View Full Version : Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

14/03/2006, 7:19 AM
Germany have apparently lost their last 4 home games in Stuttgart. Italy, Argentina, France and Brazil have all won there.

Even Scotland have won in Stuttgart in 1957.

This just gets better and better. :)

robbie-keane
16/03/2006, 2:11 PM
I really hate the germans (apart from being one lol)
honestly, I live in Hamburg and they couldn't possibly find something further away, could they??

Saint Tom
20/03/2006, 1:30 PM
this is going to be a cracking trip.

the memories of 88 and the dawn of a new era will make sure the atmosphere is electric

GDHarps
23/03/2006, 4:51 PM
Cheaper return flight on Monday 4th Sept from Stuttgart appeared on hlx.com, so current return price for Fri-Mon is around €250.

G.

Saint Tom
25/03/2006, 10:58 AM
http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/germany/baden_wurttemberg/stuttgart_gottlieb_daimler.shtml

dont know if this has been posed before.. quality

zinedineontour
25/03/2006, 1:56 PM
http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/germany/baden_wurttemberg/stuttgart_gottlieb_daimler.shtml

dont know if this has been posed before.. quality

hate grounds with running tracks .. were gonna be behind the goal and miles away ..

Saint Tom
25/03/2006, 2:17 PM
view seems quite similar to where we sat in Hampden two years ago

dave442
27/03/2006, 3:08 PM
Has kick-off time been announced yet?

If not - do germany usually play weekend games in the afternoon or evening?

Thanks!

Reddladd
27/03/2006, 9:18 PM
I see that generous travel agency that is 747 travel are looking for €700 for 2 nights in a three star hotel. But hey you get the presence of the highly conscientious and hard working 747 ground staff. Well it has to be worth it then, doesn't it???

$Leon$
27/03/2006, 10:11 PM
I see that generous travel agency that is 747 travel are looking for €700 for 2 nights in a three star hotel. But hey you get the presence of the highly conscientious and hard working 747 ground staff. Well it has to be worth it then, doesn't it???

Booked flights and Hotel for 3 nights for myself all for €300.
Their making some profit. Traveled with 747 to Paris. Never again. Shower of cow boys Ted. The PM has listed before all the hassle we had with them. i won't bother repeating it, it would only pi$$ me off

scousedub
29/03/2006, 9:59 PM
Ray Treacy have also come in with a bargain price of €709 for a 2 nighter in a 3 star hotel, but they do include free insurance,wow, robbin feckers

30/03/2006, 9:41 AM
Ray Treacy have also come in with a bargain price of €709 for a 2 nighter in a 3 star hotel, but they do include free insurance,wow, robbin feckers

I get my travel insurance through VHI. €49 per year for multi trip cover.

31/03/2006, 9:08 AM

Not arguing with your opinion. :D

However that must be Treacy's cheapest trip for a while.

31/03/2006, 11:55 AM
lads.The one we booked on the bahn train site is now quoting €149 per room as opposed to the €77.67 we got it at.

31/03/2006, 7:02 PM
lads.The one we booked on the bahn train site is now quoting €149 per room as opposed to the €77.67 we got it at.

they've copped on that we're coming in our droves! :eek: :D

Forever Dreamin
01/04/2006, 9:41 AM
I get my travel insurance through VHI. €49 per year for multi trip cover.

Remember the Faroes and insurance....the only pepolp who got paid on their travel insurance were those with annual insurance that was not sold through travel agents!! I was one of the lucky few..even got the price of my match ticket back....makes Rays free insurance look worthless. I paid about €100 for 2 adults 2 kids for the year.

http://www.acetravelinsurance.ie/?afl=4252

AidoM
04/04/2006, 9:45 PM
Remember the Faroes and insurance....the only pepolp who got paid on their travel insurance were those with annual insurance that was not sold through travel agents!! I was one of the lucky few..even got the price of my match ticket back....makes Rays free insurance look worthless. I paid about €100 for 2 adults 2 kids for the year.

http://www.acetravelinsurance.ie/?afl=4252

I get mine for the whole clan for €65 for the year :) through the Credit Union

$Leon$
04/04/2006, 10:30 PM
just as a matter of interested how many people traveling will have travel insurance. Didn't bother with it when i went to paris. i know we should have got it. any ideas where to get good cheap insurance for this trip? doubt it would be worth my while getting vhi or credit union annual type

Mr_T
05/04/2006, 1:06 PM
booked with www.stuttgart-tourist.de .. booked into the hotel kohler .. works out pretty good 57 euro per twin room per night ...

