View Full Version : Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread
Pages :
[
12]
casso36
07/07/2006, 1:18 PM
Lads,
We arrive stuttgart at 16.45 on friday evening anyone staying in the Brita Hotel Augsburger Str. 671 - 673 70329 Stuttgart.
Can share taxi fare there is 2 of us!!
07/07/2006, 2:18 PM
Anyone else on the hlx flight direct from Dublin on the Friday afternoon (arriving at 3-ish)?
$Leon$
07/07/2006, 2:25 PM
Am I the only one flying from Dublin via Milan to Stuttgart with Alitalia on Thur 31st?
Surprised no one else here has mentioned it. Return flights Thur to Sun €195 incl tax.
casso36
07/07/2006, 2:49 PM
Am I the only one flying from Dublin via Milan to Stuttgart with Alitalia on Thur 31st?
Surprised no one else here has mentioned it. Return flights Thur to Sun €195 incl tax.
Fluck!!! me i got fleeced, €326.00 Dublin -copenhagen- Stuttgart.
Ah well still alot cheaper than tour companies!!! :eek: :eek:
07/07/2006, 3:02 PM
Still love my €100 incl taxes wed to Sunday. Dublin to Baden Baden and Stuttgart to Dublin via London.
casso36
07/07/2006, 3:05 PM
Still love my €100 incl taxes wed to Sunday. Dublin to Baden Baden and Stuttgart to Dublin via London.
Not as much as i would love it!! :D :D
Sligo Hornet
07/07/2006, 3:06 PM
With all the money your ingenuity has saved you, you'll have no trouble standing the first round......and the second....and.........:D
supasparx
07/07/2006, 3:20 PM
Anyone on the 7.50 flight from heathrow to stuttgart on the saturday morning?
Forever Dreamin
07/07/2006, 3:41 PM
Lads I am arriving in Baden Baden on Wednesday is there anybody interested in sharing a taxi or mini bus to Stuttgart. i will be arriving with one other person and possibley 2 others. If we could get 8 together we could save time and money.
Neil,
There's at least 8 of us on the same flight. Ill check numbers over the weekend, a minibus would be ideal, save time as well! Were heading back sun afternoon.
07/07/2006, 4:00 PM
Cheers yeah I am up for that, that would be perfect. I am flying direct from Stuttgart Via london on Sunday evening but cheers for that offer also.
Yeah a minibus is the way to go. So we Def have 10 so at the moment for that fair play. I can pm you with my e mail or phone details if you like.
07/07/2006, 4:04 PM
With all the money your ingenuity has saved you, you'll have no trouble standing the first round......and the second....and.........:D
No problem Sligo, Think I met you out side one of the Irish bars in Cyprus for the bus to the U21 match. Hope you are keeping well.
Beavis
07/07/2006, 4:17 PM
gufct and beavis there are 4 of us on that 0800 flight too!
:eek: :D
Yes but I'll be wearing my Mr.X head gear with the question mark on it:D
We're on the first Ryaniar flight though, but if yiz are overnighting sure we'll have to do some drinking.
Anyone on the Stanstead - baden baden flight with ryanair on the sat? 7am??
oconghc2
07/07/2006, 8:28 PM
just gettin flights sorted for my cousin there - might be of help
if you fancy goin straight to stuttgart why not try prague and then german wings to stuttgart - only about 1 hour away by plane.
Just that german wings do good deals to other cities around europe so might be handy to go through one of them instead of england.
Aerlingus arnt too bad to prague either - Just a thought.
IsMiseSean
08/07/2006, 3:15 PM
Is it 2late 2get reasonable priced flights to stuttgart?
Myself and my mate just decided on making the trip over a pint last night!
Forever Dreamin
08/07/2006, 5:03 PM
Is it 2late 2get reasonable priced flights to stuttgart?
Myself and my mate just decided on making the trip over a pint last night!
ryanair to manchester out thurs back sun, hlxs.com manchester to stuttgart was about €180 a few days ago, or try ryanair via stansted to friedrichstein??? about 100km from stuttgart verty cheap last week
murtybyrne
08/07/2006, 11:03 PM
Freidrichshafen to Stuttgart???
Do you know of any good train or bus links? about how long it would take ??
Forever Dreamin
09/07/2006, 9:57 AM
its about 100 miles i think, will check autoroute in office tomorrow. how many are going, hire a car or if enough get a 8 seater taxi or minibus.
