View Full Version : SPL Discussion Thread
02/11/2005, 2:36 PM
Surely despite your loyalties you were cheering for Rangers if only for selfish reasons.
I have only seen Hartson this season in the Wales v England game. He looked a long long way from the player who once turned on a sixpence to score a great goal for Celtic somewhere in the Iberian peninsula. I thought Strachan was a stickler for player fitness. I wonder how does Hartson manage to get his place on the team with little or no visible mobility?
He doesn't get his game. The only reason he played on Sunday was because Beattie wasn't fully fit. Sutton and Hartson linked up well though and could start together against Falkirk but when Harton's back he'll be on the bench again.
A lot of teams being linked with Petrov. Pay him what he wants and get him a new contract.
Junior
02/11/2005, 7:43 PM
You can already see Strachan 's preference for speed in his sides v MON's strength approach. Hence Hartson sitting on the bench in recent games. However as eirebhoy said he linked up extremely well with Sutton at the weekend against Dundee Utd (scoring to boot) so I wouldn't be so sure he'll be dropped straight away when Beattie is fully fit. Beattie made a few selfish decisions when he came on and also didn't set the world on fire in the 5-0 win v Motherwell, when all goals came from midfield.
As for supporting Rangers in the CL. Afraid not, just can't do it. Would be happy to see them gubbed in all 6 games, picking up injuries along the way!!
03/11/2005, 12:09 AM
"As for supporting Rangers in the CL. Afraid not, just can't do it."
Not even the carrot cake of an automatic entry to the group stages for the league champions could encourage you to take some pleasure at Rangers (miserly) contribution to Scotland's ranking. Rangers have reaped the benifit of Celtic's toil why not vice versa?
03/11/2005, 8:49 AM
"As for supporting Rangers in the CL. Afraid not, just can't do it."
Not even the carrot cake of an automatic entry to the group stages for the league champions could encourage you to take some pleasure at Rangers (miserly) contribution to Scotland's ranking. Rangers have reaped the benifit of Celtic's toil why not vice versa?
The winner of this year's SPL get automatic entry into the group stages avoiding a Liverpool type scenario. ATM are still in auto place for the following year's CL so Rangers aren't going to do much to change that.
Hibs4Ever
03/11/2005, 9:12 AM
Another great season for the Hibees. All set to be better than last year. Between us and celtic for the league. No doubt about it. Hertz are gonna crash and burn:D
GGTTH
03/11/2005, 11:44 AM
I hope you've got yourself a good chiropractor H4E because, with all that looking up to Celtic at the top of the table, you'll have one hell of a sore neck... :p
:ball: PP
03/11/2005, 12:05 PM
The winner of this year's SPL get automatic entry into the group stages avoiding a Liverpool type scenario. ATM are still in auto place for the following year's CL so Rangers aren't going to do much to change that.
I must be have been looking at the situation crosseyed. I thought Scotland had to be in the first 9 in the country rankings in order to get their league champion direct entry into the group stages. Now I am confused.
Is this not the correct explanation?
from
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/index.html
"The UEFA country ranking is computed by the sum of 5 coefficients in the last 5 years. See the country ranking of 2005 for an example of such a ranking list. To determine the participants in the Champions League and the UEFA Cup the last year ranking is used, because each country should know at the start of the season how many places it disposes."
Still, hard and all as it might be to appreciate, Rangers collecting a few points can't do the ranking any harm in the long term
stickyjoe
03/11/2005, 12:47 PM
winners of the SPL get in automatically if the winners of Champions League finish in the champions league qualifying positions in their own league and so the extra automatic place goes to scotland
04/11/2005, 12:25 AM
winners of the SPL get in automatically if the winners of Champions League finish in the champions league qualifying positions in their own league and so the extra automatic place goes to scotland
Thats it, crystal clear now, thanks, stickyjoe and Eirebhoy.
05/11/2005, 1:44 PM
For those of you who may be interested, Villarreal Vs. Valencia is on Sky sports xtra tonight, 8:30pm. It's a local derby:eek:
05/11/2005, 4:17 PM
Brother Walfred pic from today:
http://img380.imageshack.us/img380/2014/browalf5yi.jpg
05/11/2005, 4:20 PM
Brother Walfred pic from today:
http://img380.imageshack.us/img380/2014/browalf5yi.jpgMeant to post this sooner:
SLIGO will feature prominently at the unveiling in Glasgow next Saturday of a statue honouring the founder of Celtic football club.
The statue is of the Ballymote born Marist brother, Brother Walfrid, who is acknowledged as the driving force behind the establishment of what was to become one of the world’s most famous soccer clubs.
