View Full Version : Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread
Pages :
[
11]
joe_barry80
05/07/2006, 3:09 PM
Anyone who bought tickets on eventim.de what section are you in? I got my tickets for section 66 E I hope I'm not in with a load of bratwursts.:)
galwayhoop
05/07/2006, 3:12 PM
block 66c. think most of section 66 was snapped up by paddys before fritz copped on so there may be very few brothwurths and frauline's in this section:)
galwayhoop
05/07/2006, 3:16 PM
was in munich last year and a 30 minute taxi journey from Munich airport , mostly on motorway was €50, did it 4 times price never varied by more than a €
assuming 30 mins on motorway (@60 mph) is about 30 miles and stuttgart is 100 km (60 miles) from baden karlshrule then the taxi should cost no more than €100. sounds like value between 4 and quicker than messing with buses and trains.
i will be back on if your quote is grossly inacurate:D :D
joe_barry80
05/07/2006, 3:17 PM
try flying Ireland - stansted, then stansted - friedrichschafen its only an hour or so away it`s only 110€ all in 1st - 3rd.
Jens1893
05/07/2006, 3:25 PM
Apologies if this has already been mentioned (couldn't be arsed trawling through the 25+ pages in this thread!) but if you're looking for cheap accommodation and don't mind a bit of roughing it go to the following for camping just 10 mins train outside Stuttgart:
http://www.campingplatz-stuttgart.de/Englisch/Index.html
Sent them a mail last week and booked for under 10 Euro a night!!!
Now all I have to do is find some tickets! :confused:
that´s a stone throw away from the stadium and my local ... it´s a 5 minute walk up the road from the stadium
see this image from google earth
http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/6125/campingplatzcopy6kt.jpg
btw, those who are flying to baden baden, have some time and want to save a bit of money ... ask for a baden württemberg ticket at the desk ... it allows you to use 'local" trains in baden württemberg, costs 25 or 30 € and is valid for up to 5 people ... it wont cost u more than say 20 mins from karlsruhe to stuttgart
BaZmO*
05/07/2006, 3:30 PM
Keep checking this link over the next couple of weeks http://www.uefa.com/competitions/euro/FixturesResults/index.html
Yeah I've been looking at that for a while but I'd rather fined out sooner rather than later as I need to organise some stuff.
wooman
05/07/2006, 3:43 PM
while Im flying into Stuttgart, it would appear that loads are flying into Hahn, why dont 1 of you set up a thread to collect numbers from the flights and look into hiring a coach. Its 163 miles and according to autoroute a 2 1/2 hr drive. Even with 30 on a coach it would probably be far cheaper than hiring cars and more crack!!:ball: :ball: :ball:
just to get an idea, wat time are people generally landing in Hahn?
im due in at 4.30
Chippy
05/07/2006, 3:49 PM
that´s a stone throw away from the stadium and my local ... it´s a 5 minute walk up the road from the stadium
see this image from google earth
http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/6125/campingplatzcopy6kt.jpg
btw, those who are flying to baden baden, have some time and want to save a bit of money ... ask for a baden württemberg ticket at the desk ... it allows you to use 'local" trains in baden württemberg, costs 25 or 30 € and is valid for up to 5 people ... it wont cost u more than say 20 mins from karlsruhe to stuttgart
Jens, does this one ticket cover 5 people ??? There are 8 of us going over & we haven't sussed out yet how we are getting from baden-baden airport into stuttgart. Is there a train staion at the airport?
monkey magic
05/07/2006, 3:58 PM
lads, just out of interest theres a few of us livin in belgium at the mo, thinkin of driving down, maybe camping... only kinda of decided we might go in the last few days, whats the ticket situation??? or is that a stupid question?:o
Junior
05/07/2006, 4:08 PM
5,000 offical Tickets will get snapped up by corporate or Block Bookers.
An estimated 5,000-10,000 tickets have been purchased by Irish for other sections of the ground. It depends on how many of those tickets have been purchased by fans who will also get allocated tickets from the FAI and will then look to offload the ones in the German sections.
