View Full Version : Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19

Mayo_Bhoy
29/08/2006, 2:29 PM
8 going to amsterdam for two days and driving from there to the match sat morn (joxer styley) have back up plan regarding hard-core drugs if we go two down in the first 20 mins.....

I'm so jealous.:mad: 11 of us went to the Dam for 2 nights before the Swiss match few years ago. Oh Jesus, how we ever made it onto the train to Basle, i never will know. Enjoy.:D

29/08/2006, 2:48 PM
Hate to be the bearer of bad news mate but Bad Cannstatt is not in Stuttgart city centre. It's out in the suburbs but i think with the excellent public transport sysytem that wont be too much of a problem

Yes it is walking distance to the stadium. Camped there for Euro88. It has good public transport links to the city centre.

Danny
29/08/2006, 3:20 PM
Anyone staying in the Ibis in the city centre- asking cause loads stayed in the hotel of that name in Paris...cheap and cheerful

yep 4 of us staying there, headin over thursday morning, cant fuppin wait

29/08/2006, 4:39 PM
Markgröninger Straße 41, 70435 Stuttgart

Anyone got a notion where this is? Its meant to be city centre location, well at least I hope it is!

29/08/2006, 4:48 PM

Anyone got a notion where this is? Its meant to be city centre location, well at least I hope it is!

It's at the North of the city, seems to be a fair bit out of town but there's an S-Bahn station nearby. See here (http://www.hot-maps.de/europe/germany/baden_wuerttemberg/stuttgart/homede.html), very useful map site. Just put the street name into the box on the left.

Babysis
29/08/2006, 4:52 PM
yep 4 of us staying there, headin over thursday morning, cant fuppin wait

four of us are staying in the ibis Am lowentor - dont know if thats the same one or not :o

Colie
29/08/2006, 6:20 PM

Anyone got a notion where this is? Its meant to be city centre location, well at least I hope it is!Yeah we're out that way ourselves in a "central location" but I guess it's better than being told your hotel is in Basel & it turning out to be in Southern Germany!

The stadium is on Mercedesstraße which looks like its only a train ride away anyways.

By the way we're in CITY PARTNER HOTEL FREIHOF if anyone else is.

RichieM
29/08/2006, 8:02 PM
nice to see half the irish army seems to be staying in hotel Find:D :D
3 of us in it fri & sat

4 of us there on Fri and Sat too - should be a lively spot - can't wait!!!

SuperDub
29/08/2006, 9:10 PM
Overnighting in Stansted :eek: on Wednesday night for a 7.15 a.m flight via Ryanair to Friedreichshafen and 2 1/4 train to Stuttgart. Staying in the Hansa Hotel on Silberburgstrasse. Anyone doing this trip or staying at the Hansa??

Four of us heading over wednesday Morning Staying in Hotel Hansa too Comming back Sunday morning

AidoM
30/08/2006, 5:05 AM
Lads

Just a little reminder to pack the travel adaptors for the mobile chargers. Germany has different plugs and the charges may not last the full trip particularly if people are in contact over there and making the calls home to "the mammy":D

Hopefully we won't have a blackout like Paris:(

sandra
30/08/2006, 5:40 AM
Anyone staying here? 6 of us getting in Wed night. Aparthotel Astro, Wasenstr. 15

7 of us arriving friday afternoon staying here should be a laugh:D :D :D

green army
30/08/2006, 8:48 AM
flying into munich tomorrow afternoon and then getting train up on saturday morning. cant wait.

30/08/2006, 9:24 AM
It's at the North of the city, seems to be a fair bit out of town but there's an S-Bahn station nearby. See here (http://www.hot-maps.de/europe/germany/baden_wuerttemberg/stuttgart/homede.html), very useful map site. Just put the street name into the box on the left.

Cheers for that Schumi, am i right in thinkin the stadium is at the north east of the city??

Supposedly the place is smaller than dublin, so im sure we'll manage to find the irish bars easy enough.

piggy
30/08/2006, 9:51 AM
anyone staying in Hotel Kernetum in Fellbach?
first away trip!! cant wait! flying to manchester tomorrow and on to stuttgart!!

Sligo Hornet
30/08/2006, 10:29 AM
anyone staying in Hotel Kernetum in Fellbach?
first away trip!! cant wait! flying to manchester tomorrow and on to stuttgart!!

Seven of us staying in the Ritz Garni, also in Fellbach!....must be near you?:confused:

AndyG
30/08/2006, 10:32 AM
Travelling down from Berlin by train saturday morning - anyone else planning this route?

