View Full Version : Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread
Pages :
[
13]
pegan
14/07/2006, 12:50 PM
whos the 'dedicated driver' for that journey????????????????????
pegan
Kempes1-0
14/07/2006, 3:31 PM
Myself and 4 other lads are booked that route as well, in on the Friday morning and back on the Sunday night. www.bahn.de for your trains which take about 6 hours and you want to get in early for teh sparpreis rates otherwise they are quite expensive! We decided to just drive down instead, 150 for a car as against 5 of us at 180 each for the train :)
Hired a car from there for paris'04. if it's hertz, you'll either want to be at the front of the queue or have your driving licence details etc. given to them on line beforehand, to lessen the waiting time. So, come out of arrivals, don't stop at the hertz stand inside the building, turn right coming out the door and run like bejaysus across the road, its right there!
On an actually more useful note, if you don't have a full tank when you get back, you get charged preium fuel rates. Thing is, there isn't a petrol station to be seen within miles of Charleroi, so make sure you fill at a petrol station on the motorway, even if its 20 miles away. Now, has anyone hired a car from Karlsruhe-baden before??
joe_barry80
15/07/2006, 9:35 AM
Hey lads forget about paying through the nose for a hotel. Check this page out and get your camping boots on http://www.campingplatz-stuttgart.de/Englisch/Index.html
It´s across the road from the stadium
5 of us are staying
15/07/2006, 12:51 PM
Hey lads forget about paying through the nose for a hotel. Check this page out and get your camping boots on http://www.campingplatz-stuttgart.de/Englisch/Index.html
It´s across the road from the stadium
5 of us are staying
Probably the one we stayed in during Euro88. Used to be called Bad Caanstat - we christened it Bad campsite. Short walk from the stadium. Actually it wasn't too bad. Although the campsites in Hannover and Cologne were both better.
Haven't camped since Italia90 so those dyas are well gone now.
16/07/2006, 9:17 AM
Any joy?? shaker!!!
Yep I'm booked!!! Thanks again, I'll buy you a pint for finding it if I see you!
Forever Dreamin
16/07/2006, 10:32 AM
What's the craic lads and ladettes!
15 of us heading to Stuttgart for the big match. Around 11.00AM on the Thursday we're flying Dublin to Amsterdam then catching a connecting flight on to Stuttgart. We are thinking of staying in the Clarion Hotel Dublin Airport on the Wednesday night, hoping to meet the squad before they head off and to give ourselves the chance to relax instead of worrying about catching the early Aircoach from Belfast to Dublin on the Thurs morning. Anyone have similar plans and fancy meeting up on the Wednesday evening? I know that in the past the players have stayed at the Clarion before away matches, but is this likely to continue under Staunton? Would the majority of you recommend the Clarion or The Great Southern?
Thanks,
Nolan
Under Kerr the team stayed in the Portmarnock Hotel, not sure if Staunton changed this or not, definitely would recommend the Clarion over the Great Southern any day, use both for business and the GS service is non existent, new Managemnet in Clairion and they are sprucing it up a lot.
casso36
17/07/2006, 1:25 PM
Yep I'm booked!!! Thanks again, I'll buy you a pint for finding it if I see you!
No probs!!! Glad you were sorted!!!
Rosco
17/07/2006, 10:42 PM
Tickets long since gone sligonproud, once they copped on that was it. Should be plenty of tickets about though out there, be like the french game, everyone will have spares.
Rosco
17/07/2006, 10:50 PM
try these for rooms also, cheap enough for whats left, saturdays filling up fast though
http://www.laterooms.com/r24_hotels-in-germany.aspx
http://www.expedia.co.uk/default.aspx
http://www.hotels.co.uk/index.jsp?temp1=uksearch
Rosco
17/07/2006, 11:35 PM
for anyone interested theres still flights from manchester to frankfurt (not Hahn in booneyville the proper one) for Stg£84 inc taxes with BA / £89 with Lufthansa then an hour and half by train to stuttgart, thats my route anyway.
http://ww3.teletextholidays.co.uk/Webflights/Homepage/HomeFlights.aspx?area=flights
Bluetonic
18/07/2006, 9:33 AM
f
myself and a mate are flying out to amsterdam on 30th,with aerlingus for 3e
I love it when people get caught up in the whole I got my flight for next to nothing lark.