Will be seeing you there Zinedine, just got 8 of us booked in same place. Gotten slightly dearer since, €93 for triples and €72 for Twin.

Soccerc, ash etc. See yis over there!!

05/04/2006, 1:12 PM
Yep,
Loudy MacLoud and myself are staying in
Gδstehaus Arbeiterbildungszentrum, Bruckwiesenweg 10, 70327 Stuttgart.

Twin room for 3 nights cost €156.00

Not really sure where that is exactly but apparently its beside the metro that
goes out to the stadium.

I got it from one of the tourist advice websites in this thread, cant remember
which. I actually forgot that I had accomodation booked!

soccerc
05/04/2006, 1:15 PM
Will be seeing you there Zinedine, just got 8 of us booked in same place. Gotten slightly dearer since, €93 for triples and €72 for Twin.

Ok T but don't come looking to me for elusive tickets!

Working on organising a bar to accomodate us without jacking up the prices. Apparently the Stutgart business have only just realised what is about to invade their city.

Mr_T
05/04/2006, 3:50 PM
Ah sure what use would you be for tickets these days soccerc!! :D ;)

Keep us posted on foot.ie HQ in Stuttgart so, sounds like a good idea.

TG

soccerc
05/04/2006, 4:40 PM
Ah sure what use would you be for tickets these days soccerc!! :D ;)

TG

Would you be surprised that my sources still come up thrumps Mr T.

zinedineontour
05/04/2006, 4:41 PM

good stuff .... nice little family run hotel wont know whats hit it .... though like the vending machines selling beer in the hall ....

oconghc2
06/04/2006, 10:07 PM
anyone camping??? weather is normally ok (nights cold though) - funds are low!!!

07/04/2006, 8:08 AM
My tent died a tragic death in the Faroes ... with me still in it :eek:
so I dont think I'll be camping for the forseeable future ...

07/04/2006, 1:04 PM
Yep,
Loudy MacLoud and myself are staying in
Gδstehaus Arbeiterbildungszentrum, Bruckwiesenweg 10, 70327 Stuttgart.

Twin room for 3 nights cost €156.00
Not trying to stalk yez or anything ;) but myself and schumi are staying in the same place now. Still the same price. Schumi's arriving a day earlier than me (Friday afternoon v Saturday morning), so I presume I'll find yez coming out of the Rumplestiltskin Leverkusen with drunken red faces and a few crates of beer like the last time?:D

pegan
07/04/2006, 2:31 PM
just wondering...any nite time activity in Stuttgart - at least in Amsterdam we had the 'tourist section'... any advice seasoned travellers?;)

07/04/2006, 2:52 PM
Not trying to stalk yez or anything ;) but myself and schumi are staying in the same place now. Still the same price. Schumi's arriving a day earlier than me (Friday afternoon v Saturday morning), so I presume I'll find yez coming out of the Rumplestiltskin Leverkusen with drunken red faces and a few crates of beer like the last time?:D

Yep, I reckon it'll be something the same :D

I'm getting into Stuttgart
11:55am Fri 01 Sep

07/04/2006, 3:27 PM
I'm getting into Stuttgart
11:55am Fri 01 Sep
I'm in around 3. I trust you'll have all the best beer haunts checked out by then. :D

10/04/2006, 10:50 AM
I'm in around 3. I trust you'll have all the best beer haunts checked out by then. :D

Or you might find me in the airport ... Good Morning ... then schloomp :D

10/04/2006, 12:41 PM
Has the FAI sent ticket apps out yet?

Paulie
10/04/2006, 12:58 PM
Has the FAI sent ticket apps out yet?

