouthing off to the papers about matters that don't concern him :D
I recall someone on here saying a long time ago that "if john Gill was a bar of chocolate he would have swallowed himself years ago":D
The league need people like Gill and Keely. Could you imagine if everyone was like Matthews and Kerley
I recall someone on here saying a long time ago that "if john Gill was a bar of chocolate he would have swallowed himself years ago":D
The league need people like Gill and Keely. Could you imagine if everyone was like Matthews and Kerley
I can
http://www.tinybutpowerful.com/images/smallglobe.jpg
10/10/2008, 10:51 PM
For fook's sake, Shels do the decent thing and go up. Don't necessarily increase your budget or anything but for God's sake somone take charge. The First could be interesting next year as BR said.
LeixlipRed
11/10/2008, 10:00 PM
Top of the league, let's all laugh at Dundalk :) Super performance tonight as well surprisingly :eek:
The Lilywhites
11/10/2008, 10:26 PM
Top of the league, let's all laugh at Dundalk :)
Wouldn't get too excited yet. You're top by a single goal. WOW!
LeixlipRed
11/10/2008, 10:32 PM
3 games ago we were 8 points behind you. Now we're top. I'm allowed to be excited by that. Fully realise it's not over yet but for the moment I'm happy
The Lilywhites
11/10/2008, 10:36 PM
On paper, I reckon we have the easiest run-in of the top four. Means fùck all in our current form though. Fingal favourites for me.
Con-Con
11/10/2008, 11:19 PM
I thoght Dungdalk had it this year, they may have it their bad patch at the worst time possible.
The Lilywhites
11/10/2008, 11:22 PM
I thoght Dungdalk had it this year, they may have it their bad patch at the worst time possible.
The only positive about staying in the First Division would be we'd get the opportunity to whip your ass three times next year. :D
jeff24
12/10/2008, 12:54 AM
On paper, I reckon we have the easiest run-in of the top four. Means fùck all in our current form though. Fingal favourites for me.
me arse, fingal got a freak result against us fri nite, they will not win da league this season, id put my life on it
Lamper.sffc
12/10/2008, 2:55 AM
me arse, fingal got a freak result against us fri nite, they will not win da league this season, id put my life on it
:eek:. What. Are you serious. You got well and truly beaten. No way was that a freak result. Where you at the match. We may not win the league but at least we will go down trying. Aint no bottlers here.
jeff24
12/10/2008, 9:50 AM
ye got 4 r 5 chances in da whole game and scored em, i know ye took yer chance and scored but another night it could have been 4 or 5 the otherway, i wont argue with the bottleing part tho
L37Ultra
12/10/2008, 11:32 AM
ye got 4 r 5 chances in da whole game and scored em,
It was 3-1 ;)
blue til i die
12/10/2008, 12:18 PM
blues should have easily beaten fingal on friday, fingal had a gud 10-15 spell when they scored, muck for the rest,only other chances they had were on the break because we had to push. if we had some decent striker, it would and easily could have been 4 or 5, and only for Clarke in goal.
in saying that, i dont think we deserve to win the league now, 0-0 against dundalk, and wasting the 2nd chance to go top on friday!
Lamper.sffc
12/10/2008, 2:17 PM
Lads:rolleyes:. We had the better of the first 5 to 10 mins. Waterford then had a decent 10 to 15 after that. Then we murdered yas. Went 3 up and sat back in the second half. The only reason you had the better of the second half is because we let you. I know this, you know this.
Your goal should not have counted because the ball was over the line when he crossed it. Linesman failed to see this. To say you should have easily beaten us is a bit of a joke and seems like sour grapes to me. Do you really think sporting would have played the way we did in the second have if the game was at nil nil. We sat on our lead and hit you on the break. Thats what a team does when you go 3 up.
CSFShels
12/10/2008, 7:27 PM
I honestly can't fathom how fans of a team who conceded 3 goals in a game, can honestly say they deserved to win or should have won that game.
12/10/2008, 7:46 PM
I honestly can't fathom how fans of a team who conceded 3 goals in a game, can honestly say they deserved to win or should have won that game.
Unless they'd scored 4 goals of course;)
CSFShels
12/10/2008, 8:07 PM
Haha but then they wouldn't have lost the game in the first place:cool:
Lads:rolleyes:. We had the better of the first 5 to 10 mins. Waterford then had a decent 10 to 15 after that. Then we murdered yas. Went 3 up and sat back in the second half. The only reason you had the better of the second half is because we let you. I know this, you know this.
Your goal should not have counted because the ball was over the line when he crossed it. Linesman failed to see this. To say you should have easily beaten us is a bit of a joke and seems like sour grapes to me. Do you really think sporting would have played the way we did in the second have if the game was at nil nil. We sat on our lead and hit you on the break. Thats what a team does when you go 3 up.
That's neither here nor there, the fact is we DID have the better of the second half, and should have at least equalised on chances. Our penalty was a soft one, but had it been scored I've no doubt we'd have got a third, and deservedly so. Momentum was very much on our side at that point.
