View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46

Super Rovers
27/05/2007, 2:43 PM
who's gary joyce signing for next season... hardly going back to wembley is he???? good player!

he will be in australia pal. wont be here for the season

Gerry the ferry
27/05/2007, 6:47 PM
mona is a superstar along wit that fox in goals for summerville

Gerry the ferry
27/05/2007, 7:16 PM
does any1 know when the 1a cup final is on,i fancy bruff to nick it on penalties,saw summerville play a couple of times this year and there no way near as good as they think they are,there a team with 1r2 individuals thats it

themerryman
28/05/2007, 7:56 AM
does any1 know when the 1a cup final is on,i fancy bruff to nick it on penalties,saw summerville play a couple of times this year and there no way near as good as they think they are,there a team with 1r2 individuals thats it

Heard it might be on Wednesday night but not sure yet maybe old keeper has
some info on this..

summervilleman
28/05/2007, 10:24 AM
Saturday night at 7pm in Jackman Park....Paddy O Halloran Cup!!!
Anything can happen in a final!!

see's it
28/05/2007, 10:39 AM
great time for the winners sat night of a long weekend,how much is the bus to bruff?

Hoops 1967
28/05/2007, 11:40 AM
Saturday night at 7pm in Jackman Park....Paddy O Halloran Cup!!!
Anything can happen in a final!!

Go along and see the football (or lack of ) that summerville play.....huff, huff, huff......but hey it's worked for them this far so why would they change now....

themerryman
28/05/2007, 11:59 AM
Go along and see the football (or lack of ) that summerville play.....huff, huff, huff......but hey it's worked for them this far so why would they change now....

seen them a few times myself hoops and would agree that some of them play
this way but there is also 5 or 6 that try play ball on the ground ,front men and 2 middle men are good footballers ,wingers = least said the better ,but
majority of them try to play ball...

Think they should win it on the night, both meeting in the league were won by 3 nil i think so it would be big turn over for bruff

Hoops 1967
28/05/2007, 2:40 PM
seen them a few times myself hoops and would agree that some of them play
this way but there is also 5 or 6 that try play ball on the ground ,front men and 2 middle men are good footballers ,wingers = least said the better ,but
majority of them try to play ball...

Think they should win it on the night, both meeting in the league were won by 3 nil i think so it would be big turn over for bruff

I've seen summerville play 4 times this season and i have'nt seen they even try to play football, they have 3 or 4 players who can play ball but they even huff it down the field or should I say huff it up in the air at an angle :confused:

SummervilleRule
28/05/2007, 3:40 PM
Jealousy will get ye nowhere! Seriously tho, just playing to our strengths - which have helped us go up! There were some games that we jst "hoofed" it forward, but the majority of the time we played ball. Anyone who saw all our games would know that we had to adapt our style depending on who we were playing.

themerryman
29/05/2007, 8:51 AM
Jealousy will get ye nowhere! Seriously tho, just playing to our strengths - which have helped us go up! There were some games that we jst "hoofed" it forward, but the majority of the time we played ball. Anyone who saw all our games would know that we had to adapt our style depending on who we were playing.

Adapt your style come on now who do ye think ye are at all , ye have about 5 players who can play ball and huff and 6 who just huff,

summervilleman
29/05/2007, 11:03 AM
Will ye ever get off our backs for f*ck sake...We only lost one league game all season in the league..Won the league pretty convincingly and we are in the final of the league cup...Beaten by a premier team in the fai at the final stage of going out of town...Got beaten in the lawson then by pike(2-0) which isn't a bad scoreline considering they are in contention of the premier league....People were all talk saying that wembley are a great team and well able to play football but at the end of the day its the result and the points on the board that count and if means we have to play long ball against a few teams next year to get points then so be it!!!! But we can play ball when we want to!!!

themerryman
29/05/2007, 4:48 PM
[QUOTE=summervilleman;694894]Will ye ever get off our backs for f*ck sake...We only lost one league game all season in the league..Won the league pretty convincingly and we are in the final of the league cup...Beaten by a premier team in the fai at the final stage of going out of town...Got beaten in the lawson then by pike(2-0) which isn't a bad scoreline considering they are in contention of the premier league....People were all talk saying that wembley are a great team and well able to play football but at the end of the day its the result and the points on the board that count and if means we have to play long ball against a few teams next year to get points then so be it!!!! But we can play ball when we want to!!![/QUOTE

results speak for themselves so think u are right in wot u say ,every team has a few bad players that huff the ball so dont be offended.u might be one of the 5 or 6 that play football are ya???:confused:

summervilleman
29/05/2007, 6:25 PM
Well i try to play ball as much as possible..Sometimes when u try to play a bit of ball a few of them give out...U can't win sometimes!!

