View Full Version : LOI In Europe 2021
Calcio Jack
19/08/2021, 6:29 PM
Will Grace be fit to start next week? I'd imagine Kavanagh would come in at LWB too with his attacking quality.
He should be …. Scales should keep his place better than Kavanagh
19/08/2021, 6:30 PM
The biggest problem with this is no one saw bohs or dundalks games, they didn't see how good some teams can perform in Europe against actually decent opposition . Yet there'll be a few who've tuned into this and think God this is awful stuff. A good friend , footballing fella screenshots me the final score from Livescore. Not against Loi or anything like that but not a fan , and that's what he'll/he has seen. Very disappointing people want exposure then when it comes they can't perform against similar level opposition
Dalymountrower
19/08/2021, 6:31 PM
Will Grace be fit to start next week? I'd imagine Kavanagh would come in at LWB too with his attacking quality.
Lee Grace being the potential saviour tells you all you need to now about Rovers strength in defence.
Omonia who Flora only lost out on against on pens as we know could well end up in the EL group stages via a victory over a Belgian side (early yet I know) so are probably a decent outfit.
I think there was a bit of underestimating Flora simply because they are Estonian. Clearly they aren’t bad at all.
That being said this evening was a shambles from Rovers and Flora will almost certainly score goals in Tallaght meaning Rovers are almost certainly out.
19/08/2021, 6:33 PM
You see better defending in the Senior Sunday Division in the Leinster Senior League.
Think it was more the individual errors than anything else that did the damage.
The third goal was a complete comedy of errors.
19/08/2021, 6:36 PM
Fiddling around switching Green for Gaffney won't be much good if you leave the centre of your team wide open.
Got out of the jail again. Sliced open right though the middle AGAIN. How has Bradley not changed something to tighten up the middle?
How did Rovers beat Slovan?
I think the answer to the above, comments including before today and that if Rovers set up like Slovan away rather than more like at home they will be punished for it. Bradley believed Flora were better than Slovan, I think that was an attempt to ground exepctation rather than really believing it albeit both the result and performance seems to indicate that the Rovers players would have the better of the game, maybe like Slovan in Tallaght. You have to question Bradley's tactical performance along with the players not grafting as needed. Too naïve, too cautious in advance, stumped on how to change things when the game was getting away? It took some individual intervention by a couple of the star players to drag Rovers in to the home leg with a chance, at least I didnt see anything from the bench to have influenced things. Yup I know similar can be said of Dundalk 2020 under VP, star player pulling us in to the home leg v Vitesse this year, easy draws etc etc. Should it be considered that its poor coaching decisions undoes LoI more than the ability or potential of clubs/teams!?
ontheotherhand
19/08/2021, 6:40 PM
Lee Grace being the potential saviour tells you all you need to now about Rovers strength in defence.
You'd swear Bohs weren't 16 points behind Rovers with 6 more goals conceded reading that.
Dalymountrower
19/08/2021, 6:51 PM
You'd swear Bohs weren't 16 points behind Rovers with 6 more goals conceded reading that.
Take a reality check there hun
Bohs have conceded four goals in 6 european games this season ,Rovers have conceded 7 in 5 games.
Please play Lee grace, Joey ( on his arse) O Brien and Pico against us in the cup , parakolo?
19/08/2021, 6:52 PM
You see better defending in the Senior Sunday Division in the Leinster Senior League.
Think it was more the individual errors than anything else that did the damage.
For sure - and so many of the errors were unforced too
Though how much did Rovers really threaten at the other end? Kerr called out the Flora keeper's bad positioning for Scales' goal in analysis after. Could they have tested him more? Mandriou hit the post and of course Burke scored - did they really create much apart from that? Rovers had some good attacking possession but will need to do more with it in Tallaght, as well as defend better.
Elsewhere, Lincoln Red Imps of Gibraltar drew 1-1 away to FC Riga tonight. Great chance of making the groups now, which would be a mental result
ontheotherhand
19/08/2021, 6:57 PM
Take a reality check there hun
Bohs have conceded four goals in 6 european games this season ,Rovers have conceded 7 in 5 games.
Please play Lee grace, Joey ( on his arse) O Brien and Pico against us in the cup , parakolo?
Sure thing babycakes - the reality is the league table this and last year and a good but ultimately failed European run won't change that, for you or...... us next week for that matter....
