View Full Version : Cork AUL 2025/26
26/06/2025, 12:57 PM
The Cork AUL thread 2024/2025 was the most viewed new thread on the foot.ie forum for the season with over 1 million views so there has to be some level of accountability for what you post here.
Think before you post.
Put your best foot forward this season lads and enjoy your football.
Retired Folk
28/06/2025, 8:29 AM
Best of luck to all teams. Hopefully, a year of growth for the Aul after the leagues success last season.
Ballwasthere
28/06/2025, 1:40 PM
Won’t be engaging in any football talk this year unless I see there’s less childish bickering and trolling.
Just came on to say fair dues to village United, raising over 10k for charity, people can say what they want about the AUL, good to see one of the teams doing something for such a great cause
AULBUSTER
28/06/2025, 2:04 PM
Best of luck to all teams. Hopefully, a year of growth for the Aul after the leagues success last season.
Watergrasshill gone ?
goal-achio
28/06/2025, 10:32 PM
Fair play to village. What a club. They deserve all the success get
Hacker
29/06/2025, 3:49 PM
First team gone someone mentioned previously due to Hurling commitments of a lot of their first teamers
fruice
29/06/2025, 4:51 PM
Rules are clear if the 1st team folds the second team becomes the 1st team and the second team fails to exist.
So that should mean another team gone from division 3
Hacker
29/06/2025, 6:02 PM
Mid season I would tend to agree but seeing as its the end of the season I dont think its practical and cant really see the 3rd division lads stepping up Premier to whipped every week.
fruice
29/06/2025, 6:20 PM
And to a certain extent you are right but this is a Watergrasshil issue up to themselves to get their house in order other clubs can’t be effected by their own in house issues.
You can’t just allow players to drop 4 divisions and accept that the remains of premier side to be added into a mid table 3rd division squad and expect the lower division teams to be happy with this.
What’s stopping the stronger Watergrasshil players joining in come October time.
The answer is nothing and for this reason I’ll go back to my point at the start this is a Watergrasshil issue to solve no one else.
Hacker
29/06/2025, 7:22 PM
ya can see your side of the argument there it's one of those tough ones for the AUL to juggle.
AULBUSTER
29/06/2025, 7:26 PM
And to a certain extent you are right but this is a Watergrasshil issue up to themselves to get their house in order other clubs can’t be effected by their own in house issues.
You can’t just allow players to drop 4 divisions and accept that the remains of premier side to be added into a mid table 3rd division squad and expect the lower division teams to be happy with this.
What’s stopping the stronger Watergrasshil players joining in come October time.
The answer is nothing and for this reason I’ll go back to my point at the start this is a Watergrasshil issue to solve no one else.
Same as the village lads from last year going back to the cow . Shouldn’t be allowed . Dropping down 5 levels .
Idiotchecker
29/06/2025, 9:27 PM
Same as the village lads from last year going back to the cow . Shouldn’t be allowed . Dropping down 5 levels .
They jumped up levels according to you but all of them were the best players on the team including Zack who also climbed 5 levels in your opinion and managed to win player of the year, show some respect to good players and good teams and stop waffling about levels. Coachford are the level and the rest are 5 levels below
latte2012
30/06/2025, 9:51 AM
Shouldn’t be allowed by who? It’s junior football and 2 different leagues. And there’s nothing between village and doolans cow quality wise down the years.
Ballwasthere
30/06/2025, 12:35 PM
Idiot and buster, one seems to be involved with Doolans the other with village, would you both not be better off texting each other in person and stop with the squabbling on here?
Gunnerozil81
30/06/2025, 1:57 PM
Mallow Town , Sullane , Los Zarcos B , Mogeely B , think they are the new teams entered this season
fruice
30/06/2025, 8:42 PM
All good additions to the league.
It’s amazing really the big drop off has been the city teams the majority of the country clubs that have been lost just moved to the MSL.
There now is double the country teams than their is city teams
Average Baller
30/06/2025, 10:44 PM
Mallow Town , Sullane , Los Zarcos B , Mogeely B , think they are the new teams entered this season
Los Zarcos and Mogeely two clubs have made huge progress in the last few years, great to see.
