View Full Version : Shane Long

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

Sullivinho
23/10/2011, 2:50 PM
Gaddafi called; He's appalled at Shane's manhandling.

Hutton seems like a knucklehead at the best of times and was probably following instruction, albeit too...enthusiastically. Shane seemed positive enough on TV last night though so fingers crossed for some good news tomorrow.

23/10/2011, 4:06 PM
Alex McLeish: “In the penalty box, we see them 100 times and unfortunately Shane got injured. Not everyone gets injured with those challenges. I understand what the argument will be, it will be that he’s got the ball and followed through and collided with the player, but how can you stop in mid-air?”

He shouldn't be in mid-air, that's the argument. Nothing to do with any follow throughs. And no, you don't see that type of tackle 100 times.

I think that was a worse tackle than the one that did for Eduardo at Birmingham in 2008. Also under McLeish btw.

Yard of Pace
23/10/2011, 4:28 PM
I'd agree with you Stutts, I thought it was an absolute shocker. When it's not actually that bad, you'd hear the victim usually brush it off as being part of the game. Shane pointedly said he was lucky his feet left the ground or he'd have gotten a broken leg. He never mentioned that Hutton had apologised either.
A premeditated neanderthal assault from Hutton, imo.

French Toasht
23/10/2011, 4:30 PM
Whilst the injury to Shane is regretable, I actually don't think it is of consequence to Trap's plans. I think irrespective of whether Long is fit for the playoff, it is hard to see past Trap going with Keane and Cox up front.

23/10/2011, 5:15 PM
Hodgson rages at 'vicious' Hutton after tackle leaves Long facing lengthy spell out

West Brom boss Roy Hodgson believes there is 'no room in football' for the challenge by Aston Villa defender Alan Hutton which has left his striker Shane Long facing a lengthy lay-off.
Hodgson's joy at the Baggies 2-1 away win - their first in the league at Villa Park for 32 years - was tempered by Long's knee ligament injury sustained in Hutton's lunging first-half challenge.
Albion expect the results of the scan on the Republic of Ireland international early next week but Hodgson is fearing the worst after Long limped out of the action.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2052474/Roy-Hodgson-slams-Alan-Hutton-tackle-Shane-Long-injury.html#ixzz1bcsXBeeW

23/10/2011, 5:29 PM
I thought Long walked off rather than limped off. Anyway we'll hear soon enough about the damage.
It looked a straight red reckless tackle. What did the ref see?

23/10/2011, 5:52 PM
Referee saw a fair tackle and gave Villa a throw-in.

23/10/2011, 6:34 PM
I think the ref missed it completely.

24/10/2011, 5:36 PM
Long out for 6 weeks. Just announced on Last Word.

24/10/2011, 5:36 PM
Bad news, from https://twitter.com/#!/chrislepkowski/statuses/128522341499146240

Shane Long out for up to six weeks. Severe bone bruising and a small bone chip in his right knee
out for six weeks, and the ref didn't even give a free for the tackle.

24/10/2011, 5:40 PM
SHANE Long could face up to six weeks
on the sidelines after a scan this
evening confirmed the extent of the
knee injury he suffered at Villa on
Saturday.
Long was forced to leave the field in
the 19th minute after a challenge by
Alan Hutton eight minutes earlier.
The force of the tackle resulted in the
Republic of Ireland international
suffering severe bone bruising, and a
small bone chip, inside his right knee.

mobile.wba.co.uk/runtime/wba/article?articleId=2492762

tommy_c12000
24/10/2011, 6:01 PM
Bad news this. What is the latest on Robbie? Is Doyle back for the home leg?

amaccann
24/10/2011, 6:27 PM
Terrible news, but I never seriously believed Trap would play Long anyway, certainly based on the most recent matches.

theworm2345
24/10/2011, 6:38 PM
Its too bad but could've been much worse...this could be Cox's chance to prove he is a Premier League striker

24/10/2011, 6:39 PM
Yep, only if both Robbie & Doyle were out would he have figured.

