View Full Version : Transfers 2019 season
ToberonaTornado
30/10/2018, 1:12 PM
JJ Lunney(mf)
Bohs to Waterford.
https://www.waterfordfc.ie/waterford-fc-sign-jj-lunney/
Philosophizer
30/10/2018, 1:30 PM
Waterford have got a good player there. He was v impressive last season. Still can't understand why Bucko didn't keep him at Pats.
marinobohs
30/10/2018, 2:00 PM
Very good second half to the season and has bags of potential. Good signing for Waterford, although I thought they were pretty strong in midfield ?
30/10/2018, 5:01 PM
I thought Lunney was staying at bohs so the move is a hell of a surprise. akinade move didnt work out last year though
marinobohs
31/10/2018, 1:42 PM
I thought Lunney was staying at bohs so the move is a hell of a surprise. akinade move didnt work out last year though
Long would have liked him (Lunney) to stay, developed in leaps and bounds as season went on but a few bob at Waterford beyond what we can match. Akinade was again hit by injuries this year, almost unmarkable when on his game but never a consistent goal scorer. still very much unfulfilled potential
mcgonigle
31/10/2018, 1:56 PM
Akinade was again hit by injuries this year, almost unmarkable when on his game but never a consistent goal scorer. still very much unfulfilled potential
His miss against Limerick was textbook Akinade! Lucky they went onto win comfortably or he would have been under the spotlight with all the unusual betting
El-Pietro
06/11/2018, 1:12 PM
Dan Casey to City on a two year deal.
sbgawa
06/11/2018, 1:25 PM
he is a really good player , was a standout rugby player in Leinster Schools Rugby for CBC Monkstown as well so the Agricultural style will suit him down there :)
Phenomenal pace always thought he should be a winger rather than a full back
Jack B
06/11/2018, 1:43 PM
Yeah, not a dig at Cork at all but I think Casey will do a lot better down there than he would at a Dundalk. He's a bit limited (allowable for a centre half, granted) but a very good presence physically and covers ground well.
Has to be at least a couple of defenders out of Cork going off this? Barry still has a year left I think but will surely move on. Saw McLoughlin getting linked to England earlier. Bennett retiring maybe?
If Morris is off to Shels it makes a few departures from Bohs already too, though if their under 19s are always as frankly annoyingly good as they were against us they should just play them every week and forget about senior players anyway.
El-Pietro
06/11/2018, 1:54 PM
McLoughlin is linked with a move away but he finishes his degree this summer so it would be strange for him not to wait. Will have to wait and see.
I think Barry will move on, he hasn't played and it doesn't suit him or the club at the moment.
Benno could retire but I think he will give us one more year.
Delaney has a year left too but like Barry the situation doesn't really suit anyone.
We also have Conor McCarthy who can play at right back but is really a centre half. Only 20 years old.
Philosophizer
06/11/2018, 2:22 PM
Dan Byrne on twitter says he's left Bohs too.
Bohs have lost 3 of their 4 centre backs in the space of the last 2 hours or so...
Park_Lane
06/11/2018, 2:57 PM
Lots leaving Bohs. You might say its an Exodus (movement of jah people)
joey B
06/11/2018, 3:11 PM
Dan Byrne going to Shels apparently.
06/11/2018, 3:52 PM
Bennett could play another year, he is certainly fit for another year and its hard to replace that type of player. Would be handy to have about if young lads come in. Delaney hasnt worked and should be happy to walk away from the 2nd year of his deal if as said when he signed it wasnt for money. I think I mentioned McNamee's reaction to Caulfield on Sunday and it didnt look good so he has to leave for boths sides sake. McCormack 'rumoured' to be on the move according to a lot of Cork fans, he is one of the top earners Id say so might be wanted off the wage bill and is replaceable I feel albeit he was very good on Sunday. Cummins getting left out on Cup Final day, divisive among the Cork support and has been a disappintment, unless there isnt a better striker that can be brought in he could be looking for a new club.
