View Full Version : Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread
Pages :
[
8]
12/06/2006, 9:17 AM
as it appears Irish tickets will be in section 61 to 65 it would probably be a good idea for fans buying off german website to try to get tickets in sections at that end of ground, sections 66 to 70. at least we will have one end of ground mainly us and not have us split up all over the stadium
reder
12/06/2006, 11:32 AM
Anyone received the application form from the FAI yet?
Paulie
12/06/2006, 12:19 PM
Just been told that my 8 tickets arrived this morning, just after 9am, via DHL at the German address.
Does anyone know if DHL packages need to be signed for at the delivery address? The reason I ask is because they are being delivered to my mate's house and he's on holidays at the moment.
soccerc
12/06/2006, 12:28 PM
Does anyone know if DHL packages need to be signed for at the delivery address? The reason I ask is because they are being delivered to my mate's house and he's on holidays at the moment.
Yes they have to be signed for
Paulie
12/06/2006, 12:42 PM
Yes they have to be signed for
Cheers. This poses something of a problem as I don't think there will be anyone else there to sign for them during work hours. Does this operate the same as An Post in that if they need a signature in order to deliver a package and no one is about they hold it for a few days and it can be collected? If this is the case does the addressee have to collect them or can someone else do it in their place?
Forever Dreamin
12/06/2006, 12:58 PM
Cheers. This poses something of a problem as I don't think there will be anyone else there to sign for them during work hours. Does this operate the same as An Post in that if they need a signature in order to deliver a package and no one is about they hold it for a few days and it can be collected? If this is the case does the addressee have to collect them or can someone else do it in their place?
Ring DHL and tell them the story and you can collect them from their depot or probably fax them a different address to deliver to..most important none get sent back undelivered or the germans might cop on
londonirish17
12/06/2006, 1:29 PM
Just bought a pair of tickets (priced €35 each) at www.eventim.de
There was no mention concerning Irish fans... The problem is that basically you can get tickets for all stands except the Irish one... Never mind. Most important is to be there.
Delivery is throughout Europe (for €20!!!)
Bluetonic
12/06/2006, 1:59 PM
DHL just delievered the 4 tickets I ordered on Friday to the house there - Dublin address.
Happy days.
Mine have arrived too. Oh happy days. Who needs the FAI? :D
SuperDub
12/06/2006, 6:26 PM
My four arrived this morning too.
zinedineontour
12/06/2006, 7:58 PM
just hope you dont end up with those tickets if there are tickets left in the irish end. I ended up buying **** loads of tickets in the swiss end for the last swiss game and then couldnt get rid of them for nothing as we got irish end tickets no bother. Though Basel part 1 was a different story ..
Curtains
12/06/2006, 8:45 PM
I think it will be easy as hell to get rid of the tickets if we end up getting them from the FAI. 5000 tickets for irish fans and approx 20000 going over in a stadium which only holds 44000. I certainly wont be worried!! Anyway its better to be safe than sorry and then end up watching the game in stuttgart in the local irish pub!!:D
Forever Dreamin
12/06/2006, 9:08 PM
just hope you dont end up with those tickets if there are tickets left in the irish end. I ended up buying **** loads of tickets in the swiss end for the last swiss game and then couldnt get rid of them for nothing as we got irish end tickets no bother. Though Basel part 1 was a different story ..
Even if i end up with FAI ticket and the ones we got from the internet its still only 60 yoyos, better safe than sorry and at least its less germans in the stadium!
This game was always going to be a big one with the Irish fans. The fact that the game is on a Saturday will prove that it will be as big as Brussels 97, Basel 1, or Paris. There will be no shortage of takers unless the Germans boycott this match 100%.
co. down green
12/06/2006, 9:51 PM
Our tickets also arrived today.
Happy days.
sniffa
12/06/2006, 10:01 PM
Sorry if my question is already answered in this thread, but reading through 19 pages is a bit much.