I sent the FAI an email last week asking when they would be taking applications for tickets for the match. I haven't heard anything back yet but when (if) I do I'll post it here. As far as I can remember though they normally put the application form on their website about 3 or 4 months before the game in question.

10/04/2006, 1:39 PM
Tks Paulie

Paulie
11/04/2006, 10:09 AM
Here is the response I got from the ticket office regarding tickets for the match:

I am currently waiting for the German FA to confirm ticketing details. Forms will then be posted out. Can you forward your postal address in order to receive an application form.

Kind regards

Ticket Office

Forever Dreamin
11/04/2006, 6:49 PM
Appications wont be posted out for a couple of months and the Germans dont even have to talk to the FAI till 60 days before re tickets. You can be sure the Germans are more worried with the world cup at the moment. However you should write in or email asking for an application form to be sent out to you. While at it you might as well ask for forms for any other away games you intend going to. You can email the ticket office through the FAI web site.

11/04/2006, 7:04 PM
Appications wont be posted out for a couple of months and the Germans dont even have to talk to the FAI till 60 days before re tickets. You can be sure the Germans are more worried with the world cup at the moment. However you should write in or email asking for an application form to be sent out to you. While at it you might as well ask for forms for any other away games you intend going to. You can email the ticket office through the FAI web site.
Unless you are a Block Blooker or a 10 year ticket holder forget it!

Babysis
11/04/2006, 7:44 PM
Unless you are a Block Blooker or a 10 year ticket holder forget it!

Your probably right, but Its got to be worth a try for now.:)

13/04/2006, 6:09 PM
Your probably right, but Its got to be worth a try for now.:)

hey here's the traditional hat of the Stuttgart region :eek:

to hell with that, the bavarian one will do, they are neighbours anyway! :D

http://www.schwarzwald.com/typisch/bollenhut.html

http://www.bollenhut.de/index2.htm

Closed Account 2
23/04/2006, 12:55 PM
Anyone know when ticket applications will open for this.

A German friend of mine says he doesnt think the DFB will sell their full batch for this and we might get more. He says that Stuttgart does not have as much support for the national team as places like Berlin and Hamburg, and so we may get more than the minimum away allocation.

deego11
24/04/2006, 1:18 PM
Im trying to book a flight to stuttgart can anyone recommend a site to book flights??

24/04/2006, 1:29 PM
I sourced my flight from London via Expedia.co.uk, but you can also check the main airlines' own sites.

nedder
24/04/2006, 1:37 PM
ryanair,
germanwings.com
british airways

deego11
24/04/2006, 2:01 PM
thanks lads Ill have a look at those sites.

24/04/2006, 2:03 PM
after trawling through this thread it's convinced me I have to go. After having a TST for the world cup and missing out because of the Swiss I'm gonna go. Just back from Berlin and have to say the people are sound and the beer is bloody strong!

Tickets for the game might be tricky though but if you go that far you'll pay a good bit to see it.

24/04/2006, 5:24 PM
Im trying to book a flight to stuttgart can anyone recommend a site to book flights??

www.hlx.com

$Leon$
24/04/2006, 6:16 PM

I no it seems a bit odd but i booked with www.alitalia.ie fly out thur 2pm leave early sunday morn €195 incl taxes return with a short stop over in the Milan Airport bar each way.
The prices have gone up but there worth a shot. I also looked at air france, same sorta deal only via Paris CDG and about €20 more. I'm sure there gone up as well but they might be the only ones with tickets left at this stage.

Just checked the web site you can travel out on the wed and back on the monday for €204 return

deego11
25/04/2006, 8:39 AM
cheers for that ill give that a go! :)

Saint Tom
27/04/2006, 9:43 PM
were with airfrance via CDG for about €220, lot more expensive now.

also those of you not already booked will pay a fuel surcharge of approx €16 each way due to increased fuel costs with most national carriers. was looking at alitalia and czech airlines too. each including a stopover was less than four hours

28/04/2006, 9:51 AM
were with airfrance via CDG for about €220, lot more expensive now.

I'm going the same route, heading over on the Friday, back on the Monday