El-Pietro
06/11/2018, 3:55 PM
McNamee is definitely leaving. I had hoped we might be able to get Bolger back and would gladly swap him for McCormack but that is not an option now. I still think McCormack is a good player but Bolger would have offered us something we missed badly this year.
06/11/2018, 4:37 PM
whats story with Josh O'Hanlon? was fallout with Caulfield that bad?
Ezeikial
06/11/2018, 5:47 PM
Bennett, Barry, Delaney and Cummins are under contract and are all in a strong negotiating position should Cork wish to move them out
Dan Byrne to Shels just confirmed
Bennett, Barry, Delaney and Cummins are under contract and are all in a strong negotiating position should Cork wish to move them out
Benno and Cummins won't be going anywhere. I'd be surprised if Barry and Delaney started the season with us.
Philosophizer
06/11/2018, 9:23 PM
Dan Byrne to Shels just confirmed
I think that's a manager and 8 outfield players Shels have signed directly from Bohs.
marinobohs
07/11/2018, 7:34 AM
I think that's a manager and 8 outfield players Shels have signed directly from Bohs.
The new Dalymount (whenever) will play host to two clubs - Bohs and Bohs B 😁
Eminence Grise
07/11/2018, 8:52 AM
Never mind that, rumour has it Dalymount will soon be no more and Bohs will end up playing in Marley Park....
sbgawa
07/11/2018, 8:58 AM
Jazus can we keep them on the Northside please !!
marinobohs
07/11/2018, 9:13 AM
Never mind that, rumour has it Dalymount will soon be no more and Bohs will end up playing in Marley Park....
Started in the Phoneix park so that would be a lot more likely ;) 'rumour has it' = I made sh1t up. Feel free though to provide a link
The new Dalymount (whenever) will play host to two clubs - Bohs and Bohs B
Aye but which one will you guys be?
Northsider
07/11/2018, 10:43 AM
Started in the Phoneix park so that would be a lot more likely ;) 'rumour has it' = I made sh1t up. Feel free though to provide a link
He may have been pulling your leg there pal, the name of the park might be the giveaway. :)
El-Pietro
07/11/2018, 12:03 PM
Garry Comerford to City from Waterford.
Philosophizer
07/11/2018, 12:06 PM
Sean McLoughlin being chased by Doncaster according to Dan McDonnell in the indo (https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/doncaster-eye-up-move-for-highlyrated-cork-defender-mcloughlin-37496495.html).
Eminence Grise
07/11/2018, 12:16 PM
Own goal bouncing off the defender's fat ar5e...
He may have been pulling your leg there pal, the name of the park might be the giveaway. :)
Hat-trick hero.
oriel
07/11/2018, 12:27 PM
Garry Comerford to City from Waterford.
Granted some will leave Cork, but how many central defenders are currently at the club now?
Are they buying players they dont even need ;)
Incidently if McLoughlin stays, and he's paired with Comerford, they wont have happy memories of playing in oriel park next season, both were the unfortunate victims of crucial own goals in the final minute v Dundalk this year, both resulted in crucial wins too.
To be fair both knew nothing about either goal, last ditch attempts to clear the ball.
El-Pietro
07/11/2018, 12:51 PM
Granted some will leave Cork, but how many central defenders are currently at the club now?
Incidently if McLoughlin stays, and he's paired with Comerford, they wont have happy memories of playing in oriel park next season, both were the unfortunate victims of crucial own goals in the final minute v Dundalk this year, both resulted in crucial wins too.
To be fair both knew nothing about either goal, last ditch attempts to clear the ball.
In the press release it sounds like hes been signed to play wide left or left back. I think hes a squad player.
Pablo Escobar
07/11/2018, 1:05 PM
This signing is to address our problem at left back IMO. I actually think he'll go straight in there. He was superb against us in our first game this season at the RSC.
joey B
07/11/2018, 1:11 PM
This signing is to address our problem at left back IMO. I actually think he'll go straight in there. He was superb against us in our first game this season at the RSC.