Andrew Kerins, as he was before entering the religious life, saw the founding of the club as a means of regular funds for his work in trying to alleviate the dreadful poverty in Galsgow at the time.
The Sligoman has of course already been similarly honoured in his native county.
In October last an eight months long fundraising campaign, promoted by the Sligo Weekender, culminated in the erection of a bronze bust of the Celtic founder in the public park in Ballymote.
That unveiling was performed by the Celtic chairman Brian Quinn and Sligo’s other claim to fame at Celtic, Sean Fallon.
Both will again be involved in Saturday’s unveiling but they will be joined by Brother Walfrid’s descendents Mary Healy and Andrew Kerins from Ballymote, who a great grandneice and great grandnephew.
The Sligo Brother Walfrid Committee have also been formally invited by Celtic to attend the unveiling ceremony in Celtic Park at 2pm.
Committee chairman Paddy Doherty, who spearheaded the Ballymote memorial campaign, said this was indeed a great honour for the Sligo committee.
"It reflects the very close co-operation between both appeals as well as the increased links between Sligo and Glasgow Celtic."
An invitation was also extended to former Garda Chief Superintendent in Sligo Jim Sheridan and Grange-based Garda Eugene McHale who undertook a gruelling sponsored walk from Ballymote to Glasgow in support of the Ballymote appeal.
Jim will be present but Eugene McHale cannot make it due to presently being on a sponsored walk in Cuba for the Irish Heart Foundation. Also in attendance will be the Mayor of Sligo Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady and Ballymote councillor Pat McGrath, representing Sligo County Council.
Local film production company, Omedia, will be filming the event for a planned TG4 programme on Brother Walfrid being screened later in the year.
The Glasgow Brother Walfrid memorial committee are extending an invitation to Celtic supporters everywhere to attend the unveiling of the sculpture outside of the main entrance to Celtic Park.
The new statue, by Glasgow sculptor Kate Robinson, has been financed entirely by donations from Celtic fans around the world.
Emphasising the importance of the Sligoman in the Celtic story, a committee spokesperson said: "Andrew Kerins, the Marist Brother Walfrid from County Sligo Ireland, is the critical figure in the history of the Club."
http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/story.asp?j=25309
06/11/2005, 8:45 AM
Meant to post this sooner:
SLIGO will feature prominently at the unveiling in Glasgow next Saturday of a statue honouring the founder of Celtic football club.
The statue is of the Ballymote born Marist brother, Brother Walfrid, who is acknowledged as the driving force behind the establishment of what was to become one of the world’s most famous soccer clubs.
Andrew Kerins, as he was before entering the religious life, saw the founding of the club as a means of regular funds for his work in trying to alleviate the dreadful poverty in Galsgow at the time.
The Sligoman has of course already been similarly honoured in his native county.
In October last an eight months long fundraising campaign, promoted by the Sligo Weekender, culminated in the erection of a bronze bust of the Celtic founder in the public park in Ballymote.
That unveiling was performed by the Celtic chairman Brian Quinn and Sligo’s other claim to fame at Celtic, Sean Fallon.
Both will again be involved in Saturday’s unveiling but they will be joined by Brother Walfrid’s descendents Mary Healy and Andrew Kerins from Ballymote, who a great grandneice and great grandnephew.
The Sligo Brother Walfrid Committee have also been formally invited by Celtic to attend the unveiling ceremony in Celtic Park at 2pm.
Committee chairman Paddy Doherty, who spearheaded the Ballymote memorial campaign, said this was indeed a great honour for the Sligo committee.
"It reflects the very close co-operation between both appeals as well as the increased links between Sligo and Glasgow Celtic."
An invitation was also extended to former Garda Chief Superintendent in Sligo Jim Sheridan and Grange-based Garda Eugene McHale who undertook a gruelling sponsored walk from Ballymote to Glasgow in support of the Ballymote appeal.
Jim will be present but Eugene McHale cannot make it due to presently being on a sponsored walk in Cuba for the Irish Heart Foundation. Also in attendance will be the Mayor of Sligo Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady and Ballymote councillor Pat McGrath, representing Sligo County Council.
Local film production company, Omedia, will be filming the event for a planned TG4 programme on Brother Walfrid being screened later in the year.
The Glasgow Brother Walfrid memorial committee are extending an invitation to Celtic supporters everywhere to attend the unveiling of the sculpture outside of the main entrance to Celtic Park.
The new statue, by Glasgow sculptor Kate Robinson, has been financed entirely by donations from Celtic fans around the world.