AULBUSTER
01/07/2025, 3:47 PM
Shouldn’t be allowed by who? It’s junior football and 2 different leagues. And there’s nothing between village and doolans cow quality wise down the years.
Not fair on the other teams in that league. Not one team bar the cow from that league would stay up in the AUL prem . No ambition from the cow . No test . What’s the point . Why not go aul or msl junior. On top of the Scott Mc carty and Darren McGrath is gone there so I hear . Jbazz best player and Andy Sull’s best player. I have great respect for the lads with the cow all top class fella but for the love of god what’s the point going back to the shipping league
Idiotchecker
01/07/2025, 5:05 PM
Not fair on the other teams in that league. Not one team bar the cow from that league would stay up in the AUL prem . No ambition from the cow . No test . What’s the point . Why not go aul or msl junior. On top of the Scott Mc carty and Darren McGrath is gone there so I hear . Jbazz best player and Andy Sull’s best player. I have great respect for the lads with the cow all top class fella but for the love of god what’s the point going back to the shipping league
Not fair on the other teams in the AUL with Coachford sweeping up and looking unstoppable. They're a class above the rest and by a long distance. No ambition comment doesn't make sense they enter FAI and MJC every year, doing well enough in previous years. They are all friends who wanna play together on the same team, most of them might only have 2 or 3 years left in them. If they joined the AUL it would take a couple of seasons to reach the Premier and it's an aging team with no youth or even younger players, their average age must be mid 30s. It's a team not a club we all know this, sponsorship for them doesn't come in from local businesses just seems to be from the pub. It would cost €150 to rent an astro plus €50 a ref, €200 on home games is madness. The away teams pay for the ref in CBL. Im a supporter of all teams in the Mayfield area not just Doolans Cow, i come on here to defend them and others when I can. Especially when you talk nonsense about them. Looking back your posts you're against the Cow lads one week you're praising them the next . You've previously said Jamie has no balls and the Cow lads are just shipping league players. Im here to Idiot check fellas, but that mainly seems to be just you.
meballs
01/07/2025, 10:47 PM
The €150 for an Astro pitch for home games isn’t bad value when you see the yearly bills for clubs that have their own pitches.
Between electric, groundwork, repairs, pitch lining etc it is probably €150 per home game when added up. The only bonus is you have somewhere to train early and late in the season before the bad weather and dark nights set in.
Well done to Village on their charity work, great credit due to them for it.
CBSL is over rated but a very well run league. The cow will be way too strong for it.
Any AUL news outside of Mayfield for the coming season? Any sign of sections being confirmed ?
Average Baller
02/07/2025, 8:20 AM
If there’s 4 new teams coming to Division 3, is it possible the 3rd and maybe 4th place teams in each division from last season could be moved up a division? Or is it more likely that they’ll split Division 3 into two sections?
fruice
02/07/2025, 8:40 AM
Sections won’t be out until August deadline for teams to submit applications to the AUL is the middle of this month.
We know for sure of 5 new teams the 4 mentioned on the last page and Grattan B.
We are lead to believe one Watergrasshil team is in trouble and Bweeng look to be under pressure if they are looking for a players and a manager.
With that in mind we are down 2 teams from last year Parkview & Richmond( I know they didn’t play but were part of Division 1)
So we could only be looking at one extra team.
If all 5 go into division 3 then they simply will have to promote more teams out of it.
You can’t have a 14 or 15 team division 2 sections is an option but it looks wrong when all the other divisions are small.
They have been know to move teams coming from a different league into the second division so some one like Sullane could end up there.
meballs
02/07/2025, 9:49 AM
Grattan B are heading for division 1 I believe
The league begins in early August this year so sections being made in August makes no sense in my opinion.
Preseason games against teams that might or might not be your first league game probably not a great plan.
Seems people are expecting Sullane to be decent I’ve not seen much about them previously so that will be interesting to see.
Anyone else out there that people think will be strong this season bar Coachford and Village?
fruice
02/07/2025, 11:41 AM
A nice bit of spice between Castleview B and Grattan B so.
