View Full Version : Cork AUL 2025/26
Pages :
[
19]
latte2012
15/11/2025, 4:17 PM
A bad line of results for Cork teams as a whole in the Munster Junior Today. FairPlay to Arc Rovers regardless of the opposition. That game went ahead on grass too which makes it a bit mad considering the rain that fell all week. Best of luck to Grattan tomorrow also..
It’s not surprising when you see the level some of these lads from Kerry, limerick and Tipperary have played at. A lot of these lads are would be top notch in MSL intermediate. It’s really junior v senior level.
Ballwasthere
16/11/2025, 4:10 PM
Hard luck to grattan, looks like they have them a game at least
forward152
16/11/2025, 9:44 PM
Over half the Tralee team that played knocknaheeny have been at league of Ireland level.
Harsh ref
17/11/2025, 9:18 AM
Tralee or handy for a number of years attract good players cause they pay um unlucky Grattan looks like they out um good fight
Hacker
18/11/2025, 12:20 PM
"Oscar Traynor Munster Region:
Quarter Final:
Clare 2 - 1 Kerry
Semi Finals
Cork Business League v Munster Senior League (Thursday 20th November 8pm Mayfield Park)
Clare v Limerick (Saturday 22nd November 5:30pm Frank Healy Park)"
__________________________________________________ _________________________________________
Cork Teams got a very favourable draw in the Oscar Traynor.
I know Limerick and Clare teams would be much stronger on paper;
But cant but think an AUL team could give them a game on a cup final day anything could happen!!
latte2012
20/11/2025, 9:30 AM
"Oscar Traynor Munster Region:
Quarter Final:
Clare 2 - 1 Kerry
Semi Finals
Cork Business League v Munster Senior League (Thursday 20th November 8pm Mayfield Park)
Clare v Limerick (Saturday 22nd November 5:30pm Frank Healy Park)"
__________________________________________________ _________________________________________
Cork Teams got a very favourable draw in the Oscar Traynor.
I know Limerick and Clare teams would be much stronger on paper;
But cant but think an AUL team could give them a game on a cup final day anything could happen!!
If the core of the squad was coachford they definitely could. I see that CBLs squad is going in heavy on grangevale players and management that have won 2 games out of 10.
forward152
20/11/2025, 1:40 PM
Only 1 player from the league winner's
Rossum
20/11/2025, 3:41 PM
Only 1 player from the league winner's
Don’t forget the lad Kane Murphy for arc rovers, 7 goals in 6 games including 4 against grangevale
forward152
20/11/2025, 4:39 PM
Hes a great player, don't get me wrong, some great players in the squad, just thought was weird the league winners only have 1.
They were asked and they declined the call up
Broadway Joe
20/11/2025, 10:00 PM
They were asked and they declined the call up
Same as when the grangevale lads wouldn't play for that joker corcoran last year when ye got stuffed.
In fairness squad looked a lot stronger this year than last year...gave the msl junior team a great run tonight.
Harsh ref
21/11/2025, 8:46 AM
Hopefully good weekend of football my predictions goes
Should be handy wins for coachford and Knocka also think village could get better of Donoughmore
Think Waterloo will have to much for shandon in Aoh
And in the other Aoh clash I personally think this is massive game for Grattan in last two weeks coachford put end to league for um out of Munster junior if they slip up tomorrow I think it could be long long season left with just the mossy to play for this is the game I’ll be taking in tomorrow could be banana skin if Grattan not tuned in.
Harsh ref
21/11/2025, 6:21 PM
Lads I’m having cold beer here after hard day at work and talking to Grattan player who said their game won’t go ahead tomorrow or pitches that bad up Norrie land
forward152
22/11/2025, 10:13 AM
A lot of heavy rainfall last night. Some pitches will struggle today.
Cityboy66
22/11/2025, 11:25 AM
Grattan and Knocka games off today. Along with Churchvilla and Rylane, pitches are going to struggle between now and Christmas let’s be honest.