If you have a Belgium address, keep an eye out on www.eventim.de as small numbers of tickets seem to appear on there every so often. Thats where we all bought ours before they sussed it and stopped shipping to Ireland and UK!!
Armando
05/07/2006, 4:08 PM
9 of us in 66c row 38.
monkey magic
05/07/2006, 4:25 PM
i have, and i will do. cheers!
supasparx
05/07/2006, 5:11 PM
2 of us in 66c row 50
Jens1893
05/07/2006, 6:34 PM
Jens, does this one ticket cover 5 people ??? There are 8 of us going over & we haven't sussed out yet how we are getting from baden-baden airport into stuttgart. Is there a train staion at the airport?
naw, its a small, crappy airport ... there should be a bus there tho ... just dont spend any time or money in baden baden or karlsruhe, promise me that :D
it covers up to 5 and is 25 € at the machine and 27 € at the desk ... theres some restrictions what trains you can use tho, but itll be hardly relevant for you
gimme your arrival time and ill work something out for you
05/07/2006, 6:53 PM
bluetonic, if ur doin da same as us and flyin from ireland to stanstead and from there on to stuttgart with ryanair then ur landin in baden baden like us, its still 100 k to stuttgart from there, ne idea of how u would get into stuttgart, are trains that expensive u need book um early etc, dont think my credit card can handle ne more, theres already flights and tickets for 7 of us on it at da mo......
These are some useful links for the us of us training it round Germany
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/d/traffic/publictransport.html
http://goeurope.about.com/cs/germany/l/bl_germany_rail.htm
http://www.bahn.de/p/view/international/englisch/international_guests.shtml
Third one is probably the best and all in Engrish !!
bluetonic, if ur doin da same as us and flyin from ireland to stanstead and from there on to stuttgart with ryanair then ur landin in baden baden like us, its still 100 k to stuttgart from there, ne idea of how u would get into stuttgart, are trains that expensive u need book um early etc, dont think my credit card can handle ne more, theres already flights and tickets for 7 of us on it at da mo......
baden baden to stuttgart is 44 euros return and takes an hour and a half direct
www.bahn.de
Theres flights still going from Manchester with http://www.hlx.com/en/index.html from 1st to 4th September to Stuttgart for Stg£128.60 all in (€185.18).
Bluetonic
06/07/2006, 7:37 AM
Dublin to Stansted is with Ryanair, but Stansted to Stuttgart is with German Wings, no messing around with buses and trains.
06/07/2006, 9:42 AM
Lads (& ladettes:p ),
Is there anyone flying to Stuttgart via Stansted on the Friday evening?
tigger
06/07/2006, 11:08 AM
Ryanair Stansted to Salzburg(4 hours away from stuttgart) still 93 Pound Sterling return(friday-monday)..not bad, car-hire for the weekend from 80 euro.....lots of things to see on your way(berchtesgaden,eagles nest,munich etc.,any more details let me know....I am german,but can't wait to see(and support!!) the Irish team again in stuttgart::)))
rock on!:D
Jens1893
06/07/2006, 11:44 AM
Yeah I've been looking at that for a while but I'd rather fined out sooner rather than later as I need to organise some stuff.
I dont think Germany have ever had a home qualifier kick off before 5pm.
joe_barry80
06/07/2006, 12:43 PM
ryanair do direct to salzburg now from dublin
06/07/2006, 1:00 PM
there are still some reasonable -ish flights with german wings if you are more flexible with your dates. Who is on the Stansted - Stuttgart flight on the Friday morning at 0800 1st September!?? Must be a good few of us. Shall be a good one!
06/07/2006, 1:03 PM
Lads (& ladettes:p ),
Is there anyone flying to Stuttgart via Stansted on the Friday evening?