Sullane should be handy as will Mallow Town
forward152
02/07/2025, 1:24 PM
Will teams be moved up a division if they haven't won promotion officially? Division 1 only ended with 7 teams.
Ballwasthere
02/07/2025, 2:57 PM
Grattan B are heading for division 1 I believe
The league begins in early August this year so sections being made in August makes no sense in my opinion.
Preseason games against teams that might or might not be your first league game probably not a great plan.
Seems people are expecting Sullane to be decent I’ve not seen much about them previously so that will be interesting to see.
Anyone else out there that people think will be strong this season bar Coachford and Village?
Don’t see village being strong this year, midfield is decent but they lost their best defender two best forwards and and a keeper, don’t know what they’ve brought in, but the gap seems to have widened rather than closed, hearing grattan have signed well so far, knocka will be a force they’re very good going forward, haven’t heard much about Donoghmore, Castleview have lost a couple of solid players. Hopefully city wanderers can shake up the cart.
Glenthorn will be stronger this year, heard they signed 2 solid experienced players at premier level so hopefully they put it together and push for a return to premier, can see UCC being stronger this year, very tough season for them last year, a year together now so hopefully the raise their standards, Springfield I’m not sure of, strand will be there abouts, hibs and banter two decent sides good additions to the premier A.
Division one looks to be decent, between Rathcormac, zarcos and Boher for me
Of course this all depends on who’s put in what division
Retired Folk
02/07/2025, 5:33 PM
Is the Grattan B team not the Castleview team.
And now with them going back to Grattan surely Castleview B team in the Aul is Gone. Some carry on Full teams hopping clubs.
AULBUSTER
02/07/2025, 8:25 PM
Don’t see village being strong this year, midfield is decent but they lost their best defender two best forwards and and a keeper, don’t know what they’ve brought in, but the gap seems to have widened rather than closed, hearing grattan have signed well so far, knocka will be a force they’re very good going forward, haven’t heard much about Donoghmore, Castleview have lost a couple of solid players. Hopefully city wanderers can shake up the cart.
Glenthorn will be stronger this year, heard they signed 2 solid experienced players at premier level so hopefully they put it together and push for a return to premier, can see UCC being stronger this year, very tough season for them last year, a year together now so hopefully the raise their standards, Springfield I’m not sure of, strand will be there abouts, hibs and banter two decent sides good additions to the premier A.
Division one looks to be decent, between Rathcormac, zarcos and Boher for me
Of course this all depends on who’s put in what division
You no nothing about village and your saying they won’t be as strong. Who left from last season? Who signed? How do you no they won’t be as strong
meballs
02/07/2025, 8:45 PM
Yes my understanding would also be that the Castleview team would either fold or be made up of players out of the youths (not sure how strong they would be) The club hop situation should never be allowed.
The AUL are incredibly lenient to teams folding or reforming and coming back up divisions it really doesn’t deter teams from taking a sabbatical or moving about.
Last years division 1 standard was particularly poor. Banteer are a nice bunch but ageing and I don’t think either them or Hibs are capable of doing anything too major in Prem A.
Los Zarcos again are only average although a good club.
Rathcormac in particular & maybe Boher could well be up to Division one based on how they played last season
Donoughmore could be on the improve in my opinion and could surprise people and win a trophy or put up a good showing in the league (Top 3)
Ballwasthere
02/07/2025, 11:29 PM
Because they lost 3 of their best players buster, you know the fellas you think going back to their original team is a scandal, and judging by all the young fellas being paraded on Facebook where the only thing Leonard or whoever’s doing the page can say about them is top young fella with a good attitude he knows nothing about them either and they are in rebuild, I watched most of their home games last year, they were only a couple players short of having a good rattle off things this year, but they were 3 big losses, 4 if you count the keeper who I felt was the best of their 3, judging by some of your comments on here you’re the one who knows nothing
Ballwasthere
02/07/2025, 11:32 PM
Yes my understanding would also be that the Castleview team would either fold or be made up of players out of the youths (not sure how strong they would be) The club hop situation should never be allowed.