Emphasising the importance of the Sligoman in the Celtic story, a committee spokesperson said: "Andrew Kerins, the Marist Brother Walfrid from County Sligo Ireland, is the critical figure in the history of the Club."
http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/story.asp?j=25309
On the back of this Statue unveiling..Sligo Rovers should organise a pre-season friendly with Glasgow Hoops. Charge €25 a ticket... the Irish so-called Celtic supporters paid more to watch them play St.Pat's in Dublin a few years ago..Stuff the Showgrounds, wring a few €uros out of the North West Barstooler's Association, and set themselves up for a realistic go at staying up in the Premier next year.
06/11/2005, 12:46 PM
On the back of this Statue unveiling..Sligo Rovers should organise a pre-season friendly with Glasgow Hoops. Charge €25 a ticket... the Irish so-called Celtic supporters paid more to watch them play St.Pat's in Dublin a few years ago..Stuff the Showgrounds, wring a few €uros out of the North West Barstooler's Association, and set themselves up for a realistic go at staying up in the Premier next year.Rovers have been trying to organise one for a while now. Celtic were trying to arrange a date that suits both clubs:rolleyes:. That was their excuse about three months ago anyway, dont know what they're using now:mad:
06/11/2005, 1:48 PM
Rovers have been trying to organise one for a while now. Celtic were trying to arrange a date that suits both clubs:rolleyes:. That was their excuse about three months ago anyway, dont know what they're using now:mad:
Even better would be to use the Willie McStay connection. Even get him to take over the U-19s and present him with some award at half time and drag out the legion of glory hunting Rovers fans from bygone days.:D
06/11/2005, 4:16 PM
Even better would be to use the Willie McStay connection. Even get him to take over the U-19s and present him with some award at half time and drag out the legion of glory hunting Rovers fans from bygone days.:DEh, we already played the u-21/reserve side back in July of this year, see here (http://www.sligorovers.com/match/match%20stats/2005/050719_gc11.htm);)
Junior
06/11/2005, 7:23 PM
Rovers have been trying to organise one for a while now. Celtic were trying to arrange a date that suits both clubs:rolleyes:. That was their excuse about three months ago anyway, dont know what they're using now:mad:
Don't know the details of this, but Im pretty sure Celtic would not be lookign for any reasons to stall that weren't legitimate. We play plenty of pre-season friendlies in Ireland, players and officials attend numerous functions in Ireland and especially with the sligo connection there is no reason to suggest they wouldn't want to organise a friendly with Sligo Rovers. I guess you are probably another eircom league fan with a chip on his shoulder re: Celtic?
Anyway McGeady scored one today for celtic in a 3-0 win at Falkirk.
Hibs and Hearts both won yesterday. Hearts won 3-0 and Hibs came from 1-0 down against Livi win 2-1 in the last 10 minutes. Rangers drew 0-0 at home to Aberdeen (their next 2 leagues are away to celtic and away to Hibs)
Current table
Table looks as follows
Team P GD PTS
1 Celtic 14 26 35
2 Hearts 14 21 35
3 Hibernian 14 12 31
4 Rangers 14 10 23
5 Kilmarnock 14 1 19
6 Motherwell 14 -3 18
7 Aberdeen 14 0 17
8 Inverness CT14 -2 17
9 Dundee Utd 14 -9 13
10 Falkirk 14 -13 13
11 Dunfermline 14 -20 5
12 Livingston 14 -23 5
Mcgeady goal is attached for those interested (2nd one)
http://x400.putfile.com/videos/30912504319.wmv
06/11/2005, 7:35 PM
Don't know the details of this, but Im pretty sure Celtic would not be lookign for any reasons to stall that weren't legitimate. We play plenty of pre-season friendlies in Ireland, players and officials attend numerous functions in Ireland and especially with the sligo connection there is no reason to suggest they wouldn't want to organise a friendly with Sligo Rovers.I guess you are probably another eircom league fan with a chip on his shoulder re: Celtic?Clearly you dont visit this thread that often or else you'd see I am actually a Celtic fan. Their has been talk of this friendly for the past year, but so far, nothing has come of it. About 6 months ago now, I emailed Celtic to see if their was going to be a friendly and they said, they had been contacted by Sligo Rovers and they were trying to arrange a date that suits both clubs, so far, no word of anything yet
Tired&Emotional
07/11/2005, 9:12 AM
Anyone see the Getafe goal against Barcalona yesterday - what a screamer!
Has to be goal of the season in Spain (so far) and goal of the month in Europe!!
