View Full Version : LOI In Europe 2021
Yossarian
29/07/2021, 3:39 PM
Rovers will not play in the Aviva so Bohs can have it any day they want.
I’m not totally sure but I don’t think it’s a venue thing. UEFA generally don’t allow two teams in the same city play at home on the same night so that will be the reason for the change of date. The higher ranked club usually always get priority.
29/07/2021, 4:47 PM
Early assessment - two very evenly matched sides, whomever doesnt make an error is the key, not to get caught to far forward at the back. Saving energy for later in the game.
*and spoke too soon. Still have to score anyway. Good finish but 2 men free at the back post. Pace at the back not there for a high line. Open game would have been perfect for Duffy, ho hum!!!
placid casual
29/07/2021, 4:48 PM
Dreadful goalkeeping
29/07/2021, 4:53 PM
Would have to see it again but badly exposed, 2 options never mind shooting. Nattestad pulled in toward the ball too easily. Need to just stay in the game for now, take the sting out of it. Patience lads!
Sun is annoying me watching, Keeper should be wearing a cap, did he lose the flight of the ball as he looked to be shielding his eyes....excuses excuses....:confused::mad:
They mustnt know about playing the whistle. A player sits on his arse and they lose it when Dundalk dont put the ball out when attacking? Was it near around about or in the box, looked on the line to me. Better spell from Dundalk, Levadia now sitting in on the lead, letting us have the ball, and hit on the break which we werent dealing with very well. Game is still there if nothing soft conceded. Quite a good game bar the goal. Clipping the crossbar too. Still dont think we need to force things yet. Weve been able to get in behind them with some decent passing moves at better pace than in the cup game. Keep them moving about and hopefully fatigue will be an issue later. Did I mention how this game is made for Michael Duffy? Interesting chitchat about Drogheda penos in the background :D
*Ok so maybe the winner will be the keeper who fluffs it least!!! (Im nervously rambling just a bit i think .....)
placid casual
29/07/2021, 5:16 PM
Dodgy keepers on both sides. Fair play to McMillan, he's a proper goalscorer
29/07/2021, 5:18 PM
14 goals now for McMillan in Europe - level with Roy Keane and one behind Robbie Keane
joey B
29/07/2021, 5:48 PM
Larne 1 up on Aarhus who are down to 10 men,3-1 on aggregate now,would that be one of the best results a Irish league side has ever had in Europe if they finish off the tie?
29/07/2021, 6:21 PM
Very last gasp winner looks like it's sent Dundalk through - Patching again
What was he doing on loan in the first half of the season?
joey B
29/07/2021, 6:21 PM
Huge goal for Dundalk…
SPXcyan
29/07/2021, 6:27 PM
What a way to win the game, into the third round now, hopefully Bohs to follow next which would mean 3 clubs into the third round, that'll do.
29/07/2021, 6:27 PM
4-3 on aggregate, having led for literally none of it except the last minute!
29/07/2021, 6:30 PM
Never doubted it!!
29/07/2021, 6:46 PM
4-3 on aggregate, having led for literally none of it except the last minute!
Its all that counts, showing character and fight that up until recently was badly missing! Last minute shenanigans are great....
sparky12345678
29/07/2021, 6:57 PM
nice result, job done.
Interestingly, the dutch clubs not having it easy. Drita are 2-1 up away from home with 0-0 from the first leg, could 2 through for kosovo league which has come from nothing to be solidly ranked these days in the few years.
I think some analysis of this rounds result will make for interesting comparisons given the earlier discussion:
Larne through against Danish opposition
The Icelandic team is beating Austria Vienna 2-0, the austrian league would surely be expecting to win that one
Aberdeen out against swedish opposition.
Mighty Hajduck Split out against Kazakhstan opposition.
Fins against Ukrainians do well
joey B
29/07/2021, 7:01 PM
Aberdeen went through 5-3 on aggregate..
kksaints
29/07/2021, 7:09 PM
Is the commentary ahead of the pictures for anyone else on the Bohs stream?
placid casual
29/07/2021, 7:12 PM
Dundalk were always in the game and certainly didn't deserve to go out.
