View Full Version : SPL Discussion Thread
04/05/2007, 9:52 AM
I know that I'm probably being incredibly stupid here, and somethings probably gone right over my head but can someone explain to me how the SPL is a 38 game season with 12 teams. I could understand it if it was a 33 game season (each play each other 3 times) or a 44 game season (4 times). but a 38 game one I don't get.......explain please :confused:
04/05/2007, 10:06 AM
It's to do with the split into 2 halves after 3 rounds are played.
They split the league into two halves of 6 teams each. In each half, the 6 teams play each other just once.
so 3 rounds with 12 teams 33 games
after the split 5 games
04/05/2007, 11:50 AM
Cheers......
04/05/2007, 12:05 PM
Does that not give the team that finishes 7th a great advantage over the team that finishes 6th not that it matters much but they are very likely to leapfrog them if they are any way close.
04/05/2007, 12:47 PM
How well would Hearts have done if they didn't self destruct? I suspect they would have been there at the end, if not pole position.
Hearts would be nowhere near good enough to contest a League. They are full of poor to average foreigners and got rid of the lifeblood of their team in Pressley and Hartley. However even if they still had been there I think they would have been looking at third place considering Walter Smith has steadied the ship at Ibrox.
RogerMilla
04/05/2007, 1:46 PM
Dunfermline fan on Kenny...
it answers the calderwood question as well , never liked him
04/05/2007, 2:43 PM
Does that not give the team that finishes 7th a great advantage over the team that finishes 6th not that it matters much but they are very likely to leapfrog them if they are any way close.
No because whatever half you end up in after 33 games you stay in. This is why the 7th placed team last year had more points than 5th and 6th.
05/05/2007, 5:16 PM
Can't believe that St. Mirren have got a run of form going all of a sudden. Very close now.
06/05/2007, 3:07 PM
Today I saw another example of this stupid yellow card for over-celebrating.
Aberdeen scored a last minute equaliser to quite possibly put them into Europe next season. Barry Nicholson had been booked a few minutes earlier for a challenge then when he scored he ran over to the Aberdeen fans and removed his shirt.
Now I doubt anyone was offended by him exposing himself as he was wearing one of those Nike vests underneath and it could hardly have delayed the game as the stewards over in that corner had crowded around the Aberdeen fans and it appeared that they were infringing on the pitch at the time. The ref straightaway went to give him a yellow card and therefore sending him off for his second. I think he could have been more sensitive to the situation and what was going on.
Just to reinstate my beliefs, I HATE THIS RULE.
As for the game, I didn't see it all but I thought Aberdeen did deserve something from what I saw. Two blatant errors for the goals. Poor defending by Hearts and a poor attempt to save by Langfield.
29/08/2007, 9:46 PM
About time this thread was resurrected now that there is some action.
Bad enough when Rangers do enough to get a slice of the Europe money but for them to have the whole lot doesn't bear thinking about. Well done to to the Celts tonight. JVOH - what a man, once he scored his pen then it was just a matter of time. Good to have opposition like Spartak under your belt before the group games.
Our lad McGeady looks fine to me.
Fingal hoop
29/08/2007, 11:13 PM
mcgeady brown & donatti all look very good on the ball
29/08/2007, 11:48 PM
Can't believe they won that shootout. Spartak wanted the penos. Caldwell is a centre half who felt he owed something to the fans. Naka ran about 5,000 miles and missed a couple of great chances. Jan missed a peno a few minutes previously. Zurawski is an ultimate confidence player who hasn't scored in ages. Riordan is the only player I was confident would score.
I wouldn't have went to work tomorrow if Celtic lost. I couldn't bare it. I'm bloody ecstatic now though and won't sleep.
Hibs4Ever
30/08/2007, 6:52 AM
Celtic very lucky to go through and should've been out by half time from what I've been hearing/reading from media.
Good to see Chris Killens ambitions going to plan.
