View Full Version : Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

Armando
17/02/2006, 2:01 PM
I can't believe they chose Stuttgart. It's got nostalgic value for Irish fans, but that's about it. There are a half dozen bigger stadiums. Plus, it's not a real football stadium anyway with it's God damn running track! Dortmund or Munich would have been a dream come true.
I'm still going though.:D

17/02/2006, 2:11 PM
Meant to be a great city for heading out in though. Plus it was probably Stuttgarts turn for a game. My brother lived there for a while and said it has a great social life and the Beer is top notch in Southern Germany too and only about €2 a pint. Bring it on.

17/02/2006, 2:41 PM
Meant to be a great city for heading out in though. Plus it was probably Stuttgarts turn for a game. My brother lived there for a while and said it has a great social life and the Beer is top notch in Southern Germany too and only about €2 a pint. Bring it on.

I imagine that Stuttgart isn't getting as many big games in the World Cup so this is partly to make up for it.

onenilgameover
17/02/2006, 2:41 PM
whats the capacity in stuttgart these day 60,000?

17/02/2006, 2:47 PM
It has a capacity of 53,200 and it has 4 group games and a 2nd round game and 3rd and 4th playoff.

Greenbod
17/02/2006, 2:52 PM
Yeah packages will be about 600 or 700 quid when I have just booked my flights for 100 and tickets will be about 30 and hotel will be about 140 for 4 nights which works out at €270 so dont book packages.

Where are you flying to Neil, and with which airline?

17/02/2006, 2:56 PM
Flying to Dublin to Baden Baden less than a hour from Suttgart with Rynair and flying Stuttgart to Dublin via London with German Wings.

17/02/2006, 2:59 PM
Why are you sceptical , have you handed over the €170 already or will it be taken out of the credit card coming up to the game.

I'm not comfortable booking accomodation or match tickets over the net. Got fcuked over by Euroteam for BalseMk1 and then for my stag I had booked a hotel for 1 lads and when we got there was told our reservation had been cancelled.

Haven't handed over any money just yet, just resrved room with c.card. Pay on the day etc.

17/02/2006, 3:00 PM
Don't know if this is of any use to people.

http://www.bookings.org/city/de/stuttgart.html?aid=303948

Greenbod
17/02/2006, 3:01 PM
Flying to Dublin to Baden Baden less than a hour from Suttgart with Rynair and flying Stuttgart to Dublin via London with German Wings.

Neil, the train journey is about 1.5 hrs and will probably cost around 70 euro return. I've lived in Stuttgart and done this journey.

17/02/2006, 3:07 PM
I just checked it on the German website and it ranges from 50 mins to 1.30 mins but sure the Stuttgart Airport is 35 mins anyway and Dublin airport can be 45 mins from Stuttgart. The price is 22 Euro on and ifyou atravelling in a group its much cheaper. . I did the journey myself before and it t was about 15 Euro on the day.

17/02/2006, 3:08 PM
Baden-Baden
Stuttgart Hbf

22.02.06 dep
arr 17:34
18:49 1:15 0 EC 22,00 EUR
Order
Baden-Baden
Stuttgart Hbf

22.02.06 dep
arr 17:52
19:39 1:47 2 EC, E, RE 22,00 EUR
Order
Baden-Baden
Stuttgart Hbf

22.02.06 dep
arr 18:44
20:03 1:19 1 ICE, IC 29,00 EUR
Order

17/02/2006, 3:10 PM
Just settling back down after a mad few hours organising flights and hotels for lads with no googleability:D

Just thinkin of the savings to be made from having a pc at hand when the venue is announced. Costing us €258 for Fri &Sun flights and two nights in hotel as opposed to paying some travel agent 6-700 for a 3day trip.

Neil you seem to have done the best of all!Are you staying in Stuttgart?

17/02/2006, 3:13 PM
Sorting an apartment out at the moment yeah gong to stay in Stuttgart for 4 nights.

Greenbod
17/02/2006, 3:20 PM
I just checked it on the German website and it ranges from 50 mins to 1.30 mins but sure the Stuttgart Airport is 35 mins anyway and Dublin airport can be 45 mins from Stuttgart. The price is 22 Euro on and ifyou atravelling in a group its much cheaper. . I did the journey myself before and it t was about 15 Euro on the day.

That's good. Train prices have obviously come down in Germany. Still, I'm happy to be travelling Dublin-Stuttgart-Dublin direct with Hapag for 256 euro.
I'm lucky in that accomodation is costing me nothing.

17/02/2006, 3:23 PM
Each to their own.

$Leon$
17/02/2006, 3:28 PM
just booked flights for €195 return incl taxes. fly out thur back sunday. now all i gotta worry bout is match ticket and finding a good pub.