Lev Yashin
29/05/2007, 6:25 PM
Adapt your style come on now who do ye think ye are at all , ye have about 5 players who can play ball and huff and 6 who just huff,

Thin your being a bit harsh in all honesty
summerville were clearly the best team in the league, ya wembley play good football but what i saw of summerville they were better.
any team that thinks they can go to the premier and play the same as in 1a and stay up will come straight back down and im sure summerville managment and players understand that.

i wish ye luck next season and i hope we will be playing ys in premier next season.

themerryman
30/05/2007, 9:08 AM
Well i try to play ball as much as possible..Sometimes when u try to play a bit of ball a few of them give out...U can't win sometimes!!

Ah well at least u try thats the main thing,cant understand why players
would give out to u for trying to play ball,must be frustrating having guys like
that on the team ,that just want to huff and stop the likes of u playing ball,

summervilleman
30/05/2007, 2:33 PM
would give out to u for trying to play ball,must be frustrating having guys like

We all want to play ball but its not as easy as one thinks when on the field especially when its portland park~!! he he

owngoal
30/05/2007, 3:07 PM

the only players who huff the ball are the keeper and 4 defenders, which is no different to any other team in 1A..

the keeper huffs it long becasuse the full backs and centre halves dont show enough for the ball.

they dont show for the ball because they have no options. And when they do show for the ball they punt it anyway as midfielders(wingers especially) simply are not good enough to receive a pass with their backs to the opposition goal, besides cyril maher. so it always goes long to the strikers with the midfielders picking up scraps/knockdowns.

this way of playing is horrible but is the best way to play when your players have limited skills and the fact that 1A defences are so poor that they fall over themselves waiting for a high ball come down. like what happened with geraldines against summerville in the cup semi final.

you are right in what you are saying that punting the ball long will get you no where in premier.

if they sign 2 wingers, a centre mid and a striker then i think they can play decent football in premier next year. If not then it will be the same old stuff.

this is only my opinion so everyone at the ville relax if ye dont agree, ye know more than i do. its been a great year for ye and best of luck saturday.

themerryman
30/05/2007, 6:21 PM
We all want to play ball but its not as easy as one thinks when on the field especially when its portland park~!! he he

all except the players that give out to u when u try to play ball as u wrote
in a previous quote..

Hoops 1967
31/05/2007, 9:15 AM
the only players who huff the ball are the keeper and 4 defenders, which is no different to any other team in 1A..

the keeper huffs it long becasuse the full backs and centre halves dont show enough for the ball.

they dont show for the ball because they have no options. And when they do show for the ball they punt it anyway as midfielders(wingers especially) simply are not good enough to receive a pass with their backs to the opposition goal, besides cyril maher. so it always goes long to the strikers with the midfielders picking up scraps/knockdowns.

this way of playing is horrible but is the best way to play when your players have limited skills and the fact that 1A defences are so poor that they fall over themselves waiting for a high ball come down. like what happened with geraldines against summerville in the cup semi final.

you are right in what you are saying that punting the ball long will get you no where in premier.

if they sign 2 wingers, a centre mid and a striker then i think they can play decent football in premier next year. If not then it will be the same old stuff.

this is only my opinion so everyone at the ville relax if ye dont agree, ye know more than i do. its been a great year for ye and best of luck saturday.

Well said! :ball:

booster 03
31/05/2007, 4:55 PM

well what do we do so Mr Wenger????

booster 03
31/05/2007, 5:22 PM
Date or venue ? ... or both ?

how ye fixed for the cup final mate??? hopefully its a good final!!

