View Full Version : LOI In Europe 2021

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

15/07/2021, 1:43 PM
I know it's a cliche but the attitude of the European opposition for LOI teams (particularly when they are favourites) when playing teams here has a large part to do with it.
Slovan gave the impression the other night by their performance that they assumed the tie was over before they arrived. Once it went to 2:2 on aggregate they upped their tempo and pinned us back for 10 mins till they scored. Even though they are in pre season they were the better team over 2 legs.

No matter what level any match is at sides will have periods of dominance, or imposing themselves, and be on the back foot and digging in at other times. I would think that Rovers expended a lot of energy getting back in to the tie, so even in preseason Slovan had a bit left in the tank but they were hitting the panic button too. I do think that greater belief could have been shown in the past by Irish sides rather then the initial setting out to contain. By Irish sides I include the international side as how many times did we see something of a performance when let off the leash needing to chase a game - difference between France home and away in WC qualifier, arugably Rovers the other night. That said to use the Stephen Kenny's Dundalk teams, the absolute belief in being able to compete at all times was refreshing but could be too gung-ho, there were times containing the opposition would have been prudent, an additional result in 2016 EL groups and we were fully in the mix for last 32, we chased winners in games where we probably should have settled, late 2nd goal v Legia at home another example, chasing an equaliser rather than taking it to Warsaw and see where it went. Slovan undoubtedly had a bit more about them but it wasnt much and the agg score bears that out. You do need to get the calls go your way too though, I'm still ****ed at that penalty given against Boyle v Legia, wasnt a peno then under updated rules, and definitely wouldnt be now! If Rovers had the ref sway a tad their direction who knows.

Sligo and Bohs are in good positions today, and I think in both fortune will favour the brave, and there is less need for sides to drop deeper and deeper in fear of the sucker punch way goal the longer a game goes on. Easy said!

EatYerGreens
15/07/2021, 4:01 PM
Any of tonight's fixtures on TV or streams anywhere ?

joey B
15/07/2021, 4:13 PM
Any of tonight's fixtures on TV or streams anywhere ?

Both on LOI TV,a tenner for each stream I think.

pateen
15/07/2021, 4:16 PM
Looks like it here but hate those auto cameras.
If the commentary was any good it would help but the Bohs fella the last day sounded bored out of his skull

https://www.loitv.ie/en-int/playerpage/744832

15/07/2021, 5:13 PM
The camera man could be doing a lot better here

It's all poorly setup.

15/07/2021, 5:22 PM
Do others get a sound lag? Actually maybe more a visual lag, ye know something has just happened before an incident in play.

15/07/2021, 5:22 PM
That should have been a goal. Awful finish

15/07/2021, 5:23 PM
Do others get a sound lag?

No, but for 10 euro you shouldn't be getting anything

15/07/2021, 5:28 PM
No, but for 10 euro you shouldn't be getting anything

Hmmm I think I know what you mean;)

15/07/2021, 5:45 PM
Poor stuff, never a free but FH only chance. Brutal stuff

CSAD
15/07/2021, 5:50 PM
Let’s be honest, who’s surprised that FH scored there? It’s the most LOI goal to concede in Europe, sums up the fixtures against Icelandic opposition the last week, the Icelandic scoring against the run of play on all 3 occasions.

CorribsideSteve
15/07/2021, 6:07 PM
What a disaster for Sligo.

CSAD
15/07/2021, 6:08 PM
How are these guys 2-0 up, I’ve never seen a score line a flatter a team more in a long time, they’ve barely even got close to the Sligo rovers goal and have 2 goals.

15/07/2021, 6:08 PM
As bad a performance as I've seen in a long while.

CorribsideSteve
15/07/2021, 6:09 PM
The Stadium announcer is all over the shop lol

joey B
15/07/2021, 6:09 PM
And Sligo give away a penalty and the ties over,familiar LOI story against teams that are nothing special.......

CSAD
15/07/2021, 6:11 PM
You know if the two teams were reversed on their chances Sligo would be 2/3-0 down at half time, typical LOI performance, never take our chances but concede the cheapest goals ever at the other end.

15/07/2021, 6:18 PM
You know if the two teams were reversed on their chances Sligo would be 2/3-0 down at half time, typical LOI performance, never take our chances but concede the cheapest goals ever at the other end.

The difference is it's been bread and butter defending for FH. I've said it before but it's a detriment to the league when it's team who come in and out of Europe every few years.

CSAD
15/07/2021, 6:23 PM
The difference is it's been bread and butter defending for FH. I've said it before but it's a detriment to the league when it's team who come in and out of Europe every few years.

The other factor (a reason I am also worried for Bohemians tonight) is it’s quite a young Sligo compared to a much older but experienced FH team and you can tell they know exactly what they have to do but when Sligo have needed to defend they have been naive and exposed as a result. You just knew with all the chances Sligo were missing that FH would make them pay.

