View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

Green_Hoop
29/08/2008, 6:23 PM
On a sidenote, Colm Enright really laid claim the centre half position,dominated in the Air last night,looks like himself and Mullins could be a savage pairing for the defense.

Where do you see Pa McGarry fitting in? my understanding was he signed to play centre half and not left full? Connie could have a problem on his hands[/QUOTE]

Not forgetting Philip Purcell, Player of the year last year for Pike,now suddenly dropped for god only knows what. Pike had 7 subs last night, the majority of them would challenge for a place in most teams in the premier..(Boyle/Purcell/O'Neill/Mitchell/J.Enright/Smackers/O'Shea)

Balbec77
29/08/2008, 7:18 PM
we were shocking hopefully a wake up call or it will be a long season

hoops12
29/08/2008, 7:22 PM
pa moloney loked rusty and nabbs didnt look too good when he came on, even before they got the penalty they resorted to diving to try and get a peno, the player should have got booked but the ref bottled it. granville could have got a draw only for bennis to pull off a great save from billy tynan

it was a comfortable save from mcgarrys header not billys,and pike could have ran up double figures,granville are one of worst sides i have seen and will struggle,they do,nt even try to play football

HuRya
29/08/2008, 7:46 PM

And Aisling didn't even have to get out of 2nd gear...looking at the match, i think fitness is a big problem for ye..ye have a great set up and a decent team and the likes of Carthy and the 2 Heff's should stear ye out of trouble...In fairness , Aisling had too much football for ye on the night and if their strikers wern't given the night off, the scoreline would have read 7 or 8 nil.....IMO the Aisling centre backs were outstanding on the night. A level above the rest !

widow
29/08/2008, 7:57 PM
Boyle/Purcell/O'Neill/Mitchell/J.Enright/Smackers/O'Shea)

That's a very strong bench. with the new transfer window system this year it'll be interesting to see who stays and goes from alot of clubs in the first few weeks of the season

Bonovox
29/08/2008, 10:12 PM

Its refreshing to read an honest appraisal of a performance. Makes a change from some of the usual tripe on here....

Bonovox
29/08/2008, 10:20 PM
it was a comfortable save from mcgarrys header not billys,and pike could have ran up double figures,granville are one of worst sides i have seen and will struggle,they do,nt even try to play football

A very good example of the usual tripe, funny how most of it eminates from Crossagalla. Have a bit of respect man, clubs like Granville, Corbally, Fairview have built schoolboy set ups and grounds through sheer hard work and determination that are a credit to them and bring through their schoolboys unlike ye lot who are like the bloody united nations up there. Don't forget without a certain Dick Penny who bankrolled Pike, ye would have nothing up there. It wasn't built by fundraising like other clubs have to do. Fairview with all their FAI's were envied the length and breadth of Limerick. Pike with their couple of Leagues are the most hated club in town. Are ye learning anything from all this?

straightup
29/08/2008, 10:26 PM
Where do you see Pa McGarry fitting in? my understanding was he signed to play centre half and not left full? Connie could have a problem on his hands

Not forgetting Philip Purcell, Player of the year last year for Pike,now suddenly dropped for god only knows what. Pike had 7 subs last night, the majority of them would challenge for a place in most teams in the premier..(Boyle/Purcell/O'Neill/Mitchell/J.Enright/Smackers/O'Shea)[/QUOTE]
ahh come on now will u our back line last nite was strong and comfortable with pace and strenght in abundance pike will take beating this season thought hartnett ran the show in midfield in a small and ugly pitch but in saying that granville played to there strenghts and billy tynan had poor maloney in his pocket all nite young brazier show him up phill purcell will have a fight on his hand to get back in to the squad but he should know at this stage its a panel game not 11

