View Full Version : LOI In Europe 2021
11/08/2021, 5:16 PM
Bohs fans barred from the ground,seems a few travelled and bought tickets ,UEFA did say so,still a bit of a sickner after Greeks got in the Aviva last week….
Maybe there is an Aris fan who harbours a secret love for PAOK that could pick up some tickets for Bohs lads as a favour?
joey B
11/08/2021, 5:27 PM
Maybe there is an Aris fan who harbours a secret love for PAOK that could pick up some tickets for Bohs lads as a favour?
I don’t think buying tickets is the problem,they’d need to loan them their passports!!
11/08/2021, 5:40 PM
So they are going to ask every supporter to bring their passport to the game? I highly doubt that.neediny your passport to go to a game is ridiculous, makes a mockery of the vaccine Pass
11/08/2021, 5:51 PM
Showing your passport to get into games isn't unknown. Had to do it to get into a Serie B game in Piacenza once.
Alternatively, of course, they could just kick out the ones who haven't a notion how to read the Greek signs.
Seems harsh, even if it is UEFA rules. Travel is generally allowed now, so some away fans should be let in.
sbgawa
11/08/2021, 7:46 PM
UEFA said months ago no traveling fans up to group stages.
Laughable that bohs are tweeting from an official account today that away fans are not allowed as if its new news.
Anyone dumb enough to travel can hardly complain.
If the irish stewards didnt do their jobs thats doesnt mean the greeks should be blamed for doing theirs.
D24Saint
11/08/2021, 7:49 PM
Showing your passport to get into games isn't unknown. Had to do it to get into a Serie B game in Piacenza once.
Alternatively, of course, they could just kick out the ones who haven't a notion how to read the Greek signs.
Seems harsh, even if it is UEFA rules. Travel is generally allowed now, so some away fans should be let in.
Yeah bringing your ID or in our case passport to games is part of the norm in Italy. I needed mine for the games I’ve been to.
11/08/2021, 8:24 PM
I disagree tbh if you dont do it over two legs then its really a case of the better team turned it on when they needed to in the second leg to do the job and the first leg win go's down as a "moral victory" for the plucky underdog.
Paok didnt seem arsed until they went two down and then changed it up and almost got back for a draw.
You're wrong, there, simple as that. PAOK started really strongly, and opened us up twice. It wasn't until Coote skined Vieirinha (sp?) on a quick counter, that they dropped back, and it happened consistently on the flanks for the next 25 mins. So you're simply wrong about the match. They made a triple sub, combined with Buckley being out on his feet after 60 mins. absolutely nothing to do with the 'arsedness' of PAOK.
If Bohs or Dundalk back up those results and go through they will be famous victories remembered for years. If Bohs go through, the result in Greece will be what is remembered, whether it's via penalties, a draw or an outright win on the night.
I can't remember the leg results of Rovers when they were drawn against Partizan, all I remember is kavanagh scoring an incredible goal in extra time to qualify Rovers.
How many people will remember or care that Rovers beat Slovan Bratislava in Tallaght....i know i wont because we still lost overall.
Plenty, because Rovers were the better team on the night, and when youse make the group stage, and hopefully with a decent draw, when the European season is looked at overall, it's another extremely positive result in the extreme, added to the fact youse were only marginally edged out.
[/QUOTE]
I'm not sure what is so "ridiculous" about saying that winning a tie over two legs is infinitely better than winning a one off game where the second leg was lost when the opposition needed to perform and did. One is a comprehensive achievement the other is catching someone on the hop and then being turned over.
Not everything is black and white. Matches can be won without the opposition being caught on the hop.
I'm equally not sure what my "comfortable position" is
Rovers are in a much more comfortable position, given your squad, and the opposition you're facing. They are ****e. If Rovers don't qualify it will be a far worse outcome than if bohs and dundalk fail to do so.
Bohs beating Dudelange a very decent team comprehensively over two legs would be better then winning one leg against any team and then losing the second leg to go out.
Would you stop! Dudelange were also ****e bar 20 mins in the 2nd half of the first leg. There's no comparison to Bohs finishing the job in Lansdowne against them, and going out and beating PAOK in the first leg of the next round.
By your logic Bohs could have stuck 11 behind the ball, drawn the first leg, repeated the trick in Salonika, be eliminated on penalties and it mean the same? nonsense.
I would put going through against the relative opposition as 1 Bohs 2 Dundalk 3 Rovers in terms of achievement.
Fair.
sbgawa
11/08/2021, 8:33 PM
Bohs admin really trying to double down on embarrassing themselves now. Official statement on website "while Uefa had said no traveling fans allowed we hoped those who had bought tickets from PAOK would be allowed' . Lol rovers or indeed ant professional club just put a statement out ag the beginning of Europe games saying UEFA say no away support end of story.
Complaining about people following the rules doesn't absolve you of responsibility.