That's a load of crap about the ball over the line, BTW. I know this, you know this.
Overall we paid for poor finishing and kamikaze defending in a fifteen minute spell, for which our main culprit was subbed off at half time. Ye had 4 chances and scored three. We had 6-8 and could only score once.
Fair play, ye did what is required to win a game, i.e. score more and concede less, but to say ye murdered us is ludicrous, and goes against both what I witnessed and every single report of the match I've seen since.
Honestly can't fathom how someone could have an opinion on a game they didn't see or hear, but there you go.
Was in Wexford Friday night,if Dundalk play like that for rest of year we wont be in the top 3,nevermind the top flight,defending was a joke,how Gill could drop Simon Kelly for an unfit and uninterested Aidan lynch baffles me.
blue til i die
13/10/2008, 1:41 PM
i think the report on extratime pretty much summed up the match.
Lamper.sffc
13/10/2008, 3:44 PM
That's neither here nor there, the fact is we DID have the better of the second half
Of course it matters. You had the posesion because we sat on our lead. You couldnt do anything with the possesion. The fact that you couldnt put the ball in the back says a lot about your team on the night.
and should have at least equalised on chances. Our penalty was a soft one, but had it been scored I've no doubt we'd have got a third, and deservedly so. Momentum was very much on our side at that point.
two or three decent chances and the odd half chance. Penalty was soft. You cant just assume that if you scored you would have gone on to draw.
I didnt know waterford lads used crystal balls to predict what happens in matches. Agreed that if you had scored the penalty it would have been tough ending to the match for us. But like you said your side where finishing badly, so no guarantees
That's a load of crap about the ball over the line, BTW. I know this, you know this.
Mate. I was sitting down that end, it did cross the line. You would have been looking from the waterford area, much harder to see it. Im not just making this up to add weight to my argument. Believe me it was out.
Overall we paid for poor finishing and kamikaze defending in a fifteen minute spell, for which our main culprit was subbed off at half time. Ye had 4 chances and scored three. We had 6-8 and could only score once.
We where better defenders and better finishers. Thus deserved to win. How many of the 6 to 8 where half chances. I dont seem to remember our keeper flying all over the place to stop all these shots on our goal. We where more clinical and better organised so again i say we deserved to win.
Fair play, ye did what is required to win a game, i.e. score more and concede less, but to say ye murdered us is ludicrous, and goes against both what I witnessed and every single report of the match I've seen since.
Firstly i didnt say we murdered yous overall. I said we murdered you for that spell at the end of the first half. You had posession for good spells in the game but possesion doesnt win you a game. You didnt know what to do with it thus showing you where poor on the night. Scorline never lies
Look i doubt we will agree on this. You have your opinion and i have mine. Which is fair enough.
All the best for the rest of the season.
Lamper.sffc
13/10/2008, 3:51 PM
i think the report on extratime pretty much summed up the match.
Funny thing is. I dont think it did. Theres a surprise for ya
13/10/2008, 6:06 PM
To be honest, at this stage in the season it doesn't matter if your team plays like Brazil - it's all about the points and picking up three points while playing crap will do just fine.. At the end of the day Fingal got the three points and that's all that matters!
blue til i die
14/10/2008, 11:36 PM
Funny thing is. I dont think it did. Theres a surprise for ya
wow, i'm shocked :p
Splurge
15/10/2008, 12:02 AM
Was in Wexford Friday night,if Dundalk play like that for rest of year we wont be in the top 3,nevermind the top flight,defending was a joke,how Gill could drop Simon Kelly for an unfit and uninterested Aidan lynch baffles me.
I toough youse looked woeful, hard to believe your so far ahead of us. On saying that Waterford were brutal when they beat us 1:0 at there's recently and we beat Fungus convincingly recently aswell. The difference between top and bottom isnt a vast as most people think.
Here's hoping the youths can get into the top 6 where they should be on the ,ajority of this yrs performances.
Lamper.sffc
15/10/2008, 8:40 AM
I toough youse looked woeful, hard to believe your so far ahead of us. On saying that Waterford were brutal when they beat us 1:0 at there's recently and we beat Fungus convincingly recently aswell. The difference between top and bottom isnt a vast as most people think.
Here's hoping the youths can get into the top 6 where they should be on the ,ajority of this yrs performances.
I think as the season has gone on most of the teams not challenging for the title have improved. That coupled with the bottling of the top teams due to nerves against the also rans has meant the gap has closed. Wont mean you will be up there next year.
Fungus, thats terrible, yous play in pink, ha so there:p
Before you get too big for your boots and wonder how we are so far ahead of you,just think back to earlier in the year when we spanked you 5 nil up there. We are playing muck,but we are still much better than yourselves,as proven on three other occasions this season!!