Survived a stonewall penalty appeal in 2nd after centre half batted away a cross. Vitesse Arhnem will be a step up- Does this mean Peak6 might stick around after all, or are they still determined to knock it on the head?
CorribsideSteve
29/07/2021, 7:17 PM
Yeah it's quite annoying tbh.
CorribsideSteve
29/07/2021, 7:21 PM
What a win for Dundalk! Last minute magic from Patching.That was such an even game, both sides having dominant spells but both largely cancelling each other out. Thought Dundalk were unlucky to go behind after enjoying spell of decent posession but the finish from Agyiri was excellent. Thought Abibi could have done more but still. Great determination to keep goling right till the end. Big shout out to Stanton who played very well, unlucky, so unlucky not to score a worldie in the 1st half, and MacMillian. He is so reliable. Mister 100% dependable. Tough task in facing Vitesse, but you never know.
29/07/2021, 7:27 PM
1-0 Bohs now as well
ger121
29/07/2021, 7:44 PM
2 nil up on agg but still ****ting bricks here in Lansdowne
Straightstory
29/07/2021, 7:46 PM
Less annoying to watch if you turn the the sound off.
sidcon
29/07/2021, 8:13 PM
I can boogie, boogie, boogie all night long. Get in Kelly
Kiki Balboa
29/07/2021, 8:17 PM
Great night for Irish Football in Europe!
6 wins for Irish teams this year ? (3 bohs, 3 Dundalk) plus 3 draws (1 for Rovers, Dundalk and Bohs
3 teams still left in Europe. Good haul.
D24Saint
29/07/2021, 8:17 PM
I wouldn’t believe it if I wasn’t here to see it. In fairness to Bohs that’s an unbelievable performance on the big stage. The Aviva is rocking with the atmosphere. A good news story for Irish football.
sparky12345678
29/07/2021, 8:22 PM
When was the last time we had 3 teams in the 3QR?
the league coefficient is looking a bit more ahem progressive now... replacing the 2.625 with a minimum of 2.0 and more (?). Increased expectation for next year?
Brilliant result for us. Credit to Keith Long and that group of players. A delight to support and watch play the game.
PAOK will be a different gravy.
29/07/2021, 8:37 PM
When was the last time we had 3 teams in the 3QR?
the league coefficient is looking a bit more ahem progressive now... replacing the 2.625 with a minimum of 2.0 and more (?). Increased expectation for next year?
In fairness, you do need to bear in mind that the new format means everyone's getting higher coefficients this year.
Very good result for Bohs for sure, though let's not get too carried away with wins over Iceland (plus a defeat), Wales, Estonia and an out-of-season Luxembourg side!
CorribsideSteve
29/07/2021, 8:37 PM
Fantastic stuff from Bohs. Party atmosphere in the Aviva.
Bucket
29/07/2021, 8:43 PM
In fairness, you do need to bear in mind that the new format means everyone's getting higher coefficients this year.
Very good result for Bohs for sure, though let's not get too carried away with wins over Iceland (plus a defeat), Wales, Estonia and an out-of-season Luxembourg side!
Didn't you write a book about beating a team from Luxembourg?
sbgawa
29/07/2021, 8:45 PM
Great night for Irish Football in Europe!
6 wins for Irish teams this year ? (3 bohs, 3 Dundalk) plus 3 draws (1 for Rovers, Dundalk and Bohs
3 teams still left in Europe. Good haul.
7 wins, Rovers beat slovan bratislava. Best result imo but knocked out on aggregate...thems the breaks
29/07/2021, 8:46 PM
Didn't you write a book about beating a team from Luxembourg?
Bohs fans - you know what to do! :)
29/07/2021, 8:46 PM
Over to Rovers now. For Dundalk and Bohs to go beyond QR3 would be exceptional stuff, much less daunting v Teuta so no pressure. 1st year of ECL has benefited us, hard to gauge whether EL would have been much different in terms of the luck of the draw but so far so good and something to build on.
sparky12345678
29/07/2021, 8:48 PM
yep, agreed, clearly it is "easier" to get "points" these days due to the various complexities and intricacies.