Bohtastic
11/08/2021, 10:52 PM
Someone has a bee in his bonnet tonight , eh sbgawa?
sbgawa
12/08/2021, 2:46 AM
Out for the night so my BS filter is lower than usual
Dalymountrower
12/08/2021, 3:38 AM
Out for the night so my BS filter is lower than usual ��
Football fans take their chances going abroad to support their team. Bohs fans in Lux, PAOK fans in Dublin etc , no admonition from UEFA. In those instances
Bohs have been consistently clear to anyone who travelled to Thezsalonoki that , PAOK would not
provide an away allocation and that it was dangerous to attend.
Notwithstanding that,j over 200 Bohs fans took the risk and travelled, .
Because of the unexpectedly large volume of away fans the credible lthreat of violence from PAOK ultras, additional security is being applied at the stadium, so no unofficial away fans.
Bohs have officially communicated the above to travelling fans, but you seem to be aghast at that?
The only bull**** I see is from you and some other Rovers fans trying fo put the usual anti Bohs spin on the above...
I
Straightstory
12/08/2021, 7:53 AM
I presume the general prediction is that Rovers will go through, but Bohs and Dundalk will exit. Those late goals given away will surely make a difference. 2-0 to Bohs and 2-1 to Dundalk in those first legs would have been a lot healthier.
sbgawa
12/08/2021, 8:32 AM
Bohs going through in PAOK would be a massive result for them up there with the best wins in Europe ever.
Vitesse are not PAOK but Dundalk have to win compared to Bohs so i would put going through almost but not quite up there with Bohs.
Rovers have a great chance and while i can never see Rovers as favourite in Europe against anyone Paddypower have us 10/11 to win the match with the draw at 11/5 either result would see us through.
For reference to back up my points PP have bohs win at 11/1 with a draw at 6/1
Dundalk win is 5/1 with the draw at 16/5
Given these are all effectively cup finals 1 goal either way will have the odds thrown out the window
12/08/2021, 9:08 AM
I se Norwich have just signed PAOK's top player, which can't hurt. Christos Tzolis, their 19-year-old international and top scorer from last season.
bohsmug
12/08/2021, 9:22 AM
Find it very hard to see Bohs go through tonight if I'm honest. The result last week felt like our Everest in this European campaign. The fifth unbeaten European game in a row and one we really had no right to win on paper. If it is in anyway close I probably won't have the heart for it. Might even pull the couch closer to the telly to sample the big game atmosphere :-D
EatYerGreens
12/08/2021, 10:16 AM
Might even pull the couch closer to the telly to sample the big game atmosphere :-D
Be sure to have your passport with you, just in case.
12/08/2021, 10:19 AM
So only Dundalk is on loitv? Any chance of a Greek channel showing bohs?
12/08/2021, 10:21 AM
I presume the general prediction is that Rovers will go through, but Bohs and Dundalk will exit. Those late goals given away will surely make a difference. 2-0 to Bohs and 2-1 to Dundalk in those first legs would have been a lot healthier.
Ya it's massive really but I mean both were definitely avoidable too which is the annoying aspect, but it felt like it in both games that one was coming
12/08/2021, 10:23 AM
So only Dundalk is on loitv? Any chance of a Greek channel showing bohs?
All three are on LOITV
2 Year Contract
12/08/2021, 10:29 AM
I se Norwich have just signed PAOK's top player, which can't hurt. Christos Tzolis, their 19-year-old international and top scorer from last season.
Came off the bench for the last 25 minutes at the Aviva last week. Norwich paid £10 million for him. Just further shows the size of PAOK that they’re able to command a fee like that
pateen
12/08/2021, 10:41 AM
So they are going to ask every supporter to bring their passport to the game? I highly doubt that.neediny your passport to go to a game is ridiculous, makes a mockery of the vaccine Pass
Either way the stewarts will spot the pink and lobster heads a mile away. Cant imagine any Bohs fans are fluent in Greek to blag their way in.
Prob for their own safety too
12/08/2021, 11:13 AM
All three are on LOITV
Jees rte can't even get that right ->https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0811/1240278-all-you-need-to-know-super-thursday-for-loi-in-europe/
12/08/2021, 11:33 AM
The schedule definitely only shoes Dundalk on LOI nigel
pateen
12/08/2021, 12:20 PM
Just paid for bohs there. Its on their own website
12/08/2021, 12:43 PM
Had seen all three games were being streamed. Presumed they were being hosted on LOI TV. Strange if not.
CorribsideSteve
12/08/2021, 1:10 PM
Dundalk is the only one listed as of now. Maybe that will change later.
12/08/2021, 1:45 PM
Interesting game to watch out for elsewhere is Hibernians (of Malta) against Riga FC of Latvia at 7pm. The winners - Hibs are 1-0 up from the first leg in Latvia - will play Lincoln Red Imps of Gibraltar for a place in the group stage. So the new format really does favour smaller champions.
TNS are in Plzen at 6pm leading 4-2 from the first leg, but they were 4-0 up after 88 minutes. Larne are playing for pride, 4-0 down against Pacos de Ferreira of Portugal. Scottish Hibs drew 1-1 in Rijeka; winners play Bohs/PAOK. Aberdeen scraped a 3-2 win against Bredablik of Iceland, but should finish the job at home.