KevB76
31/05/2007, 5:32 PM
how ye fixed for the cup final mate??? hopefully its a good final!!

Dont know to be honest haven't heard much since my brother had to quit playing with Bruff. I expect they'll have most of the 1st choice lads available, not like the joke of a team assembled for the last league tie with Summerville.
Summerville have to be favourites but you can be sure Bruff will make a game of it. Looking forward to it :ball:

booster 03
31/05/2007, 9:11 PM
Dont know to be honest haven't heard much since my brother had to quit playing with Bruff. I expect they'll have most of the 1st choice lads available, not like the joke of a team assembled for the last league tie with Summerville.
Summerville have to be favourites but you can be sure Bruff will make a game of it. Looking forward to it :ball:

what happened your brother

themerryman
31/05/2007, 9:18 PM
well what do we do so Mr Wenger????

plenty of porridge booster and loads of veg,oh and shoot these 2 wingers that everybody on this site seems to think are the worst of the worst..

KevB76
31/05/2007, 9:34 PM
what happened your brother

Nothin controversial, he had to give up the junior soccer to progress further with reffing. Shame, I'd have liked to see him play at the Jacks before his "retirement" but he's made his decision and good luck to him (he'll need it :D)

Jock MIB
31/05/2007, 9:40 PM
Nothin controversial, he had to give up the junior soccer to progress further with reffing. Shame, I'd have liked to see him play at the Jacks before his "retirement" but he's made his decision and good luck to him (he'll need it :D)

so it wasn't because of his dodgy knee's then :D

KevB76
31/05/2007, 9:56 PM
so it wasn't because of his dodgy knee's then :D

He's asking when are you going to commit fully to the other side ?

Jock MIB
31/05/2007, 10:40 PM

He's asking when are you going to commit fully to the other side ?

what bruff or reffing :D

Gerry the ferry
01/06/2007, 9:56 PM
i fancy bruff to nick it tomorrow nite 2-1,mite shut booster and summervilleman up for awhile,summerville are a longball team and i hope bruff expose them by playing a bit of ball ,best of luck bruff every1 in the city will be rootin for ye

scoobysham
03/06/2007, 8:46 PM
summerville 3-1 bruff

sumerville do the double.... expect an onslaught from the 15 summerville people on foot.ie

they deserved it tho.... so they re entitled to gloat...

Gerry the ferry
04/06/2007, 5:43 PM
i cant believe poxy summerville did the double... well never hear the end of it...roll on the premier league so they can be relegated so they can be back where they belong

booster 03
04/06/2007, 6:07 PM
i cant believe poxy summerville did the double... well never hear the end of it...roll on the premier league so they can be relegated so they can be back where they belong

champions.. champions... champions.. champions..champions... champions... champions...champions.. champions... champions.. champions...

fair play bruff..played the final in great spirit til the end, could have equalised late onbut was not to be... first half stuffed us, shane fitz scored an absolute cracker to swing the final for us!!best fo luck next year to the bruff team.

Ray_F50
05/06/2007, 1:54 PM
Congrats to Summerville,
thought we were in with a good shout of winning it at half time, but summerville fella scored an absolute screamer to level it. was only gonna be one winner after that. Best of luck to ye in the premier next year

summervilleman
05/06/2007, 3:07 PM

Don't think there is anything poxy about winning a league and only losing one match in the league all season, And also winning a cup...Cup runs are never easy...Whats u'r problem with Summerville..Will u not give credit where its due?? Thanks to all those who congratulated us!!

05/06/2007, 4:40 PM

If thats the best you can do,keep it to yourself.Your post is bordereline trolling and will be dealt with accordingly if you do it again.

Sour grapes taste very bitter....

summervilleman
05/06/2007, 10:35 PM
If thats the best you can do,keep it to yourself.Your post is bordereline trolling and will be dealt with accordingly if you do it again.