Green_Hoop
29/08/2008, 11:44 PM
A very good example of the usual tripe, funny how most of it eminates from Crossagalla. Ha,I'd reread your post there chum,an uncalled for outburst for no apparent reason...
Have a bit of respect man, clubs like Granville, Corbally, Fairview have built schoolboy set ups and grounds through sheer hard work and determination that are a credit to them and bring through their schoolboys unlike ye lot who are like the bloody united nations up thereI'd assume your Fairview,in fairness you can't really talk much youself,not exactly all "homegrown talents" up there now are there...And its an extremely low blow considering Pike haven't had schoolboys until 2 years ago before that an 11 year gap,Still,Pa McGarry/Dermot Phelan/Frankie Stewart/Dave Morris/Noel Noonan etc.. are floating about from the last Pike school boy setup.
Don't forget without a certain Dick Penny who bankrolled Pike, ye would have nothing up there. It wasn't built by fundraising like other clubs have to do. So Mr.Penny(god bless him) invested well over a million euro's on his own into the club from his secret Swiss bank accounts did he? For everything the great man did for the club he doesn't deserve to be slated on here by the likes of you pedaling this rubbish ...
Fairview with all their FAI's were envied the length and breadth of Limerick. Pike with their couple of Leagues are the most hated club in town. Are ye learning anything from all this? Still living in the past are we? Seriously man you can't keep going back to the same argument every time you feel threatened, Ya fair play on winning the FAI's etc but constantly going on about it gets a tad tiresome.. Teams are disliked because they win(Case in point Chelsea/Man Utd/Real Madrid/PSV depending),its just the bitter(i.e. yourself and plenty others..) and twisted that keep on about it..

Hadn't been a bad word mentioned on here in a few days either, good job on dragging us down to your level...

see's it
30/08/2008, 7:29 AM
Where do you see Pa McGarry fitting in? my understanding was he signed to play centre half and not left full? Connie could have a problem on his hands

Not forgetting Philip Purcell, Player of the year last year for Pike,now suddenly dropped for god only knows what. Pike had 7 subs last night, the majority of them would challenge for a place in most teams in the premier..(Boyle/Purcell/O'Neill/Mitchell/J.Enright/Smackers/O'Shea)[/QUOTE]

i thought the rule was 5 subs? if they had 7 subs togged and only 5 on the card which two togged out for nothing?

Goals4fun
30/08/2008, 10:06 AM

I think bennis was at full stretch to push it for a corner, you have some idea of comfortable save !!!!

Granville are much improbed on last season. They looked organised. They did not create much against a good pike back 4. They kept pike out till half time and only for they were trying to get back into it and had a man sent off that is why pike created a load of chances. Still some nervy pike moments til they scored fromthe spot with a few mins to go.

Goals4fun
30/08/2008, 10:10 AM

that will surely be connies problem trying to hang on to these players. as you said most would challenge any team in town for a place and i expect they would get a game elsewhere if they moved. Nobody wants to stand on the side line.

Goals4fun
30/08/2008, 10:11 AM
i thought the rule was 5 subs? if they had 7 subs togged and only 5 on the card which two togged out for nothing?[/QUOTE]

only 2 brought on so the other 5 will never know, and togged out for nothing.

BigBird
30/08/2008, 2:16 PM
Brians still kicking around up there? WHat happened to all the new super signings?

anyone have the fairview team?

That's a bit harsh! We did well last year in defence so why do we need to change that. I think we have a very strong squad and will be there or thereabouts in all competitions this season.

Bonovox
30/08/2008, 2:25 PM
Ha,I'd reread your post there chum,an uncalled for outburst for no apparent reason... I'd assume your Fairview,in fairness you can't really talk much youself,not exactly all "homegrown talents" up there now are there...And its an extremely low blow considering Pike haven't had schoolboys until 2 years ago before that an 11 year gap,Still,Pa McGarry/Dermot Phelan/Frankie Stewart/Dave Morris/Noel Noonan etc.. are floating about from the last Pike school boy setup. So Mr.Penny(god bless him) invested well over a million euro's on his own into the club from his secret Swiss bank accounts did he? For everything the great man did for the club he doesn't deserve to be slated on here by the likes of you pedaling this rubbish ... Still living in the past are we? Seriously man you can't keep going back to the same argument every time you feel threatened, Ya fair play on winning the FAI's etc but constantly going on about it gets a tad tiresome.. Teams are disliked because they win(Case in point Chelsea/Man Utd/Real Madrid/PSV depending),its just the bitter(i.e. yourself and plenty others..) and twisted that keep on about it..

Hadn't been a bad word mentioned on here in a few days either, good job on dragging us down to your level...