Doyle is back for home leg.

Walters' cameo against Armenia might prove very valuable. I hope Best gets a call up.

Sullivinho
24/10/2011, 6:49 PM
Trap started Keane and Cox away to Macedonia didn't he? Might well be the same setup in Talinn.

rebelmusic
24/10/2011, 10:43 PM
I dont think so. Trap rates the Estonians as very physical so it was always going to be Long and i think he'll choose Walters over Cox for this. Saying that, it could well be Walters Cox if Keano doesnt make it.

punkrocket
25/10/2011, 12:56 PM
In a way it may be a good thing to cut down on the surfeit of strikers, it concentrates the mind.
Walters has shown himself, both for club and country to be up to the task just lately, and this may be whats needed to get him a start. If the estonians prove to be as physical as Trap expects then a bruiser like Walters who is hard to push around and who can hold the ball up well should do the job, especially if he's along with a fit Keane. But Cox beside him would do just as well. I'm not worried (yet).

Closed Account 2
25/10/2011, 3:19 PM
I'd be tempted to have Sean Scannell in ahead of Keogh, he's scored 3 and got 4 assists with Palace so far this season.

theworm2345
25/10/2011, 3:39 PM
I'd be tempted to have Sean Scannell in ahead of Keogh, he's scored 3 and got 4 assists with Palace so far this season.
Agreed, put in a great cross for Paddy McCarthy's goal on Saturday and has helped Palace to fourth in the table after they only narrowly escaped relegation last year. Similarly to Keogh he can play on the wing or up front (though I think he prefers the wing). Wouldn't mind seeing him on the right and Pilkington on the left in a friendly.

25/10/2011, 4:10 PM
R5 Live was waxing lyrical about Scannell last w/e.

tommy_c12000
25/10/2011, 4:17 PM
R5 Live was waxing lyrical about Scannell last w/e.

Presume that means they were talking about Scannell's performance in a very positive manner?

Sullivinho
25/10/2011, 5:06 PM
Presume that means they were talking about Scannell's performance in a very positive manner?

Yep, made opposition defenders look statuesque and sold the keeper a dummy.

25/10/2011, 10:12 PM
Set up a goal for in-form Paddy McCarthy tonight.

Today's Evening Standard ran a piece on Palace's academy and featured Scannell. He went to a special football academy in South London where lessons were scheduled around twice daily football sessions & recovery sessions, and diet etc. was carefully thought out. Access to football was withheld if you were falling behind in your schoolwork.

I'll try and dig out the link tomorrow. Interesting article.

Predator
25/10/2011, 10:59 PM
The only thing I see stopping Scannell from a call up is the fact that we're already blessed with riches in the striker department, relative to our other areas. Keane, Doyle, Long, Cox, Walters. Then we also have the man of questionable work-rate, Leon Best. Scannell has pulled out of most, if not all of King's recent under 21 squads due to injuries, but he seems to be playing a lot for Palace at the same time.

CraftyToePoke
26/10/2011, 2:53 AM
The only thing I see stopping Scannell from a call up is the fact that we're already blessed with riches in the striker department, relative to our other areas. Keane, Doyle, Long, Cox, Walters.

Is he a striker though? I thought he was a wide player, on the right. I saw him play there once for Palace, but it is some time back, things could easily have changed.

theworm2345
26/10/2011, 3:06 AM
Is he a striker though? I thought he was a wide player, on the right. I saw him play there once for Palace, but it is some time back, things could easily have changed.
He can play in either position. I think he has been playing up front this season but I also think I read somewhere he prefers playing on the wing.

26/10/2011, 8:16 AM
I just added the article I referred to to the Sean Scannell thread, just to keep things on the right track.

26/10/2011, 8:51 AM
While I've seen little enough of Scannell, he seems to me a Malouda or Kalou type player in that he's more than a winger and not enough of a striker - the type of player who would be ideally suited to the top right of a 4-3-3.

