View Full Version : SPL Discussion Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

Junior
10/05/2006, 1:43 PM
I was looking at the testimonial game (the event hype really doesn't interest me) for signs of life in Celtic. If there is anything to read into kickabouts.
Petrov looked happier in the middle after Keane switched sides. (haven't a clue if there was any issue about his playing role this season)
Lennon looks as good as ever.
A fit Balde with Varga might do.
Wilson is a strange one, a fit lad, full of enthusiasm and support play but some serious shortcomings, improvement?
Telfer goes awol, huge gaps left there at times for United. His positioning was shockingly poor.
On last nights game alone Hartson was an embarrisment to his own benchmark of professional standards. Clearly his injuries have handicapped about 90% of his game. In contrast, from a fitness point of view, Dublin looked in his prime.

Youre not wrong Petrov wants to ( and should) play in the middle, his best position. Alas it is of little concern anymore as he will surely be off in the summer.

Varga is pants and will be off in the summer I think.

Telfer - too slow, squad player at best.

Wilson, cracking wee player IMO. Will hopefully be our regular Right back next season despite filling in at Left back since January.

Thomson didn't do a bad job in the 2nd half in terms of trying to secure himself a move back to England!!

10/05/2006, 1:51 PM
Wilson, cracking wee player IMO. Will hopefully be our regular Right back next season despite filling in at Left back since January.!!

From the games I've seen on Setanta, Wilson looks the business.

I see Terry Butcher is off to coach in Sydney. That's a loss to the Scottish game.

10/05/2006, 1:56 PM
Okay so Wilson is a RB, then that explains a few things.
But what about Hartson? he made Dublin look world class.

10/05/2006, 2:15 PM
I have to agree with the 2 previous posters about Wilson, he looks a great prospect and a bargain. Mulgrew didn't have much to do but he was apparantly Dundee Utd's best player in his few month's there on loan and he is certainly comfortable with the ball at his feet. He should still be backup at left back to a new signing next season though.

I'm still annoyed that Lennon looks like he'll be offered another contract. All he offers to Celtic is his off the ball work as anyone could do the work he does on the ball.

Junior
10/05/2006, 2:50 PM
But what about Hartson? he made Dublin look world class.

Its a criticism that is thrown at Hartson by many of the celtic support, in terms of his mobility and fitness. Personally, I like the big guy and think he has many strengths,he's a handful for defenders and scores his fair share of goals.

It was an end of season friendly, you can't really read too much into the performance last night.

10/05/2006, 3:01 PM
I'm still annoyed that Lennon looks like he'll be offered another contract. All he offers to Celtic is his off the ball work as anyone could do the work he does on the ball.
Only from what I saw last night of Lennon. He offered calmness when in possession. Made space for himself. Always available to receive the ball out of defense.
Can tackle (if the game allowed it), rarely gives a bad ball.
Looked confident and controlled. Very good positioning.
Outpaced twice though.
Considering financial limits, another year can't be that much of a negative.

10/05/2006, 5:08 PM
Only from what I saw last night of Lennon. He offered calmness when in possession. Made space for himself. Always available to receive the ball out of defense.
Can tackle (if the game allowed it), rarely gives a bad ball.
Looked confident and controlled. Very good positioning.
Outpaced twice though.
Considering financial limits, another year can't be that much of a negative.
When he's club captain it is a negative imo. I wouldn't mind if he was going to be backup but he'll most likely be playing in all the Champions league games. Keane offers all Lennon does plus so much more. If Keane is going to stay then I don't see any room for Lennon. I am usually in the minority when it comes to this subject but I can only imagine what fans of other big clubs would think if they were going to sign Lennon this summer.

He is calm but I watched him at one time on the ball last night and every Celtic player around him was marked tightly, he was clueless. He has no imagination and just passes it to anyone that is free. I think we can all agree that Lennon offers little going forward, considering how badly Celtic defended this season there's a lot of improvement needed there. As I said, if Keane goes then there is room for Lennon but it is a waste having the two of them.

10/05/2006, 6:25 PM
The Scottish Youth cup final is live on this link:
mms://channel67.celticfc.net/keanetelly

25 minutes gone.

10/05/2006, 10:16 PM
Keane offers all Lennon does plus so much more. If Keane is going to stay then I don't see any room for Lennon..... As I said, if Keane goes then there is room for Lennon but it is a waste having the two of them.
if Keane stays there is plenty of room for Lennon ... when Keane is injured.
Keane was fully fit for a 1/4 of the games?