09/07/2006, 11:17 AM
Its about 200kms. but there is a fairly regular train service from the airport to Stuttgart, some trains are direct, some you have to change once or twice.
Try this link (http://reiseauskunft.bahn.de/bin/query.exe/en?ld=212.63&seqnr=1&ident=33.01824421.1152443247&OK#focus) to check train times. Enter Freidrichshafen, Flughaven as your start station.
Irish_Praha
09/07/2006, 11:53 AM
I haven't read all the posts in this thread so maybe it's been mentioned already ,but for anyone living in the UK, Air France do flights from London Gatwick to Strasbourg, which is only 2hrs on the train from Stuttgart. I don't know what the prices are though. Might be worth a look.
Irish_Praha
09/07/2006, 3:18 PM
Another option would be to fly to Nürnberg with Air Berlin from London Stanstead (also only 2 hrs from Stuttgart on the train) and the flights would probably be cheaper than with Aer France.
Sligo Hornet
10/07/2006, 10:23 AM
I haven't read all the posts in this thread so maybe it's been mentioned already ,but for anyone living in the UK, Air France do flights from London Gatwick to Strasbourg, which is only 2hrs on the train from Stuttgart. I don't know what the prices are though. Might be worth a look.
We only recently booked ( about two weeks ago ) London Heathrow to Stuttgart ( via Zurich ) on Swissair for around £137 return
anto88
10/07/2006, 10:59 AM
just to get an idea, wat time are people generally landing in Hahn?
im due in at 4.30
5 of us going dublin stanstead frankfurt, arrive in frankfurt about 6.30pm on friday, meant to be staying in frankfurt that night, anyone else staying in frankfurt on the friday night. don't know what to do whether to hire a jammer on the saturday or get the train, is hahn really 1 1/2 hours away from frankfurt??
Irish_Praha
10/07/2006, 11:44 AM
is hahn really 1 1/2 hours away from frankfurt??
Yeah but it can take up to 2 hrs, depending on the traffic. Should be a clear run into the city at that time of the night though.
Fr. Joe
10/07/2006, 3:14 PM
Where is the u21 match on lads?
10/07/2006, 3:18 PM
Where is the u21 match on lads?
This is a wind-up, yes!!!! :o
Fr. Joe
10/07/2006, 3:21 PM
When and where are they playing the Greeks and Belgians then?
10/07/2006, 3:27 PM
When and where are they playing the Greeks and Belgians then?
Greece (away) is supposed to be on Wednesday 16 August, same day as the Holland senior home game, but this is in doubt as Greece have been suspended by Uefa until further notice.
The home game against Belgium is pencilled in for Sunday 3 September, day after the Germany away game, but has not been confirmed nor a venue yet named.
RogerMilla
11/07/2006, 11:48 AM
Anto , in Hahn you get the bus to frankfurt. takes about 90 mins alright. you can get the train to stuttgart from there , takes 70 mins . Make sure you get on the right bus in hahn!!
RogerMilla
11/07/2006, 11:59 AM
also the train will be wedged with irish fans comign down from cologne, dusseldorf , amseterdam , craic will be 90+!!
Lads any ideas on finding the best way to get from Brussels Charleroi (airport) to Stuggart. Mate booked flights with ryanair to it and is looking for trains now.
Its about 200kms. but there is a fairly regular train service from the airport to Stuttgart, some trains are direct, some you have to change once or twice.
Try this link (http://reiseauskunft.bahn.de/bin/query.exe/en?ld=212.63&seqnr=1&ident=33.01824421.1152443247&OK#focus) to check train times. Enter Freidrichshafen, Flughaven as your start station.
Murty, see my post no 166. My flight time from Stanstead was changed by Ryanair and I'm now flying out to Friedreichshafen at 7.15 a.m. on Thursday morning which means I'm overnighting in the Airport on the Wednesday night.
I flew to Friedreichshafen for both the Swiss games.
On the first trip a gang of us waited at the "flughafen stop" but realised that it was better to go into the main railway station as trains were not stopping at the airport. There is a bus (not a Ryanair one) which cost a ouple of euros to get to the station.