What's the craic with Johnny Dunleavy? Is he leaving,he had a falling out with Caufield didn't he?
El-Pietro
07/11/2018, 1:34 PM
What's the craic with Johnny Dunleavy? Is he leaving,he had a falling out with Caufield didn't he?
No idea of any falling out but hes been injured for about three seasons now. He has come back before for short spells before getting injured again. I love the man to bits but I don't think we can justify giving him a further year and hope he returns to fitness given our reduced budget. When fit hes top quality, its just that hes rarely fit for any extended period.
marinobohs
07/11/2018, 2:27 PM
Aye but which one will you guys be?
Both. its Bohs ,we do everything twice :cool:
sbgawa
07/11/2018, 4:28 PM
Steven Beattie gone from Cork , wonder where too
US. Was supposed to go last year vutr decided to stay another year.
patrickccfc
07/11/2018, 4:33 PM
He's off to America. We knew it was going to happen but it's sad to see him go. One of my all time favourite city players, couldn't fault him for attitude, commitment and effort.
sidewayspasser
07/11/2018, 4:53 PM
Not unexpected, but still sad to see him leave. Always gave his all.
sulywaterfordfc
07/11/2018, 5:22 PM
Comerford signed for us as a midfielder and was converted into a left full. I’d be shocked if he’s starting centre half for Cork. I’m even more shocked to hear Caulfield mention him playing left midfield this season 😳😳😳
sulywaterfordfc
07/11/2018, 5:23 PM
Irish youth international and previously West Brom and Inverness, Zack Elbouzedi signs for Waterford
Ezeikial
07/11/2018, 5:46 PM
Dan Casey and Gary Comerford are a pair of smart signings. Casey is likely to be an automatic choice at centre back and Comerford should challenge Shane Griffin for left back
He's off to America. We knew it was going to happen but it's sad to see him go. One of my all time favourite city players, couldn't fault him for attitude, commitment and effort.
I think if I was a player in his shoes I'd definitely pick the US option over say league 1 in uk. Playing at the second tier on the US is not bad at all, decent climate too if you join one of the sides in the southern states. No brainier to me, best of luck to him, decent player.
Beatties 6wytier goodbye has City fans in bits. He's a good footballer, but he's 10 times the leager/character you want around. Would run through a wall for you without a second thought. He's become a legend down here, and will be sorely missed.
sulywaterfordfc
07/11/2018, 9:14 PM
Dan Casey and Gary Comerford are a pair of smart signings. Casey is likely to be an automatic choice at centre back and Comerford should challenge Shane Griffin for left back
Caulfield today referred to Comerford as playing left midfield 😳
Positions mean nothing to Caulfield. He likes players that can play roughly 6 positions. Just ask Jimmy Keohane. He thought he was a central midfielder. He's played centre mid, right back, right wing, no. 10 and even up front that one really weird time.
08/11/2018, 1:14 AM
McNamee is definitely leaving. I had hoped we might be able to get Bolger back and would gladly swap him for McCormack but that is not an option now. I still think McCormack is a good player but Bolger would have offered us something we missed badly this year.
Bolger was basically on a two-year from last year and Bradley clearly had no intention of letting him go.
08/11/2018, 2:58 AM
Is Griffin that bad? I know he made the mistake in the cup final but anytime I've seen him (which obviously isn't an awful lot) he looks very tidy and has the physicality to mix it with any attacking player. I'd say he's one of the best full-backs in the league but apparently people can't say that anymore!
Ezeikial
08/11/2018, 5:42 AM
Is Griffin that bad? I know he made the mistake in the cup final but anytime I've seen him (which obviously isn't an awful lot) he looks very tidy and has the physicality to mix it with any attacking player. I'd say he's one of the best full-backs in the league but apparently people can't say that anymore!
Easily top 20 in the league
Griffin is an absolute liability! He's be grand as a winger but he can't defend.