View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

da bishop
07/09/2008, 6:46 PM
lads,after four or five rounds of the league we have seen some games become non events,some teams are taking heavy beatings so early in the season,are standards gone that poor.are we lacking in quality in terms of players and managers,are the teams not training hard enough.

HuRya
07/09/2008, 6:56 PM
Updated Table
Pos .....Club...........Pld W D L F A PTS
1.Ballynanty Rvs..... 5 4 1 0 17 4 13
2.Regional Utd........ 5 4 1 0 .8 2 13
3.Aisling Annacotty..5 4 0 1 12 2 12
4.Pike Rvs.............. 5 4 0 1 15 4 12
5.Fairview Rgs........ 5 3 1 1 13 3 10
6.Janesboro.............5 1 2 2 11 9 5
7.Wembley Rvs........4 1 2 1 8 13 5
8.Carew Pk..............4 1 0 3 4 11 3
9.Kilmallock............ 5 1 0 4 7 16 3
10.Granville Rgs.......5 1 0 4 3 11 3
11.Dromore Celtic....4 0 1 3 4 17 1
12.Corbally Utd.......4 0 0 4 1 14 0

RESULTS-Sunday Sept 7th
Fairview 5-0 Granville
Ballynanty Rvs 5-1 Wembley
Corbally Utd 0-6 Pike Rvs
Fairview 5-0 Granville
Janesboro 1-2 Aisling
Regional 3-0 Kilmallock

Thurs Sept 11th (Kick Off 6.30pm)
Aisling V Ballynanty , Annacotty, T Duggan
Dromore Celtic V Regional, Rathuard, M Weldon
Corbally United V Carew Park, Corbally, R McCann
Kilmallock V Granville , Kilmallock, M Kiely
Pike Rovers V Janesboro, Pike Club, J McNamara
Wembley V Fairview , Rathuard, F O’Neill

see's it
07/09/2008, 7:45 PM
Davy Wall was there and togged out today,only back training recently. Sniffer should be back involved with the 1st team soon enough. And then Alan Barry was up training in Pike on Thursday. Once it hit 4-0 for Pike the ref called every Offside that was questioned. Could and probably should have been more, Corbally didn't even have a Sub that I could see. Doesn't bode well for this early in the season.

in fairness to corbally they have played the top 4 teams

halo16
07/09/2008, 8:54 PM
lads,after four or five rounds of the league we have seen some games become non events,some teams are taking heavy beatings so early in the season,are standards gone that poor.are we lacking in quality in terms of players and managers,are the teams not training hard enough.

i would agree with this post.the league seems to be split in 2 so far this season.there are at least 3 teams this year who in my opinion are not up to much compared to your usual 1 or 2 teams.there will be long seasons ahead for wembley,corbally,dromore in my book.i think granville and kilmallock will gather enough points at home to be ok.

On The Ball
07/09/2008, 8:54 PM
Yes.Standard out of some teams is very poor.And then there's limerick city's nightlife.

On The Ball
07/09/2008, 8:56 PM
Exactly.Wait till they play all the teams round them at the bottom.Wont be much in it at all id say.

halo16
07/09/2008, 9:00 PM

still a very bad result for them today though.was at the game.handy win for pike away from home.game was over at half time.

halo16
07/09/2008, 9:06 PM
Yes.Standard out of some teams is very poor.And then there's limerick city's nightlife.

id agree with you there on da ball.alot of teams will have problems with that over the coming season and so far it seems with the results we have been getting on sundays that afew teams are having problems with lads on the beer.hard to get away with carrying hungover players against the better teams.

halo16
07/09/2008, 9:11 PM
any reports from any of the other games?the boro and aisling looked like a close encounter?any report from this game?did fairview and balla win as handy as there scoreline suggests?any reports on them 2 games?

oscar
07/09/2008, 10:08 PM
Boro 1-2 Aisling

close game but if Boro put their chances away they would of won handy,story of their season so far,fair play to the Aisling players for their performance,shame can't be said about their manager,he's conduct was disgraceful,he punched 1 of the smallest players on the pitch,your a big man Sully....disco derek also got the line for throwing a punch,his first hit since his Remix days

Mixer
07/09/2008, 10:45 PM
Boro 1-2 Aisling

close game but if Boro put their chances away they would of won handy,story of their season so far,fair play to the Aisling players for their performance,shame can't be said about their manager,he's conduct was disgraceful,he punched 1 of the smallest players on the pitch,your a big man Sully....disco derek also got the line for throwing a punch,his first hit since his Remix days

Boro are too reliant on Clarke, I know Monty scored today but in fairness he couldn't miss and he missed another serious chance! I see Boro are 6th in the table 8 points off the top already...

oscar
07/09/2008, 10:49 PM
like i said missing too many chances,need a win thursday against Pike or season could be over

starbar
07/09/2008, 11:19 PM
Corbally 0-6 Pike Called off with 15minutes to go.