I'm sure the bottom line was a lot more than 3 euro.
pegan
18/07/2006, 10:01 AM
check out www.germany-tourism.ie. page down to Stuttgart - I looked there yesterday and seemed to be loads of accommodation in stuttgart. Might be worth a try - come on the bit o' red!!
pegan
Bring Back Mick
18/07/2006, 10:35 AM
Tickets long since gone sligonproud, once they copped on that was it. Should be plenty of tickets about though out there, be like the french game, everyone will have spares.
Maybe not.....................Smaller Stadium, Germans are looking for tickets after a good WC, (their friendly v Sweden in August sold out), supporters that normally get tickets from the FAI, are now posting looking for tickets wait til after the FAI allocation is released then will have clearer picture of availability...............Can see Basle 2003 all over again !!!
Those on the ball got sorted .................... flights / hotels booked once venue confirmed and thanks to Forever Dreamin and Jens for the eventim info.........................................Happy Days !!!
check out www.germany-tourism.ie. page down to Stuttgart - I looked there yesterday and seemed to be loads of accommodation in stuttgart. Might be worth a try - come on the bit o' red!!
pegan
I just decided to go to Stuttgart having got a reasonably cheap deal
$613 Canadian Dollars (taxes inc) for Toronto - Frankfurt on the 29th Aug
Manchester - Toronto on the 8th Sep.
I was worried I would not be able to find accomodation but the www.germany-tourism.ie site has quite a bit. mostly ut in the suburbs but lots on the railway/underground.
Now, all I need is two tickets so anyone out there who ends up with extras please let me know.
Cheers, :ball: :D :ball:
Mick
RichieM
18/07/2006, 8:31 PM
Kempes 1-0
I hired a car from there (Baden Karlsruhe) during the world cup. Europcar, Hertz and other desks in airport. Airport is off the beaten track but is well signposted from autobahn. I was charged $75 for diesel cos it wasnt full. Car is best option from here. I travelled to outskirts of Stuttgart and got S-Bahn to city centre. City Centre looked great during 3/4th play off.
Myself and 4 other lads are booked that route as well, in on the Friday morning and back on the Sunday night. www.bahn.de for your trains which take about 6 hours and you want to get in early for teh sparpreis rates otherwise they are quite expensive! We decided to just drive down instead, 150 for a car as against 5 of us at 180 each for the train :)
I'm travelling by train from Friedreichshafen Duffman and have been in on the bahn website. I don't have German so can you tell me what's the sparpreis rates????????
tigger
19/07/2006, 7:52 AM
I'm travelling by train from Friedreichshafen Duffman and have been in on the bahn website. I don't have German so can you tell me what's the sparpreis rates????????
Baden-Württemberg Ticket.... you can travel for 27 euro/one way...and up to 5 people are allowed on the same ticket...so means,you and 4 friends can travel for 27,means there is a lot safed for beer...
Duffman
19/07/2006, 2:58 PM
I don't have German either! Have been there several times as I have a mate living out there, used it a few times, it seems to be similar to the old Pex and Apex fares. Once you are booking early and not leaving it up to the day of your travel there are several other price structures available. It looks like that sparpreis 50 and 25 relates to the days before the travel dates that you select.
Duffman
19/07/2006, 3:02 PM
whos the 'dedicated driver' for that journey????????????????????
pegan
Thats the $64,000 question! 4 out of 5 of us are all available so I guess its whoever fancies it on the day!
Thanks indeed there Kempes 1-0 for the heads up. That may well prove invaluable on the day, travelling only with hand luggage so will have to be first to the desk!