Harsh ref
22/11/2025, 3:23 PM
Stroll around northside here for coachford playing well
Harsh ref
22/11/2025, 7:40 PM
Rossum I’m having cold pint of Coors in your local and one of your players said ye got out of jail today missing 5 and one suspended and Aul let ye call off game did Rathcormac boys get chance to change it I wonder or did ye call it late hahaha yer some gangsters up norrie lad Knocka did same I heard
Ballwasthere
22/11/2025, 7:42 PM
Good win for Donoughmore today, missing a few and were under plenty pressure for the majority of the game, Village played well but as I keep saying, soft, Donoughmore didn’t have many chances but took them when they came, defended bravely as well
Harsh ref
22/11/2025, 9:28 PM
Let’s be honest premier has being worse league last 4 years over how good coachford or aul looked after coachford but this year league so bad imagine if coachford weren’t in league 20 points probably win league all theses poor teams be flaking each other how poor is Aul football no joke
Jason Bourne
23/11/2025, 4:21 PM
To be honest, the Premier Division has been the weakest league over the past four years, regardless of how strong Coachford or other AUL teams may have appeared in comparison. This season, however, the standard has declined even further. If Coachford were not competing, it is likely that a total of around 20 points would be enough to win the league, as the remaining teams are quite poor and would simply take points off one another. It highlights just how low the overall quality of AUL football has become
Jason Bourne
23/11/2025, 4:30 PM
To be honest, the Premier Division has been the weakest league over the past fiftheen years, regardless of how strong Coachford or other AUL teams may have appeared in comparison.
This season however, the standard has declined even further.
If Coachford were not competing, it is likely that a total of around 20 points would be enough to win the league.
The remaining teams are quite poor and would simply take points off one another.
It highlights just how low the overall quality of AUL football has become.
Iv just cleared that up an added a few full stops,articulated it a small bit.
Harsh ref
23/11/2025, 5:33 PM
I thought your first one was better small and tidy like yourself wink wink
Bowser
24/11/2025, 10:29 AM
I am watching AUL football a long time and any fella saying the standards have dropped is being unfair IMO - there used to be a handful of top top players in the AUL, nowadays the leagues are littered with fellas who could be playing Senior no problem. I think we should stop AUL bashing, in terms of the clubs and players I mean, the organisation itself needs root and branch reform. And fair play to Coachford, maintaining that level of consistency should be celebrated and not bashed- up to the rest to close the gap with some clubs trying to make that happen
fruice
24/11/2025, 2:06 PM
Absolutely one team running away with it spoils it to a certain degree but that doesn’t mean the rest are poor.
Coachford are one of the best junior sides in the country.
It’s a long time since there has been a team as strong as them in the AUL.
Ballwasthere
24/11/2025, 4:43 PM
Well on that point I’d like to use teams that have left in the last 10 years as an example, Park, Inishvilla, Pearse, Killreen, Macroom, Kanturk would all be a lot stronger than the likes of village, Castleview, UCC, wanderers
Bohs were another solid side in the premier before folding, even down the divisions the likes of Dillon’s cross, crescent etc would have been a lot better than what’s in those leagues now
The teams still there Knocka, Village, Grattan I think we would all admit were a lot stronger a few years ago than now, knocka were far and away the best side in the league before folding, not as strong now, village for a year or two after getting promoted were a very strong side, they’re poor now, Grattan will always be Grattan but I think the likes of the3 o Sullivan brothers would be an upgrade on what they have now, the standard has definitely dropped and coachford are the exception, not the rule, Glenthorn another side who were very strong 10 years ago nearly winning the premier and now they’re being saved by there not being relegation in the premier A.
There is 100% a drop in standard apart from the team that’s currently hitting every team they play for at least 4 every week
Waterloo
25/11/2025, 12:11 AM
Well on that point I’d like to use teams that have left in the last 10 years as an example, Park, Inishvilla, Pearse, Killreen, Macroom, Kanturk would all be a lot stronger than the likes of village, Castleview, UCC, wanderers
Bohs were another solid side in the premier before folding, even down the divisions the likes of Dillon’s cross, crescent etc would have been a lot better than what’s in those leagues now
The teams still there Knocka, Village, Grattan I think we would all admit were a lot stronger a few years ago than now, knocka were far and away the best side in the league before folding, not as strong now, village for a year or two after getting promoted were a very strong side, they’re poor now, Grattan will always be Grattan but I think the likes of the3 o Sullivan brothers would be an upgrade on what they have now, the standard has definitely dropped and coachford are the exception, not the rule, Glenthorn another side who were very strong 10 years ago nearly winning the premier and now they’re being saved by there not being relegation in the premier A.