I have checked the train times and there are plenty of trains from Friedreichshafen to Stuttgart. The journey takes about 2 1/4 hours by train.
mafitz
12/07/2006, 7:32 AM
First time post. Istabraq thanks for the info on Baden, we (3) will arrive with Ryanair into Baden at 1550, we can share a taxi with you guys, are you on the same flight? Just heard: Klinsmann quits as Germany coach as reported by the BBC. That might help.
My first contribution, so hello everybody.
I hope I'll be able to answer a few queries on here regarding Karlsruhe Baden and Stuttgart. Me and 5 mates flew over with Ryanair to Baden for the England v Ecuador match. It was the best weekend Ive had in a long time. You have to hand it to the Brits, when they behave, like most do, they are brilliant supporters.
Anyway, we flew out at 2ish and arrived over there at 5ish (germ time). There is no train station in the Airport, so we would have had to get a bus to Baden Baden, then a train from there to Stuttgart, and I think you may have to switch trains on the way although I do stand corrected on that. Your talking about 2.5 to 3 hours mesing around, and then you still have to find your hotel once left in the centre.
We asked how much it would cost for a 6 man yoke to take us direct to our hotel (which was about 5-10 mins outside centre in taxi), and were quoted €175. We got them down to €130 and took your mans hand off. To show us the true cost he put on the meter anyway, and when he dropped us off it was €193. So whatever you do, dont take taxi on meter, agree a price always.
The taxi took 1hr, and it is deffo the way we are doing it in Sept.
I booked my flights to Stutt the minute I heard the announcement, and got 3 flights for €160 each return. Thats flying out Thurs 31st Aug and flying back the Monday. We booked the same hotel we stayed in which is €125 for a triple room per night (3 single beds).
It looks like I have tickets sorted, and there is a very simple way to get your hands on these for a decent price. I dont want to say anything yet because I havent got my hands on the tickets yet.
The reason I came across this forum was due to the whole eventim.de debacle. Im sick I missed that. Never heard a whisper until last weekend.
Anybody else flying over to Baden on the Thursday, because there is only 3 of us, but if we got 4 or 5 more we can get an 8 man taxi for between 130-150 euro?
12/07/2006, 8:18 AM
I will be driving down to Stuttgart on the Friday (sometime before midday) from an overnight stay in Traben Trarbach, close by Hahn. We have a couple of spaces available for the intrepid traveller.
tigger
13/07/2006, 8:34 AM
still flights on ryanair,friday to monday for example stansted -salzburg only 47 pound incl.
http://www.bookryanair.com/skylights/cgi-bin/skylights.cgi
from salzburg airport you hire a car for the whole weekend(fri-monday morning!!! incl. all kilometer and fully insured for around 150 euro..if you split that between 5(example) only 30 euro each...
4 hours drive,only motorway,nothing compare to frankfurt hahn etc.
otherwise take a train, "bayern-ticket"(up to 5 people) salzburg-ulm,from there
"Baden-Württemberg"(up to 5) Ticket ulm-stuttgart, tickets around 30 euro(for 5 person)...
any more infos???Will help....
tigger
13/07/2006, 9:00 AM
Going Out
Web fare Adult Reg Fare 6.99 GBP Fri, 01 Sep 06
Flight FR 304 06:45 Depart London Stansted (STN)
09:30 Arrive Salzburg (SZG)
Reg fare Adult Reg Fare 39.99 GBP
Fri, 01 Sep 06
Flight FR 306 18:30 Depart London Stansted (STN)
21:20 Arrive Salzburg (SZG)
Coming Back
Web fare Adult Reg Fare 6.99 GBP
Mon, 04 Sep 06
Flight FR 305 09:55 Depart Salzburg (SZG)
10:50 Arrive London Stansted (STN)
Reg fare Adult Reg Fare 39.99 GBP
Mon, 04 Sep 06
Flight FR 307 21:45 Depart Salzburg (SZG)
22:35 Arrive London Stansted (STN)
13/07/2006, 9:07 AM
East Midlands to Cologne - cost me £18 quid 1 way so £54 for the 3 of us. Ireland to East Mids is very cheap with flights leaving from Dublin and Shannon at all times of the day. Might be worth a look if you cannot get going any other way.
Anybody know of any hotels left in Stuttgart? I cannot believe so many are snapped up. Have been on google for hours now without much joy.
casso36
13/07/2006, 9:28 AM
East Midlands to Cologne - cost me £18 quid 1 way so £54 for the 3 of us. Ireland to East Mids is very cheap with flights leaving from Dublin and Shannon at all times of the day. Might be worth a look if you cannot get going any other way.