19/07/2006, 5:42 PM
im heading over via london, probably the bus eurolines thingy
will i have any problems with this?
also i really dont know what ye guys are on about with accomodation
can you stay in the pubs all night?
wooman
19/07/2006, 9:39 PM
im gettin to frankfurt from london then driving up to stuttgart on the friday night
galwayhoop
20/07/2006, 9:46 AM
im heading over via london, probably the bus eurolines thingy
will i have any problems with this?
also i really dont know what ye guys are on about with accomodation
can you stay in the pubs all night?
if you're travelling over by bus and not booking accomodation and planning to stay in pub all night i hope i don't stand on your toe on sunday morning .................. bear sore head springs to mind
20/07/2006, 10:15 PM
if you're travelling over by bus and not booking accomodation and planning to stay in pub all night i hope i don't stand..... down wind of you!!!! :eek:
Shamrock
21/07/2006, 11:42 AM
Hi I have my tickets, scarf, jersey, and absurd hat... but....
I still need a place to stay in Stuttgart. Unless some attractive lady that lives in Stuttgart and visits this forum can offer me a place im afraid im going to need to book a bed for the night.
So I was just wondering where all the irish would be in Stuttgart. Any particular hotels or area where we are all going to be clustered???
Paulie
21/07/2006, 12:17 PM
Howaya. There's a thread in Fan's Forum in the Ireland section called Germany away. In there you will find information about accommodation etc. There are a lot of pages to it though so I'd start at the last page as any hotels which were recommended on the first few pages would more than likely be booked up by now.
casso36
21/07/2006, 12:28 PM
Hi I have my tickets, scarf, jersey, and absurd hat... but....
I still need a place to stay in Stuttgart. Unless some attractive lady that lives in Stuttgart and visits this forum can offer me a place im afraid im going to need to book a bed for the night.
So I was just wondering where all the irish would be in Stuttgart. Any particular hotels or area where we are all going to be clustered???
Shamrock,
Try A Google search for The Brita Hotel stuttgart thats where were staying and few others. Had few rooms during the week and only 4 1/2 kils from stadium
and €70.00 each for 2 nights.
Kempes1-0
21/07/2006, 1:05 PM
Kempes 1-0
I hired a car from there (Baden Karlsruhe) during the world cup. Europcar, Hertz and other desks in airport. Airport is off the beaten track but is well signposted from autobahn. I was charged $75 for diesel cos it wasnt full. Car is best option from here. I travelled to outskirts of Stuttgart and got S-Bahn to city centre. City Centre looked great during 3/4th play off.
Thanks for that Richie,
got done myself previously on the fuel costs for the france away match. complained to hertz when i got back and got €20 off!
green army
21/07/2006, 9:15 PM
we are staying in munich and getting the train up and returning in the early hours of the morning. that could be another option for you.
sandra
22/07/2006, 9:17 AM
Anyone else on the hlx flight direct from Dublin on the Friday afternoon (arriving at 3-ish)?
Yes 2 of us on that flight. Anyone staying at the astropark hotel:D
supasparx
22/07/2006, 9:49 AM
Try Hotel Keinath on www.lodging-germany.com 4 of us stayin there may be some rooms left
I have been living in Germany for 15 years now,I have just acquired 4 tickets on Ebay , can anyone guess how many Irish will be at the game, heard that blocks 61-61 are the official allocated areas for us. My tickets are in 65 and 67, Any clues guys as to whether there will be a majority of us in sections 61 thru 70.
I've been considering buying tickets on e-bay myself and was wondering if
it was safe to do so. ? Anyone got any advise.
Thx
22/07/2006, 5:02 PM
I'd advise holding off for a few weeks. There are still 5,000 Irish tickets to distribute and many of the fans who get these will have German spares then.
22/07/2006, 5:31 PM
hotel etap has rooms left if you are interested they charge per room. so its like 43 euro for the room for two - 3 ppl.
just booked it there. they are generally not central though.
mjpcc
23/07/2006, 12:41 AM
Thanks guys ..... I'll wait for a while.
Gather round
23/07/2006, 8:09 PM
That ETAP hotel in Stuttgart is about three miles north west of the centre (two stops on the s-bahn train). The stadium is about the same distance north-east of the centre.
green army
24/07/2006, 8:06 AM
Does anyone know what a "sparpreis 25" and "sparpreis 50" is.