I'm heading on the train from Berlin to Stuttgart, Saturday morning departing 05:33 arriving 11:08. I'd say I wont be the only one

eurosaint
30/08/2006, 10:45 AM
Abbey travel have one way seats back this Sunday evening @ €120 incl taxes leaving @ 2300 if any1 is interested,phone is 01 8047102

Fitzer1982
30/08/2006, 10:57 AM
Just Wondering does anyone want to share a taxi from karlshrue-baden to Stuggart, Friday. Arriving at quarter to 2. There's 2 of us (rest of lads heading via Prague).

piggy
30/08/2006, 11:07 AM
[QUOTE=Sligo Hornet;525653]Seven of us staying in the Ritz Garni, also in Fellbach!....must be near you?:confused:[/QUOTE

yeah id say so! it must be a small town or something!
any ideas how you getting form airport?

30/08/2006, 11:25 AM
heading to stansted tomorrow night and then its german wings friday morning.Cant wait wish i was there now.

30/08/2006, 11:48 AM
Cheers for that Schumi, am i right in thinkin the stadium is at the north east of the city??

East would probably be the best description. Just put 'Mercedesstr' into the box on that site and it'll pop up.

citizenerased
30/08/2006, 11:53 AM
any one need a lift from frankfurt hahn to stuttgart on friday, on the back of the 1230 flight form stanstead..

mr mc
30/08/2006, 12:09 PM
how ye,
headin out on friday ,has anyone stayed or heard what this hotel is like ??
EaziRES si-suites???? cheers

casso36
30/08/2006, 12:14 PM
how ye,
headin out on friday ,has anyone stayed or heard what this hotel is like ??
EaziRES si-suites???? cheers

Sounds like a Brottle to me!!!!!!:D :D

Moscow Mule
30/08/2006, 12:36 PM
[QUOTE=Sligo Hornet;525653]Seven of us staying in the Ritz Garni, also in Fellbach!....must be near you?:confused:[/QUOTE

yeah id say so! it must be a small town or something!
any ideas how you getting form airport?

The hotel is only about 500 metres from the railway station. I you can catch the train from the airport and it is only 30mins into the city.

Come on you boys!:)

landrover
30/08/2006, 2:01 PM
Ryanair to hamburg on friday. flying with german wings down to Stuttgart on saturday morning. first away game. really looking forward to it.:D

wooman
30/08/2006, 5:43 PM
out of stanstead on friday at 2 bells, driving from Frankfurt Hahn to stuttgart that afternoon

5 of us

rok n roll

Colie
30/08/2006, 5:47 PM
Just Wondering does anyone want to share a taxi from karlshrue-baden to Stuggart, Friday. Arriving at quarter to 2. There's 2 of us (rest of lads heading via Prague).Take the train, it'll be a laugh & a **** up.

popmart
30/08/2006, 6:32 PM
Flying into Hamburg on Friday, any good irish pubs to recommend there?
Flying into Stuttgart on Sat morning, come on you boys.............

Rosco
30/08/2006, 8:28 PM
Anyone going from Manchester Friday morning to Frankfurt?

Roys Rolls
30/08/2006, 9:56 PM
No, but going from Heathrow on Fri afternoon & have a few hours (read: beers:D ) to kill before catching the flight ....

SuperSaints
31/08/2006, 9:53 AM
Going London Stansted tonight. Will probably stay in the airport and on to Stuttgart in the morning. Anyone else in a similar boat? Any ideas of hotels near enough?

Beal Feirste
31/08/2006, 9:56 AM
No, but going from Heathrow on Fri afternoon & have a few hours (read: beers:D ) to kill before catching the flight ....

We are also flying from heathrow on friday night....leaving belfast at 1.15 fri afternoon...a few hours in the airport bar in heathrow and then onto stuttgart...cant wait

Babysis
31/08/2006, 10:03 AM
Going London Stansted tonight. Will probably stay in the airport and on to Stuttgart in the morning. Anyone else in a similar boat? Any ideas of hotels near enough?

Baa has a site for airport hotels.might be pricey though
If not might be worth looking at hotels in bishop stortford, not really too far from the airport Hope it helps:)

31/08/2006, 10:06 AM
Anyone gone through Heathrow lately? How bad is it - allowed to bring anything on to the plane (arrivals/departures from LHR)?

31/08/2006, 10:19 AM
Very important INFO! Especially if you are flying from a UK airport please go to the BAA website and click on security info on right hand side of page.................

http://www.baa.com

No cosmetics or toiletries at all allowed, no cans! No liquid unless bought after security.

:-D

31/08/2006, 10:36 AM
Try the holiday inn express stansted we got a room for 3 cheap enough there is a shuttle bus from the airport.

scousedub
31/08/2006, 10:37 AM

Radisson hotel in Stansted airport(2 mins from airport), we are booked in for Friday night and cost us £79 for the room. www.radisson.com

larrywhite
31/08/2006, 10:53 AM
Radisson hotel in Stansted airport(2 mins from airport), we are booked in for Friday night and cost us £79 for the room. www.radisson.com

5 of us staying there tonight also and then flying to Munich on easyjet at 8am on Friday morning. Train to Stuttgart on Saturday morning.