17/02/2006, 3:32 PM
Exactly Neil. Each to their own. I like the ar$e -ways round way of travelling. If this goes well I might try and even more extravagent way of getting to Bratislava. Fly to Belgrade and then sail up the Danube to Slovakia.

magic moments
17/02/2006, 3:33 PM
going out from LHR on the friday back sunday for £130.00 with Lufthansa.

Next step is the tickets!!

17/02/2006, 3:46 PM
Exactly Neil. Each to their own. I like the ar$e -ways round way of travelling. If this goes well I might try and even more extravagent way of getting to Bratislava. Fly to Belgrade and then sail up the Danube to Slovakia.

I would not not even say mine is that arse ways. People are tranining it from Brussels etc but sure that all adds the trip if you want it to. Trains are great with a few guitars and a few cans and away you go.

Dillo
17/02/2006, 3:58 PM
just booked flights for €195 return incl taxes. fly out thur back sunday. now all i gotta worry bout is match ticket and finding a good pub.

Good man $Leon$ you were quick off the mark. Hear you're taking the scenic route flying with Alitalia via Milan :eek: - like Jockser in '88 you'll be needing your rosarybeeds on board that dodgy airline by yourself! ;) ah no...

It's a pity the game is being held in Stuttgart. Only 53,000 capacity and just over 5,000 of an allocation for the Irish.

Reddladd
17/02/2006, 4:18 PM
If anyone is flying from Heathrow your best bet is BA because Lufthansa only has 2 direct flights, one at the crack of dawn and the other late at night. Plus it's mad to have to change in Frankfurt or Munich for such a short trip.
For the sake of a few quid it's not worth the hassle.
If anyone is dong a three nighter Thurs-Sun its the best way to get there.

17/02/2006, 4:28 PM
With a combination of Ryanair and Germanwings got return to Stuttgart for €144.

Flying to Stansted friday and overnighting in London (might see a friday night game) then onto Stuttgart saturday morning. Back on the monday.

Just booked it now too so still might be available!

Forever Dreamin
17/02/2006, 4:41 PM
Ryanair Dublin to Baden Karlsruhe €220 ret (Baden is Stuggart)

Paulie
17/02/2006, 4:52 PM
I've lived in Stuttgart.

In light of the above can you tell us where the stadium is in relation to the city centre?.....also maybe you could tell me where my hotel (Kongress Hotel on Siemensstrasse) is in relation to the stadium and the city centre? Cheers.

Babysis
17/02/2006, 5:08 PM
Happy days.All booked. Me Green Tribe and two others. Works out £60.86 each going on the Friday morning from Stansted and coming back monday eveing at 19.30pm.

Saint Tom
17/02/2006, 5:45 PM
got a heads up from the mate whoo booked us into munich and all he did was change flights to stutggart (no extra). thursday mornign to sunday lunch. central hotel for €360. im happy

Cowboy
17/02/2006, 5:45 PM
Booked 4 guys out on Air france fri to Sun out of dublin via paris for 238 euro, best western hotel in Berliner platz sindlefinegn on the U bahn (metro) for 32.50 per head per night

Cowboy
17/02/2006, 5:46 PM
got a heads up from the mate whoo booked us into munich and all he did was change flights to stutggart (no extra). thursday mornign to sunday lunch. central hotel for €360. im happy

can you organise some german euros for us? :D

suirsider
17/02/2006, 7:15 PM
just got a flight dublin to stutgart with hapag lloyd express www.hlx.com for 154 euros from wed to wed. they only seem to fly wed and sunday. coming back sunday was too dear.

finn
17/02/2006, 8:24 PM
lads

have we managed to figure out if the Germans are going to be sellin their tickets online to the great unwashed?

Pete

Forever Dreamin
17/02/2006, 10:33 PM
Kingdom - Thanks for your post 14 of us booked into hotel espenlaub in stuggart at €33 per person per night, with flights of €150 frankfurt and €220 sttugart we're all getting a great deal. Anyone booked into Frankfort hahn with Ryanair it's about 3 1/2 hours total travelling by train including connections. Hotel is 500 metres from main club area according to person answering phones earlier! Joxers going home!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

18/02/2006, 12:15 AM
lads

have we managed to figure out if the Germans are going to be sellin their tickets online to the great unwashed?

Pete
There is a paragraph about tickets for the Euro Q games on the dfb site, basically don΄t contact us yet we will let you know on the website when we know.
After they play Ireland, the German΄s next home game is June 2007

Armando
18/02/2006, 1:54 AM
I just booked now before I go to bed - didn't want to get well and truly fleeced by leaving it any later. I booked through Ryanair and German Wings.

