View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

parkfan
08/01/2007, 9:11 AM
We won 2-1 and it could and should have been more. The goal balla got was because of a mistake from the goal keeper. Whos to no maybe we have stopped the rot. How did the limerick league get on yesterday..

CousinSylDolan
08/01/2007, 9:13 AM
We won 2-1 and it could and should have been more. The goal balla got was because of a mistake from the goal keeper. Whos to no maybe we have stopped the rot. How did the limerick league get on yesterday..

Clare 1 2 Limerick.

Both teams qualified for the knockout stages.

parkfan
08/01/2007, 9:21 AM
Clare 1 2 Limerick.

Both teams qualified for the knockout stages.

****** to that syl. I thought the winner of that game went through how did limerick line up. I tought the limerick league would trash them. But obviously the clare league can put together a handy 11. or is it because the usual splits with the big clubs

CousinSylDolan
08/01/2007, 9:48 AM
****** to that syl. I thought the winner of that game went through how did limerick line up. I tought the limerick league would trash them. But obviously the clare league can put together a handy 11. or is it because the usual splits with the big clubs

West Cork and MSL drew 1-1 on Sat night so both Limerick and Clare had qualified before yesterdays game.

Limerick were better side yesterday but Clare battled well and 1st Limerick goal was a simple mistake for Clare goalie Skinny. Limerick seemed a very tight knit team... All supported each other well throughout and there are certainly no "splits". It will take a good side to beat Limerick this year. Limerick 1st 11 players I knew were

G Stewart
D Dunphy
P McGarry
Dave (Carew center half)
D Droog
A Finucane
K Hartnett
Shane (Wembley)
R Cosgrove
Cyril Maher
???? Summerville midfielder

parkfan
08/01/2007, 10:02 AM
West Cork and MSL drew 1-1 on Sat night so both Limerick and Clare had qualified before yesterdays game.

Limerick were better side yesterday but Clare battled well and 1st Limerick goal was a simple mistake for Clare goalie Skinny. Limerick seemed a very tight knit team... All supported each other well throughout and there are certainly no "splits". It will take a good side to beat Limerick this year. Limerick 1st 11 players I knew were

G Stewart
D Dunphy
P McGarry
Dave (Carew center half)
D Droog
A Finucane
K Hartnett
Shane (Wembley)
R Cosgrove
Cyril Maher
???? Summerville midfielder

Not a bad side at all!! Summervile lad was it alan daly. When we played them he seem theyre strongest midfielder.. Pity they didnt wallop them. That C.L keeper is handy but I would have thought that the bunratty keeper would have earned a place

summervilleman
08/01/2007, 10:03 AM
summerville man, now that the wheels are falling off the Bruff Wagon, do ye want the title now or will ye wait til May.............

Well we are in a pretty good position at the moment but we will just plug away and keep trying to get results..we trained hard over the xmas so hopefully this will stand to us...We are down to play hill celtic on thursday night and if we manage to win that they we go top and hopefully we will stay there..Any one know the condition of hill celtics pitch??

summervilleman
08/01/2007, 10:04 AM
Not a bad side at all!! Summervile lad was it alan daly. When we played them he seem theyre strongest midfielder.. Pity they didnt wallop them. That C.L keeper is handy but I would have thought that the bunratty keeper would have earned a place

Well the only midfielder we have playing on the oscar traynor is cyril maher..James o donnell plays with them as well but he plays left back unless they pushed him up into midfield...

Hoops 1967
08/01/2007, 10:05 AM

alan daly, who's he?
who played up front and who scored for limerick?

summervilleman
08/01/2007, 10:07 AM
He played with the boro for a few years.Was out injured for a good while as well as he damaged his crutiate...He back playing with us for the last year and doing very welll.Plays on the wing or in the middle of the park..Pretty handy on the ball and good in the air concidering he is a small enough chap!!

parkfan
08/01/2007, 10:12 AM
He played with the boro for a few years.Was out injured for a good while as well as he damaged his crutiate...He back playing with us for the last year and doing very welll.Plays on the wing or in the middle of the park..Pretty handy on the ball and good in the air concidering he is a small enough chap!!

I played with alan with fairveiw youths he is a great player. Great holding midfielder for us. who was the summerville lad in midfield.

summervilleman
08/01/2007, 10:26 AM
either cyril maher or james odonnell....Cyril was mentioned in the post so i am guessing its Jamsie as we have no other players on the ot team!!

CousinSylDolan
08/01/2007, 10:31 AM
Lads I'm not 100% on that Limerick team....I knew most of them but was not sure of 1 or 2. Think Mick Ahearne started and Cyril Maher was the only Summerville starter....

old git
08/01/2007, 10:44 AM

congrats parkfan.. good result to start new year... looks like the long break between matches was worth the wait ;)

parkfan
08/01/2007, 11:01 AM
congrats parkfan.. good result to start new year... looks like the long break between matches was worth the wait ;)

Thanks old git!! Just wait for the young lads to come through then park will compete again!!

summervilleman
08/01/2007, 11:22 AM
Well to be totally honest we played park before xmas and ok we beat them 4-0 out there but they have a pretty handy team and i can see them taking points off some of the big teams in the league..think they were missing a few when we played them and they also lost there keeper early on(don;t think he was there keeper anyways) and one of there better players went in goal...

parkfan
08/01/2007, 11:33 AM
Well to be totally honest we played park before xmas and ok we beat them 4-0 out there but they have a pretty handy team and i can see them taking points off some of the big teams in the league..think they were missing a few when we played them and they also lost there keeper early on(don;t think he was there keeper anyways) and one of there better players went in goal...