Dalymountrower
19/08/2021, 6:57 PM
For sure - and so many of the errors were unforced too
Though how much did Rovers really threaten at the other end? Kerr called out the Flora keeper's bad positioning for Scales' goal in analysis after. Mandriou hit the post and of course Burke scored - did they really test the keeper apart from that? Rovers had some good attacking possession but will need to do more with it in Tallaght, as well as defend better.
Elsewhere, Lincoln Red Imps of Gibraltar drew 1-1 away to FC Riga tonight. Great chance of making the groups now, which would be a mental result
I would be backing Lincoln RI to win, playing in that constant howling gale at the end of a runway will be a distinct advantage
Philosophizer
19/08/2021, 8:45 PM
He should be …. Scales should keep his place better than Kavanagh
I'd take out Hoare and O'Neill. I'd probably move scales to CB and move Pico into DM. O'Neill was positionally all over the shop today. Pico is an interior footballer/passer to O'Neill but there's no way he would have abandoned his post the way O'Neill did today. Terrible performance from him.
Philosophizer
19/08/2021, 8:46 PM
Omonia who Flora only lost out on against on pens as we know could well end up in the EL group stages via a victory over a Belgian side (early yet I know) so are probably a decent outfit.
Omonia beat Antwerp 4-2 as it turns out.
19/08/2021, 10:06 PM
The more I think about this game the more it reminds me of Ireland going out to Cyprus under Stan, completely toothless and tactical ineptness and inability to see the changes required and being able to make them, creating chances but getting completely overrun in midfield by a poor opposition midfield with huge gaps left all over the middle. It's so bad that Bradley didn't affect change after the first two maybe even 1 as the writing was on the wall early. Perhaps like Stan he just felt like rovers could outscore float. It's a real learning lesson and a big question on his tactical ability.
sullanefc
20/08/2021, 12:08 AM
All the experts declaring Shamrock as favourites on p61 are all captain hindsights on p65. Glorious. Lol.
Sure if they win ye were right and if they lose I can tell them how sh1t they are. It's win win for ye. The usual.
GUFCghost
20/08/2021, 12:49 AM
Slovan were just rusty/half asleep still from their holidays, is what it looks like now.
And Rovers in prime form because of our summer league, the system works :cool:
ontheotherhand
20/08/2021, 1:41 AM
All the experts declaring Shamrock as favourites on p61 are all captain hindsights on p65. Glorious. Lol.
Sure if they win ye were right and if they lose I can tell them how sh1t they are. It's win win for ye. The usual.
The game don't change sull
20/08/2021, 6:24 AM
Are you telling me Rovers weren't really, unexpectedly, sh1t last night?
placid casual
20/08/2021, 6:42 AM
A bit of clarity, and from a Cork fan, of all things!! 😉
When are you f***ers gonna get your act together, and get back to the Premier- I miss the X.
sullanefc
20/08/2021, 7:53 AM
A bit of clarity, and from a Cork fan, of all things!! 😉
When are you f***ers gonna get your act together, and get back to the Premier- I miss the X.
Thanks. Our young lads have turned a corner but have left it too late this season. If it were a 36 game season rather than 27 I'd fancy making the playoffs. Hopefully promotion next season and Premier in 2023.
We then target title glory for 2029 to continue the 12 year cycle. 😄
1993, 2005, 2017, 2029. You heard it hear first. 😄
Dalymountrower
20/08/2021, 8:33 AM
Thanks. Our young lads have turned a corner but have left it too late this season. If it were a 36 game season rather than 27 I'd fancy making the playoffs. Hopefully promotion next season and Premier in 2023.
We then target title glory for 2029 to continue the 12 year cycle. 😄
1993, 2005, 2017, 2029. You heard it hear first. 😄
Decent chance of a cup final this year though?
sullanefc
20/08/2021, 8:56 AM
Decent chance of a cup final this year though?
Pats next round will be tough. Fingers crossed.
20/08/2021, 9:50 AM
Shocking from Rovers defensively. Probably should have conceded more than four. Also Rovers didn't create a huge amount from open play. A lot to do next week and I can't see them not conceding. It's typical 1st Euro TV match of the season after all the previous good results and then Rovers produce a performance like that.yeah, was thinking that after all the hullaballoo made of LOI teams not being televised the first one that is was shambolically bad. Here's hoping the 5pm time didn't tempt many to watch. Can only get better.