RYANAIR
Sept 1st: Depart: 15:35 Dublin
Arrive: 16:50 London(Stn)

Sept 3rd: Return: 11:15 London(Stn)
Arrive: 12:30 Dublin

GERMAN WINGS
Sept 1st: Depart: 20:25 London(Stn)
Arrive: 22:55* Stuttgart

Sept 3rd: Return: 06:50* Stuttgart :o
Arrive: 07:25 London(Stn)

* German time

4 of us going and it worked out as €170 each for the flights. I'm very pleased with that. I'll sort out cheap accommodation tommorrow.

Using the info in this thread was a great guideline. Thanks to everyone.

Forever Dreamin
18/02/2006, 10:13 AM
Just changed flights with Ryanair on thier website from Frankfort to Stuttgart. Cost me €250 per person return so extra €100 than what Frankfort was but at least were much closer.

If only i knew yesterday that i could have changed it would have cost me much less....

Only2keanos
18/02/2006, 3:31 PM
Does anyone know what time the match will be at? I am guessing an evening kick off like Paris.

Junior
18/02/2006, 5:05 PM
Just booked with that HLX crowd direct from Manchester, £90 return.

Just noticed on their site if you book to go to another city you can get a train ticket fro 19 euro/ 14 pounds to any other train station in the country.

18/02/2006, 5:41 PM
just got a flight dublin to stutgart with hapag lloyd express www.hlx.com for 154 euros from wed to wed. they only seem to fly wed and sunday. coming back sunday was too dear.

think their thurs and fri booked out quickly. we got flights on fri back sun for about €250ea

Only2keanos
18/02/2006, 6:09 PM
Booked my flights there. Going through Stansted on the Friday night with Ryanair and German Wings. Back on the Sunday night through Manchester with Ryanair and HLX. Total cost of 213 euro.

18/02/2006, 7:38 PM
Happy days.All booked. Me Green Tribe and two others. Works out £60.86 each going on the Friday morning from Stansted and coming back monday eveing at 19.30pm.

bring it on!!!

Armando
19/02/2006, 12:25 AM
Trip sorted for €210 each (flights and accomodation for 1 night). All we need now are match tickets!

keenanboy
19/02/2006, 1:02 AM
I notice loads of the best available flights have been snapped up. Me and the lads got a lovely deal from www.swiss.com, flying from dublin to stuttgart via Zurich. Very short stopover. 2 night stay. Flights cost €230.70 each not bad considering it'll cost you about €300 to get to Frankfurt and then have to get a train. Jump on this one quick!

Reddladd
19/02/2006, 1:23 PM
Going Dublin - Heathrow on Thursday morning(11.15am) with Aerlingus, meet up with the London based clan and then direct to Stuttgart with BA arriving at 6pm. Plenty of time to suss out the town and find a good boozer. Return flight to Heathrow leaving Sunday evening at 18.40 and flight back to Dublin at 21.25. €270 in total.
If anyone knows the best part of Stuttgart to stay in post in up before I go and book something.

oconghc2
19/02/2006, 6:14 PM
german wings from stanstead looks decent

if you know someone in london - stay there thursday night and get early stanstead flight on friday.

coming back 7pm flight from stuttgart to stanstead and you can be back in dub late sunday night all for about 160 euro.

only need to take friday off work

19/02/2006, 6:18 PM
german wings from stanstead looks decent

if you know someone in london - stay there thursday night and get early stanstead flight on friday.

coming back 7pm flight from stuttgart to stanstead and you can be back in dub late sunday night all for about 160 euro.

only need to take friday off work

I'm sure there'll be a few bench occupiers in the airport wrapped in tri-colors that night :o :D

oconghc2
19/02/2006, 7:11 PM
just booked

160 euro return

Out
dub - stanstead thursday night @ 8.15pm (Ryanair)
friday morning stanstead - Stuttgart @ 8.00am (German Wings)

Back
sunday evnin stuttgart - stanstead @ 7.15pm (German Wings)
stanstead - dublin @ 10.00pm (Stanstead)

Roll on deutschland

Reddladd
19/02/2006, 8:02 PM
Lads & Lasses,
Let's hope you all learn a verse or two cause you have plenty of time.

Joxer Goes To Stuggart
Artist - Christy Moore
Album - Various Songs
Lyrics - Joxer Goes To Stuggart

IT WAS IN THE YEAR OF '88 AND THE LOVELY MONTH OF JUNE
WHEN GADFLIES WERE SWARMING AND DOGS HOWLING AT THE MOON
WITH ROSARY BEADS AND SANDWICHES FOR STUTTGART WE BEGAN
JOXER PACKED HIS GERMAN PHRASE BOOK AND JUMPLEADS FOR THE VAN.