Anybody know of any hotels left in Stuttgart? I cannot believe so many are snapped up. Have been on google for hours now without much joy.
Try this hotel. Brita Hotel
Augsburger Str. 671 - 673
70329 Stuttgart
Oberturkheim
Phone: 0049711320230
Only 4 1/2 Kilometers from stadium and free travel pass for lenght of stay
for metro and buses. Were staying ther for €70.00 each for 2 nights and looks ok!!!
NOLANone
13/07/2006, 9:43 AM
What's the craic lads and ladettes!
15 of us heading to Stuttgart for the big match. Around 11.00AM on the Thursday we're flying Dublin to Amsterdam then catching a connecting flight on to Stuttgart. We are thinking of staying in the Clarion Hotel Dublin Airport on the Wednesday night, hoping to meet the squad before they head off and to give ourselves the chance to relax instead of worrying about catching the early Aircoach from Belfast to Dublin on the Thurs morning. Anyone have similar plans and fancy meeting up on the Wednesday evening? I know that in the past the players have stayed at the Clarion before away matches, but is this likely to continue under Staunton? Would the majority of you recommend the Clarion or The Great Southern?
Thanks,
Nolan
Travelling Dublin Paris Stuttgart x 2 = 457euro
Ibis hotel, Stuttgart Am Loewentor, Presselstrasse 1570191 Germany = 138
total for weekend 595 for two. Compare that to whats available in the papers at moment!!
Any one staying in the Ibis - coming in on the 1st, out after the win on the 3rd!
13/07/2006, 10:10 AM
Anyone staying in the Find Hotel in Stuttgart.
casso36
13/07/2006, 10:12 AM
Anyone staying in the Find Hotel in Stuttgart.
No, Could'nt FIND!! It :D :D
13/07/2006, 11:12 AM
Travelling Dublin Paris Stuttgart x 2 = 457euro
Ibis hotel, Stuttgart Am Loewentor, Presselstrasse 1570191 Germany = 138
total for weekend 595 for two. Compare that to whats available in the papers at moment!!
Any one staying in the Ibis - coming in on the 1st, out after the win on the 3rd!
in some Ibis, don't know if that's the one :D
Sligo Hornet
13/07/2006, 11:18 AM
[QUOTE
Anybody know of any hotels left in Stuttgart? I cannot believe so many are snapped up. Have been on google for hours now without much joy.[/QUOTE]
The difficulty in getting hotels is probably not helped by a large Food and Wine Festival being held in Stuttgart the same week-end!!.......I know what you're thinking ...what do germans know about Food and Wine?.......spicy sausage and liebframillich!!!!:D :D
13/07/2006, 11:22 AM
The difficulty in getting hotels is probably not helped by a large Food and Wine Festival being held in Stuttgart the same week-end!!.......I know what you're thinking ...what do germans know about Food and Wine?.......spicy sausage and liebframillich!!!!
Do you know Sligoman? :eek: :D
Yum, German food...
casso36
13/07/2006, 11:25 AM
The difficulty in getting hotels is probably not helped by a large Food and Wine Festival being held in Stuttgart the same week-end!!.......I know what you're thinking ...what do germans know about Food and Wine?.......spicy sausage and liebframillich!!!!:D :D
See my post number: 590 this hotel was available yesterday!!!
13/07/2006, 12:57 PM
cheers Casso. I have tried to make a reservation. Fingers crossed I have got it.
casso36
13/07/2006, 1:15 PM
cheers Casso. I have tried to make a reservation. Fingers crossed I have got it.
No probs shaker!!!
Did you ring the Hotel? better ringing them because the hotel has block bookings from hotel websites and they can offer room over the phone!!!
Duffman
14/07/2006, 10:58 AM
Lads any ideas on finding the best way to get from Brussels Charleroi (airport) to Stuggart. Mate booked flights with ryanair to it and is looking for trains now.
Myself and 4 other lads are booked that route as well, in on the Friday morning and back on the Sunday night. www.bahn.de for your trains which take about 6 hours and you want to get in early for teh sparpreis rates otherwise they are quite expensive! We decided to just drive down instead, 150 for a car as against 5 of us at 180 each for the train :)
casso36
14/07/2006, 12:43 PM
Any joy?? shaker!!!