31/08/2006, 11:29 AM
the holiday express is booked out try this link http://www.expedia.co.uk/pub/agent.dll?qscr=htwv&from=m&stat=1&khst=1&locn=london+stansted&date1=31/8/2006&date2=1/9/2006&cadu1=2&crom=1&rfrr=-13019&eapid=210-3&&zz=1157023636280& or go to expedia direct

casso36
31/08/2006, 3:27 PM
Packing up now all, See you in stuttgart tomorrow evening in O'Reillys!!!!

Dont forget your green tops!! And most importantly your Beer Money!!!:D

Come On IRELAND!!!!!!!!!!!!

aidz1
31/08/2006, 3:35 PM
the weather for stuttgart..leave the sunglasses!!

http://www.wunderground.com/global/stations/10738.html

head the ball
31/08/2006, 4:05 PM

Goin thru stansted 2moro FRI night. staying in Hilton stansted r.o. £64.50 (booked a while ago so could be dearer now) they have shuttle bus to/from airport.
Out sat morn 7.45am to stuttgart with german wings:cool:

31/08/2006, 4:57 PM
I hope no-one forgets to bring something important like your German phrasebook. Or jumpleads for the van...

It was in the year of '88 in the lovely month of June
When the gadflies were swarming and dogs howling at the moon
With rosary beads and sandwiches for Stuttgart we began
Joxer packed his German phrasebook and jumpleads for the van

Some of the lads had never been away from home before
'Twas the first time Whacker put his foot outside of Inchicore
Before we left for Europe we knew we'd need a plan
So we all agreed that Joxer was the man to drive the van

In Germany the autobahn, 'twas like the Long Mile Road
There was every make of car and van all carrying the full load
Ford Transits and Hiaces and an old Bedford from Tralee
With the engine overheating from longhauling duty free

There was fans from Ballyfermot, Ballybough and Ballymun
On the journey of a lifetime, and the crack was ninety-one
Joxer met a German's daughter on the banks of the river Rhine
And he told her she'd be welcome in Ballyfermot any time

As soon as we found Stuttgart we got the wagons in a ring
Sean Og got out the banjo and Peter played the mandolin
There was fans there from everywhere attracted by the sound
At the first Fleadh Ceoil in Europe, and Joxer passed the flagon round

But the session it ended when we'd finished all the stout
The air mattresses inflated and the sleeping bags rolled out
As one by one we fell asleep Joxer had a dream
He dreamt himself and Jack Charlton sat down to pick the team

Joxer dreamt they both agreed on Packie Bonner straightaway
And that Moran, Whelan and McGrath were certainly to play
But tempers they began to rise and patience wearing thin
Jack wanted Cascarino but Joxer wanted Quinn

The dream turned into a nightmare, Joxer stuck the head on Jack
Who wanted to bring Johnny Giles and Eamon Dunphy back
The **** crew in the morning, it crew both loud and shrill
Joxer woke up in his sleeping bag many miles from Arbour Hill

The next morning none of the experts gave us the slightest chance
They said the English team would lead us on a merry dance
With their Union Jacks all them English fans for victory they were set
Until Ray Houghton got the ball and he stuck it in the net!!!

What happened next is history, brought tears to many eyes
That day will be the highlight of many people's lives
Joxer climbed right over the top and the last time he was seen
Was arm in arm with Jack Charlton singing 'Revenge for Skibereen'

Now Whacker's back in Inchicore, he's living with his mam
And Jack Charlton has been proclaimed an honorary Irishman
Do you remember that German's daughter on the banks of the river Rhine
Well, didn't she show up in Ballyfermot last week and ...

Roys Rolls
31/08/2006, 7:59 PM
Anyone gone through Heathrow lately? How bad is it - allowed to bring anything on to the plane (arrivals/departures from LHR)?

As mentioned before, no liquids etc. allowed in hand-luggage. Small (laptop size) bag allowed, but no big roll-ons. No gels etc. allowed either. Checks the bag, and carry the liquid inside you ;) :D .

Babysis
31/08/2006, 8:13 PM
myself and green tribe are all packed. Cab is booked for 5am (god help us). Time now to relax with a glass of wine.

wooman
01/09/2006, 9:08 AM
bout to hit the road 2 stansted, yes boy!

Jon'o
01/09/2006, 3:03 PM
Setting off at 3am :o

04/09/2006, 12:16 AM
:eek: :eek:

Sitting in the hotel bar, slightly worse for wear with Babysis. Have met AidoM, Poor Student the grumpy fecker and sleepy friends. Paul "Gay" O'Shea :rolleyes: , Saint Tom, Concha , Maribore and One Red Army, Sylvo, Lopez Deadlyyyyyyyyy

Need a hospital for 2 weeks now!!!

Tchauss!

Babysis
06/09/2006, 12:35 PM
Did anyone read the "strongly worded letter" doing the rounds in Biddys after the all ireland final?? written by an irish fan, very funny