There is 100% a drop in standard apart from the team that’s currently hitting every team they play for at least 4 every week
You have obviously not watched the senior 2nd division as village ucc Castleview and wanderers would beat any of those teams you have mentioned . Some who aren’t even senior anymore and have dropped out of that league.
Aul bashing at its finest from someone who knows not a lot
Ballwasthere
25/11/2025, 10:44 PM
You have obviously not watched the senior 2nd division as village ucc Castleview and wanderers would beat any of those teams you have mentioned . Some who aren’t even senior anymore and have dropped out of that league.
Aul bashing at its finest from someone who knows not a lot
Well lad if you read what I posted properly, I was saying those teams, when they left the league, were better stronger teams than what I mentioned is there now, and I think anybody who has been around the league longer than 5 years will tell you the same, including players currently still playing in the league, I’ve played in the league for long enough and have been watching it regularly ever since I stopped, the standard is very low compared to 10 years ago, argue with a wall if you like
And Castleview, Village, UCC and wanderers would be in a proper bottom half of the table battle in Senior 2, very poor sides
goal-achio
26/11/2025, 1:12 PM
Have glenthorn been relagated already?
I better tell the lads that. We were unaware
26/11/2025, 8:43 PM
Why haven’t Coachford gone senior? I always thought if Park had left a year or three earlier, they would have had extra momentum to develop the club. I wonder if Coachford will do similar.
Retired Folk
26/11/2025, 9:43 PM
I think you're forgetting that UCC and Castleview are actually Senior Clubs already and very sucessful ones at that too. No offense here to the clubs, but Park, Innishvilla, Macroom, Kanturk, and to add more, Wilton, Temple, and Kinsale all went Senior and can't get out of the 2nd Division, which is, in my opinion, similar to Premier AUL.
Wilton folded, Temple have more players suspended than actual points, and all the rest would be thumped out the gate 9 out of 10 times against UCC and the View first sides.
Knocka, Village, Grattan, etc., all great teams, respectively, but wouldn't have a hope in the 1st division Senior. No Bias here iv been to many of games in both leagues and its just my opinion.
Coachford at full strenght would do well in 1st but i wouldnt say they would win it. And it would be alot harder to manage GAA and Snr MSL.
To me there very comfortable were they are and wont move and to be honest why would they. They will surely have a crack off the Jnr Fai and look to retain the Munster.
latte2012
26/11/2025, 11:06 PM
It all come in cycles like everything in life. Coachford at this time are in a great place, in a couple of years it will be someone else’s turn, obviously a club doing things right. When park left the AUL to go MSL at that time were in a great cycle and did very well first couple of years MSL until that cycle broke. Players age and stop playing and so on. This current coachford group would do very well at MSL for a couple of years too but if they are thinking long term it’s probably better to stay AUL. Villages and towns like coachford, mitchelstown, buttevant and so on are always going to struggle to get the players that the MSL giants like ringmahon, Douglas,
Rockmount etc… do in MSL so will be just there to take part more that competing most seasons.
fruice
27/11/2025, 8:15 AM
Most of the above is correct hence I’d agree with Coachford to stay put.
Yes a move to the MSL well lead to playing on better facilities most weeks.
But after that any club that goes is only adding to the numbers as latte said they might have a cycle where they are better than previously but they can only get so far as they run into the big clubs.
Places like Coachford will never be a big club consistently at senior level.
Plenty decent AUL sides ( and some not so decent)have went and are only playing in the 2nd Division of the Senior ranks.
Lakewood making the best go of it and Kanturk have been to the 1st division and competing well in the second division.
But then you had clubs like Pearse, Innishvilla who are only competing at the lower junior levels after their move.
So a lot hace switched in the last 10 years and the most that have moved at best have had limited success with the most really struggling.
Which begs the question was the move the correct one?