Colbert Report
26/10/2011, 10:13 AM
Shane Long definitely out for both legs of the Estonia play-off. Will be sidelined for six weeks according to this article.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/975012/west-brom-lose-shane-long-to-injury-for-six-weeks?cc=5901

theworm2345
19/11/2011, 3:16 PM
Just scored for the Baggies.

19/11/2011, 3:22 PM
Just scored for the Baggies.
Typical, can't play for Ireland during the week but makes a miraculous recovery for his club....

amaccann
19/11/2011, 4:01 PM
I dunno, I was under the impression that Hodgson & Trap had come to an agreement that Long wouldn't take part in the play-offs, even if he was picked for the squad.

The important thing is that he's back & scoring.

19/11/2011, 5:00 PM
Well if did seem like the sort of injury that would last just long enough to miss the play-offs,
not really a surprise he is back, no point in rushing it and being out for 6 months.

19/11/2011, 5:41 PM
Sarcasm lads. The reason he's back so soon is because he was desperate to play in the playoffs. Treatment 7 days a week, sometimes twice a day. Fair play to him.

19/11/2011, 8:39 PM
Nice header today anyway.

tommy_c12000
20/11/2011, 7:59 AM
Hodgson hails Long's performance:

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/hodgson-hails-longs-performance-2940265.html

toffeeforever
20/11/2011, 9:17 AM
great to see him get good reviews. a few more goals and full of confidence come June and he is a viable option. strong and fast. roll on June

Bayern Munchies
20/11/2011, 12:28 PM
I have a real soft spot for Long. He's really improved the past year or two as well. Always gaurnteed to put in a good shift and get stuck in when it matters, very good at holding the ball up and a very decent finisher too. Great to see him back and scoring hopefully it will keep up.

20/11/2011, 2:55 PM
Just realised he is only 5'11, I always imagine him as a tall player, or at least a long one anyway - lol.

Nice video of him here by the way http://vimeo.com/30977931
(anyone recognise the music?)
He certainly has a noticeable burst of pace about him.

I don't think we have every had a better selection of strikers, spoilt for choice really.

Sullivinho
20/11/2011, 3:13 PM
Hodgson hails Long's performance:

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/hodgson-hails-longs-performance-2940265.html

West Brom fans fairly giddy about his performances too. He seems to have made a seamless step up, assassination attempt et al.

DeLorean
21/11/2011, 11:22 AM
Just realised he is only 5'11, I always imagine him as a tall player, or at least a long one anyway - lol

I'd be shocked if he's 5'11, but the opposite to you...I thought he was about 5'9 and even that's being generous if anything.

SwanVsDalton
21/11/2011, 11:25 AM
I'd be shocked if he's 5'11, but the opposite to you...I thought he was about 5'9 and even that's being generous if anything.

5'9? No way. Long's average height, certainly ain't a small guy. 5'11 sounds right.

DeLorean
21/11/2011, 11:31 AM
5'9? No way. Long's average height, certainly ain't a small guy. 5'11 sounds right.

Yeah, so it seems. Always considered him small for some reason... maybe it's his boyish appearance.

21/11/2011, 12:23 PM
So....we're judging the look of players now.

24/11/2011, 7:29 AM
Long picked up a knock in training yesterday and is a doubtfor west brom's game this weekend: http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/west-bromwich-albion-fc/west-bromwich-albion-fc-news/2011/11/23/west-brom-shane-long-injury-fears-grow-97319-29824876/

03/12/2011, 3:40 PM
Just equalised for West Brom away at QPR. 10 minutes remaining.

theworm2345
03/12/2011, 3:42 PM
Nice goal just now, Odemwingie released down the left side of the box, fizzes in a cross and Long finshes from about 3 yards, not the easiest ball to deal with did well to keep it down.

03/12/2011, 3:46 PM
go on the shlong!

14/01/2012, 3:27 PM
Dropped to Page 5, but back with a bang.
Scores a penalty with his second touch.