View Full Version : Shane Long

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

29/11/2009, 4:22 PM
I saw him in the Championship highlights, he's put on a bit of weight too.I've often thought he looks on the heavy side (for a full time athlete).

29/11/2009, 8:11 PM
This was a big season for him, with Doyle gone, it was a great chance for him to establish himself in the XI. He got a decent run of games at the start of the season but didnt do all that great. I think he may be better utilised as a winger as opposed to a striker.

irishultra
30/11/2009, 12:25 AM
lol long always looked super skinny i thought.

irishfan86
30/11/2009, 6:38 AM
This was a big season for him, with Doyle gone, it was a great chance for him to establish himself in the XI. He got a decent run of games at the start of the season but didnt do all that great. I think he may be better utilised as a winger as opposed to a striker.

One of the bookmakers actually had him as top scorer going into this season (whoever Reading's sponsor is).

30/11/2009, 7:53 AM
Brendan Rogers has made a total mess of Reading football club. They were managed brilliantly by Coppell and this muppet comes in and dismantles it completely. Long has obviously become frustrated with what is going on. I hope he gets a move because I think the guy has potential.

irishfan86
30/11/2009, 8:00 AM
Brendan Rogers has made a total mess of Reading football club. They were managed brilliantly by Coppell and this muppet comes in and dismantles it completely. Long has obviously become frustrated with what is going on. I hope he gets a move because I think the guy has potential.

While Coppell did a tremendous job, Reading pumped a lot of money into trying to bring them back up at the first go, and when that failed they needed to sell off a lot of their big names in order to balance the books.

Rogers has not dismantled the team by choice- he has sold players by necessity, and gone about rebuilding things. I don't think he's done a particularly good job, but it was always going to be difficult trying to deal with the loss of the best striker and winger in the Championship (not to mention losing two starting centre-halfs to Burnley and Stoke).

twoenz
13/01/2010, 8:47 PM
Tripped in the last minute to win a penalty at Anfield tonight after coming on as a late sub.

13/01/2010, 9:00 PM
just scored now to make it 2

lol @ l'pool :D

13/01/2010, 9:00 PM
Reading goal: That is a really, really well-worked goal. Brynjar Gunnarsson, who was rubbish at Forest, morphs into Garrincha down the Reading left, doing Yossi Benayoun and then nutmegging Emiliano Insua before sending over a quite glorious cross that Shane Long glances into the Liverpool net from six yards. Oh my word.

twoenz
13/01/2010, 9:11 PM
Long picked a great time to get his first goal of the season. Especially since Reading are going to be looking to sell any potential good players since their parachute payments end this season. 22, stay fit he could be a decent wee player.

13/01/2010, 9:30 PM
i love how a week ago long was never going to make it, he had a bad temprament. He was aparently overweight last month. but sure after one goal he could be a good player all over again.
who said football fans aint fickle? :)

i an delighted for the lad thou :D

old git
Long picked a great time to get his first goal of the season. Especially since Reading are going to be looking to sell any potential good players since their parachute payments end this season. 22, stay fit he could be a decent wee player.

score the wining goal away to liverpool to win game for underdogs reading in f.a. cup and the tools on utv start calling you sean long :D:D

theworm2345
I've never rated him too highly but he does seem to have a penchant for scoring at Anfield in Cup competitions.

eaststand85
13/01/2010, 9:31 PM
Delighted for him, defended also when called upon & came across well in his interview aftewards too.

Mayo Red
13/01/2010, 9:56 PM
Liverpool were shocking tonight. Fair play to Shane Long though, he played well when he came on, winning the penalty and scoring a beautifully taken header. He wasn't lacking in helping out the defence when needed either, although Liverpool going forward were dire overall.

13/01/2010, 9:57 PM
Did very well overall, Ive seen him a few times this season and he hasnt really impressed. Hopefully this will give him the confidence to push on, this was to be a big season for him, he started the season first choice. Wouldnt agree that a move would be good for him, Reading seems like a good club, willing to bring young lads through so if hes good enough he'll continue to get plenty of chances there.

The goal was very similar to Doylers against Georgia away.

Noelys Guitar
13/01/2010, 9:58 PM
Good all round display from Long when he came on. Won the peno and then scored a good goal to knock out a woeful Liverpool. No LONGer Anfield for Rafa.

seanfhear
13/01/2010, 10:05 PM
Anyone know much about Readings caretaker manager Brian McDermott.

13/01/2010, 10:08 PM
i love how a week ago long was never going to make it, he had a bad temprament. He was aparently overweight last month. but sure after one goal he could be a good player all over again.
who said football fans aint fickle? :)

i an delighted for the lad thou :D
Strikers are all about confidence, he could get nice run going in the second half of the season after this now.

14/01/2010, 8:13 AM
Anyone know much about Readings caretaker manager Brian McDermott.

I think he started playing with Arsenal before dropping down the divisions to the likes of Grimbsy. Despite his name don't think he is Irish.

kev mcq
14/01/2010, 9:53 AM
Reading goal: That is a really, really well-worked goal. Brynjar Gunnarsson, who was rubbish at Forest, morphs into Garrincha down the Reading left, doing Yossi Benayoun and then nutmegging Emiliano Insua before sending over a quite glorious cross that Shane Long glances into the Liverpool net from six yards. Oh my word.