The AUL are incredibly lenient to teams folding or reforming and coming back up divisions it really doesn’t deter teams from taking a sabbatical or moving about.
Last years division 1 standard was particularly poor. Banteer are a nice bunch but ageing and I don’t think either them or Hibs are capable of doing anything too major in Prem A.
Rathcormac in particular & maybe Boher could well be up to Division one based on how they played last season
Donoughmore could be on the improve in my opinion and could surprise people and win a trophy or put up a good showing in the league (Top 3)
Feel hibs and Banteer are stronger sides than Corkbeg and Waterloo who went down in my opinion, the premier is over before is started if that coachford side stay together, the premier A will be a poor standard compared to previous years, Zarcos have improved every year, I’d be optimistic
meballs
03/07/2025, 6:05 AM
Fair point on Los Zarcos they have improved yearly. I certainly am not knocking them in any way. They may improve again. There are very few teams from div 1 to div 3 that have anything to suggest they can progress up as far as premier A and stay there in my opinion at the moment.
Average Baller
03/07/2025, 7:16 AM
Fair point on Los Zarcos they have improved yearly. I certainly am not knocking them in any way. They may improve again. There are very few teams from div 1 to div 3 that have anything to suggest they can progress up as far as premier A and stay there in my opinion at the moment.
Biggest issue with the likes of Los Zarcos and Banteer is the GAA. They’re from GAA villages where soccer is only an afterthought. They’re only picking from a full squad from around October to February when you’re depending on weather to hold up to get games played. Don’t think you’ll ever see them consistently compete the top table for this reason, as we’re seeing with Watergrasshill now.
meballs
03/07/2025, 9:30 AM
City teams have similar and player loyalty is an issue with a lot of players moving around clubs every year or two along with much more sport options in terms of GAA, gyms, rugby, mma etc
The rural teams are probably improving at a better rate than city teams currently in my opinion.
The rise of the shipping league (they like it being called that I think) which is generally city based has certainly had a negative impact on the strength in depth of city teams in the AUL. Fellas that were once your fringe players or subs etc are all gone to play for Jay Bazz or Andy Sulls Hair or Joe Bazz’s Toystore or whoever has set up that season.
Ballwasthere
03/07/2025, 2:03 PM
Wouldn’t call it a rise, they’ve had one decent team, ever. A lot of the lads filling out other teams are fellas that can’t get a game with team in the MJL premier -division 2 and AUL premier-division 1, like you said fringe squad members and subs.
I personally think there’s too many north side teams, strange that most city sides in the AUL are north side, can’t think of too many from across the river
fruice
03/07/2025, 5:54 PM
The club changing name and staying the same division is nuts.
What ever went on last summer with the original Grattan B lead to believe was something todo with an awards night the boys threw the toys out of the pram jumping ship to Castleview and are they now back with Grattan?
If so crazy stuff and the AUL should tell them on to the 3rd division with ye.
You mention Banteer, Hibs & Los Zarcos above to call them average in my opinion isn’t correct are they as good as premier teams ?
No but would compete with most of the teams in Premier A week in week out.
Any city team from premier a up have the luxury of club hoppers to call on each year.
The rural clubs don’t have this and have to work for the most part with what they produce themselves so will be effected by comings and goings more than the city teams.
SteveSilvermint
03/07/2025, 7:07 PM
Not fair on the other teams in the AUL with Coachford sweeping up and looking unstoppable. They're a class above the rest and by a long distance. No ambition comment doesn't make sense they enter FAI and MJC every year, doing well enough in previous years. They are all friends who wanna play together on the same team, most of them might only have 2 or 3 years left in them. If they joined the AUL it would take a couple of seasons to reach the Premier and it's an aging team with no youth or even younger players, their average age must be mid 30s. It's a team not a club we all know this, sponsorship for them doesn't come in from local businesses just seems to be from the pub. It would cost €150 to rent an astro plus €50 a ref, €200 on home games is madness. The away teams pay for the ref in CBL. Im a supporter of all teams in the Mayfield area not just Doolans Cow, i come on here to defend them and others when I can. Especially when you talk nonsense about them. Looking back your posts you're against the Cow lads one week you're praising them the next . You've previously said Jamie has no balls and the Cow lads are just shipping league players. Im here to Idiot check fellas, but that mainly seems to be just you.some of the best players in cork are in the Glen ..mayfield..Dublin hill .. coachford are the benchmark class club and like every team that are beatable to … I don’t mean that as a disrespectful comment..you train you work hard play a few mind games in a season chances are you win a few games ..