Retired Folk
27/11/2025, 10:01 AM
Honestly, I think it was a bad mistake for the clubs, and it hurt the league as well. You need a well-established structure to even get near the Avondales and Corinthians, etc.
Even clubs like Castleview and Marys hop up and down for years from Prem to Div 1, and Rockmount looks like they will be in a relegation mix this year as well.
The league is in freefall in terms of decline and loss of teams. And not to bash them, but the Committee isn't great either. Social media, structure of leagues, etc., are all poor and very slow.
This Astro Project, to me, is their last hope to boost the league or at the least the only thing they seem to be doing to improve it. They could attract more teams that can use it as a home if that's what they can do with the astro when its done.
Harsh ref
27/11/2025, 10:46 AM
I think if Coachford want to challenge themselves then they’ll have to move cause as long as they stay in Aul they’ll be no one to compete with them where at a stage now where teams won’t go premier if offered cause they no they won’t pick up silverware and we seen that this season with 2 premier A teams that refused to step up
fruice
27/11/2025, 10:59 AM
Honestly, I think it was a bad mistake for the clubs, and it hurt the league as well. You need a well-established structure to even get near the Avondales and Corinthians, etc.
Even clubs like Castleview and Marys hop up and down for years from Prem to Div 1, and Rockmount looks like they will be in a relegation mix this year as well.
The league is in freefall in terms of decline and loss of teams. And not to bash them, but the Committee isn't great either. Social media, structure of leagues, etc., are all poor and very slow.
This Astro Project, to me, is their last hope to boost the league or at the least the only thing they seem to be doing to improve it. They could attract more teams that can use it as a home if that's what they can do with the astro when its done.
It’s hard to beat the sheer numbers that clubs like Corinthians, Douglas Hall, Avondale and Carrigaline have to work with. When you’re competing with that level of player base, it naturally creates a gap. Yes, they run into a different issue where their very top talent inevitably moves on to bigger and better things, which brings its own challenges, but even with that, a club with a decent structure simply can’t compete with those setups consistently.
Maybe the expansion of steps in the LOI pyramid will help balance things out over time, but at the moment the disparity is very real.
As for the AUL, I do think a lot of clubs—especially those on the junior side—made the wrong call moving across. One or two of them would absolutely have been better off staying put. I’d agree that the freefall seems to have stopped, but the league structures are still totally off. To be fair, they have started putting steps in place to address this, but it’s a long road back.
The biggest issue for me is that the top division just isn’t competitive. Coachford are miles ahead; they have their house in order from top to bottom. The rest of the Premier looks completely structureless—clubs are scrambling around trying to pick up players from here and there. That’s grand in the short term, but there’s only so many of those available, and if you’re not producing your own, you will always hit a ceiling with that approach.
Even if a club manages to piece together a decent team and gets a bit of success, it’s usually short-lived. If the lads were willing to jump ship at the start, they’ll jump ship again the second something better comes along. To catch Coachford, you need a club with real structure coming up through the ranks. Watergrasshill made a good effort and still reached their limit. Mallow Town might be one to watch if they stick at it—they’ve huge numbers underage, so the potential is there.
Social media could be better, but realistically, doing it right is a full-time job. You’d need someone actively around the grounds, and given the geographic spread of the league, that becomes an expensive venture very quickly.
The Astro project will be a massive boost once it’s finished. But if the plan is to use it mainly as a home for the homeless clubs, then yes, numbers will go up—but will the quality of the league actually rise? That’s the real question.
Harsh ref
27/11/2025, 11:45 AM
For me to many clubs up Northside trying to grab same players Grattan Knocka castleview temple all a stone throw from each other so it will be hard for any of them clubs to be strong for years so many players jumping around to each club for me Coachford or just the same as kinsale leeside and park not much around um class wise so they’ll always attract best players in the Area and
It’s hard to beat the sheer numbers that clubs like Corinthians, Douglas Hall, Avondale and Carrigaline have to work with. When you’re competing with that level of player base, it naturally creates a gap. Yes, they run into a different issue where their very top talent inevitably moves on to bigger and better things, which brings its own challenges, but even with that, a club with a decent structure simply can’t compete with those setups consistently.