11/05/2006, 8:06 AM
if Keane stays there is plenty of room for Lennon ... when Keane is injured.
Keane was fully fit for a 1/4 of the games?
He probably missed missed 1/4 of the matches through injury but certainly wasn't fit for just 1/4. :)

Anyway, if Lennon was going to stay as backup to Keane I'd be more than happy but that's not going to be the case. If Lennon stays he plays in all the important games plus most of the rest.

11/05/2006, 10:36 AM
Its a criticism that is thrown at Hartson by many of the celtic support, in terms of his mobility and fitness. Personally, I like the big guy and think he has many strengths,he's a handful for defenders and scores his fair share of goals.
It was an end of season friendly, you can't really read too much into the performance last night.
I would regard it as similar to the feelings that the Lone Ranger would have if he had to put down a 2 legged Trigger. It would hurt, but feelings aside, his last and enduring quality was his ability to win balls in the air. You could read that he couldn't jump. Maybe Hartson was handicapped by having to keep his elbows in check :), United's (cinderella) defenders won almost every high ball with ease plus actually shoving Hartson off the ball.

Any chance that Boruc (an ace shot stopper) could get a bit of catch and kick practice with the Kerry GAA squad?

Junior
11/05/2006, 10:05 PM
I would regard it as similar to the feelings that the Lone Ranger would have if he had to put down a 2 legged Trigger. It would hurt, but feelings aside, his last and enduring quality was his ability to win balls in the air. You could read that he couldn't jump. Maybe Hartson was handicapped by having to keep his elbows in check :), United's (cinderella) defenders won almost every high ball with ease plus actually shoving Hartson off the ball.

As I said you're not alone in your thinking but he has consistently scored goals where ever he's been (including Celtic). He's only just turned 31, he needs to watch the weight and fitness levels, but he can do us a turn for a few seasons yet.

Any chance that Boruc (an ace shot stopper) could get a bit of catch and kick practice with the Kerry GAA squad?

He's looked suspect on the old crosses alright!

13/05/2006, 9:18 AM
Someone on Celtic forum, KDS, yesterday opened a thread saying Celtic have signed Riordan. A mod on the Celtic Minded forum opened a thread yesterday afternoon with an "Exclusive" that Riordan has signed. Today's Evening Times are now reporting the deal is done. The Evening Times wouldn't post crap so it looks like Riordan will be a Celtic player next season.

13/05/2006, 10:24 AM
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=408848&postcount=342

:ball: PP

13/05/2006, 10:45 AM
Celtic are delighted to announce that they have signed Derek Riordan from Hibernian on a pre-contract agreement. The player will join the Champions in January.

Riordan, who has already been capped by Scotland, scored 20 goals for Hibernian this season.

And he becomes manager Gordon Strachan's latest signing for Celtic, following the capture of Scottish internationalists Gary Caldwell and Kenny Miller, both of whom will begin their Celtic careers when the players report back for pre-season training.

http://www.celticfc.net/newsroom/news.aspx?id='2006-05-13_1122pc'

Hibs4Ever
13/05/2006, 10:49 AM
http://www.celticfc.net/newsroom/news.aspx?id='2006-05-13_1122pc'

DAM IT:mad:

You've just got an AMAZING player there lads

13/05/2006, 10:55 AM
I assume he'll start training with Celtic in October when his contract expires?

/edit - according to most Celtic will just buy out his contract and get him before the season starts.

13/05/2006, 11:47 AM
DAM IT:mad:

You've just got an AMAZING player there lads

I expect he'll be the best player in the under-21s by a distance.

(It's like taking sweets from a baby... :D )

:ball: PP

13/05/2006, 9:31 PM
I'm caught in two minds about Riordon. He's a good player (though not sure how he'll fit in?) but he seems to be a total ned. Awful hair and called Skacel an asylum seeker.

14/05/2006, 4:45 PM
'Tis confusing when you get this piece of journalism
http://www.sundayherald.com/55628
"Strachan spent most of his playing career in red and the traditional Arsenal colour would suit him again on Wednesday when he watches the Champions League final hoping for the British victory that would put Celtic straight into next season’s group stage and guarantee them around £10 million. A Barcelona win would require Celtic to play in the treacherous third qualifying round on August 8/9 and 22/23".