Has the kickoff time for the game in Stuttgart been arranged and if so could someone please post it here?
soccerc
12/06/2006, 10:16 PM
Sorry if my question is already answered in this thread, but reading through 19 pages is a bit much.
Has the kickoff time for the game in Stuttgart been arranged and if so could someone please post it here?
NO, tickets have no time on them
Babysis
13/06/2006, 10:00 AM
Thank you so much, just got 4 tickets ordered. great stuff.
Forever Dreamin
13/06/2006, 10:40 AM
Tickets arrived and the nice man from DHL apologized for not having them before 10am!!!! ordered Saturday.
Armando
13/06/2006, 6:54 PM
Our 8 tickets arrived yesterday. Brilliant! We're in section 66c so hoping to be alongside the designated Irish section.
I am now a hero amongst my pals who are also going, we were really worried about getting tickets. So, thanks to the original poster.
By the way I ordered them Thursday and there was no warning about them not being for Irish fans then.
zinedineontour
13/06/2006, 7:58 PM
I think it will be easy as hell to get rid of the tickets if we end up getting them from the FAI. 5000 tickets for irish fans and approx 20000 going over in a stadium which only holds 44000. I certainly wont be worried!! Anyway its better to be safe than sorry and then end up watching the game in stuttgart in the local irish pub!!:D
doubt 20000 will be heading over .. Id be guessing we will take around 7 or 8000 but your right will prob only get around 5000 so better safe than sorry.
Closed Account 2
13/06/2006, 9:33 PM
Got my ticket this morning, am in Tribune 58. Very quick to come as I only ordered it on Saturday afternoon.
Stadium looked quite good this afternoon in Swiss v French match.
$Leon$
13/06/2006, 10:17 PM
Stadium looked quite good this afternoon in Swiss v French match.
It looked well.
It's apparently the 4th largest stadium used for the WC.
The stands are very far away from the pitch due to the running track.
There seemed to be alot of room behind the goals for players to warm-up.
The track seems to have been covered by some sort of artificial grass for todays game.
I think one of the main reasons the match will be in Stuttgart is because of it's the home town of DFB's main sponsor Mercedez-Benz (stadium named after one of the founders of the company and located on Mercedezstrasse).
It seems a very odd time for the DFB to release tickets for sale. Surely a couple of weeks after the WC would have seemed more sensible for them when the WC is over. Can't see many German supporters been too interested in buying tickets for a match 2.5 months away when they've just started a WC at home.
14/06/2006, 9:20 AM
Yeah which is good for us, I think most of the tickets bought so far are by Irish people. I must say I prefer Stadiums were u are nearer the pitch. Dortmund would have been fantastic for that but I wont be complaining when Doyle Heads in the winner with 2 minutes to go.
soylent green
14/06/2006, 10:03 AM
Tickets arrived to my German work mates address in Germany today.
14/06/2006, 10:33 AM
Saw the stadium on TV yesterday (France vs Switzerland). Big running track around pitch and at either end you're miles away from the pitch :(
Only2keanos
14/06/2006, 11:53 AM
My 6 tickets arrived too. I figure there is a chance I might be stuck with a couple if we get the fai ones too but I dont mind too much.
For the paris game I had about 12 spare tickets in the end and I sold all but 1 of them for face value outside the stadium. Because the mobile phone network always crashes at these away games, there is always loads of poor souls who cant contact the person who has their tickets. Thats who bought most of my tickets.
Anyway, I suppose it would be advisable to make sure you have your ticket in your hand as soon as possible over there.
14/06/2006, 12:35 PM
I am now a hero amongst my pals who are also going, we were really worried about getting tickets. So, thanks to the original poster.
I'm sure Junior is still willing to accept plaudits.
14/06/2006, 1:29 PM
....It seems a very odd time for the DFB to release tickets for sale. Surely a couple of weeks after the WC would have seemed more sensible for them when the WC is over. Can't see many German supporters been too interested in buying tickets for a match 2.5 months away when they've just started a WC at home.
This was my initial thought as well.