Still in with a shout I think but let's see.
CorribsideSteve
20/08/2021, 10:48 AM
And Rovers in prime form because of our summer league, the system works :cool:
They had a spectacularly bad night, but you're right. Let's go back to football in the depths of winter. That'l solve all the issues. Summer League eh? Madness I tells ya.
20/08/2021, 11:39 AM
But they were the 6/4 favs to win that match,Flora were 9/4 so that's a fact and not an opinion.
sullanefc
20/08/2021, 12:16 PM
But they were the 6/4 favs to win that match,Flora were 9/4 so that's a fact and not an opinion.
It was the opinion of the Irish bookies. The bookies in Estonia may have had different odds.
sbgawa
20/08/2021, 2:18 PM
Given how the game panned out and the results for Omonia in the EL I think everyone underestimated Flora. We aren't out yet but will need a huge performance next Thursday. Sold out the 3500 so the atmosphere should be good in tallaght
ger121
20/08/2021, 2:20 PM
It was the opinion of the Irish bookies. The bookies in Estonia may have had different odds.
I could not find a betting, prediction or stat site online that did not have Rovers favourites, all be it slight favourites in many cases. No doubting it was a very poor performance from them but I think the tempo and openness of the match just didn’t suit Rovers. They like to keep it tight at the back, hold on to the ball, not create lots of chances and win one or two nil. When the game is not like this or they are behind, they don’t fare well. If they are solid and compact next week, patient and then do take the lead, they could be good value to take the tie to ET. How Bohs played Dudelange in the 2nd leg is the template for this one.
Kiki Balboa
20/08/2021, 3:10 PM
Given how the game panned out and the results for Omonia in the EL I think everyone underestimated Flora. We aren't out yet but will need a huge performance next Thursday. Sold out the 3500 so the atmosphere should be good in tallaght
Sure you can underestimate Flora, but at the same time, they are second in the Estonian league (which is ranked as 5th worst in Europe), 12 points (with 3 games in hand) behind a team who lost to Dundalk. All players are Estonian, so not like they are being bank-rolled.
You can also overestimate them as well.
Kiki Balboa
20/08/2021, 3:28 PM
Got bored at work, and my post in the other thread got me thinking. So I quickly averaged the age of each starting 11 in their last European game.
Bohemians= 23.1 years old
Sligo Rovers= 25.5 years old
Dundalk= 26.1 years old
Shamrock Rovers= 29.4 years old
sbgawa
20/08/2021, 3:57 PM
Yes it's that experience that has us top of the league alright. Rumour has it Keith long is doing another Danny mandriou man management job on a few of the bohs young lads so that will help our age profile next year.
I'd also be hopeful for a few of the SRFC ii guys to break in that are training with the first team now. Other than joey who might call it a day no one near retiring.
Personally I'd keep joey around even if it was for only limited games.
EatYerGreens
20/08/2021, 4:09 PM
Since when were bookies' odds a statement of fact ? :D Sure the entire gambling industry is predicated on trying to prove them wrong for financial gain.
Bohtastic
20/08/2021, 4:11 PM
Yes it's that experience that has us top of the league alright. Rumour has it Keith long is doing another Danny mandriou man management job on a few of the bohs young lads so that will help our age profile next year.
Someone's a little sore today... clearly its been a tough 24 hours.
ger121
20/08/2021, 4:26 PM
Someone's a little sore today... clearly its been a tough 24 hours.
Probably a bit down as Flora spread Rovers all over the place.They might have butter luck in the 2nd leg but they will need a new game pan or else they will be toast!
20/08/2021, 4:39 PM
I was amazed at how poor Rovers' defending was.
I thought to myself "I can't believe it's not butter" (better... butter... Tough crowd!)
But Flora were light on them all the same
20/08/2021, 4:41 PM
Since when were bookies' odds a statement of fact ? :D Sure the entire gambling industry is predicated on trying to prove them wrong for financial gain.
The fact is that were the favs to win with the home side a bigger price,that's a statement of fact in any mans book,doesn't mean the result will follow the betting but that's another days chat.
(Whether they should have been is yet another argument :D:D )
20/08/2021, 4:45 PM
I'd still have Rovers as margarine-al favourites for the second leg though
CorribsideSteve
20/08/2021, 5:40 PM
There was that Flora advert with Victor Meldrew back in the 90's. Much like him, Rovers really do not believe it. One foot in the gra ... group stages. Group stages. Positivity!