14/05/2006, 5:09 PM
'Tis confusing when you get this piece of journalism
http://www.sundayherald.com/55628
"Strachan spent most of his playing career in red and the traditional Arsenal colour would suit him again on Wednesday when he watches the Champions League final hoping for the British victory that would put Celtic straight into next season’s group stage and guarantee them around £10 million. A Barcelona win would require Celtic to play in the treacherous third qualifying round on August 8/9 and 22/23".

It's the other way around actually.:confused:

Junior
14/05/2006, 7:10 PM
It's the other way around actually.:confused:

that is a shockingly bad error. Can't believe that was published, every man and his dog knows the script with needing Barca to win???????

14/05/2006, 8:35 PM
Apparantly also depends on Sevilla not finishing in CL places in La Liga & hopefully Osasuna will do it in their place.
That's just for the seedings. If Barca win the CL, there's no qualifier for Celtic. If Osasuna get 4th spot in Spain Celtic are into Pot 2.

Hibs4Ever
15/05/2006, 7:15 AM
Agree on all counts......still it's good enough, just to take ano. player from our 'nursery' club.;)

Muppet

Junior
15/05/2006, 9:21 AM
I am certainly not impressed with Celtics signings to date.

Caldwell / Riordan / Miller - Young, but inconsistent on what I've seen so far. "CL yer havin a laff??"

Great effort by Gretna at the weekend, gave it their all and were unlucky not to take one of their other good chances and snatch it. Paul Hartley is a toe rag of the highest order - I hope he signs a new contract with Hertz - they deserve each other..............

Hibs4Ever
15/05/2006, 10:04 AM
I am certainly not impressed with Celtics signings to date.

Caldwell / Riordan / Miller - Young, but inconsistent on what I've seen so far. "CL yer havin a laff??"

Great effort by Gretna at the weekend, gave it their all and were unlucky not to take one of their other good chances and snatch it. Paul Hartley is a toe rag of the highest order - I hope he signs a new contract with Hertz - they deserve each other..............

Me and Junior can FINALLY agree on something :eek: :eek: :D

Hibs4Ever
15/05/2006, 10:05 AM
Oh yeah, and Well done Gretna. As Jose would say, The better team lost

15/05/2006, 10:12 AM
I'm not really too bothered about the Bosman signings. Ray Clarke seems be living in Eastern Europe so it's the players that actually cost (proper) money I'll be more interested in. So far Boruc, Zurawski and Nakamura have been successes.

For the 4 attacking positions Celtic now have:
Hartson, Zurawski, Beattie, Maloney, Nakamura, Riordan, Miller and McGeady. It looks like there'll probably be another attacking player brought in too. That's excellent strength in depth and maybe too much depth. Plenty of Celtic fans think Naka will leave but I don't see why. He joined to play in the CL so he should stay for at least another year.

If Keane stays and a decent replacement is brought in for Petrov then that leaves the defence only needed sorting. Wilson is the only trustworthy defender at the club. Kadlec looks to be joining for left back. Considering how badly the team has been defending this season Strachan will have to buy a centre half. If he does then that's Balde, McManus, Virgo, Kennedy and Caldwell there too.

Fair play to Strachan if he can keep everyone happy...

Hibs4Ever
15/05/2006, 10:18 AM
Mad Vlad at it again, should he not be charged by the SFA for these comments?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/4771055.stm

Junior
15/05/2006, 10:23 AM
Me and Junior can FINALLY agree on something :eek: :eek: :D
thought you might agree with that sentiment!

Junior
15/05/2006, 10:36 AM
I'm not really too bothered about the Bosman signings. Ray Clarke seems be living in Eastern Europe so it's the players that actually cost (proper) money I'll be more interested in

Thats all very well but they do cost money in terms of wages (and none of those 3 will be on poor wages).

The more Bosmans, the less likely we will actually spend on these players in eastern europe. Celtic PR can put a spin on it when the 3 or 4 bosmans are all lined up in front of the cameramen with scarves aloft and it will look like significant investment in the squad. Also lets not forget that you can get high quality bosmans as well.

Hopefully we will at least bag a defender and Midfielder of some real quality.

15/05/2006, 11:00 AM
Thats all very well but they do cost money in terms of wages (and none of those 3 will be on poor wages).