Also, despite their 'warning' (we can't sell to Irish supporters!) It is surprising they haven't cottoned on or have chosen to ignore the fact that a signifcant number of the early on-line sales have been to:
- Irish and UK addresses
- Irish names with addresses in Germany and on the continent
Assume Eventim is the German Ticketmaster and they don't give a f**k who they sell them to, they just want to sell them and get paid.
Not that it is likely to be an issue for our game, but it makes you wonder about segregation policy and also demonstrates that even the mighty DFB are not really in control of ticket distribution.
Anyway, despite the fact that I and three pals are a long standing Block Bookers and would expect to get allocated tickets by FAI. Probably like everyone else I am taking the selfish view by not taking any chances and probably wouldnt bother to apply to FAI but will do so only to keep up my record with them of buying tickets for every match.
'We've got our tickets in our hands, so f**k you Fritz!' A terrible attitude to be adopting at my age!
Forever Dreamin
14/06/2006, 3:27 PM
'We've got our tickets in our hands, so f**k you Fritz!' A terrible attitude to be adopting at my age!
I'll only say this once.. hear hear!!
Yeah which is good for us, I think most of the tickets bought so far are by Irish people. I must say I prefer Stadiums were u are nearer the pitch. Dortmund would have been fantastic for that but I wont be complaining when Doyle Heads in the winner with 2 minutes to go.
Dortmund or Munich would have been ideal alright.
Just ordered 8 and I'll take them over the FAI tickets as 8 together wont happen with them
Babysis
15/06/2006, 8:16 AM
So pleased. ordered the tickets on Tuesday morning and they tried to deliver them to London yesterday. They are re delivering tomorrow. happy days.
Sligo Hornet
15/06/2006, 9:41 AM
:D Tickets for Seven of us arrived!....We have got seats in Block 10, right on half way line, great view!!!.....( posibly sharing with Helmut & Fritz ! )
Flights booked ( Heathrow via Zurich ), but only problem is hotel.....all seem booked due to some "German Food and Wine Fair"......what the feck do the Germans know about either......spicy sausage and Liebframilch??
15/06/2006, 9:51 AM
:
Flights booked ( Heathrow via Zurich ), but only problem is hotel.....all seem booked due to some "German Food and Wine Fair"......what the feck do the Germans know about either......spicy sausage and Liebframilch??
email this crowd and they will do their best to sort you..
hotels@stuttgart-tourist.de
Bluetonic
15/06/2006, 11:27 AM
Indeed there is http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=441474&postcount=227
Beavis
15/06/2006, 12:31 PM
oh no I hate wine, why couldnt they just stick to what there good at and given us a Cloudy Beer Festival! Great stuff got tickets on eventim also, feels good not to have to worry about it now in the run up to the game.:)
Saint Tom
16/06/2006, 5:30 PM
cloudy beers in double pint glasses please. Love frothy euro pilsners :ball:
Tickets arrived the other day, though no one was in to sign for them and im back home in dublin for the week, ah well :)
booked flights, seemed the cheapest option was stanstead to Karlsruhe Baden Baden for £126 stg... flying out saturday morn at 7am and returning sunday at 7pm (couldnt get any more time off work :rolleyes: ) anyone one else on this flight / route?
whats the story with the train? i have gone on to the german rail website and when i enter karlsruhe baden it comes up with a number of station options, does anyone know for sure what station i should be looking for? as far as i could make out it should be about 22/44 yoyo's return?
hotel wise i booked through bookings.net, they let you book now and pay on the day with a 24hr cancellation period the day before check in incase i can find a better hotel.
Hotel Hafner
Strassburger Straße 15
Stuttgart
www.hotel-hafner.de/deutsch/top.html
not sure what its like but it was 50 yoyo's a night
if anyone could help me with what train station i should be looking for that would be great ta! :)
oh our tickets are the 25 euro one's on the cannstatter kurve, not sure which block yet, anyone else here and where is it in relation to where the rest of the lads (as in those lucky enough to get tickets through the FAI) will be sitting?
keenanboy
17/06/2006, 12:15 PM
Just booked 5 tickets for close to the Irish end, upper tier. Just glad to get it sorted this early didn't want to be heading over with my arms swinging. Just qa quick question to you all, when entering your country (Land) did you notice that Ireland wasn't listed? I just stuck UK & Nordirland down to get past it and just filled my entire address into the steet name. Hope it works out!