Friday morning, we'll be in the bars before ya! :D
Sligo Hornet
06/07/2006, 2:16 PM
:D :D So will we!! 7.40am flight Friday morning from Heathrow (via Zurich ) on Swissair
06/07/2006, 2:16 PM
I'm going via Brussels, so I'll be in Stuttgart for mid afternoon, my pal is going via stansted and german wings! I'm not sure he'll be too used to swiutching flights/terminals etc so was kinduv hoping there'd be a herd he could follow.
Forever Dreamin
06/07/2006, 2:36 PM
Friday morning, we'll be in the bars before ya!
and the real alchos will be there beofre you arriving Weds pm :D :D :D
06/07/2006, 2:40 PM
Yeah Flying in Wednesday myself, Getting a train to Stuttgart from Baden Baden.
Sligo Hornet
06/07/2006, 2:54 PM
and the real alchos will be there beofre you arriving Weds pm :D :D :
Don't forget to save a few steins for the rest of us!!!!:eek:
Bluetonic
06/07/2006, 3:27 PM
The central square looks handy enough for a kick about.
http://www.stuttgart-wm-2006.com/ENG/service/webcam_schlossplatz.htm
Lads is there anyone going to be left in Ireland when this game is on?!? :D
Seems like the whole country is going.
Only booked accomodation the other day, €380 for thurs to mon. Its an apartment fully furnished etc. Not a bad deal at all.
Meant to be close to the city centre : Markgroninger Strasse 41, 70435 Stuttgart.
Night and day is the name of the site, worth a shot if any of ye havent booked hotels yet.
on friday morning on german wings after overnighting in stansted
Beavis
06/07/2006, 4:17 PM
on friday morning on german wings after overnighting in stansted
We are overnighting aswell, from what I can see from www.stanstedairport.com most bars open nearly all night and at least one is open all night
06/07/2006, 4:22 PM
Not sure about that, I stayed there heading over for the Swiss game in 2004 and the bars closed at about 11 o clcok and open at 6 its not a great airport to stay the night in, they wake you up for you start falling asleep and that sort of crap..
Forever Dreamin
06/07/2006, 4:31 PM
Lads is there anyone going to be left in Ireland when this game is on?!?
Seems like the whole country is going.
.t.
Will the last one to leave Ireland please ensure to turn out the lights:D :D :D
Mayo_Bhoy
06/07/2006, 5:00 PM
Six of us arriving Wed night and staying here:
http://www.bookings.org/hotel/de/aparthotel-astro.html?aid=305766
anone else here?
supasparx
06/07/2006, 7:05 PM
Not sure about that, I stayed there heading over for the Swiss game in 2004 and the bars closed at about 11 o clcok and open at 6 its not a great airport to stay the night in, they wake you up for you start falling asleep and that sort of crap..
In January this year the UK licensing laws changed so those who wanted could apply for a 24 hour license. I think most of the airport bars would have gone for this.
srfc-1901
06/07/2006, 8:51 PM
lads i`m flyin to frankfurt hahn(ryanair) on the saturday morning.is there a train direct from the this airport to stuttgart or will i have to get the ryanair bus into frankfurt city centre then a train?looking a bahn.de there seems to be a train leaving from "flughafen franfurt hahn terminal,(hunsruk) -is this where i`m flying to?
Rosco
06/07/2006, 11:27 PM
Lets show the brits how its really done and make it a classic night to beat Paris, theres enough of us going to ensure that
Check this site also if any tickets become available
http://www.ticketbande.de/start.php
vorsprung durch and all of that !!:D
Forever Dreamin
07/07/2006, 7:28 AM
lads i`m flyin to frankfurt hahn(ryanair) on the saturday morning.is there a train direct from the this airport to stuttgart or will i have to get the ryanair bus into frankfurt city centre then a train?looking a bahn.de there seems to be a train leaving from "flughafen franfurt hahn terminal,(hunsruk) -is this where i`m flying to?
try hlx.com from manchester direct into stuttgart, just booked mates last night for €180 return inc dub manchester, out thurs back mon,
frankfurt hahn is way north of frankfort, stuttgart is south, it'll take at least 4 hours by train / coach. The distance though is only 100 miles approx. if there is enough of you hire a car or minibus.