AULBUSTER
03/07/2025, 9:01 PM
Because they lost 3 of their best players buster, you know the fellas you think going back to their original team is a scandal, and judging by all the young fellas being paraded on Facebook where the only thing Leonard or whoever’s doing the page can say about them is top young fella with a good attitude he knows nothing about them either and they are in rebuild, I watched most of their home games last year, they were only a couple players short of having a good rattle off things this year, but they were 3 big losses, 4 if you count the keeper who I felt was the best of their 3, judging by some of your comments on here you’re the one who knows nothing
Village will do well this year possibly better . I no the players who are signing . Club is getting stronger . It’s in a better place now then what it was this time last year . On and off the field . And that’s not me knocking the lads that went back to the cow . My only negative about them going back is they won’t get a test in that league . It’s a **** poor level of football . Jamie could crawl out of bed Sunday morning after being out all day and night Saturday and still score a hatrick . Would have been better if they stayed to challenge coachford . Better for the shipping league and the AUL
Waterloo
03/07/2025, 11:22 PM
Feel hibs and Banteer are stronger sides than Corkbeg and Waterloo who went down in my opinion, the premier is over before is started if that coachford side stay together, the premier A will be a poor standard compared to previous years, Zarcos have improved every year, I’d be optimistic
It’s only one went down so I’m presuming hibs didn’t go up
GerCork
04/07/2025, 7:06 AM
Watergrasshill are definitely gone. Just saw on Facebook that their manager is now part of the new Temple coaching team
Play it out
04/07/2025, 7:40 AM
Village are not in a better place Buster. As a Village man you probably have to tell yourself that. But come on.
Murphy, Hennessey, Keegan and Murphy gone. No Butler or Kearney to fall back on. Coakley can't move. S Long is 50. P Long is crocked. Zac could easily be gone with talk of Cow and Mayfield. Cummins can't run.
O'Donnell cast aside last year, rely in him again?
Keniry and Hickey good.
The young lads are poor they've signed, many don't even play soccer.
John Corocran, can you see him there by Christmas? He be calling his teammates all sorts and can't hack it. Can understand why they signed him but he will explode again.
The lads gone were some of best players. Corcroan can't tie Jamie Murphy's laces.
Idiotchecker
04/07/2025, 11:13 AM
Village will do well this year possibly better . I no the players who are signing . Club is getting stronger . It’s in a better place now then what it was this time last year . On and off the field . And that’s not me knocking the lads that went back to the cow . My only negative about them going back is they won’t get a test in that league . It’s a **** poor level of football . Jamie could crawl out of bed Sunday morning after being out all day and night Saturday and still score a hatrick . Would have been better if they stayed to challenge coachford . Better for the shipping league and the AUL
We know who they are signing too sure its on Facebook. They signed John who is good and Derek is a good player. Both coming from that poor CBL league. They also signed a couple of very very average young players again from the CBL. On the field no way are they better off than last season unless they sign four classy players before the start of season and any FOOTBALLING man knows that. They wont finish second again or higher. You're negative towards the CBL and The Cow is pure jealousy you want them playing for Village but dont wanna come across as desperate so push it to the side. You can tell this by your previous posts they are just CBL players will struggle at Village and in the AUL, now they are all sound and too good for the CBL. Its okay to admit Village will be lost without them and they would of been relegated last year without those CBL players including Zack who was quality. I want Village to do well but they aint even close to the top the way you think they are, yes they finished second down was down to those shipping league players.. Going back on results Village were beaten CBL teams, Jaybazz twice albeit friendlies without scoring a goal, beaten by UCC CBL aswell, they did hammer a CBL last year mostly thanks to Jamie. In my opinion Village wouldnt win the CBL, the Cow and Grangevale would be ahead of them and I think Cow and Grangevale would get more points in the AUL Premier than Village. Again i like Village and have great time for Len but the way you speak on here they have a big target on their back and I dont think Len would be happy with you posting garbage.