Philosophizer
20/08/2021, 7:40 PM
Probably a bit down as Flora spread Rovers all over the place.They might have butter luck in the 2nd leg but they will need a new game pan or else they will be toast!
Bravo, sir.
Well it took a while for the puns to arrive, but a valiant effort.:p
sbgawa
20/08/2021, 8:05 PM
That made me smile.
Tonight's matchs in the league are completing the recovery.
By tommorow I'll be grand.
EatYerGreens
22/08/2021, 12:42 PM
The fact is that were the favs to win with the home side a bigger price,that's a statement of fact in any mans book,doesn't mean the result will follow the betting but that's another days chat.
(Whether they should have been is yet another argument :D:D )
By that logic I'm going to present all my opinions in future as statements of fact so.
"It's a fact that I think X will happen. So X happening is therefore a fact" :D
El-Pietro
22/08/2021, 2:23 PM
Betting odds aren't a statement of probability. They are designed to ensure as large a profit as possible for the bookie. And many gamblers aren't professionals, there is always an element of home bias. If most gamblers are Irish or have little exposure to Estonian football then the odds will lean more in Rovers direction than if two random European teams were involved.
22/08/2021, 7:35 PM
The flip side is "favourite" in this context is a betting term, so who other than bookies would determine who the favourites are?
(Home bias is a thing for sure, though ger121 noted other sites having Rovers as favourites)
Didn't see sullane suggesting otherwise before the game - bit rich for them to be accusing others of hindsight now.
24/08/2021, 2:08 PM
I know Rovers' game on Thursday is on RTE but I think the rights restrictions will disallow it from being shown in UK on RTE Player. Last week's game on Virgin Media Player was blocked in UK.
Is any stream available for overseas viewers? I assume the streams of previous games were only arranged in the absence of TV coverage. I'm a LOITV subscriber but I don't think it'll be on that.
Philosophizer
24/08/2021, 4:34 PM
Is any stream available for overseas viewers?
If all else fails just try skorlive. Most streaming sites can be a pain but it's the best one I know.
25/08/2021, 7:25 AM
Thanks. Rovers' twitter says it will be on in UK via RTE Player.
25/08/2021, 10:55 AM
I still think Rovers are favourites to win on the night if not to win the tie after the 1st leg. In a lot of ways there was self inflicted damage done rather than being outclassed by a much better side. Lessons will have been learned so I really do think this tie is still well in the mix, also I dont think Tallinn can raise their game any more whereas Rovers have a much better performance in them. The old clichés fit well, an early goal, make them nervous and not know whether to stick or play on the front foot, Rovers cant afford to play with any fear. Hedging bets here - patience could be needed, from the crowd too, not going quiet or getting on the backs of players if the early goal doesnt happen, if one goes in at any time there will be a barnstorming finish and some atmosphere! Tallinn score and ye cant see Rovers having the point men to put in 3. Penos are not unlikely. One of these opinions has to be a hit allowing for some revisionist hindsight tomorrow night;)
25/08/2021, 3:55 PM
They played with no fear the last day. No fear of picking up a man or holding the middle! These lads pressed them high and obviously saw they were poor under pressure on defence. How much their manager got to see of them and how they played on their weakness was impressive. Joey O'Brien should be much more composed for example given where he has played but the lack of pace throughout the backline gave flora oceans of space to expose. Bradley saying we did it against slovan and we know what to do no you didn't slovan scored a goal and won the tie. This requires a massive effort and some actual organisation. These lads will score and it's highly unlikely rovers will score 4, pens doesn't really look likely either
Philosophizer
25/08/2021, 4:38 PM
Rovers may well win on the night, I wouldn't be surprised if they do.
Flora will sit back and pounce on the counter just like they did in Tallinn. They won't change their game plan unless the tie is level or they go behind.
You can't win a tie in the 1st leg but you can certainly lose it. I hope I'm wrong, but my head tells me Rovers lost it in Tallinn.
I'll still be cheering them on tomorrow night, like I do for every LOI team in Europe, but they need a serious improvement from last week.
Worst thing about it is Flora aren't amazing. They're decent and experienced, but not at the same level as Slovan, PAOK or Vitesse imo. Rovers caused them trouble in the 1st leg, just a pity the midfield went AWOL at crucial moments.