Still obvious improvement over previous years to have 3 teams still competing..
No thanks, lets get carried away t'f*ck.
I've been following these European fixtures religiously for years now and the experience is usually watching a dodgy stream with our teams under the cosh for 90 minutes and inevitably being punished for a sloppy mistakes.
Today though, I paid 20 quid for 2 proper broadcasts, and got some unbelievable value for money. Dundalk with a last minute winner and Bohs win 3-0 in the Aviva. These games go the other way so often with hard luck stories and then the long wait for another chance.
Can't really think of too many better days for the league, so think everyone is entitled to get as carried away as far as they possibly can.
On the co-efficient I think it's worth mentioning that we've got to 2 points already with Rovers not playing in what is arguably the most winnable round for Irish teams.
Our record in Europe so far this year is P12 W7 D2 L3.
I don't know how anyone who follows the league could look at that and not think this is f**king class.
ger121
29/07/2021, 9:10 PM
Bohs fans - you know what to do! :)
Knowing us it will be a Poetry Book.
ger121
29/07/2021, 9:12 PM
I do think we could go close to replacing the 2.6ish we lose this year. Probably depends what Rovers do in Round 3 but maybe ourselves and Dundalk can chip in too.
29/07/2021, 9:22 PM
Can't really think of too many better days for the league
Ah now!
Rovers v Partizan?
Dundalk v Alkmaar?
Benson's volley? Derry drawing with PSG? Shels drawing with Depor? Cork knocking out Nijmegen to reach the InterToto quarter-finals? Bohs beating Aberdeen?
There's been a few.
It's a great result for Bohs - not a hanging-on 0-0; but a comprehensive 3-0 win - and fair dues to them for it. But perspective is good.
Kiki Balboa
29/07/2021, 9:34 PM
The standard of European football is really through the roof at the moment. I think you can see it in just how well teams from small leagues are playing (a lot of them playing good football too), and its reflected in the results. Larne, Dinamo Batumi and Breidablik all with great results. No easy games in Europe, and the smaller leagues have never been closer to the mid sized leagues.
Northsider
29/07/2021, 9:56 PM
I'm 100% getting carried away, what a fecking night. Outstanding performance, will be a different kettle of fish against PAOK on Tuesday but glad the first leg is at home, hope we have a real go at them. Its just great to experience nights like that again after missing going to games for so long.
Fair play to Dundalk with their late winner, and its great for Irish football to have 3 teams going at this stage.
CuanaD
29/07/2021, 10:24 PM
Coefficient is looking good too - we are the only country below 32nd place with 3 teams still in competition:
32 Belarus 3.250 5.000 2.500 1.500 0.250 12.500 4
33 Lithuania 2.375 2.625 1.625 1.625 1.500 9.750 1/ 4
34 Bosnia-Herzegovina 1.375 2.000 1.500 2.625 1.500 9.000 1/ 4
35 Luxembourg 0.875 2.625 3.000 1.000 0.750 8.250 1/ 4
36 Latvia 0.750 1.625 2.250 1.375 2.125 8.125 2/ 4
37 Albania 2.625 1.000 0.750 2.000 1.625 8.000 2/ 4
38 Kosovo 0.000 2.500 1.500 1.833 2.000 7.833 1/ 3
39 Northern Ireland 0.750 0.500 2.375 2.833 1.375 7.833 2/ 4
40 Moldova 2.750 1.125 0.750 1.375 1.750 7.750 1/ 4
41 Armenia 0.625 1.500 2.750 1.375 1.125 7.375 1/ 4
42 Ireland 1.125 1.000 1.250 1.875 2.000 7.250 3/ 4
43 Finland 1.250 0.875 1.625 1.375 1.875 7.000 2/ 4
44 North Macedonia 3.125 1.000 0.500 1.750 0.625 7.000 1/ 4
45 Faroe Islands 0.750 1.125 1.125 2.750 1.166 6.916 1/ 3
46 Georgia 0.125 1.625 2.250 1.750 1.125 6.875 1/ 4
47 Malta 1.375 1.500 0.750 1.500 1.625 6.750 1/ 4
48 Liechtenstein 2.000 1.500 2.500 0.500 0.000 6.500 1
49 Iceland 1.125 1.500 0.625 0.625 1.500 5.375 1/ 4
50 Wales 0.500 1.000 1.000 1.500 1.250 5.250 1/ 4
51 Gibraltar 0.500 1.000 1.000 1.666 0.750 4.916 1/ 4
52 Montenegro 1.125 0.375 1.000 1.625 0.750 4.875 4
53 Estonia 0.625 0.500 0.875 1.375 1.333 4.708 1/ 3
54 Andorra 0.166 0.833 1.500 0.666 1.500 4.665 3
55 San Marino 0.166 0.500 0.000 0.500 0.166 1.332 3
Belarus having such a stinker of a year is great news for us. The way I see it now is that anyone from 32 down we can over take if we were to string together some more results.