Apologies if posted already, but the Celtic/Rangers cup game is on BBC Scotland on Wed night. Anyone with a satellite (incl. sky) can pick this up
Junior
07/11/2005, 12:09 PM
Clearly you dont visit this thread that often or else you'd see I am actually a Celtic fan.
fair enough, although I post here quite often myself and I didn't recall seeing your allegiance before. apologies.
Their has been talk of this friendly for the past year, but so far, nothing has come of it. About 6 months ago now, I emailed Celtic to see if their was going to be a friendly and they said, they had been contacted by Sligo Rovers and they were trying to arrange a date that suits both clubs, so far, no word of anything yet
And this is obviously Celtics fault ---why exactly?
Meanwhile,
Graham Rix is linked as Hearts new Manager and is likely to be named as the new boss this week if the bbc are to believed........
07/11/2005, 12:11 PM
I saw it alright, that was a screamer!!
JoeSemi
07/11/2005, 12:48 PM
She was a screamer alright!!
Barca look like going untouched again this season in La Liga. They're a class above anybody else in Europe and with the emerging star that is Leo Messi they'll wreak havoc in the Champions Lge too.
07/11/2005, 12:56 PM
I could watch teams like Barca play all day, it's a joy to watch and they play the game the way it should be played.
It would be good for the beautiful game if they won the Champions League, however, I feel that they might get bullied out of games by the more physical teams like Chelsea etc.
I could watch teams like Barca play all day, it's a joy to watch and they play the game the way it should be played.
It would be good for the beautiful game if they won the Champions League, however, I feel that they might get bullied out of games by the more physical teams like Chelsea etc.
yeah, think you're right but how can anybody not enjoy watching Barca play?(on a purely footballing level)
Clifford
07/11/2005, 2:26 PM
yeah, think you're right but how can anybody not enjoy watching Barca play?(on a purely footballing level)
I watch em every week and went to see em v Valencia a few weeks back, they are the best footballing side in the world at the moment and it would be amazing if they can pull off the CL win as well as La Liga. I fear they won't because of the negative brands that are out there.
E'to in the CL last week was sensational, but last night he crossed a bridge from selfish goal getter to a cracking cog in a silky wheel. The pass to Guily was not needed, he would not have done it last year. With Van Bommel settling in there gradually, maybe when the real CL get's goin they will cope.
stickyjoe
07/11/2005, 2:53 PM
the old firm game is on setanta on wednesday night
this is a big test for celtic. so far celtic have failed to beat Hearts or Rangers this season(admittedly only 2 games) and scraped past Hibs away. rangers are in a state at the moment but it would be typical if they pulled something out of the bag on wednesday evening
07/11/2005, 3:12 PM
I'm glad to see Hibs going well. Got lukcy but they did. I've heard there were 6,000 Hibbies at Livingston, not bad!
I thought Richie Foran played well for Motherwell, it's good to see.
Speranza
07/11/2005, 11:58 PM
Livingston have next to no home support and it's just outside Edinburgh. Packed three sides of the ground which is superb.
As the Manic Street preachers almost said - If Jambos tolerate Rix then their children will be next ;)
liam88
08/11/2005, 8:02 AM
As the Manic Street preachers almost said - If Jambos tolerate Rix then their children will be next ;)
No laughing matter mate :( it's a disgrace! But let's keep on topic.....
God: Alex McLeish-come forth!!
McLiesh: Fourth???? We'll be lucky to come fifth!!!
08/11/2005, 3:20 PM
No laughing matter mate :( it's a disgrace!
So are the paedo priests but you didn't mention that, funny...
Anyway, Graham Rix is hardly a great coach. I remember him from his Chelsea days, was hardly gifted. I don't remember his days at Portsmouth and at Oxford he jumped boat before it sank. Nuff said.
08/11/2005, 3:38 PM
So are the paedo priests but you didn't mention that, funny...
Anyway, Graham Rix is hardly a great coach. I remember him from his Chelsea days, was hardly gifted. I don't remember his days at Portsmouth and at Oxford he jumped boat before it sank. Nuff said.
Firstly, wtf has your first comment got to do with anything???
Secondly, everything I'm reading about Rix is giving glowing praise about his abilities as a coach. Sh!te manager yes but I've read and seen reports today saying his training techniques are very good and innovative.
Oh and Chelsea won 6 trophies I think while Rix was a coach there.
08/11/2005, 3:42 PM
Would Sligo be paying Celtic for this friendly?
08/11/2005, 3:43 PM
Firstly, wtf has your first comment got to do with anything???
Secondly, everything I'm reading about Rix is giving glowing praise about his abilities as a coach. Sh!te manager yes but I've read and seen reports today saying his training techniques are very good and innovative.