12/08/2021, 2:24 PM
Interesting game to watch out for elsewhere is Hibernians (of Malta) against Riga FC of Latvia at 7pm. The winners - Hibs are 1-0 up from the first leg in Latvia - will play Lincoln Red Imps of Gibraltar for a place in the group stage. So the new format really does favour smaller champions.
TNS are in Plzen at 6pm leading 4-2 from the first leg, but they were 4-0 up after 88 minutes. Larne are playing for pride, 4-0 down against Pacos de Ferreira of Portugal. Scottish Hibs drew 1-1 in Rijeka; winners play Bohs/PAOK. Aberdeen scraped a 3-2 win against Bredablik of Iceland, but should finish the job at home.
I got giddy and had a look at the other ties, and likely matches in the playoff round. Whatever about the rights and wrongs of the UEFA competitions structure, you're absolutely right in that this format does favour smaller champions.
What is the story with TNS? Wouldn't have been hugely surprised with them beating Glentoran; the manner of their victory against the Lithuanians was an eye-opener, and then to go 4 up on Plzen!
12/08/2021, 2:30 PM
Yea, it's worth looking at the other four potential play-off ties -
Zalgiris v Bodo (though Bodo are 2-1 down from the away leg in Prishtina)
Maccabi Haifa v HJK
Flora Tallinn v Rovers
Fola Esch v Alashkert/Kairat
They'd be standard enough 2QR ties in previous seasons. It's great that smaller countries have a chance to be in the group stages, though you have to wonder what €3m would mean for competitiveness in the Maltese league. I'd have preferred to have seen a fifth team from each country qualify and smaller group stage money. But there you go.
On TNS - I wonder is covid a factor this year? There seems to be lots of weird results. Are clubs' training schedules all messed up? Or is the lack of crowds a leveller?
12/08/2021, 4:01 PM
So any Greek TV I'm not trusting a club run stream again?
12/08/2021, 4:28 PM
So any Greek TV I'm not trusting a club run stream again?
PAOK streaming for free off their website outside Greece/Cyprus/UK/Ireland. A VPN should sort you out in that regard.
joey B
12/08/2021, 4:55 PM
Bohs without Ciaran Kelly is a serious loss,their best defender when I’ve watched them in Europe….
joey B
12/08/2021, 5:06 PM
Oh dear …
12/08/2021, 5:06 PM
Another easy header and poor defending and marking. They clearly saw that as an issue. After a couple of minutes and All...
12/08/2021, 5:09 PM
Meanwhile TNS go 1-0 in Plzen. 5-2 up on aggregate. That's remarkable
12/08/2021, 5:13 PM
32 degrees out there now, they're running them all over the shop they'll be shagged
bohsmug
12/08/2021, 5:16 PM
My brother is in the ground anyway so assume a few Bohs got in. Locals helped them get in.
12/08/2021, 5:20 PM
2 good chances for bohs, there's a goal for them here no doubt, but there's also a goal for paok
sbgawa
Exactly the start they didn't need
Bohs coming into the game, keeping the ball better and two chances in the last five minutes after a poor start. PAOK look shaky enough at the back.
My brother is in the ground anyway so assume a few Bohs got in. Locals helped them get in.
Course they did. Such stupid stuff going around
Philosophizer
12/08/2021, 5:22 PM
2 very close chances there for Bohs. PAOK keeper tipper over what would have been an OG and Buckley lashing a loose ball just a whisker wide. Bohs have settled into the game well after the early goal.
bohsmug
12/08/2021, 5:23 PM
Buckley's was so close
12/08/2021, 5:25 PM
I think these lads are happy enough to let bohs have the ball and think they can counter them easily enough. But bohs are capable of creating chances, and if they keep tracking the runners like they are now and can keep this going for the full 90, they should be ok. Thats a big if i know. Paok are still playing a very high line, its ripe for opening.
bohsmug
12/08/2021, 5:25 PM
Burt not getting any joy but he's the type that can have an explosive 10 minutes when you think he's having a poor game
Philosophizer
12/08/2021, 5:28 PM
Burt not getting any joy but he's the type that can have an explosive 10 minutes when you think he's having a poor game
He looks the poorest Bohs player at the moment. Giving the ball away an awful lot.
Buckley and Devoy so classy in the middle - don't look out of place at all at that level.
12/08/2021, 5:29 PM
Feels like PAOK are targeting Burt as a danger man and getting very tight to him. A better through ball and Bohs had two men over but Burt fluffed it. Bohs have a good shape and press, they had PAOK in bother with it just before the water break. The teams still look fairly well matched.
Ah that’s junior football defending from Bohs. A long way back now.
12/08/2021, 5:30 PM
Half asleep for both goals.
12/08/2021, 5:31 PM
Feels like PAOK are targeting Burt as a danger man and getting very tight to him. A better through ball and Bohs had two men over but Burt fluffed it. Bohs have a good shape and press, they had PAOK in bother with it just before the water break. The teams still look fairly well matched.
Ah that’s junior football defending from Bohs. A long way back now.
Terrible, the usual. Hopefully PAOK become complacent now.
CorribsideSteve
12/08/2021, 5:32 PM
Going to be a long hot drawn out night for Bohs now.