RogerMilla
30/08/2007, 6:54 AM
thought mcgeady had one of his bets games ever last night , one of the times he trapped the ball and layed off was just a masterclass in skill, one hell of a game would have been gutting to go out in those circumstances, a couple of quid on spartak for the uefa i think...
Hibs4Ever
30/08/2007, 7:25 AM
thought mcgeady had one of his bets games ever last night , one of the times he trapped the ball and layed off was just a masterclass in skill, one hell of a game would have been gutting to go out in those circumstances, a couple of quid on spartak for the uefa i think...
Just can't see past Bayern Munich for UEFA Cup
30/08/2007, 7:33 AM
Celtic very lucky to go through and should've been out by half time from what I've been hearing/reading from media.Really?
I saw Hesselink miss an easy header, McDonald miss a sitter and the Spartak penalty was really harsh. Yes, they missed chances too and Boruc played well but having a good keeper is part of the game.
As the second half progressed I thought Celtic had far more chances to win it.
I have to say that was the most entertaining game I've seen in ages. 2 teams committed to having a go & taking turns to attack. None of this cagey sit back and sneak a goal nonsense. Very little time wasting or nagging at the ref and all the crap stuff that's in the game these days.
Celtic had a good mix of strong players and skillful players. Spartak were a classic eastern European side, technically good, able to find angles that don't exist in our game and they broke with purpose and frightening speed at times.
Zurawski and Hesselink are toothless and aren't good enough in my opinion. I thought McDonald was poor but he's only settling in so jury is still out.
Hibs4Ever
30/08/2007, 7:36 AM
I didn't see game Stuttgart88. Just said what I heard on radio on way into work.
30/08/2007, 7:43 AM
I've just read the Times, Guardian & Independent. Times makes out Spartak were all over Celtic and, strangely, that the penalty call was correct. The others make it out as more balanced and that the missing the penalty was justice. All 3 papers said it was a gripping, thrilling and even crazy game that had absolutely everything.
In fairness to Celtic, this was an exceptionally tough draw for them and to get through is a great result for an SPL side.
RogerMilla
30/08/2007, 8:19 AM
Just can't see past Bayern Munich for UEFA Cup
they are a bit restrictive at 4-1 though H4E , and if ribery gets injured they can whistle for it.
30/08/2007, 8:23 AM
I was thinking the same about Spartak. It'll be interesting.
30/08/2007, 10:56 AM
I don't remember which lay off that was,
McGeady was trapping hail marys, settling the ball onto his big toe, all throughout the game.
Spartak played well, the sending off looked harsh, after that they shored up. It was a nice bit of skill by Hesselink. He could be a good bit sharper also he needs a better poacher beside him.
What has happened to Zurawski, in theory he would be grand to get on the end of a McGeady through pass or a Hesselink knock down.
30/08/2007, 12:31 PM
not into celtic really but great game in fairness, great to see the reaction afterwards by both players and fans. billy connolly was awful funny. always thought he was a motherwell fan, or maybe just joked about it :D
30/08/2007, 12:42 PM
I thought McGeady was good in parts. Some great passes, great runs, good tackling back but he put in some very poor crosses and lost possession in a stupid place that, I think, led to Spartak's equaliser.
I'm excited by both Ireland and McGeady but both have weaknesses that their club sides can compensate for although I'm not sure the Irish team can fully.
More good big game experience for O'Dea. Didn't notice him much though.
I thought the Moscow bench looked like baddies from a Tin Tin cartoon.
30/08/2007, 12:45 PM
Zurawski and Hesselink are toothless and aren't good enough in my opinion. I thought McDonald was poor but he's only settling in so jury is still out.
Vennegoor is going through a bad patch of form but you're very unfair on McDonald. The jury is completely in his favour so far. He was excellent in the away leg and again on Saturday against Hearts. As well as doing well in pre-season. He's won over the vast majority of fans. In fact, I really believe McDonald is the reason Strachan hasn't splashed out on a new striker. I doubt he was bought as first choice but according to Mark McGhee (who was living with Strachan this summer), Strachan couldn't stop talking about him.