The more Bosmans, the less likely we will actually spend on these players in eastern europe. Celtic PR can put a spin on it when the 3 or 4 bosmans are all lined up in front of the cameramen with scarves aloft and it will look like significant investment in the squad. Also lets not forget that you can get high quality bosmans as well.
I don't agree. Hibs have a maximum wage of £2k and Wolves signed Miller while in division 1 (never signed another contract) so I can't see any of the bosmans being on anything special. The only reason 2 of the 3 players (I'm not sure about Riordan) were signed was because they were free transfers. I don't think Strachan would have paid money for them so I don't think he'll be giving them a bigger wage packet just because they were free. The release of Varga, Telfer, Thompson, Camara and Dublin will clear up a bit. In fact, if Thompson goes it would be paying for most of the 3 bosman's wages in itself. He was on around £20k.

You called me the optimist but I think you're just a pessimist. ;)

Junior
15/05/2006, 12:08 PM
You called me the optimist but I think you're just a pessimist. ;)

Perhaps you're right;) but quite frankly from what I've seen to date none of the three signings will bring much in terms of added quality to the squad. If thats the case, free or not, why bring them in? If Strachan wouldn't have paid money for them, then they are not good enough. So whats the point??

Im not saying they will be on massive wages but they are young players, making a move to a bigger club, knowing they have been purchased on a 'free'. Their agents will have undoubtedly negotiated better packages than their existing ones.

I hope the guys come good - Im just not convinced. We've seen how tough it is in the CL and at the moment we could be going out with next to feck all points. Thats not being a pessimist just a realist. We need to sign at least two Very Good players

With regards to the players going on release. Correct about Thomson in terms of wages but Im not aware of Camara, Dublin or Telfer being let go. Varga, only if someone dumb enough buys him.

Hibs4Ever
15/05/2006, 2:21 PM
Perhaps you're right;) but quite frankly from what I've seen to date none of the three signings will bring much in terms of added quality to the squad. If thats the case, free or not, why bring them in? If Strachan wouldn't have paid money for them, then they are not good enough. So whats the point??

Im not saying they will be on massive wages but they are young players, making a move to a bigger club, knowing they have been purchased on a 'free'. Their agents will have undoubtedly negotiated better packages than their existing ones.

I hope the guys come good - Im just not convinced. We've seen how tough it is in the CL and at the moment we could be going out with next to feck all points. Thats not being a pessimist just a realist. We need to sign at least two Very Good players

With regards to the players going on release. Correct about Thomson in terms of wages but Im not aware of Camara, Dublin or Telfer being let go. Varga, only if someone dumb enough buys him.

Looks like that could be us :D Seems fair though, we give you's a donkey defender, you's give us one back (although admitidly I've never really seen Varga play)

15/05/2006, 4:17 PM
Varga is out of contract.

Agent:
"I doubt very much that Celtic will offer Stan a new contract. David Murray has a better chance of getting a new contract at Celtic than Stan.

"He will be leaving Celtic at the end of the season."
http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/sport.cfm?id=121512006

Camara was a Martin O'Neil recommendation who can't even make the bench anymore so he'll be given a free transfer to Championship team in England.

tbh, I'm not over the moon with the bosmans myself. Miller on his own would have been fine, Riordan on his own would have been fine.

Junior
15/05/2006, 9:10 PM
Varga is out of contract.

Agent:
"I doubt very much that Celtic will offer Stan a new contract. David Murray has a better chance of getting a new contract at Celtic than Stan.

"He will be leaving Celtic at the end of the season."
http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/sport.cfm?id=121512006

Camara was a Martin O'Neil recommendation who can't even make the bench anymore so he'll be given a free transfer to Championship team in England.

tbh, I'm not over the moon with the bosmans myself. Miller on his own would have been fine, Riordan on his own would have been fine.

Is he actually out of contract in the summer. It just says he won't be getting a new one? But I am sure he will be off, however quoting the agent doesn't make it any more likely, it wouldn't be the first time an agent has talked out of his hole!!!

16/05/2006, 12:35 AM
Love WGS as a football person, but am unconvinced by his record in the transfer market, as opposed to his man-management skills which seem somewhat better?
I can't speak with any authority on Strachan's record in the transfer market. Two ace signings come to mind while he was with Coventry, Robbie Keane (bought for 6m sold for 13m ?) and John Hartson ( bought for 1m sold for over 6m). Didn't he sign a young Bellamy to replace Keane?
It's pretty clear that at present he is scouring the bargain bins. He can't be held 100% responsible for that.
I have wondered at how a mid table EPL club like Tottenham can spend relative fortunes on transfer fees and wages year after year and still post a profit every year? Do Spurs rake in that much more income than Celtic?