35th place is the aim as it will likely get our cup winners straight in ECLQ2. We're 1 point and 7 places off that as of now.
Rovers really are the key if we're going to push the co-efficient towards 3.0 and push for that spot. It's more reasonable to hope that we could reach 35th by the end of next season but if Shamrock Rovers were to somehow go and qualify for the ECL group stage it could have us in and around there by the end of this season.
On the individual club rankings, all 3 clubs will get at least 2 points from this season. Meaning Rovers and Bohs should both be seeded should they make the same competitions again next year. Dundalk's ranking will only take a relatively small hit given they are losing their first group stage qualification rankings, would likely still be seeded for the first 3 rounds if they managed to win the cup..
D24Saint
29/07/2021, 11:41 PM
I'm 100% getting carried away, what a fecking night. Outstanding performance, will be a different kettle of fish against PAOK on Tuesday but glad the first leg is at home, hope we have a real go at them. Its just great to experience nights like that again after missing going to games for so long.
Fair play to Dundalk with their late winner, and its great for Irish football to have 3 teams going at this stage.
Very quick turnaround when are tickets on sale for that ?
wexfordned
30/07/2021, 12:00 AM
Rovers will not play in the Aviva so Bohs can have it any day they want.
Given the numbers Bohs have brought to Aviva it's no wonder Shamrock don't want to play there. It would be extremely embarrassing knowing they couldn't sell as as many tickets as BFC
30/07/2021, 12:29 AM
From my reading of co-efficient, theres quite a few leagues above us that we have outperformed so far - Latvian league have done similar or better and then Polish league sides next remarkably. I know it doesnt mean moving ahead of other leagues significantly but i am surprised at some of the results this year.
sbgawa
30/07/2021, 6:09 AM
Given the numbers Bohs have brought to Aviva it's no wonder Shamrock don't want to play there. It would be extremely embarrassing knowing they couldn't sell as as many tickets as BFC
Lol , you boys are getting a little carried away aren't you.
Enjoy.
placid casual
30/07/2021, 6:47 AM
Ned, the lesser spotted boez mule, shows up... And still spouting crap by the looks of it.
placid casual
30/07/2021, 7:01 AM
Good results for LOI last night and a sign of progress perhaps, or just an acknowledgement of our level being the Europa Conference - which is no bad thing in my view.
Hopefully Rovers can get past Teuta, although our record in Europe when playing away second is not good. If we can take a lead to Albania and take it from there I guess.
Onwards and upwards.
30/07/2021, 7:12 AM
Good results for LOI last night and a sign of progress perhaps, or just an acknowledgement of our level being the Europa Conference - which is no bad thing in my view.
Probably also worth acknowledging two very good draws in the second round. Bohs' pool was Belgium/Portugal/Scotland/Denmark/Luxembourg, while Dundalk had Slovakia/Sweden/Estonia/Hungary/Georgia - fair to say both got by far the best draw in those pools, albeit that Georgia would probably have been approachable too, and of course the Danish side in Bohs' pool got dumped out by Larne.
The ECL, as you say, has to be that little bit easier with the top 20 teams removed, and no preliminary round meaning 8 of the crappier teams are added. That's the point of the ECL of course, and it would have been nice to see them skew it even more towards the smaller leagues, but that was probably always wishful thinking.