That game ended up being a disaster for us. The first goal that ye got from a free was in my opinion never a free the striker was backing into me. but i suppose forwards always get them frees. he wasnt our goalkeeper at all. We are better at the back keeper is getting more pretection.

summervilleman
08/01/2007, 11:37 AM
Well to be totally honest i think it was a free as it was me u fouled..And i am a midfielder not a striker...Blatent free..Yes the free kick was hit straight at the keeper and he moved out of the way of it !!

parkfan
08/01/2007, 11:43 AM
Well to be totally honest i think it was a free as it was me u fouled..And i am a midfielder not a striker...Blatent free..Yes the free kick was hit straight at the keeper and he moved out of the way of it !!

A blatant free is pulling somebodies jersey or taking them out. I jumped before you and won the header. I understand them frees do be given but i dont think its a free kick. He was afraid of the ball i think.:D

summervilleman
08/01/2007, 1:40 PM
probably was......but we are not complaining!!

jumping jac
08/01/2007, 3:50 PM
Well we are in a pretty good position at the moment but we will just plug away and keep trying to get results..we trained hard over the xmas so hopefully this will stand to us...We are down to play hill celtic on thursday night and if we manage to win that they we go top and hopefully we will stay there..Any one know the condition of hill celtics pitch??

The game will probably be off due to the weather, the field does not hold that much water.

allab
08/01/2007, 8:02 PM
What happened allab, were ye missing a good few or were park good, thats tere first win of the season or is it tere first points aswell

dunno dont play wit them, heard from 1 of the players that does

ffffff
09/01/2007, 8:09 AM
The game will probably be off due to the weather, the field does not hold that much water.

the pitch is an absulote joke ( especially when you think it is "considered " a league of ireland pitch" - every match has been called off there for the last couple of months.................

Hoops 1967
09/01/2007, 9:51 AM
the pitch is an absulote joke ( especially when you think it is "considered " a league of ireland pitch" - every match has been called off there for the last couple of months.................

If limerick does manage to have a loi team next season they should not play at hogan park, the pitch is a joke and the location of the ground is bad.

scoobysham
09/01/2007, 12:03 PM
predictions

summerville 5-0 park
caherdavin 4-0 coonagh
hill celtic 0-2 bruff
balla 1-3 shannon
cappamore 0-3 mungret

see's it
09/01/2007, 12:09 PM
was away for the christmas,have wembley played since the castlebar game?

parkfan
09/01/2007, 12:25 PM
If limerick does manage to have a loi team next season they should not play at hogan park, the pitch is a joke and the location of the ground is bad.

could the league afford to build a new stadium. it would be great to get rid of limerick f.c in my opinion because that father young distroyed the clubs stability. i was talking to that lad Duggan who played against Real Madrid for limerick about the old days. im only a young lad but do any of you think there is any chance of reviving the old days.

summervilleman
09/01/2007, 12:40 PM
Hill Celtic 1-3 Summerville(if its on thursday night)
summerville 2-0 park
caherdavin 3-1 coonagh
hill celtic 1-1 bruff
balla 1-2 shannon
cappamore 2-2 mungret

Wembley Rover
09/01/2007, 12:43 PM
was away for the christmas,have wembley played since the castlebar game?

No we havent. Supposed to play Pike in MJ New years eve but called off.
Were supposed to play Mungret last sunday but we had three lads on th OT team so got it called off

smellyfeet
09/01/2007, 12:48 PM
could the league afford to build a new stadium. it would be great to get rid of limerick f.c in my opinion because that father young distroyed the clubs stability. i was talking to that lad Duggan who played against Real Madrid for limerick about the old days. im only a young lad but do any of you think there is any chance of reviving the old days.

Could what league afford a new stadium??
Explain how getting rid of Limerick FC would be great, this baffles me no end.
And finally what is the point you are trying to make in this post,i have read tru it and can't really see what you are trying to say.

parkfan
09/01/2007, 1:06 PM
Could what league afford a new stadium??
Explain how getting rid of Limerick FC would be great, this baffles me no end.
And finally what is the point you are trying to make in this post,i have read tru it and can't really see what you are trying to say.