16/05/2006, 7:17 AM
I can't speak with any authority on Strachan's record in the transfer market. Two ace signings come to mind while he was with Coventry, Robbie Keane (bought for 6m sold for 13m ?) and John Hartson ( bought for 1m sold for over 6m). Didn't he sign a young Bellamy to replace Keane?
In his 5 years at Coventry he made a £26m profit from buying players and selling them on. OK, he won't be doing that at Celtic but it just shows how much he improves and gets the best out of players. Robbie Keane said in one of the Ireland fanzines at the Sweden match that Strachan was the best manager he's worked with.

16/05/2006, 8:14 AM
Nakamura: "I had reports saying the same thing when I was playing in Italy with Reggina as well, and even in Japan,
People there asked me what league I would like to play in and I told them that I would like to go to Spain one day.
Just now, though, I am happy here at Celtic and I am enjoying it. I am getting used to living and playing in Glasgow now and it is getting better here every day."

http://www.keep-the-faith.net/index.htm

Also, you have to remember that if Naka decided to turn down Celtic in the summer he would have got his dream move to Spain.

16/05/2006, 8:16 AM
*The latest rumour is Scott Brown......Yet ano.Hibee, FFS.

He's actually a very good player who would definately improve the team. I'd take him in a flash along with Thompson as I've said previously.

EDIT. Actually I doubt any of them will be coming any time soon seeing as they both signed long term contracts a few months ago. It's not as if Celtic will fork out a decent transfer fee for a change:rolleyes:

16/05/2006, 8:21 AM
Looks like that could be us :D Seems fair though, we give you's a donkey defender, you's give us one back (although admitidly I've never really seen Varga play)

From what I've seen though, I'd rate Varga a better player. I honestly don't think he's that bad. It's just unfortunate for him that he was made the scapegoat for the disastrous defensive start to the season when the whole defence was all over the shop IMO.

16/05/2006, 8:22 AM
It's the lad that broke the Riordan story so I'd say there's something in it:
http://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=29074

Junior
16/05/2006, 8:33 AM
Robbie Keane said in one of the Ireland fanzines at the Sweden match that Strachan was the best manager he's worked with.

Wouldn't be touting himself for a move north of the border would he????

Can't recall exactly but earlier in the season he wasn't first choice (nor indeed captain) and yet again people were assuming he was for the off.

I shouldn't be so cynical should I..........................

16/05/2006, 8:45 AM
I shouldn't be so cynical should I.......................... You're only half hearted :) otherwise you would be suggesting to Eirebhoy that Nakamura probably hasn't received a decent offer from a Spanish club.

Junior
16/05/2006, 9:50 AM
You're only half hearted :) otherwise you would be suggesting to Eirebhoy that Nakamura probably hasn't received a decent offer from a Spanish club.

Your right - The ole concentration isn't what it used to be!!!

Hibs4Ever
16/05/2006, 11:48 AM
Tractor Boys after Mogga

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/i/ipswich_town/4985882.stm

Junior
16/05/2006, 12:15 PM
It would be a loss for Hibs and the Scottish game if he goes to Boro, Ipswich etc...

Hibs4Ever
16/05/2006, 12:43 PM
It would be a loss for Hibs and the Scottish game if he goes to Boro, Ipswich etc...

Yeah, not as confident of him staying as I was though. If the board insist on letting our best players go for pennys it must be difficult for the him

londonirish17
16/05/2006, 1:01 PM

Agree with you on that point. They should invest in quality not quantity.
At this stage if Barca doesn't win the CL tomorrow it will be even difficult (again) to pass the qualifying stage... (Am also a realist)

17/05/2006, 7:57 AM
There was debate above about Celtic full-backs. Just saw this this morning:

Sparta Prague claim Celtic are favourites to land Czech Under-21s star Michal
Kadlec.
Gordon Strachan is believed to have targeted the 21-year-old full-back and
despite competition from German outfit Hannover 96, the Scottish champions
appear to be in pole position.
Sparta spokesman Lukas Pribyl told the Scottish Express: ``We have heard of
interest from Hannover in Michal but it looks like Celtic are in a stronger
position right now.
``We know that they are interested and we will probably have a meeting next
week to talk to Celtic, Michal and his agent.
``At the moment we have only discussed a potential transfer with his agent.
``He has, we believe, been speaking to Celtic also.''
end