Harsh ref
04/07/2025, 11:58 AM
Few lads dropping down from senior team to play with view in Aul so they’ll be handy.
Word on the street Nathan Broderick to Knocka from Ringmahon be some coup if so take a bit to top that one.
Also hearing the young guns Grattan were relying on to sign have decided to stay above in castleview Msl junior team if true that’s a bit of blow to Grattan.
And talking to one of players from Donoghmore he said they’ve added few young decent lads to their squad so hopefully with Village building a Chelsea squad the league might be a bit closer might get few better games.
Retired Folk
04/07/2025, 2:13 PM
I heard opposite then with Castleview. I heard the Jnrs fellas are going up Snr this year. Be good for the club. Been honest, they would have a right crack at the Snr league should the 2 or 3 able go up; the rest are miles off it.
Drop down to play Jnr and get thumped most weeks wouldn't appeal to anyone and they need more than 2 or 3 Snrs to close the gap in my opinion.
Brodrick to Knocka be some signing for them, but still won't close the gap to Coachford in my opinion.
As for Grattan, it's a big year for them with a 100-year thing, so I'd say they're trying to put on a show, but if that B team stays Div 1 and they lost the younger lads that were their best last year by a mile, then I'd say they'll be relegated by Christmas. I still can't get my head around one team coming in and taking a team from another, changing the name and going into the same Division. If Castleview really have folded their Adult team, then fair enough, but if they're staying, then it shouldn't be allowed. Two better sides coming up on merit. And their first team will need a complete overhaul to get close to Coachford as seen in the Final.
It really is a stupid season with all the rumors.
Harsh ref
04/07/2025, 3:21 PM
Must say it’s weird that the entire castleview team have just packed up and left and went back to Grattan strange one leaving Castleview with egg on face in my opinion be interesting to see will they be able to get someone to built another team
SteveSilvermint
04/07/2025, 6:45 PM
Village are not in a better place Buster. As a Village man you probably have to tell yourself that. But come on.
Murphy, Hennessey, Keegan and Murphy gone. No Butler or Kearney to fall back on. Coakley can't move. S Long is 50. P Long is crocked. Zac could easily be gone with talk of Cow and Mayfield. Cummins can't run.
Keniry and Hickey good.
John Corocran, can you see him there by Christmas? He be calling his teammates all sorts and can't hack it. Can understand why they signed him but he will explode again.
The lads gone were some of best players. Corcroan can't tie Jamie Murphy's laces. Jamie is a great player ..what kind of player would you have been…hide behind your profile you probably wer the same when you got game time hidden behind you team mate s ..
Play it out
04/07/2025, 7:12 PM
Nowhere near Jamie Murphys ability but better than Villages crop for the new season.
AULBUSTER
04/07/2025, 8:33 PM
Keniry and Hickey good.
The lads gone were some of best players. Corcroan can't tie Jamie Murphy's laces.
I can’t recall a Kearney playing for village last year ?? Coakley retired 3 games in last year ? Zac is going no where. There are 3 very good young players after signing and another very good striker ye will find out about soon. New goal keeper also . Village will keep moving forward . On and off the field the club is getting stronger .
Play it out
04/07/2025, 8:44 PM
These players were pushed out of the XI by better players and finished up, they're being asked again.
It is not getting stronger on the pitch. Came second, won't come second again.
Ballwasthere
04/07/2025, 8:45 PM
Keniry and Hickey good.
Wouldn’t even say hickey is good, legs look like they’ve left him, not strong enough to hold on the ball, not quick enough anymore to get away from fellas, was a great player but Father Time is unbeaten. Zack a great player, Pa long still very useful, Keniry good player when he keeps the head, if the younger Gurta goes back he’s a great player, older one is solid but nothing spectacular, John a great player if he keeps the mouth shut, they could have a decent core but 100% they are a lot worse off than last year, unless a few of this young fellas are quality, which idiot checker seems to disagree with