$Leon$
07/07/2006, 10:02 AM
Lets show the brits how its really done and make it a classic night to beat Paris,
What has this match got to do with showing the brits how it's done??:confused:
vorsprung durch and all of that !!:D
My german isn't that good but "vorsprung durch" means "inovation through".
casso36
07/07/2006, 11:10 AM
Lads you can book flights from London City Airport to Stuttgart via Zurich for 117.68 sterling if interested.
Booked my brother this morning on www.airfaresbasement.com, thats not bad considering some prices.
Jens1893
07/07/2006, 11:10 AM
My german isn't that good but "vorsprung durch" means "inovation through".
Nope, Vorsprung means head start or edge.
Jens1893
07/07/2006, 11:13 AM
Lads you can book flights from London City Airport to Stuttgart via Zurich for 117.68 sterling if interested.
Booked my brother this morning on www.airfaresbasement.com, thats not bad considering some prices.
Flying from Zurich to Stuttgart is a waste of time. Just hop on a train.
casso36
07/07/2006, 12:02 PM
Flying from Zurich to Stuttgart is a waste of time. Just hop on a train.
Sorry got that one wrong thats my flight from Dublin!!!!! :confused:
LOL London city is straight to stuttgart!!!
Istabraq
07/07/2006, 12:56 PM
My first contribution, so hello everybody.
I hope I'll be able to answer a few queries on here regarding Karlsruhe Baden and Stuttgart. Me and 5 mates flew over with Ryanair to Baden for the England v Ecuador match. It was the best weekend Ive had in a long time. You have to hand it to the Brits, when they behave, like most do, they are brilliant supporters.
Anyway, we flew out at 2ish and arrived over there at 5ish (germ time). There is no train station in the Airport, so we would have had to get a bus to Baden Baden, then a train from there to Stuttgart, and I think you may have to switch trains on the way although I do stand corrected on that. Your talking about 2.5 to 3 hours mesing around, and then you still have to find your hotel once left in the centre.
We asked how much it would cost for a 6 man yoke to take us direct to our hotel (which was about 5-10 mins outside centre in taxi), and were quoted €175. We got them down to €130 and took your mans hand off. To show us the true cost he put on the meter anyway, and when he dropped us off it was €193. So whatever you do, dont take taxi on meter, agree a price always.
The taxi took 1hr, and it is deffo the way we are doing it in Sept.
I booked my flights to Stutt the minute I heard the announcement, and got 3 flights for €160 each return. Thats flying out Thurs 31st Aug and flying back the Monday. We booked the same hotel we stayed in which is €125 for a triple room per night (3 single beds).
It looks like I have tickets sorted, and there is a very simple way to get your hands on these for a decent price. I dont want to say anything yet because I havent got my hands on the tickets yet.
The reason I came across this forum was due to the whole eventim.de debacle. Im sick I missed that. Never heard a whisper until last weekend.
Anybody else flying over to Baden on the Thursday, because there is only 3 of us, but if we got 4 or 5 more we can get an 8 man taxi for between 130-150 euro?
07/07/2006, 1:01 PM
So will we!! 7.40am flight Friday morning from Heathrow (via Zurich ) on Swissair
oh Jaysus, a Sligo bunch! :eek: :D Do you happen to know my beloved Sligoman? :eek:
07/07/2006, 1:03 PM
We are overnighting aswell, from what I can see from www.stanstedairport.com most bars open nearly all night and at least one is open all night
gufct and beavis there are 4 of us on that 0800 flight too!
:eek: :D
07/07/2006, 1:13 PM
Lads I am arriving in Baden Baden on Wednesday is there anybody interested in sharing a taxi or mini bus to Stuttgart. i will be arriving with one other person and possibley 2 others. If we could get 8 together we could save time and money.