Sour grapes taste very bitter....

here here

Gerry the ferry
08/06/2007, 4:12 PM
id like to take this opportunity to congratulate summerville on winning the double....as ye probably know i am a wembly man and im fed up of losing to ye all the time and im sorry for my last comment...well done again lads and best of luck in premier and hopefully well beat ye next year although i doubt it...cyril maher 1a player of the year by a country mile

Gerry the ferry
09/06/2007, 8:22 PM
is there any truth in the rumour gary joyce is joining summerville?i heard dave quinn is definately goin to mungret and mike monaghan is goin to balla b.......

mulla
10/06/2007, 12:28 PM
is there any truth in the rumour gary joyce is joining summerville?i heard dave quinn is definately goin to mungret and mike monaghan is goin to balla b.......

i'd say there is a small bit of spoofing going on there, twas already said on this site joyce was goin to oz as for mona,you really think he would be able to play for anyone else given his strong allegiance to summerville.

they prob wouldn't have him anyways;);)

Gerry the ferry
10/06/2007, 1:35 PM
your man mona cant be that bad surely?i saw him playin twice this year,he wins every header,i dont know how you can slag him mulla,as far as i can remember summerville destroyed geraldines in the 3 games ye played them and he was always gettin a decent write up in the paper after bangin in a couple of goals against ye

mulla
11/06/2007, 5:04 PM
your man mona cant be that bad surely?i saw him playin twice this year,he wins every header,i dont know how you can slag him mulla,as far as i can remember summerville destroyed geraldines in the 3 games ye played them and he was always gettin a decent write up in the paper after bangin in a couple of goals against ye

surely you didn't take what i said seriously hence the funny faces i left after what i wrote,
I already said in previous posts when people were slaggin him off that he wasn't a bad player,
my remark about him was tongue in cheek as there ia no way he'd leave summerville

booster 03
12/06/2007, 3:24 PM
1 lewis.. wembley
2 o halloran.. wembley
3 o donnel.. sville
4 doran.. caherdavin
5 shine..sville
6 maher.. sville
7coilin smith.. wembley
8 thompson..hill celtic
9 moloney.. bruff
10 mulcahy..wembley
11 kelly.. shannon
12 wallace.. geraldines
13 shehan.. wembley
14 bourke.. bruff

summervilleman
12/06/2007, 3:39 PM
Thats a joke...Our keeper conceded the least amount of goals and kept the most clean sheets in the league and they give it to Morgan..No offense to morgan but even he would agree with me i'd say...We also had shane fitz in center half and scored about 15 goals this year and all the clean sheets they kept as well..I'd aslo put martin wallace in instead of gerry kelly???

Super Rovers
12/06/2007, 3:56 PM
Thats a joke...Our keeper conceded the least amount of goals and kept the most clean sheets in the league and they give it to Morgan..No offense to morgan but even he would agree with me i'd say...We also had shane fitz in center half and scored about 15 goals this year and all the clean sheets they kept as well..I'd aslo put martin wallace in instead of gerry kelly???

well why dont you explain that to the leader

scoobysham
12/06/2007, 6:56 PM

your talking rubbish bud..... gary joyce is gone to australia since last week..... dave quinn is def staying and mike monaghan is summerville through and through.....

u say you play with wembley, private message one of the wembley lads to see who u are.. no more will be said.....

i reckon u wont cause your only stirring stuff.....

themerryman
13/06/2007, 11:26 AM

Would have to agree with ya about the sville keeper without doubt the best keeper in the league this season,dont know much about shane fitz but a centre half getting 15 goals is almost unheard of,also heard he was the player
who held it together at the back until Gorey came back after 4 months and walked into the team , ::D

gaidin
13/06/2007, 11:56 AM
Would have to agree with ya about the sville keeper without doubt the best keeper in the league this season,dont know much about shane fitz but a centre half getting 15 goals is almost unheard of,also heard he was the player
who held it together at the back until Gorey came back after 4 months and walked into the team , ::D

Who picks these teams?

booster 03
13/06/2007, 5:54 PM

Shane fitz and shine were the best centre halves in the league, Fitz was probably our player of the year.. either himself, shine or maher, i think he should have been selected.. along with darren o sullivan up front for sville, i think 3 players selected on the team of the season is a poor return for a double winning team... just my opinion lads.

themerryman
14/06/2007, 11:57 AM
Who picks these teams?

Not sure think the managers name is ger monaghan ,