.....more tripe that is.

hoops12
30/08/2008, 3:23 PM
A very good example of the usual tripe, funny how most of it eminates from Crossagalla. Have a bit of respect man, clubs like Granville, Corbally, Fairview have built schoolboy set ups and grounds through sheer hard work and determination that are a credit to them and bring through their schoolboys unlike ye lot who are like the bloody united nations up there. Don't forget without a certain Dick Penny who bankrolled Pike, ye would have nothing up there. It wasn't built by fundraising like other clubs have to do. Fairview with all their FAI's were envied the length and breadth of Limerick. Pike with their couple of Leagues are the most hated club in town. Are ye learning anything from all this?

there isnt a club in ireland that has as hard working committe as pike have ,for a number of years now the same 5/6 people have been breaking their backs trying to FUNDRAISE and are still working their socks off with the schoolboy set up,you are just one of the many on here obsessed with pike and on another note it was through fundraising that we have the facilities that we have .we have had no handouts or gifts from anyone .oh ya and fairview are envied and rightly so because of their success but tell me how many of their so called schoolboys came through the ranks for those fai,a s cos id say the majority came from the schoolboy set ups of geraldines and granville.then again most of the view support were with granville untill the fai made its way to the fairgreen

hoops12
30/08/2008, 3:25 PM
On a sidenote, Colm Enright really laid claim the centre half position,dominated in the Air last night,looks like himself and Mullins could be a savage pairing for the defense.

Where do you see Pa McGarry fitting in? my understanding was he signed to play centre half and not left full? Connie could have a problem on his hands[/QUOTE]

colm was outstanding and brought much needed leadership to the field aswell,mcgarry was also excellent at left full where incidently he received his junior caps

Bonovox
30/08/2008, 6:27 PM
there isnt a club in ireland that has as hard working committe as pike have ,for a number of years now the same 5/6 people have been breaking their backs trying to FUNDRAISE and are still working their socks off with the schoolboy set up,you are just one of the many on here obsessed with pike and on another note it was through fundraising that we have the facilities that we have .we have had no handouts or gifts from anyone .oh ya and fairview are envied and rightly so because of their success but tell me how many of their so called schoolboys came through the ranks for those fai,a s cos id say the majority came from the schoolboy set ups of geraldines and granville.then again most of the view support were with granville untill the fai made its way to the fairgreen

"There isn't a club in Ireland that has as hard working committe as pike have" (his dire garmmar, not mine)
What utter tosh. You know the committee's of every club in Ireland now do you?
You are so far up your own crevice you actually think that people obsess about your club. Is it not sinking in????? Do you want another hint??? :)

Green_Hoop
30/08/2008, 7:03 PM
"There isn't a club in Ireland that has as hard working committe as pike have" (his dire garmmar, not mine)
You are so far up your own crevice you actually think that people obsess about your club. Is it not sinking in????? Do you want another hint??? :)

And how would you know that they are or aren't? Seems to me you've a rather tragic grudge against the club for whatever reason, lets see you've attacked the club time and again after reading back over your posts and continue to do so. Do you need a "hint"?? Leave up will you,your only dragging the forum down and making yourself into a bit of a show to be quite honest..

Balla
30/08/2008, 7:30 PM

you spelt grammar wrong:p

larrywhite
31/08/2008, 4:29 AM
you spelt grammar wrong:p

And you spelled "spelt" wrong. Lol :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spelled

abbeyvale
31/08/2008, 12:09 PM
Balla Pl 3 / Pts 7
Fairview Pl 3 / Pts 7
Regional Pl 3 / Pts 7
Aisling Pl 3 / Pts 6
Pike Pl 3 / Pts 6
Janesboro Pl 3 / Pts 4
Wembley Pl 2 / Pts 4
Carew Pk Pl 3 / Pts 3
Granville Pl 3 / Pts 3
Dromore Pl 3 / Pts 1
Corbally Pl 2 / Pts 0
Kilmallock Pl 3 / Pts 0