As for McGeady, I was very impressed with him. I don't know what the commentators were so negative for. Those at the game thought he was excellent. I remember the commentators saying "it's just not his night" after about 20 minutes. There was plenty of end product from him.
30/08/2007, 12:48 PM
I actually meant that in my mind the jury was out. Last night was my first time seeing him & he didn't impress but I'd heard that he'd been good previously. Probably here!
30/08/2007, 12:50 PM
Oh right. Get Setanta mate! ;)
30/08/2007, 1:01 PM
I'm going to. My missus owes me big time for hour after ***ing hour of Big Brother, Big Brother's Little Brother and all that goes with it.
Last night was BBC Scotland.
30/08/2007, 1:15 PM
I thought the Moscow bench looked like baddies from a Tin Tin cartoon.
My girlfriends flat mate, kept going "oh look its the polish plumber on the ball again!" :roll:
30/08/2007, 1:17 PM
billy connolly was awful funny. always thought he was a motherwell fan, or maybe just joked about it :D
I think the joke he told at least once was he always thought when growing up that the name of the local team was Patrick Thistle Nil.
It's a wee bit corny though, if its Rangers you get the PR camera shot of Sean Connery and if its Celtic, Billy C or that Faces singer.
Hibs4Ever
30/08/2007, 1:31 PM
I think the joke he told at least once was he always thought when growing up that the name of the local team was Patrick Thistle Nil.
It's a wee bit corny though, if its Rangers you get the PR camera shot of Sean Connery and if its Celtic, Billy C or that Faces singer.
Billy Connelly was a big Partick Thistle fan when he was growing up. When he became famous he changed to celtic. FACT
30/08/2007, 2:11 PM
Don't you mean simple minds?
30/08/2007, 2:16 PM
I think he means Rod Stewart
30/08/2007, 2:35 PM
Oh ya, sorry before my time stutts ;). wasn't ronnie wood in that band as well, along with a few others?!
30/08/2007, 2:43 PM
Yes I was thinking of Rod Stewart.
When it comes to fans, I'm a Communist.
Bottle of Tonic
30/08/2007, 3:41 PM
Well that has to be one of the best games I've ever been at. Extra time was unbearable after the misses in the last ten mins of normal time. Then penelties, my god, my chest is still sore and my hands have barely stopped shaking since. Like Eirebhoy I had no confidence in any of the takers except Riordan. I thought Caldwell was Wilson too, thank god! I can't wait to watch it again on Celtic TV tonight, when I can sit down and enjoy it. Fair play to the lads who were in Genoa '90, that was the first shoot out i've been at and I hope it's the last, you just couldn't call it enjoyable when you are there.
I though McGeady was man of the match till he tired in ET, some people will never stop giving him stick, but he never hid (scott brown maybe did) was always hungry for the ball, the ball stuck to his boots and again created some clear cut opportunities for his team. Stuttgart88, I thought Scot McDonald had a fabulous game last night, the only Celtic fans he has still to convince are those still bitter over his role in us losing the league at Motherwell a few seasons ago ( had a row on the bus home last night with a lad over this very point!).
Did the telly show the row between naylor and Boruc? It wasn't far off Bowyer and Dyer(?) a couple of years ago!
Unbelievable night and amazing atmosphere again - hope it came across well on the box. CL draw coming up in a few mins.....
30/08/2007, 6:31 PM
It's a serious dose of the deja vu's for Celtic in the draw
Milan, Shaktar and Benfica
Maybe the Milan team are now, finally, once and for all, over the hill.
Strange that Benfica are the 2nd seeds now but were third seeds last year.
30/08/2007, 7:54 PM
Unbelievable night and amazing atmosphere again - hope it came across well on the box. CL draw coming up in a few mins.....
Celtic have nothing to worry about though, they know all the teams some of them very well.