Brazier 2,Nabs 2,Hartnett,Boyle.

heard this was Brazier's swan song

starbar
07/09/2008, 11:22 PM
Boro 1-2 Aisling

what happened there who did he punch

Mixer
07/09/2008, 11:26 PM
heard this was Brazier's swan song

Who did you hear this from? Ive been hearing this for weeks on this thing now...

Mixer
07/09/2008, 11:27 PM
what happened there who did he punch

He punched Stephen Grant.

starbar
07/09/2008, 11:29 PM
cant say but its almost a done deal

starbar
08/09/2008, 2:36 PM
fairview 5 granville 0
as easy as the scoreline suggests

WERE GRANVILLE ANY GOOD AT ALL :ball

old git
08/09/2008, 2:47 PM
Davy Wall was there and togged out today,only back training recently. Sniffer should be back involved with the 1st team soon enough. And then Alan Barry was up training in Pike on Thursday. Once it hit 4-0 for Pike the ref called every Offside that was questioned. Could and probably should have been more, Corbally didn't even have a Sub that I could see. Doesn't bode well for this early in the season.

if davy wall togged out ... very intresting as park afc claiming davy has signed for them

whitestripe
08/09/2008, 3:04 PM
Boro 1-2 Aisling

Perspective is a funny thing - Aisling missed the same amount of chances as the Boro? A draw would have been a fair reflection on the game?

As for the scuffle - it was handbags for God sake.

starbar
08/09/2008, 3:56 PM
nothing handbag about a manager punching a player on the touch line :

paddy angelo
08/09/2008, 4:13 PM
does anyone know has enda quaide finished reffing or what ,saw him in rathurd on tues night and at the balla fairview match on thurs night and is not down for games on the paper

Mixer
08/09/2008, 4:16 PM
like i said missing too many chances,need a win thursday against Pike or season could be over

Dead right a win is needed or forget about the league its big ask as it is!

allab
08/09/2008, 4:19 PM
Perspective is a funny thing - Aisling missed the same amount of chances as the Boro? A draw would have been a fair reflection on the game?

Was there anyone sent off besides derek?

faces
08/09/2008, 4:19 PM
can you or someone else out there tell me why teams are struggling.ok dont bother i know already why.the reason being that you have the teams with the few bob going around to other clubs with no money to offer money to their best players and weakening their team.there is only 1 or 2 teams playing in the premier with home grown players and fair play to them.the love of the game and love of the club u were raised with is gone out the window.

sanity
08/09/2008, 4:43 PM
can you or someone else out there tell me why teams are struggling.ok dont bother i know already why.the reason being that you have the teams with the few bob going around to other clubs with no money to offer money to their best players and weakening their team.there is only 1 or 2 teams playing in the premier with home grown players and fair play to them.the love of the game and love of the club u were raised with is gone out the window.

i would disagree with the above,maybe some clubs are paying some players "expenses".balla are a top club as are regional and aisling(dont think any of these are in a situation to pay players).i think its the professional attitude towards training and improving the clubs that attracts the players and not the money.all the top clubs like fairview,janesboro and pike will keep attracting other clubs players because of their excellent set ups.all other clubs can do is strive to improve their clubs so that they can compete.i know i would rather play with a club with a professional approach rather than a club who might not be able to field 11 players due to lads on the **** or missing because they have a gaa or rugby match.

the dazzler
08/09/2008, 5:00 PM
lads who was sent off for the boro sunday plus davy wll is getting a transfer from pike tomorrow pike man said this dont think davy has the interest anymore

Jock MIB
08/09/2008, 5:27 PM
does anyone know has enda quaide finished reffing or what ,saw him in rathurd on tues night and at the balla fairview match on thurs night and is not down for games on the paper

He is out injured at moment as well as few others :ball:

oscar
08/09/2008, 5:29 PM

rise out of me dalton he thumped someone in the face while that player was trying to separate 2 other players,what they were involved in was handbags,what sully done was cowardly

Yorkie
08/09/2008, 5:33 PM

dis is my rough draft of players that have stayed with their clubs - feel free to correct me if im wrong.....
Balla - spud, daly, quinn, fitzgerald
regional - mullins, o donoghue, o connell, fahy, sheehan
aisling - cusack, hurley, cummins, mescall
pike - ???
fairview - hannon,grant,purcell
boro - ???
wembley - mulcahy, o callaghan
carew pk - slattery, carey, stewart,
kilmallock - heffernan
granville - power, j benn, s benn, judge,cregan,doran
dromore - burke, frawley
corbally - o dea, o connell, mckinley

oscar
08/09/2008, 5:34 PM
Was there anyone sent off besides derek?

stephen grant for Boro(the player who was punched) and Aislings manager

the hoops
08/09/2008, 5:39 PM
dis is my rough draft of players that have stayed with their clubs - feel free to correct me if im wrong.....
pike - ???
boro - ???
kilmallock - heffernan
dromore - burke, frawley

purcell from view he started with the dines:rolleyes:

HuRya
08/09/2008, 5:40 PM
stephen grant for Boro(the player who was punched) and Aislings manager

Why wasn't the angel in all this - Bobby Gregg sent off??
After all he did punch john o dwyer off the ball and seemed well able to jump in studs first throughout the game...
It was a fine game between two very good sides.. Aisling took their chances - ye didn't. Get on with it - starting with the Pikey's on thursday nite

oscar
08/09/2008, 5:48 PM
thats not like bobby:p

whitestripe
08/09/2008, 5:51 PM
rise out of me dalton he thumped someone in the face while that player was trying to separate 2 other players,what they were involved in was handbags,what sully done was cowardly

Stephen Grant went in to seperate two players? He left the field of play to get involved.