CorribsideSteve
15/07/2021, 6:54 PM
Dreadful from Sligo. So predictable and pedestrian. More amateur hour concession of soft goals that LOI teams are renowned for conceding in Europe. Only bright spot was Kenny scoring his 1st Euro goal

15/07/2021, 7:02 PM
The other factor (a reason I am also worried for Bohemians tonight) is it’s quite a young Sligo compared to a much older but experienced FH team and you can tell they know exactly what they have to do but when Sligo have needed to defend they have been naive and exposed as a result. You just knew with all the chances Sligo were missing that FH would make them pay.
It's an FH side who are one place above the relegation zone this year, having picked up two points in their last seven league games, against a Sligo side who are joint top here. And FH have won home and away.

It's hard not to think that results like this really put the lie to those who say the league is steadily improving. Dominating and losing is still losing, especially when you do it twice.

CSAD
15/07/2021, 7:04 PM
It’s hard to be confident until boh's score, based on the 3 games previous with Icelandic opposition they are incredibly poxy.

CSAD
15/07/2021, 7:06 PM
It's an FH side who are one place above the relegation zone this year, having picked up two points in their last seven league games, against a Sligo side who are joint top here. And FH have won home and away.

It's hard not to think that results like this really put the lie to those who say the league is steadily improving. Dominating and losing is still losing, especially when you do it twice.

It’s different when it’s a bunch of kids v a side like FH who are very experienced in Europe. Sligo were incredibly naive and paid the price in both matches.

joey B
15/07/2021, 7:09 PM
Rory Feely blessed there,another silly enforced error…,

15/07/2021, 7:12 PM
It’s different when it’s a bunch of kids v a side like FH who are very experienced in Europe. Sligo were incredibly naive and paid the price in both matches.
What are the hugely experienced side doing near the relegation zone in Iceland? What are the bunch of kids doing at the top of the LoI?

I think it's entirely fair to draw conclusions from the league on that basis.

joey B
15/07/2021, 7:21 PM
Deserved lead for Bohs,Devoy looks a great talent….

CorribsideSteve
15/07/2021, 7:21 PM
That was SO GOOD from Devoy there. Great goal for Bohs.

15/07/2021, 7:24 PM
Very nice. They've been on top the last while

CorribsideSteve
15/07/2021, 7:25 PM
The commentator seems to think Bohs have a 2 goal lead on aggregate, but it finished 1-1 last week. Am I missing something?

15/07/2021, 7:25 PM
I can't be happy for Dawson Devoy his name is too annoying

15/07/2021, 7:28 PM
The commentator seems to think Bohs have a 2 goal lead on aggregate, but it finished 1-1 last week. Am I missing something?
Nope. Maybe he thinks away goals still (literally) count double?

yurt
15/07/2021, 7:32 PM
Joy to watch Devoy do his thing.

Hopefully this will be the difference in the 2 ties today, Bohs taking one of the many openings they've created while on top in the first half.

CSAD
15/07/2021, 7:40 PM
What are the hugely experienced side doing near the relegation zone in Iceland? What are the bunch of kids doing at the top of the LoI?

I think it's entirely fair to draw conclusions from the league on that basis.

Experience takes on a whole different meaning when it’s a straight knock out game compared to a league where form tends to play a bigger role, when the pressure is on the team with more experience has an edge. You could see during the two matches that Sligo were the better side but when it came to the crucial moments in from of goal from defense and attack that FH’s experience really told, do you think FH would have conceded the goal Sligo conceded on half time, not a chance! It’s just one of those games sadly.

CSAD
15/07/2021, 7:41 PM
Bohemians really need to get a second and put these guys away, you can tell just from the moments they have that they have it in them to put a chance away if given even a sniff.

15/07/2021, 7:45 PM

I think the league is improving overall, players better coached, fitter, more professional in prep etc. The issue is that other leagues are developing quicker and mainly through proper investment in the game. The Icelandic FA, with government money, have really been driving development of facilities. In some cases over developed grounds for the sort of crowds, but for player development facilities some amazing work done over 10-15 years. Here its still piecemeal, clubs doing things themselves irrespective of years an oppressive association where self interests ruled (never mind the wider grassroots and junior game), and struggles for funding - just to state the obvious lol. In many ways the league being stable, kind of, in ranking is an achievement in itself when all is considered. Doesnt dull the hope and then disappointment. We talk about getting favourable draws in Europe every year but tend to forget that we are a plum draw for other leagues.

There is undoubtedly a learning curve playing in Europe, the old game management nugget that domestically we'd bemoan as cheating and diving. FH were doing plenty of riling up the Sligo lads, elbows, digs, knocking the ball away, and the Sligo lads were getting frustrated by it. Its not a reason for a poor result, but it did contribute. Dundalk learned the hard way, carried in to our domestic game and then the guile of Chris Shields eg was a top moaning point on here weekly.