RESULTS
Sunday August 31st
Fairview Rangers 1-1 Regional United (F : Harrington / R : Stewart)
Janesboro 2-2 Ballynanty Rovers (J : Clarke (2) / B : Lee & Earls)
Carew Park 2-1 Granville Rangers (G : S Benn)
Pike Rovers 5-2 Kilmallock (P : Maloney (2), Hartnett (2), & Boyle)
Dromore Celtic 0-5 Aisling /Annacotty (A : Sheehan (2), Browne, McDonnel & Rowe)

Fixtures
Tuesday Sept 2nd (Kick –Off 6.30)
Dromore Celtic V Pike Rovers, Rathuard,

Thursday Sept 4th (Kick Off 6.30)
Ballynanty Rovers V Fairview Rangers, LIT,
Granville Rangers V Regional United, Glenbrook,
Wembley Rovers V Janesboro, Rathuard,
Kilmallock V Carew Park, Kilmallock,
Aisling /Annacotty V Corbally United, Annacotty,

leather
31/08/2008, 1:59 PM
lads,
unable to view both boro v view or boro v balla.
any decent reports on either match.
no slagging please......

Balbec77
31/08/2008, 4:46 PM
stupid mistakes are our major down fall and pike punished us big time but we fough back and got 2 goals and played some good ball in the second half

halo16
31/08/2008, 5:01 PM
does anybody know why corbally and wembley didnt play today?or were they even down to play?

hoops12
31/08/2008, 5:02 PM
stupid mistakes are our major down fall and pike punished us big time but we fough back and got 2 goals and played some good ball in the second half

ya id agree with that ye played some lovely football at times but your back four could be the down fall this year.from midfield up ye should be ok and in fairness ye created a fair few chances against a good pike defence but as long as ye do,nt lose heart i think ye will be safe.ye are definetly better than dromore,corbally and i would even say granville

alidiei
31/08/2008, 5:49 PM
does anybody know why corbally and wembley didnt play today?or were they even down to play?
I heard that Wembely had put in for a free weekend so thats why

dalegend
31/08/2008, 5:56 PM
Jesus,I'd say I was at a completely different game to yourself,from what I recall Pike dominated from start to finish of the game,Hartnett hit the post with a header,Brazier rattled the crossbar with a volley on the edge of the box and a host of other chances were missed,2-0 is a poor reflection for Pike could have and should have been double. The short and narrow pitch didn't help matters.

My god you've changed your tune it was'nt too long ago you said colm was finished and now he's the bees knees jeez ye crowd make me sick, and to think i had to defend the bloke from your stupidity on numerious occasions, and to top it off he's keeping your golden boy purcell out........eat humble pie

starbar
31/08/2008, 7:24 PM
Anyone have the pike line up for the today, same as the first 2 games i suppose?

KilmallockYouth
31/08/2008, 7:45 PM
Anyone have the pike line up for the today, same as the first 2 games i suppose?

As far as I know it was:
GK-Bennis
RB-Mitchell
LB-Mcgarry
CB-Mullins
CB-Enright
RM-Donovan
LM-Boyle
CM-Hartnett
CM-O Grady
CF-Moloney
CF-Nabs

Big Red
31/08/2008, 8:21 PM

Wembley had a free weekend, Brian Finnagan got married yesterday in kilarney and a good few of the team were at it.

Green_Hoop
31/08/2008, 11:18 PM

The Pike lineup has been changed for each of there first three games and will probably be changed on Tuesday again. Having 20 signed with another possibly signing means big time rotation..

My god you've changed your tune it was'nt too long ago you said colm was finished and now he's the bees knees jeez ye crowd make me sick, and to think i had to defend the bloke from your stupidity on numerious occasions, and to top it off he's keeping your golden boy purcell out........eat humble pie

Credit where credits due,end of story,if someone plays well I'll say it,and if they don't same goes. Colm Enright would be the first to tell you last season wasn't his best in Pike colours. His performance against Granville was probably one of his best for quite awhile.Can't see how he's keeping Purcell out of the team as its only 3 games into the season yet. Theres a long road ahead and with 4 potential center backs there who knows what'll happen.