Davy I was trying to say would it possibly be better for limerick soccer to start again in the eircom league. After moving to rathbane they lost a hell of alot of fans. My understanding of the situation is that it would be ldmc who would run the club. If they managed to get the fans back limerick soccer would compete again without danny drew forking out fortunes. Do Irish Express still pump in money or did the new owners end all that.

gaidin
09/01/2007, 1:11 PM
Hill Celtic 1 - 2 Summerville(if its on thursday night)
summerville 2-1 park
caherdavin 3-1 coonagh
hill celtic 1-2bruff
balla 0-4 shannon
cappamore 1-2 mungret

Mercurial Vapor
09/01/2007, 1:26 PM
No we havent. Supposed to play Pike in MJ New years eve but called off.
Were supposed to play Mungret last sunday but we had three lads on th OT team so got it called off

What 3 players had Wembly on the Oscar Traynor? Did they all get a run?
Anyone know what Cappamore's setup is like ie. pitch and dressing rooms?

smellyfeet
09/01/2007, 1:38 PM
Davy I was trying to say would it possibly be better for limerick soccer to start again in the eircom league. After moving to rathbane they lost a hell of alot of fans. My understanding of the situation is that it would be ldmc who would run the club. If they managed to get the fans back limerick soccer would compete again without danny drew forking out fortunes. Do Irish Express still pump in money or did the new owners end all that.

Totally lost now, who are Irish Express

old git
09/01/2007, 2:00 PM
Totally lost now, who are Irish Express

would it be irish express cargo . now trading under flextronics in raheen limerick if so i am not even sure irish express even pumped money into limerick ... :confused:

Hoops 1967
09/01/2007, 2:21 PM

This time of year their pitch will be a mud bath, i'd be suprised if the game goes ahead. The pitch is also small and they have no dressing rooms.

Hoops 1967
09/01/2007, 2:25 PM
Hill Celtic 1 - 3 Summerville(if its on thursday night)
summerville 3-0 park
caherdavin 3-3 coonagh
hill celtic 1-0 bruff
balla 1-2 shannon
cappamore 0-2 mungret

Wembley Rover
09/01/2007, 2:40 PM

Shane Tracy, Seamus Mulcahy and Gary Joyce.
Shane played full game and Seamus Mul came on.
Dont think Gary got a run

Mercurial Vapor
09/01/2007, 3:51 PM
Shane Tracy, Seamus Mulcahy and Gary Joyce.
Shane played full game and Seamus Mul came on.
Dont think Gary got a run

Fair play to Wembly, it must be the first time ever that a Division 1a team had 3 on the Oscar Traynor panel.

see's it
10/01/2007, 10:22 AM
ya wembley defo a club going in the right direction.a dublin team next in the FAI,are they any good?
could the limerick chat go to the LOI forum:cool:

parkfan
10/01/2007, 12:04 PM
ya wembley defo a club going in the right direction.a dublin team next in the FAI,are they any good?
could the limerick chat go to the LOI forum:cool:

I was going on about the comment left earlier that day and the 2 boys id like to think were playing dumb otherwise its a sad state of affairs. when do wembley play in the fai and where

W.R.F.C
10/01/2007, 12:46 PM
I was going on about the comment left earlier that day and the 2 boys id like to think were playing dumb otherwise its a sad state of affairs. when do wembley play in the fai and where

baldoyle in dublin, sunday at 2

parkfan
10/01/2007, 12:57 PM
baldoyle in dublin, sunday at 2

have ye had them watched or anything. are they any good

CousinSylDolan
10/01/2007, 1:24 PM
Is it true ye have recieved a bid of 2.5 million from an unknown club for yere striker Brian Keane after his heroics last Sunday vs Balla :confused: :D :D

W.R.F.C
10/01/2007, 2:30 PM
have ye had them watched or anything. are they any good

we dont know much about them, i know tere center forward plays with ireland juniors, thats all

jumping jac
10/01/2007, 3:56 PM

Mona just got confirmation that this game is going ahead tomorrow night.

Balla
10/01/2007, 5:00 PM
Is it true ye have recieved a bid of 2.5 million from an unknown club for yere striker Brian Keane after his heroics last Sunday vs Balla :confused: :D :D

2.5 million??milk tokens is it??heroics??a striker scores two goals and its heroics??the midfielder called locky was good but if you heard the abuse we got from our manager after the game you'd know we can play a lot better than the way we played that game.

CousinSylDolan
11/01/2007, 7:46 AM
2.5 million??milk tokens is it??heroics??a striker scores two goals and its heroics??the midfielder called locky was good but if you heard the abuse we got from our manager after the game you'd know we can play a lot better than the way we played that game.

Yere manager abusing ye after the game is not going to change the result is it????:D

Chill out a bit there will ya....only a bit of banter.:D

Park have refused the 2.5 million bid anyway and Keano has extended his contract with the club. What a die-hard.:)

see's it
11/01/2007, 7:50 AM
Balla managers abusing people...............totally unheard of........:)

parkfan
11/01/2007, 12:28 PM
Park have refused the 2.5 million bid anyway and Keano has extended his contract with the club. What a die-hard

We are glad to be able to announce that Brian has decided to extend his contract it's a massive boost to the club on the back of a great result. Lets hope he can continue this fine form and be a leader of men for the team:D :D

see's it
12/01/2007, 7:54 AM
ex corbally goalkeeper tony hincy has put pen to paper for caherdavin..
has there being any other transfers in 1a?