If you want cowardly acts - what about the little fellow Bobby Gregg hitting John O'Dwyer off the ball when he was not looking.

oscar
08/09/2008, 5:53 PM
must of missed that

abbeyvale
08/09/2008, 6:06 PM
Balla Pl 5 / Pts 13
Regional Pl 5 / Pts 13
Aisling Pl 5 / Pts 12
Pike Pl 5 / Pts 12
Fairview Pl 5 / Pts 10
Janesboro Pl 5 / Pts 5
Wembley Pl 4 / Pts 5
Carew Pk Pl 4 / Pts 3
Granville Pl 5 / Pts 3
Kilmallock Pl 5 / Pts 3
Dromore Pl 4 / Pts 1
Corbally Pl 4 / Pts 0

Results
Sunday Sept 7th
Fairview Rangers 5-0 Granville Rangers,
Ballynanty Rovers 5-1 Wembley Rovers,
Regional United 3-0 Kilmallock,
Janesboro 1-2 Aisling /Annacotty,
Corbally United 0-6 Pike Rovers,

Fixtures
Thursday Sept 11th (Kick Off 6.30pm)
Wembley Rovers V Fairview Rangers, Rathuard, F O’Neill
Kilmallock V Granville Rangers, Kilmallock, M Kiely
Aisling /Annacotty V Ballynanty Rovers, Annacotty, T Duggan
Dromore Celtic V Regional United, Rathuard, M Weldon
Pike Rovers V Janesboro, Pike Club, J McNamara
Corbally United V Carew Park, Corbally, R McCann

HuRya
08/09/2008, 6:11 PM
must of missed that

funnily enough it happened 2 or 3 minuts after aisling scored their second goal..wasn't a hint of frustration out of wee bobby?and i had the same view as you oscar sure didnt it happen in the middle of the field:D

oscar
08/09/2008, 6:16 PM
like wenger says...i did not see this,i was looking at something else...;)but rest assured we'll be having a word with Bobby,Janesboro don't condone that type of behaviour and it will not go unpunished:rolleyes:

abbeyvale
pike - ???
boro - ???
kilmallock - heffernan
dromore - burke, frawley

Carey of Carew played with The Dines, Granville & Pike before.
Quinn of Balla played with Carew before.
Purcell of View played with The Dines before!!

see's it
Stephen Grant went in to seperate two players? He left the field of play to get involved.

If you want cowardly acts - what about the little fellow Bobby Gregg hitting John O'Dwyer off the ball when he was not looking.

O Dwyer grabbed him by the balls seconds earlier i dont know whether that counts as cowardly or gay

Mixer
08/09/2008, 6:28 PM
Bobby has always had that streak in him its just a part of his game he's a nice little player just needs to calm down a bit. Will Stephen Grant be available thursday Oscar?

oscar
08/09/2008, 6:30 PM
AFAIK he won't be,automatic 1 match ban for a sending off

Balbec77
08/09/2008, 7:17 PM
2 yellows is 1 automatic match 30 euro fine and a week suspention that is what tommy hef on the first day of the season

halo16
08/09/2008, 7:24 PM
Carey of Carew played with The Dines, Granville & Pike before.
Quinn of Balla played with Carew before.
Purcell of View played with The Dines before!!

quinn played with pike for about 6 years underage and afew years junior if i remember correctly and didnt fahy of regional play for granville for a long time?

halo16
08/09/2008, 7:27 PM
for me the most loyal players in town would have to be colm enright and albert slattery,and in fairness most of the balla stalwarts e.g colla,daly,dunphy and spud.

see's it
08/09/2008, 7:58 PM
for me the most loyal players in town would have to be colm enright and albert slattery,and in fairness most of the balla stalwarts e.g colla,daly,dunphy and spud.

colla who always played with Glenagross,then hill celtic and now carew?

the only 1
08/09/2008, 8:00 PM
theres a lot of boro players unhappy with daithi since he took over a few more will be leaving with o neill

Abbey Road
08/09/2008, 8:21 PM

Did he not play for the 'boro' for a couple of seasons aswell??

halo16
08/09/2008, 8:21 PM

philip collopy.as long as i remember him playing he always played with balla,over the last 10 years anyway.dont ever remember seeing him line out for carew or hill celtic?correct me if im wrong but i always thought he was a staunch balla man