30/08/2007, 10:20 PM
It's a serious dose of the deja vu's for Celtic in the draw
Milan, Shaktar and Benfica
It shows you how many teams Celtic have played in Europe recently as you could put Celtic in Rangers group and say the same thing.
I doubt Milan are over the hill. Maldini probably won't play much but that's about it. The word is that Ronaldo has lost a lot of weight and is raring to go.
Benfica are weaker than last year. They sold Manuel Fernandes and Simao in the summer.
31/08/2007, 8:51 AM
I was kinda hoping for an English team. If Benfica are not stronger than last year there is a reasonable chance, as 2nd seeds go they were a good catch to get. Shakhtar are probably the toughest 4th ranked team you could get.
The group will be tight. Desirable imo to have the first fixture against Milan
I don't fancy Rangers chances at all to go through. A home draw will their big Euro night.
31/08/2007, 9:07 AM
Stuttgart88, I thought Scot McDonald had a fabulous game last night, the only Celtic fans he has still to convince are those still bitter over his role in us losing the league at Motherwell a few seasons ago ( had a row on the bus home last night with a lad over this very point!). Fair enough, I thought his finishing was poor but I thought he was still a mile ahead of Hesselink and Zurawski. I don't have Setanta so only see Celtic in the CL or SFA Cup, but neither has ever really impressed me. Larsson & Sutton in their prime would greatly enhance that team and I think the rest is taking shape very nicely.
I think it's a shame young Stokes didn't go up there. He'd have been played in his natural position and have found it easier to settle (easier home games against minnows), while at the same time gaining valuable big game exposure. Strachan would have been good for him.
31/08/2007, 10:25 AM
Agreed. And the sad thing is he wanted to go to Celtic but his father wasn't happy with the offer.
Junior
01/09/2007, 12:09 PM
Great Game against Spartak for excitement, fabulous atmosphere, though technically I didn't think Celtic played that well, particularly in the first half.
Naylor got ripped a new a*rsehole 3 or 4 times in the first 20 minutes, which didnt give me a good feeling early on.
I was really pleased with McGeadys contribution and would have had him as our best player in 90 minutes, as someone mentioned,his final ball needs to improve on crosses but his control, taking on players, threaded through balls and working back all looked good to me. Unfortuantely far too many Celtic fans quick to give it 'ya feckin sanddancer' he's an easy target.
McDonald played poorly IMO. I quite like the look of him so far in his other games, and he finished his goal well, but he did miss 2 or 3 golden chances as did Naka in a minute spell, hence why I didn't fancy his chances in the penalty shootout, his head had already gone. Nut he 's great to watch overall.
I was disappointed with Scott Brown in the 90, he didn't seem to get too involved, though in ET he shone out which I guess proves he has the engine, I think he'll be a great player for us.
JVoH - was too immobile & ineffective on the night, though he did bang away his penalty after missing one in ET.
The draw brings up nothing we haven't seen before. We have to hope for 9 points at home and try and getting anything from the away games, something Im not too confident of us doing but we have to start learn from the past awful experiences of away games. I would be delighted if we could at least get a few draws away from home.
H4E - I see you still sound as bitter as ever, Killen, Connolly, Riordan:D. If Im not mistaken Im sure Connery was supposed to be a Celtic fan until his friendship with Murray blossomed and now he's at Ibrox every time a camera flashes. Thats the thing with celebrity fans - its all hor$hit, who cares.....
Hibs4Ever
01/09/2007, 1:00 PM
I'm serious about Killen. Can't believe he's happy sitting on the bench at celtic, and he's fairly down the pecking order too. He's a better player than what he's settled for at celtic
Bottle of Tonic
01/09/2007, 3:40 PM
Hibs4 ever, I take it you rate Killen so? I didn't pay too much heed to him in his half season last year(although obviously noted his goals ratio), and the cameo type appearance I saw of him in the celtic Killie game would never be enough to form a solid opinon of him( can't remember if he came on against Hearts), but he looked alright to me.