Oh and Chelsea won 6 trophies I think while Rix was a coach there.
The first comment was a response to Liam88.
Chelsea won 6 trophies during the reigns of Hoddle, Gullit and Vialli. Man U have won loadsa trophies with Carlos Queiroz there but I don't think anyone would say he's the brains behind that operation.
08/11/2005, 3:46 PM
Would Sligo be paying Celtic for this friendly?I dont know, that's something you'd need to ask the club. Although, I dont think they should have to giving the occasion that was in it;)
08/11/2005, 3:46 PM
The first comment was a response to Liam88.
Chelsea won 6 trophies during the reigns of Hoddle, Gullit and Vialli. Man U have won loadsa trophies with Carlos Queiroz there but I don't think anyone would say he's the brains behind that operation.
I know who your comment was directed at but it still has me confused as to what merited it.
I can think of plenty who regard Queiroz as having too much of a say in how things of running at Old Trafford, that could be the problem...
08/11/2005, 4:41 PM
I dont think they have won loads they have won The premierhip when he was there. Maybe the won the FA Cup but I think he was at Madrid at the time when they beat Milwall. In his first season they won the league and that was the last time they won it.
08/11/2005, 4:52 PM
Cop on Frank.:mad: Utterly off topic there. Liam is right, Rix's private life is no laughing matter. Keep any comments on that aspect of him to yourself. Is he going to be a Romanov puppet? Romanov has clearly outlined his role as not dealing with signings. He has emphasised that Rix has full role over picking the team but then again he claimed the same thing about Burley.
09/11/2005, 9:33 AM
Moravcik is one of my favorite Celtic players ever, if Naka continues as he started, he could go on to be a true great
http://media.putfile.com/LuboVsNakamura
PS - apologies about the soundtrack, I got the link of a celtic mailing list
09/11/2005, 12:48 PM
Cop on Frank.:mad: Utterly off topic there. Liam is right, Rix's private life is no laughing matter. Keep any comments on that aspect of him to yourself.
I wasn't saying anything on Rix's private life.
Is he going to be a Romanov puppet? Romanov has clearly outlined his role as not dealing with signings. He has emphasised that Rix has full role over picking the team but then again he claimed the same thing about Burley.
He said himself he wouldn't want anything to do with the signings but the fact that he only signed a contract until the end of the season is strange.
09/11/2005, 12:53 PM
I wasn't saying anything on Rix's private life.
He said himself he wouldn't want anything to do with the signings but the fact that he only signed a contract until the end of the season is strange.
The Rix's private life comment was a general warning. You know what you said.
Clifford
09/11/2005, 6:23 PM
On Setanta, but also on BBC 1 Scotland for people with sky who have the free to air codes, anyone want em?
10803 H 22000 5/6
If you want utv/itv it's 10906 v 22000 5/6
All totally free to air
Clifford
09/11/2005, 6:27 PM
Enjoy, it's only a cup game
09/11/2005, 7:13 PM
Maloney just scored a cracker. Not a Celtic fan but that was a great goal!
09/11/2005, 7:41 PM
Jesus, Rangers are muck. Celtic aren't at their best but that's never gonna happen in an Old Firm. Nakamura, Petrov, Camara playing well. McGeady, Hartson, Lennon not bad either. Maloney not great other than a top class goal. Camara had a nightmare first 2 Celtic games and is never going to be forgotten. He has been excellent since, setting up 5 goals and solid defensively but I'm still not convinced. :)
Rebal Boy
09/11/2005, 8:22 PM
Still 1-0 to the Celts.:) 81mins gone according to livescore.net. Rangers are doing really bad this year. :cool: I've no feelings for them.
Rebal Boy
09/11/2005, 8:42 PM
Finished 2-0. Yes biy.:)
09/11/2005, 10:32 PM
Watched the first half of the game on BBC Scotland, what a goal by Maloney. Klos had no chance:D. Bye bye McLeish!:)
Dublin12
10/11/2005, 8:46 AM
Good win for Celtic last night,they were never in trouble and should've added to the tally.Delighted for Gordon Starchan too.Rangers were a shambles and Jeffers is a joke,all that talk from jug ears about going to Rangers and being a leading goal scorer,lol,you couldn't make it up.
10/11/2005, 8:50 AM
It's amazing how far Jeffers star has fallen, he looks very mediocre these days. I remember a few years ago I was at Anfield for a Merseyside derby and even though he got sent off ( had a clash with Westerveld ) he looked very bright and was a constant thorn in the side.
He's a classic example of a player losing his hunger due to having made millions already.