Youths4Ever
15/10/2008, 1:01 PM
Before you get too big for your boots and wonder how we are so far ahead of you,just think back to earlier in the year when we spanked you 5 nil up there. We are playing muck,but we are still much better than yourselves,as proven on three other occasions this season!!
Yes you are still a better team than us but not by as much as you like to think. Yes you beat us 5-0 and we played awful that night but you where lucky to beat us twice at home we where close to ye in both of those games as acknowledged by both your players and management.
Also think people are under estimating our performance on Friday night. Yes Dundalk where not at their best but we put in an excellent performance and at times did not let Dundalk play.
Louth4sam
15/10/2008, 1:14 PM
Team P W D L F A GD Pts
Wexford Youths 30 8 6 16 26 42 -16 30
Dundalk 31 17 8 6 53 27 26 59
Yeah your right not much between the teams....:rolleyes::rolleyes:
15/10/2008, 2:52 PM
I tend to work off the bizarre logic that the league table (points deductions notwithstanding) will, over the course of a season, do a pretty good job at telling us which teams are better than others... :ball:
15/10/2008, 2:53 PM
I tend to work off the bizarre logic that the league table (points deductions notwithstanding) will, over the course of a season, do a pretty good job at telling us which teams are better than others... :ball:
Freak.
15/10/2008, 2:55 PM
Freak.
Personal abuse, personal abuse! :D
Lamper.sffc
15/10/2008, 2:57 PM
Team P W D L F A GD Pts
Wexford Youths 30 8 6 16 26 42 -16 30
Dundalk 31 17 8 6 53 27 26 59
Yeah your right not much between the teams....:rolleyes::rolleyes:
Ah yes but they have a game in hand.:D
15/10/2008, 3:03 PM
Personal abuse, personal abuse! :D
Actually that was a compliment! :D Freaks are what make the world interesting!
dublin_owl
15/10/2008, 3:35 PM
Yeah your right not much between the teams.
Thanks, an acknowledgement was all we were looking for. ;)
CSFShels
15/10/2008, 8:47 PM
Honestly can't fathom how someone could have an opinion on a game they didn't see or hear, but there you go.
I'm not forming an opinion on this game in particular, moreso the fact that if a team concedes 3, how they can expect to win the game is beyond me. Its very rare for sides to score 4 against the teams up the top of the league.
Great game last night,tension was unbearable at the end,but very important win for us.Thought we deserved it on balance of play.Had Robbie Farrell scored the tap in it would have been a lot easier on the heart.
Hope Wexford give Shels a good test tonight.
LeixlipRed
17/10/2008, 10:22 PM
Top of the league again. Two horse race now
17/10/2008, 10:41 PM
Top of the league again. Two horse race now
and from what ive seen this season the table does not lie. Dundalk and Shels definately the best two teams. Think Limerick are going to have a big say in the winner of this league having to play both Dundalk and Shels still. Could come down to Shels vs Limerick on the last day of the season.
Blue-Army
17/10/2008, 10:51 PM
We're out of it now unless we win both of our next 2 home games - against Dundalk, and Shels. BRING IT ON!
COME ON BLUES!!!
Lamper.sffc
18/10/2008, 1:03 AM
Hard to post at this point. But fair play to dundalk. The pressure was on their team big time and they pulled off the result.
18/10/2008, 1:21 AM
Can we start next seasons thread early??
I just can't wait!! :D
L37Ultra
18/10/2008, 1:28 AM
Can we start next seasons thread early??
I just can't wait!!
Its going to be a long 4 months. :eek:
After tonight I think next season is going to be unreal. :D
Maybe for once we can have a quiet off-season and come back with the same squad:confused:
Heres hoping Dundalk go up and Harps stay up.
Looking forward to nice close away trips to Galway and Cobh.
18/10/2008, 1:32 AM
Maybe for once we can have a quiet off-season and come back with the same squad:confused:
No doubt Galway, Cobh, Cork, Pike Rovers etc will come in in the off season and poach all our players as it was in the beginning and ever shall be.
But you know what??
Tonight, for one night only, we are the dogs ballaxe.
And you know what else??
After fifteen years, it's almost enough. :)
L37Ultra
18/10/2008, 1:39 AM
No doubt Galway, Cobh, Cork, Pike Rovers etc will come in in the off season and poach all our players as it was in the beginning and ever shall be.
But you know what??
Tonight, for one night only, we are the dogs ballaxe.
And you know what else??
After fifteen years, it's almost enough.
I heard (And don't quote me because I may be wrong :eek:) that all the first team squad has already signed contracts for next season.
The majority of the young players Kerley signed in June/July are still only in 2nd and 3rd year in college in UL so I can't see why any of them would leave. Just hope we keep the same squad for next season.
Add another 3 or 4 experienced players and we will be up there, if not winning the league.
If LTID is positive, things must be going well :p:D
18/10/2008, 1:42 AM
If LTID is positive, things must be going well :p:D
Amen to that :D
Monkfish was all for taking one of the flags and changing the writing on it to "L37 Ultra Negative" for me at one stage tonight!!