Don't mean to be pedantic, but the cross came from the right.

score the wining goal away to liverpool to win game for underdogs reading in f.a. cup and the tools on utv start calling you sean long :D:D

UTV take the feed from ITV in England, so it was ITV calling him Sean Long...

14/01/2010, 10:00 AM
WMYbQHVHEEo

He looks a bit shocked afterwards - as in, can't believe his luck.

14/01/2010, 12:14 PM

Twinkle toes Brynjar was the star man for Reading, a veteran from the Iceland v Ireland game, way back in 1997.

14/01/2010, 1:49 PM
Don't mean to be pedantic, but the cross came from the right....

thats alreet, i jusdt copied and pasted from BBC website. Saw the game last night. Long did well, couldnt miss the goal in fairness but it was a deft touch and he did well to get in the right place at the right time.

14/01/2010, 1:51 PM
by the way, anyone else think he looks uncannily like Glen Crowe in the slow-mo shot as he's running away.

Glen Crowe minus the ginger hair.

14/01/2010, 1:54 PM
shane long doesnt look that ugly in fiarness, and he certainly has sallower skin as oppossed to fair irish skin.

dr_peepee
15/01/2010, 10:59 AM
by the way, anyone else think he looks uncannily like Glen Crowe in the slow-mo shot as he's running away.

I don't see it...

15/01/2010, 2:25 PM
I don't see it...

you just cant see past the ginger. :p

Fixer82
15/01/2010, 2:56 PM

eh...no

15/01/2010, 3:44 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/images/g/gcrowe8.jpg

http://img.skysports.com/08/01/218x298/Shane_Long_627983.jpg

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Sport/Pix/pictures/2008/12/14/1229273249483/Shane-Long-001.jpg

fair enough...

Junior
15/01/2010, 4:05 PM
Shane, interviewed about his goal against Liverpool and current seasons form. (first 5 mins)

http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2010/pc/pod-v-140110-25m55s-sportatseventhursday.mp3

irishfan86
15/01/2010, 11:58 PM
I'm afraid Long is destined to be a Championship player at best and Trap doesn't rate him it seems..

Been in most of his squads so far...has been played mainly as a winger though.

Irish_Praha
16/01/2010, 12:06 AM
I'm afraid Long is destined to be a Championship player at best and Trap doesn't rate him it seems..

I see they let you out for the weekend again.

Brendan 82
16/01/2010, 3:37 AM
I see they let you out for the weekend again.

:Dlol

bohsRap
16/01/2010, 10:10 PM
lol, all jokes aside Long is not good enough.

You are single handley ruining this forum.

Irish_Praha
16/01/2010, 10:17 PM

There are 10s of better posts from him you could have quoted to support your argument but there is a good chance he is right about long.

However whenever Long has played for Ireland he has done well.

Razors left peg
16/01/2010, 10:20 PM

I sure thats exactly the sort of attention he is looking for, and he will be delighted to hear a statement like that

bohsRap
16/01/2010, 11:21 PM
There are 10s of better posts from him you could have quoted to support your argument but there is a good chance he is right about long.

However whenever Long has played for Ireland he has done well.

I never said he was wrong on Long. Just said what I thought about him.

Personally, I thought Long was going to be a good player for us, but he has trailed off a bit this season, possibly due to the other Irish lads (Hunt and Doyle) leaving. That's not to say it's the end of him, but it looks less likely now that he'll be a good international in the future.

bohsRap
17/01/2010, 12:01 PM
I sure thats exactly the sort of attention he is looking for, and he will be delighted to hear a statement like that

How can you say that when on another thread you say:

I still cant understand why the mods havent done anything about this blatent wind up merchant

Razors left peg
17/01/2010, 12:21 PM
How can you say that when on another thread you say:

I was saying that he should be ignored but like an idiot I got sucked into an arguement with him too. :o

18/01/2010, 9:31 AM
A sub again on a losing Reading team.

noddy102
07/03/2010, 1:53 PM
2 goals against the Villains. Both goals resulting from him being in the right place at the right time. Great movement for both goals.

07/03/2010, 1:57 PM
Long has now scored more goals in the first 3 months of the year than in the whole of 2009!

Nagger
07/03/2010, 6:01 PM
2 goals against the Villains. Both goals resulting from him being in the right place at the right time. Great movement for both goals.

His timing was perfect allright. Second goal was really good. To bad they lost in the end.

Cabs88
07/03/2010, 6:47 PM
Good performances by Irish players this weekend in lower leagues Long, O'Flynn, O'Donavon, lee, Houlahan, Mooney and er... Robbie Keane..

Colbert Report
10/03/2010, 8:41 PM
A goal and a penalty miss for Long today against Derby in a 4-1 win.

bwagner
10/03/2010, 9:35 PM
I delighted he is showing his true quality. Between him and Stokes we are in fine tune for the new campaign.

TrapAPony
10/03/2010, 9:39 PM
I delighted he is showing his true quality. Between him and Stokes we are in fine tune for the new campaign.

I'd be alot more excited if they were doing it in the Premiership.

dr_peepee
11/03/2010, 8:44 AM
Long has been doing it in fits and starts for the last few years though. He needs to deliver over the course of a season.

11/03/2010, 1:42 PM
he is easily capable of the step up. He has the agression, the ability and the instinct to make it at a higher level. His potential excites me and can only mean good things for the national team in a couple of years. The only thing lacking right now, preventing him from ripping the champo apart, is a bit of consistency, as Dr.PeePee states.