View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

abbeyvale
11/07/2008, 9:12 AM
Next Tuesday I believe.

Corbally are back training since last night!!!! and had one or two new faces training with them also, from what I hear.

oscar
11/07/2008, 8:21 PM
heard boro are flyin it in trainin!!! hard to keep it goin for a whole year!!id say they'l have a few cases of burnout!

they're training hard alright,as for burnout....time will tell

halo16
15/07/2008, 12:03 PM
anyone have any idea when all the premier teams are back training?also do we have a confirmation date on the start of the premier season yet?

dared
15/07/2008, 12:39 PM
Must clubs are starting back either this week or next no idea when its kicking off thou.....

Centrehalf
15/07/2008, 2:21 PM
Must clubs are starting back either this week or next no idea when its kicking off thou.....

Kicking off weekend 23rd / 24th August

limericklad
16/07/2008, 11:57 AM
anyone else think that this new L37 ''A'' team is downer on limk junior football????

seems to me they seem to want to take a lot of players away 4rm the junior seen....it can only bring the quailty of junior soccer down in my eyes:mad:

halo16
16/07/2008, 12:42 PM
anyone else think that this new L37 ''A'' team is downer on limk junior football????

seems to me they seem to want to take a lot of players away 4rm the junior seen....it can only bring the quailty of junior soccer down in my eyes:mad:

agreed but imo lads will get tired of it after a while if there traveling alot and getting nothing for it as was said in a previous post.also as far as i know its only on until the end of august and the players who dont make the jump to senior will then go back to junior football

leather
16/07/2008, 2:03 PM
Junior players and clubs need more info on how this A team situation will work, players returning,etc... maybe if our senior club explained to the junior clubs the rules involved it might alieviate some if not all of their concerns...

Centrehalf
16/07/2008, 3:45 PM
Junior players and clubs need more info on how this A team situation will work, players returning,etc... maybe if our senior club explained to the junior clubs the rules involved it might alieviate some if not all of their concerns...

Well put !

limericklad
16/07/2008, 3:57 PM
i think some of the players who have signed ''A'' forms are very big losses too junior clubs,as most of them would have had a big part too play in junior football...i think a lot of junior sides will suffer if L37 dont explain too our junior clubs how this is goin to work out,,if L37 want to grow and produce better players well a lot of it is down to junior clubs home grown talent and there has too be more co-ordination between our senior and junior sides 4 limerick as a city to get to the next level........

oscar
16/07/2008, 6:42 PM
agreed but imo lads will get tired of it after a while if there traveling alot and getting nothing for it as was said in a previous post.also as far as i know its only on until the end of august and the players who dont make the jump to senior will then go back to junior football

they'd still be getting nothing if they went to the senior team and traveling further afield,alot of the players that signed will wake up and smell the coffee soon enough,they'll be back with their clubs first week in september,if not sooner

Begrudger
16/07/2008, 10:07 PM
I'd think playing for limerick would be alot better than playing for an average premier team like ye're boro, only the ones who dont make it tend to smell the coffee your talking about or maybe your sour about one of ye'res going to the a team??

The L37 team needs all the support they can get and if we want to start competing with cork dublin and mickymouse towns that have teams in the eircom prem junior clubs need to pull together and try to get some input
some of the lads up in pike boro balla and view and a few more scattered around town would be an asset to them, but they cant keep raiding clubs behind their backs

limericklad
16/07/2008, 10:14 PM
The L37 team needs all the support they can get and if we want to start competing with cork dublin and mickymouse towns that have teams in the eircom prem junior clubs need to pull together and try to get some input
some of the lads up in pike boro balla and view and a few more scattered around town would be an asset to them, but they cant keep raiding clubs behind their backs

well said:D

17/07/2008, 7:03 AM
BrassBalls ,oscar,take it to PM if you want to continue your tiff,the thread is for football talk not personal stuff.

backodanet
17/07/2008, 7:13 AM
It should be the goal of every junior player to play for limerick and beyond and the A league looks like a great way to help players adapt to LOI or see if they're up to it - correct me if i'm wrong but limerick are the only first division club with an A Team so the standard is probably high

svillerovers
17/07/2008, 11:51 AM
It should be the goal of every junior player to play for limerick and beyond and the A league looks like a great way to help players adapt to LOI or see if they're up to it - correct me if i'm wrong but limerick are the only first division club with an A Team so the standard is probably high