supporter
31/08/2008, 11:58 PM
well hoop dtd you miss me nice week in the sun sorry this is probably my 12 or 13th post hope thats ok with you looking at the site your still at it but im sure bonovix can talk for himself once its ok with such an experienced man like you ps looking at your profile you know where i took your location from no offence to the nice people upthere pps best of luck to pike this season not for u mate

supporter
01/09/2008, 12:18 AM
well lads saw the second half of our game against balla heard the ref was good to us in the first half have to be honest balla should have won the game from what i saw.dominated the second half mabye we went back training too soon balla looked the fitter team

gaidin
01/09/2008, 8:27 AM
well lads saw the second half of our game against balla heard the ref was good to us in the first half have to be honest balla should have won the game from what i saw.dominated the second half mabye we went back training too soon balla looked the fitter team

Are you not a balla supporter??

leather
01/09/2008, 8:45 AM
has anyone got the web address of the new limerick football site????

abbeyvale
01/09/2008, 8:58 AM
has anyone got the web address of the new limerick football site????

www.limericksoccer.com;

leather
01/09/2008, 9:01 AM
Thanks

Balla
01/09/2008, 10:35 AM
And you spelled "spelt" wrong. Lol :D

Not wrong,differently:rolleyes:

http://www.answers.com/topic/spelt

whitestripe
01/09/2008, 10:45 AM

To be honest I did not think you were that bad, your back 4 tried to play a bit too much football and got caught a few times, fitness seems to be lacking a small bit but you play some nice football and move the ball very well from the midfield on, I would be surprised if you found yourself in a relegation battle come the end of season. Great set up.

limericksoccer
01/09/2008, 10:51 AM
Tables now on website

Centrehalf
01/09/2008, 1:05 PM
lads,
unable to view both boro v view or boro v balla.
any decent reports on either match.
no slagging please......

Boro v's Balla was a good footballing game but I think Balla deserved to win it. The first Boro goal was way offside when Balla were 1 up and Boro second was a terrible blunder by the ref. Great cross put into Balla box, Dunphy sliced the ball off his shin in the 6 yard box into Hickeys hands and ref gave indirect free kick. Balla were well on top in 2nd half and deserved the equaliser and Lee could have got two more but for good saves, to be fair though Boro created allot of chances. Gregg in the middle played well and Clarke up fron will be a handfull for any centre halfs.

Green_Hoop
01/09/2008, 1:08 PM
well hoop dtd you miss me nice week in the sun sorry this is probably my 12 or 13th post hope thats ok with you looking at the site your still at it but im sure bonovix can talk for himself once its ok with such an experienced man like you ps looking at your profile you know where i took your location from no offence to the nice people upthere pps best of luck to pike this season not for u mate

Any chance of a translation?, you don't seem to believe in full stops or comma's.

Pike B
01/09/2008, 4:25 PM
Lads, whats the story with Dromore? Are they the Derby County of Limerick Premier? Worst team ever according to a few I've spoken to.

L37Ultra
01/09/2008, 5:23 PM
Lads, whats the story with Dromore? Are they the Derby County of Limerick Premier? Worst team ever according to a few I've spoken to.

Check the League table before you type.;):rolleyes:

Pike B
01/09/2008, 5:26 PM
Ya I did and the two teams below them I've seen and know they aren't the worst teams ever. I've not seen Dromore hence the question, are they the worst Premier Team Ever??

L37Ultra
01/09/2008, 5:32 PM
Ya I did and the two teams below them I've seen and know they aren't the worst teams ever. I've not seen Dromore hence the question, are they the worst Premier Team Ever??

Well if they are ahead in the table of two teams you say are not the worst Premier teams ever then they are not the worst Premier team ever.

footyisclass
01/09/2008, 5:33 PM

They are a poor side in premier standards anyhow. Got promotion 2 years running and from what I saw, a lot of luck last year in 1a. Not a bad attacking side and have a few handy players going forward. Defense speaks for itself........;)

Pike B
01/09/2008, 5:36 PM
Well if they are ahead in the table of two teams you say are not the worst Premier teams ever then they are not the worst Premier team ever.
Do they teach you Limerick fans how to patronise people, or do you pick it up all by yourselves? ;)

allab
01/09/2008, 5:36 PM

Think pike b might be right on this one, id be shocked if they win a game this year.. Normally a promoted team wil have 2 or 3 handy players but i dont think they have any.. Just my opinion