SOME OF THE LADS HAS NEVER BEEN AWAY FROM HOME BEFORE
TWAS THE FIRST TIME WHACKER PUT HIS FOOT OUTSIDE OF INCHICORE
BEFORE WE LEFT FOR EUROPE WE KNEW WE'D NEED A PLAN
SO WE ALL AGREED THAT JOXER WAS THE MAN TO DRIVE THE VAN.

IN GERMANY THE AUTOBAHN TWAS LIKE THE LONG MILE ROAD
THERE WAS EVERY MAKE OF CAR AND VAN ALL CARRYING THE FULL LOAD
THERE WAS TRANSITS AND HI-ACES AND AN OLD BEDFORD FROM TRALEE
WITH THE ENGINE OVERHEATING FROM LONG HAULING DUTY FREE.

THERE WAS FANS FROM BALLYFERMOT, BALLYBOUGH AND BALLYMUN
ON THE JOURNEY OF A LIFETIME AND THE CRAIC WAS NINETY-ONE.
JOXER MET A GERMANS DAUGHTER ON THE BANKS OF THE RIVER RHINE
AND HE TOLD HER SHE'D BE WELCOME IN BALLYFERMOT ANY TIME.

AS SOON AS WE FOUND STUTTGART WE GOT THE WAGONS IN A RING
SEAN OG GOT OUT THE BANJO PETER PLAYED THE MANDOLIN
THERE WAS FANS THERE FROM EVERYWHERE ATTRACTED BY THE SOUND
OF THE FIRST FLEADH CEOIL IN EUROPE, AND JOXER PASSED THE FLAGON ROUND

BUT THE SESSION IT ENDED WHEN WE'D FINISHED OFF THE STOUT
THE AIR MATTRESSED INFLTED AND THE SLEEPING BAGS ROLLED OUT
AS ONE BY ONE WE FELL ASLEEP JOXER HAD A DREAM
HE DREAMT HIMSELF AND JACK CHARLTON SET DOWN TO PICK THE TEAM.

JOXER DREAMT THEY BOTH AGREED ON PACKIE BONNER STRAIGHT AWAY
AND THAT MORAN, WHEALAN AND MCGRATH WERE CERTAINLY TO PLAY
BUT TEMPERS THEY BEAGAN OT RISE AND PATIENCE WEARING THIN
JACK WANTED CASCARINO BUT JOXER WANTED QUINN

THE DREAM TURNED INTO A NIGHTMARE, JOXER STUCK THE HEAD ON JACK
WHO WANTED TO BRINK JOHNNY GILES AND EAMONN DUNPHY BACK
THE **** CREW IN THE MORNING IT CREW BOTH LOUD AND SHRILL
AND JOXER WOKE UP IN HIS SLEEPING BAG MANY MILES FROM ARBOUR HILL

THE NEXT MORNING NONE OF THE EXPERTS GAVE US THE SLIGHTEST CHANCE
THEY SAID THE ENGLISH TEAM WOULD LEAD US ON A MERRY DANCE
WITH THEIR UNION JACKS ALL THEM ENGLISH FANS FOR VICTORY THEY WERE SET
UNTIL RAY HOUGHTON GOT THE BALL AND HE STUCK IT IN THE NET

WHOOO HOOO!

WHAT HAPPENED NEXT IS HISTORY BROUGHT TEARS TO MANY EYES
THAT DAY WILL BE THE HIGHLIGHT OF MANY PEOPLES LIVES
JOXER CLIMBED RIGHT OVER THE NET AND THE LAST TIME HE WAS SEEN
WAS ARM IN ARM WITH JACK CHARLTON SINGING REVENGE FOR SKIBEREEN

NOW WHACKERS BACK IN INCHICORE HE'S LIVIN WITH HIS MAM
AND JACK CHARLTON HAS BEEN PROCLAIMED AND HONORARY IRISH MAN
LISTEN.. DO YOU REMEMBER THE GERMANS DAUGHTER FROM THE BANKS OF THE RIVER RHINE??
DIDNT SHE SHOW UP IN BALLYFERMOT LAST WEEK AND.....

DE DO DO DOO.....

Bubblecard
19/02/2006, 9:19 PM
So the general consensus is not to book with a travel agent? So without being a block booker the best bet is to try get a ticket over there?

oconghc2
19/02/2006, 9:28 PM
i dunno bout this trip

reckon the demand could exceed the allocation. some of us blockbookers might not even be guaranteed tkts.

you should hold out until the german fa announce tkt details (i.e might be sold over internet)

Bubblecard
19/02/2006, 9:39 PM
Yeah cheers.
Any idea when the german fa announce the ticket details? The official allocation to us will only be about 5000 anyway so without being a block booker its goin to be quite difficult to get your hands on a ticket