Have to agree totally with this comment...Aim of a player for example of 16-18 years is to get on a junior team,then try make there mark in a premier team and if any good try get into the top 3-4 teams in the premier and then try get onto the limerick team and so on !! Thats the way it should be if u ask me..And like brass balls said ,its not like players are getting paid to play junior where as with limerick at least you get some few bob for your efforts!?

halo16
17/07/2008, 12:19 PM
Have to agree totally with this comment...Aim of a player for example of 16-18 years is to get on a junior team,then try make there mark in a premier team and if any good try get into the top 3-4 teams in the premier and then try get onto the limerick team and so on !! Thats the way it should be if u ask me..And like brass balls said ,its not like players are getting paid to play junior where as with limerick at least you get some few bob for your efforts!?

well if some reports on this site are to be believed afew of the junior clubs in limerick do pay money to players and more than limerick for that matter.people always saying that certain pike and boro players are getting paid.what truth in it i dont know but plenty of talk does be doing the rounds on the matter anyway.

svillerovers
17/07/2008, 12:52 PM
well if some reports on this site are to be believed afew of the junior clubs in limerick do pay money to players and more than limerick for that matter.people always saying that certain pike and boro players are getting paid.what truth in it i dont know but plenty of talk does be doing the rounds on the matter anyway.

Well the clubs in question are well able to fund these players if they are paying them as they all have there respected clubhouses with bars..But if you ask any player who you think is getting paid they will tell you they are not getting any money!!

halo16
17/07/2008, 1:54 PM
Well the clubs in question are well able to fund these players if they are paying them as they all have there respected clubhouses with bars..But if you ask any player who you think is getting paid they will tell you they are not getting any money!!

no but they are getting "expenses".sure the gaa bosses get nothing either,davy fitz is just going up and down to waterford for the love of the game:D

west awake
17/07/2008, 4:35 PM
Any Limerick premier team looking for pre season friendly with top Galway premier team?
pm me if interested,we are willing to play at home or travel.

oscar
17/07/2008, 6:00 PM

ya from the begrudgers,the clubs with nothing i suppose,i wouldn't believe half the crap you hear in this town,it boils down to jealousy basically

blinkx
17/07/2008, 11:52 PM

You only get paid with Limerick37 if you make the match day squad(80 euro for a player signed on "development forums" if they make the squad,no idea what the pay is for Important 1st team regulars) . Simple as. They've not got the funds to keep a payroll of 30+ players as they have ATM.

Have any of ye any cop on??? seriously who gives ye the right to knock junior teams when they are the future of limerick its not as if we can go out nd buy a player when we need one. Right now we're taking players coached by clubs all their lives nd useing them without a fee paid to junior clubs they have a right to be ****ed we take their best players. Half of ye never kicked a ball in ye're life you'd know that by looking at ye ye're a joke, i'm sick to death of this slaggin it embarrasing if we had our own ground nd pushing for promotion with a great squad we could throw a few slags but we havent. As for the junior lads slaggin limerick it is what it is limerick ye're home town club

Just thought I'd add this to the post, A post from "Brassballs" in the L37 forums(transfer thread), And say that its one of the first decent comment I've seen emerge from a mostly L37 poster on here. Fair play,at least some of you know the score and are willing to stick your head out.

inexile
17/07/2008, 11:57 PM
no but they are getting "expenses".sure the gaa bosses get nothing either,davy fitz is just going up and down to waterford for the love of the game:D

if a fella is travelling a bit of a distance and the club are willing to pay his expenses i dont class that as a player getting paid as such, it just means he is not too out of pocket

starbar
18/07/2008, 7:37 AM
it happens move on

oscar
19/07/2008, 9:26 AM
saw next seasons fixtures last night,Boro have Corbally away first,followed by Fairview and Balla at home,think Pike are away to Regional first match

oscar
19/07/2008, 9:31 AM
ronan told me himself hes stayin with corbally and promised christy coll a season and is going to be captain

it hurts me to say this but it looks like you were right:eek:

KilmallockYouth
19/07/2008, 11:50 AM
Pre Season Friendly:
Pike 1 Kilmallock 1

no17 fan
19/07/2008, 7:24 PM
Pre Season Friendly:
Pike 1 Kilmallock 1

excellent result for kilmallock as a matter of interest what kind of side had pike out taking nothing away from kilmallock you would expect the league champs to be putting a newly promoted team away with the quality at connie's diposal

Balbec77
20/07/2008, 10:52 AM
excellent result for kilmallock as a matter of interest what kind of side had pike out taking nothing away from kilmallock you would expect the league champs to be putting a newly promoted team away with the quality at connie's diposal
dont know how many pike were missing but kilmallock were missing 6 off starting team

svillerovers
20/07/2008, 11:53 AM
saw next seasons fixtures last night,Boro have Corbally away first,followed by Fairview and Balla at home,think Pike are away to Regional first match
Where did youy get these and are they real?Any from 1a?

Bonovox
20/07/2008, 4:25 PM
Any Limerick premier team looking for pre season friendly with top Galway premier team?
pm me if interested,we are willing to play at home or travel.

west awake - its not possible to pm you. Please pm me with your number or email address to organise something.

oscar
20/07/2008, 5:52 PM
Where did youy get these and are they real?Any from 1a?

never mind,yes they're real and no i don't:p

svillerovers
20/07/2008, 8:30 PM
never mind,yes they're real and no i don't:p
Ok!! :p

abbeyvale
20/07/2008, 9:14 PM
west awake - its not possible to pm you. Please pm me with your number or email address to organise something.

Like wise westawake!!!

Green_Hoop
20/07/2008, 9:31 PM

Wouldn't read anything into it to be honest.

halo16
21/07/2008, 8:46 AM
it hurts me to say this but it looks like you were right:eek:

corbally havent signed anybody yet as far as i know.one of the players told me that over the weekend.

Abbey Road
21/07/2008, 8:58 AM
corbally havent signed anybody yet as far as i know.one of the players told me that over the weekend.

Has Christy Coll taken over Corbally??I'm assuming whoever does will be making it priority to entice back some ex-Corbally players.Is there any rumours of this happening or has happened?

leather
21/07/2008, 10:00 AM
A.Fitz, N.Carroll, P.Ryan & D.Ryan have all resigne with boro.

halo16
21/07/2008, 10:21 AM

What about danny hanley leather?did he sign back? heard over the weekend that none of them are going back to corbally and bt the look of it dave morris aint signing with them either.

svillerovers
21/07/2008, 10:36 AM
What about danny hanley leather?did he sign back? heard over the weekend that none of them are going back to corbally and bt the look of it dave morris aint signing with them either.

Colin Gorey approaced by the boro and corbally and heard recently by carew park also!!!

the hoops
21/07/2008, 10:49 AM

wow great coup by the boro to get them resigned resigned:cool:

specialk
21/07/2008, 10:52 AM
Colin Gorey approaced by the boro and corbally and heard recently by carew park also!!!

Gorey is good for a few more seasons but mona the best thing you can do is drop to the b team and you might get a game

hoops12
21/07/2008, 4:33 PM
Gorey is good for a few more seasons but mona the best thing you can do is drop to the b team and you might get a game

why was he a prem player ,no wonder summerville went down

svillerovers
21/07/2008, 4:47 PM
why was he a prem player ,no wonder summerville went down
here here hoops!! :D

Philbert
21/07/2008, 5:23 PM

When you say signed do you mean pen to paper or just training?

Hows Ado's injury? is he bac playin proper again? I know he missed alot of last season

Awful pair of pants dat fella... :D jus kiddin

oscar
21/07/2008, 8:49 PM
signed as in signed philbert,not training,signed

oscar
21/07/2008, 9:24 PM

danny has signed also,Boro will more or less have last years squad with a few more faces,only loss is Alan Carroll so far

halo16
22/07/2008, 9:46 AM
danny has signed also,Boro will more or less have last years squad with a few more faces,only loss is Alan Carroll so far

its a big loss though oscar.are the lads that signed any good?who are they and how many new faces have signed?has alan barry put pen to paper or is he still undecided?

see's it
22/07/2008, 4:02 PM
who is the most succesful club since the year 2000?

blinkx
22/07/2008, 4:15 PM
who is the most succesful club since the year 2000?

Pike Rovers I'd imagine.