Maybe the expansion of steps in the LOI pyramid will help balance things out over time, but at the moment the disparity is very real.
As for the AUL, I do think a lot of clubs—especially those on the junior side—made the wrong call moving across. One or two of them would absolutely have been better off staying put. I’d agree that the freefall seems to have stopped, but the league structures are still totally off. To be fair, they have started putting steps in place to address this, but it’s a long road back.
The biggest issue for me is that the top division just isn’t competitive. Coachford are miles ahead; they have their house in order from top to bottom. The rest of the Premier looks completely structureless—clubs are scrambling around trying to pick up players from here and there. That’s grand in the short term, but there’s only so many of those available, and if you’re not producing your own, you will always hit a ceiling with that approach.
Even if a club manages to piece together a decent team and gets a bit of success, it’s usually short-lived. If the lads were willing to jump ship at the start, they’ll jump ship again the second something better comes along. To catch Coachford, you need a club with real structure coming up through the ranks. Watergrasshill made a good effort and still reached their limit. Mallow Town might be one to watch if they stick at it—they’ve huge numbers underage, so the potential is there.
Social media could be better, but realistically, doing it right is a full-time job. You’d need someone actively around the grounds, and given the geographic spread of the league, that becomes an expensive venture very quickly.
The Astro project will be a massive boost once it’s finished. But if the plan is to use it mainly as a home for the homeless clubs, then yes, numbers will go up—but will the quality of the league actually rise? That’s the real question.
This was written by AI. Surely deserving of a ban.
Retired Folk
27/11/2025, 1:35 PM
For me to many clubs up Northside trying to grab same players Grattan Knocka castleview temple all a stone throw from each other so it will be hard for any of them clubs to be strong for years so many players jumping around to each club for me Coachford or just the same as kinsale leeside and park not much around um class wise so they’ll always attract best players in the Area and
Completely agree with you here. Add in Temple and the Fairfield teams, not to mention Castleview with 4 adult teams its a vicious circle with way to many teams.
fruice
27/11/2025, 1:55 PM
If you saw my spelling tests you would use AI to tidy it up.
Your contribution to discussion is enlightening.
Here’s the other version just for you only managed D in honours English God Bless Ai.
It’s hard to beat numbers Corinthians, Douglas Hall, Avondale & Carrigaline etc have huge numbers.
Yes they encounter a different problem in that their real real top talent move on to bigger and better things and that leads to its own problems.
But for a club even with a decent structure they can’t compete with these clubs consistently.
Maybe the increase in the number of steps in the LOI Pyramid might help to balance this a bit more.
But with regards the AUL I do think clubs made the wrong decision going across especially the clubs in the Junior Section and one or two of the clubs would have been better off staying in the AUL.
I think the freefall has stopped but the league structures are totally off and they have started to put steps forward in place to balance this.
The biggest problem is the top division isn’t competitive Coachford are just too good they have their house in order.
The other teams in premier are structureless they are scavenging around trying to poke out players from other teams.
That’s all well and good but there is only so many of those players around and if you are not producing your own players.
You can only get so far with this type of approach.
And even if against the odds one of these clubs hit on a decent team success will be short lived because ,if the players that were recruited in to gain this success were prepared to jump ship day 1 you can be sure they will jump ship again.
To catch Coachford you need a club with a structure in place to come up through the ranks to rival Coachford.
Watergrasshill tried but could only get so far.
Mallow Town might be a hope in the future if they stick around have huge numbers underage so these might be ones to watch.
Social media isn’t great but ultimately that’s a job in itself if it’s to be done properly and by properly you need to be around the grounds and there is a fair geographical spread to the league it would be a costly venture.
The Astro project will be a huge boost once concluded but if it’s going to be used as home for homeless clubs.
Yes you will increase numbers but will you really increase the overall quality of the league?
latte2012
27/11/2025, 2:14 PM
If ye used AI with your posts it might help you drive some discussion on your forums.
Ballwasthere
27/11/2025, 5:16 PM
I think you're forgetting that UCC and Castleview are actually Senior Clubs already and very sucessful ones at that too. No offense here to the clubs, but Park, Innishvilla, Macroom, Kanturk, and to add more, Wilton, Temple, and Kinsale all went Senior and can't get out of the 2nd Division, which is, in my opinion, similar to Premier AUL.