Forever Dreamin
17/06/2006, 5:13 PM
Just booked 5 tickets for close to the Irish end, upper tier. Just glad to get it sorted this early didn't want to be heading over with my arms swinging. Just qa quick question to you all, when entering your country (Land) did you notice that Ireland wasn't listed? I just stuck UK & Nordirland down to get past it and just filled my entire address into the steet name. Hope it works out!
Ireland is listed... your tickets will be deilivered to DHL uk division, i would suggest you get on to DHL in Dublin and see if they can rescue them for you or they may be sent back. IF they get sent back it might make the germans cop on as its an automated process and they probably dont know loads of tickets are being posted to Ireland.
keenanboy
17/06/2006, 6:56 PM
thanks for the advice mate...the website for booking those tickets is fairly temperamental. 1st time I tried to book it said a max of 3 tickets, I clicked out and back in to get the 5. but there was Definitely no Ireland when I was booking...maybe they took it down and have indeed copped on. I'll get on to DHL anyway to get them. How long do you reckon they'll take? Booked them this morning.
Forever Dreamin
17/06/2006, 9:12 PM
thanks for the advice mate...the website for booking those tickets is fairly temperamental. 1st time I tried to book it said a max of 3 tickets, I clicked out and back in to get the 5. but there was Definitely no Ireland when I was booking...maybe they took it down and have indeed copped on. I'll get on to DHL anyway to get them. How long do you reckon they'll take? Booked them this morning.
If you clicked on the stadium icon you could have picked your tickets beside the irish end and found 8 close together, i assume you just cliked on the price category which is not as user friendly for some reason, ireland is definitely still on the list of contries just below GB * Nire, tickets ordered tday will be delivered MOnday or Tuesday. You've paid for overnight delivery by DHL!
18/06/2006, 10:47 AM
Can we assume that blocks like 66 are Irish? I mean that end of the stadium seems sold out. I bought three tickets there, hoping it's nice and green.:D
Forever Dreamin
18/06/2006, 11:25 AM
Can we assume that blocks like 66 are Irish? I mean that end of the stadium seems sold out. I bought three tickets there, hoping it's nice and green.:D
We're in block 66 and I know of about another 60 or so in this Block!
Looking forward to aug31 for an extended warm up to the game
keenanboy
18/06/2006, 11:30 AM
No I did go into the seating plan. Got 5 tickets to the goal end on the far right I presumed all the red "sold out" section there is reserved for the FAI so we're at that end anyway
Forever Dreamin
18/06/2006, 11:49 AM
No I did go into the seating plan. Got 5 tickets to the goal end on the far right I presumed all the red "sold out" section there is reserved for the FAI so we're at that end anyway
the main block of red is the fai section and most of the end behind that goal seems to have been sold to the irish over the last week!!
18/06/2006, 9:22 PM
We're in block 66 and I know of about another 60 or so in this Block!
Looking forward to aug31 for an extended warm up to the game
Excellent. I'm in 66D. Thank God the girlfriend has relations in Stuttgart. Just got to figure out where I'll be in August to arrange travel.
keenanboy
18/06/2006, 10:11 PM
think thats where I bought our ones for too, should be a sea of green.
Sligo Hornet
19/06/2006, 7:53 AM
:) Seven tickets successfully purchased ( and received! ).....Block 10....right on the half way line!!.........Hope we wont be the only Greens in this section!!
19/06/2006, 8:33 AM
:) Seven tickets successfully purchased ( and received! ).....Block 10....right on the half way line!!.........Hope we wont be the only Greens in this section!!
This reminds me of that Simpsons episode where Homer is second in the queue for a big game and the guy in front of him buys 15,000 tickets.:p