24/07/2006, 8:11 AM
how much in a taxi from the centre and also from the main train station in stuttgart?
what is the name of the stop on the s-bahn?
Bluetonic
24/07/2006, 8:11 AM
Does anyone know what a "sparpreis 25" and "sparpreis 50" is.
It means your making a saving of X
Translator for furture reference http://babelfish.altavista.com/
Istabraq
24/07/2006, 9:03 AM
I took a big risk when buying my 4 tickets. 2-3 weeks ago the tickets were selling for much, much less on ebay.de. However, because my ebay account was set up before ebay.ie was around I was registered under ebay.co.uk. Therefore I wasnt allowed to but football tickets over the internet dut to British laws. So I ended up contacting a german seller privately, telling him my problem. He told me to send my address and lodge the €212 to his account. He supplied his iban and details. I wasnt sure about it, as I had no come back if he ripped me. I couldnt go to ebay as they were left out of it. His feedback record was excellent, so I decide for 50 quid a ticket it would be woth the risk.
Fair play to him, I got my tickets in the post last week. Section 67C.
I see that tickets are going for crazy money now. I deffo wouldnt pay more than a ton for 1.
But anyway, buying tickets through ebay is very safe, just not the way I did it.
When booking train tickets on bahn.de, i can get return from Frankfurt to Stuuugart for 340 Euro for 5. Is this ticket flexible does anyone know, so if we miss the train we originally booked, is it transferable to the next train ..
murtybyrne
24/07/2006, 12:48 PM
When booking train tickets on bahn.de, i can get return from Frankfurt to Stuuugart for 340 Euro for 5. Is this ticket flexible does anyone know, so if we miss the train we originally booked, is it transferable to the next train ..
Yeah was lookin at this myself am getting into Frankfurt Friday afternoon, was wondering does anyone know that on the day if we just turn up to get a train to stuttgart and pay on the day would this be possible or would it be more expensive?
Cheers!
Gather round
24/07/2006, 1:23 PM
Paul & Murty: standard pay on the day return Frankfurt to Stuttgart will be €70-80 (the ICE 300km/hr trains being the dearest).
Buy in advance from www.bahn.co.uk (in English), get 25 or 50% off (these tickets are called 'sparpreis').
Gather round
24/07/2006, 1:30 PM
Paul- nearest station is Feuerbach. A taxi €10-15 from the city centre/ main station?
RogerMilla
24/07/2006, 2:42 PM
paul b , bottom line on germans trains is it depends , i often booked a ticket that couldnt be changed for a cheap price and then missed the train i should have been on . if you get a jobsworth inspector you are shafted and will have to pay a one way fare if not they will quite often let you go , it has happened me on a fair few trips.. best not to miss your train !!
Decided just buy on spec. when we get over. Trains seem to run very 1/2 hour or so from frankfurt to Stuttgart, might have to pay that bit extra , but don't want to taker the chance on delayed flight etc..
anyone heard anymore on the germans supposedly stopping any irish fans from entering the german end :confused:
just had a text advising me they are going to do this
??? they better hadn't, better brush up on some german phrases and get meself a deutschland jersey otherwise
Junior
24/07/2006, 9:40 PM
anyone heard anymore on the germans supposedly stopping any irish fans from entering the german end :confused:
just had a text advising me they are going to do this
Horse$hit, your mates at it....................
Rosco
24/07/2006, 10:39 PM
probably is, just thought id check if anyone had heard anything, ...ah well i know theyre all booked into the same hotel as me, so thats all his gear going onto the street if hes winding me up and if not its still going all over the place
Impossible for them to stop us now, too many many of us have tickets. They know they're caused this mess themselves and just have to deal with it
25/07/2006, 7:16 AM
I registered with ebay.com a while back which covers all ebay sites internationally, no problem buying on ebay .de....have bought 5 tickets in past week, all delivered in quick time, germans must be panicking to be selling up so many tickets, also all my tickets were in 65 and 67......reckon 65 to 70 will be all green....cant wait
see yus all there
Did you bid for the tickets or get them at a "buy now" fixed price?