Wilton folded, Temple have more players suspended than actual points, and all the rest would be thumped out the gate 9 out of 10 times against UCC and the View first sides.
Knocka, Village, Grattan, etc., all great teams, respectively, but wouldn't have a hope in the 1st division Senior. No Bias here iv been to many of games in both leagues and its just my opinion.
Coachford at full strenght would do well in 1st but i wouldnt say they would win it. And it would be alot harder to manage GAA and Snr MSL.
To me there very comfortable were they are and wont move and to be honest why would they. They will surely have a crack off the Jnr Fai and look to retain the Munster.
They are senior clubs, their 1st teams would beat coachford imo, but that wasn’t my point, my point was that them being in the premier shows the decline, neither of those sides would have been near the premier 10 years ago but the exodus of teams, people have their own opinion on that, and teams folding has weakened the league and allowed them in
Harsh ref
28/11/2025, 8:10 AM
Think this rain that’s falling now has put a end to football this weekend
Bowser
28/11/2025, 3:50 PM
There is more to consider than just the Prem in this discussion the standards at Div 3 up to Div 1 are a lot better than 15/20 years ago, there is actually not a lot separating the top half of Div 3 and Div 1. I get there are yo-yo clubs too but overall AUL football is better, players are fitter and there is a much bigger group of players that could play Senior if they wanted across the leagues. Coachford are deservedly a good bit ahead of the rest but that does not “prove” that AUL football is worse than 10/15 years ago, the overall level is up, just go watch Div 1 or Div 2 games and if you are a genuine football person you can’t tell me those leagues are not producing way better football than back in the day
Harsh ref
28/11/2025, 10:14 PM
Having quite pint in local and heard Grattan and Knocka games off over pitches now I say what’s on my mind but Grattan and Knocka missing players from suspension or injured and allowed call games off over pitches in all fairness and Aul not putting pressure on them to play games for me strange anyone agree
Waterloo
29/11/2025, 12:31 AM
There is more to consider than just the Prem in this discussion the standards at Div 3 up to Div 1 are a lot better than 15/20 years ago, there is actually not a lot separating the top half of Div 3 and Div 1. I get there are yo-yo clubs too but overall AUL football is better, players are fitter and there is a much bigger group of players that could play Senior if they wanted across the leagues. Coachford are deservedly a good bit ahead of the rest but that does not “prove” that AUL football is worse than 10/15 years ago, the overall level is up, just go watch Div 1 or Div 2 games and if you are a genuine football person you can’t tell me those leagues are not producing way better football than back in the day
Thanks Bowser finally a sensible post .
forward152
29/11/2025, 9:01 AM
Agreed.
AULstarboy
29/11/2025, 9:37 AM
Leave it up to the referee…knocka aren’t going to play a weaker side so the suspension would carry over to their next game and they’ll have “stronger” opposition, grattan will do all they can to get the game on now is the right time to play village for any team…the questions should have been last week when the glenryan was bouncing with half the grattan team in there and their game was called the following day
Cityboy66
29/11/2025, 1:25 PM
If UCC Vs Coachford goes ahead tomorrow then Coachford will have the 2nd most games played behind Village after all the complaining a few weeks ago about favours. A lot of games called off today so I’d imagine the games played over the coming weeks will be slack.
Harsh ref
29/11/2025, 5:28 PM
The complaining is bang on there is favours being done 100% let’s wait till Gaa fixtures come out for football and hurling I can bet they won’t be down for Sunday games then at this stage the Aul committee will get invite to coachford Gaa dance
Cityboy66
29/11/2025, 5:59 PM
The complaining is bang on there is favours being done 100% let’s wait till Gaa fixtures come out for football and hurling I can bet they won’t be down for Sunday games then at this stage the Aul committee will get invite to coachford Gaa dance
Seems to be making no difference considering they could potentially have the second most games played really, Both Knocka and Grattan have called games last two weeks no complaining there Coachford could easily call it too if it came down to it don’t see the whole point of the giving out really