But speaking to Hibs fans I meet around about the watering holes of Leith, no one seems too bothered he's off. I've spoken to one only, who thought he was a great player and everyone else has been fairly 'ah well, not too much of a loss'. And i don't think its Hibees not wanting to make me feel good about us taking another of their players, as they give plenty of stick over the likes of G. Caldwell and at the other end of the spectrum everyone raves about Scott Brown even though they are obviously disappointed to seem him go. I think they realise that's football though.
I expect Killen to be used intermittently this season. He could feature more( depending on unknowns like injuries/suspensions) but when he gets a chance he has to take it. That's the nature of the beast at Celtic. How can you blame him for jumping at a chance to further his career?
On the CL match the other night -I've watched it again and I retract what I said about McDonald having a great game. I still think he had a good game and will do just as good a job and probably a fair bit better than Miller(cheers Kenny - scored some vital goals) did last season, but the missed chances - well they are a strikers bread and butter and he has to be putting one on one's away. Conversely I thought Brown played better than I did on the night. I suppose I wanted him to be all action at the time but watching again he was calm and assured on the ball and generally used it well. A massively new experience for him after all.
Hibs4Ever
01/09/2007, 3:46 PM
Scott Brown is DEFINITELY missed by Hibs fans, Caldwell definitely not.
Killen is 50/50 with Hibs fans on the various forums at the time he left, most were p**sed off with the way he left us, and his injury record is unreal. But his goal scoring before he got injured last season was brilliant, he was out for half the season and still finished 2nd or 3rd in goal scoring table.
As I said, its the way he left Hibs that has left sour taste with most Hibees
01/09/2007, 4:00 PM
Conversely I thought Brown played better than I did on the night.
Still I think he can learn a few things from you :)
Bottle of Tonic
01/09/2007, 4:14 PM
Not convinced internet forums are the most representative source of a clubs fans opinions. However we'll see how he gets on over the course of a season - would be surprised if he makes a significant impact, more to do with the competition at Celtic and not on the lads ability which I've said I know little about.
On Caldwell - I actually think he's a better player than he's given credit for. He's no Kaiser but the the stick he gets is way out of proportion given what he's done wrong at Celtic IMO. Benfica away last year finished him in the eyes of many of our fans.
I'm backing him for now - he'll probably have a woeful season and i'll wish I never typed the above.
Results in, no great surprises, glad I didnt head down to Easter Road which I briefly considered, haven't heard anything about the game yet but ICT are a miserable shower!
Bottle of Tonic
01/09/2007, 4:20 PM
Still I think he can learn a few things from you :)
You know what I mean :cool:
But the 12th man was awesome!
Hibs4Ever
01/09/2007, 4:22 PM
Not convinced internet forums are the most representative source of a clubs fans opinions. However we'll see how he gets on over the course of a season - would be surprised if he makes a significant impact, more to do with the competition at Celtic and not on the lads ability which I've said I know little about.
On Caldwell - I actually think he's a better player than he's given credit for. He's no Kaiser but the the stick he gets is way out of proportion given what he's done wrong at Celtic IMO. Benfica away last year finished him in the eyes of many of our fans.
I'm backing him for now - he'll probably have a woeful season and i'll wish I never typed the above.
Results in, no great surprises, glad I didnt head down to Easter Road which I briefly considered, haven't heard anything about the game yet but ICT are a miserable shower!
Hibs won 1-0, Fletcher after 2 minutes. Makalamby saved a penalty too
Fair few from our SC were over at it today, not a great match judging from the texts I've recieved
02/09/2007, 6:48 PM
Killen...
As I said, its the way he left Hibs that has left sour taste with most Hibees
What? Because your club would only offer him a one-year contract and he wanted the extra security for his family of a longer deal? Heaven forbid! :rolleyes:
Typical sanctimonious Hibee crap. I'd guarantee each and every one of you if in the same position would have done the same thing as Killen., Still, that won't stop the hand-wringing in Leith...
:ball: PP