15/07/2021, 7:57 PM
Hopefully that's that now

joey B
15/07/2021, 7:59 PM
Quality limbs from Bohs fans there in fairness to them!

CSAD
15/07/2021, 8:02 PM
I think the league is improving overall, players better coached, fitter, more professional in prep etc. The issue is that other leagues are developing quicker and mainly through proper investment in the game. The Icelandic FA, with government money, have really been driving development of facilities. In some cases over developed grounds for the sort of crowds, but for player development facilities some amazing work done over 10-15 years. Here its still piecemeal, clubs doing things themselves irrespective of years an oppressive association where self interests ruled (never mind the wider grassroots and junior game), and struggles for funding - just to state the obvious lol. In many ways the league being stable, kind of, in ranking is an achievement in itself when all is considered. Doesnt dull the hope and then disappointment. We talk about getting favourable draws in Europe every year but tend to forget that we are a plum draw for other leagues.

There is undoubtedly a learning curve playing in Europe, the old game management nugget that domestically we'd bemoan as cheating and diving. FH were doing plenty of riling up the Sligo lads, elbows, digs, knocking the ball away, and the Sligo lads were getting frustrated by it. Its not a reason for a poor result, but it did contribute. Dundalk learned the hard way, carried in to our domestic game and then the guile of Chris Shields eg was a top moaning point on here weekly.

I know from speaking to an Icelandic fan who lives in Ireland about the comparison between the leagues was saying that he thought the Irish league has better players but Icelandic team are better organized, and tbh over the 3 games played you can see that being true, you would never see an Icelandic team concede the kind of goals that Sligo/Boh’s conceded.

15/07/2021, 8:02 PM
Bohs go through they could be back playing BCD if their 'singing' fans refuse to comply with instructions. At minimum the numbers wont be allowed if even allowed use the Aviva.

15/07/2021, 8:04 PM
Experience takes on a whole different meaning when it’s a straight knock out game compared to a league where form tends to play a bigger role, when the pressure is on the team with more experience has an edge. You could see during the two matches that Sligo were the better side but when it came to the crucial moments in from of goal from defense and attack that FH’s experience really told, do you think FH would have conceded the goal Sligo conceded on half time, not a chance! It’s just one of those games sadly.

But it's not "one" of those games, is it?

It's one win from four for top-half LoI sides against bottom-half Icelandic sides (assuming Bohs win now).

Sligo not being able to score and then conceding a goal FH wouldn't have suggests they weren't the better side tbh.

15/07/2021, 8:04 PM
I know from speaking to an Icelandic fan who lives in Ireland about the comparison between the leagues was saying that he thought the Irish league has better players but Icelandic team are better organized, and tbh over the 3 games played you can see that being true, you would never see an Icelandic team concede the kind of goals that Sligo/Boh’s conceded.

Ouch!:p

joey B
15/07/2021, 8:09 PM
Like a basketball game this match now!

15/07/2021, 8:11 PM
Bohs far too open here for my liking. Maybe they want to stretch Stjarnan, but they get one back and their tails are up!

15/07/2021, 8:20 PM
Bohs go through they could be back playing BCD if their 'singing' fans refuse to comply with instructions. At minimum the numbers wont be allowed if even allowed use the Aviva.

Old misery guts again, lol, do you work for nphet:rolleyes:

CSAD
15/07/2021, 8:41 PM
But it's not "one" of those games, is it?

It's one win from four for top-half LoI sides against bottom-half Icelandic sides (assuming Bohs win now).

Sligo not being able to score and then conceding a goal FH wouldn't have suggests they weren't the better side tbh.

It’s pointless discussing this with you.

15/07/2021, 8:42 PM
I'm far too lazy to go searching, who do Bohs play next?

15/07/2021, 8:43 PM
It’s pointless discussing this with you.

What, because I've challenged your point with relevant facts?

Heaven forfend

15/07/2021, 8:44 PM
I'm far too lazy to go searching, who do Bohs play next?
Dudelange of Luxembourg.

Heard of them before... :)

15/07/2021, 8:46 PM
Old misery guts again, lol, do you work for nphet:rolleyes:

Jaysus do you want to get me started again.....

I am always a miserable old git, doesnt take away from the issue mentioned mind. No I dont work for NPHET, I wish as they had it easy!!

Enjoyed that game, apart from a spell in the 2nd half where they looked like they could let Stjarnan get a foothold in the game, it was dominant and made it count. Sligo didnt when they were on top. However it has happened there are 2 LoI sides in QR2 and 1 in QR3. I think we'd have taken that. In terms of collective finances its worth what about 10-12 back to back league titles so far!?

15/07/2021, 8:47 PM
Dudelange of Luxembourg.

Heard of them before... :)

Yes I believe you spent a night there? Cheers!