View Full Version : Transfers 2019 season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26

Kingswood Rover
16/08/2019, 4:11 PM
Agree with Sbgawa, Carr was head wrecking when you saw him week in week out, nice lad by all accounts but even Carr did not know what he was doing 9 10ths of the time.

Ezeikial
16/08/2019, 5:05 PM
Dan Carr caused plenty of difficulty for Dundalk's central defenders on most of the occasions he was played at centre forward. Apart from a tendency to get easily caught offside (partially due to midfielders not playing the ball early enough) his aerial and physical threat was significant in those matches

When he played out wide, he caused little trouble except perhaps for his own full back. In the last league match in Oriel Park he left James Furlong totally exposed for most of the match before eventually getting hooked after 65 minutes.

On the evidence of those games - a decent centre forward

17/08/2019, 2:17 AM
Rovers taking on the leagues 'selling club' tag?
Never first choice for us and his contract is winding down. But we are a selling club and I think that's been made clear in the past year or so, so you'll see more players go.

17/08/2019, 2:19 AM
Dan Carr caused plenty of difficulty for Dundalk's central defenders on most of the occasions he was played at centre forward. Apart from a tendency to get easily caught offside (partially due to midfielders not playing the ball early enough) his aerial and physical threat was significant in those matches

When he played out wide, he caused little trouble except perhaps for his own full back. In the last league match in Oriel Park he left James Furlong totally exposed for most of the match before eventually getting hooked after 65 minutes.

On the evidence of those games - a decent centre forward
I wouldn't have said physicality was one of his attributes, especially against Dundalk. His main attribute is his skills and being in the right place to get on the end of moves but too often Rovers don't cut teams apart to make the best of his ability. He'll have a chance of being the main man Apollon given what I've seen from them - their hatstand wasn't great.

Asterix
17/08/2019, 10:32 AM
Carr is over in cyprus doing his medical, still a year and a half left on his contract with Rovers so should be decent enough money involved.

ToberonaTornado
17/08/2019, 10:45 AM
Carr is over in cyprus doing his medical, still a year and a half left on his contract with Rovers so should be decent enough money involved.

4 months left on his contract according to the ii soccer guy.

His deal with the Hoops is up at the end of the year, so a small fee would have to be thrashed out to facilitate the move

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/carr-nears-shock-apollon-move-38408373.html

Asterix
17/08/2019, 10:54 AM
4 months left on his contract according to the ii soccer guy.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/carr-nears-shock-apollon-move-38408373.html

Bradley said last night a year and a half.

Ezeikial
17/08/2019, 10:57 AM

Even getting a fee akin to a bag of balls would be fine for a player that (a) is out of contract shortly (b) has been regularly criticised by Bradley and (c) appears to be largely unloved by the Rovers sporting intellegensa.

It hardly compares with previous master strokes like getting c€35k from Wimbleton for Dylan Connolly or Cork pocketing a fee from Hartlepool for Denis Behan

ToberonaTornado
17/08/2019, 10:59 AM
Bradley said last night a year and a half.

No bodger Asterix,glad to hear that.

RathfarnhamHoop
17/08/2019, 11:41 AM
Carr is a good player but drifts in and out of games and might show up one game, might not the next. When he's on form he's magic but his inconsistency frustrates people, I'll be sad to see him go because hes a nice lad that can be box office but can't complain about getting a decent fee for someone that's not a guaranteed starter

Even getting a fee akin to a bag of balls would be fine for a player that (a) is out of contract shortly (b) has been regularly criticised by Bradley and (c) appears to be largely unloved by the Rovers sporting intellegensa.

It hardly compares with previous master strokes like getting c€35k from Wimbleton for Dylan Connolly or Cork pocketing a fee from Hartlepool for Denis Behan

B and C just aren't true. "shortly" is still longer than most full contract lengths in the league

Ezeikial
17/08/2019, 11:53 AM
Carr is a good player but drifts in and out of games and might show up one game, might not the next. When he's on form he's magic but his inconsistency frustrates people, I'll be sad to see him go because hes a nice lad that can be box office but can't complain about getting a decent fee for someone that's not a guaranteed starter

B and C just aren't true. "shortly" is still longer than most full contract lengths in the league

(b) has been regularly criticised by Bradley

Here is just one snippet. Many more available if you are still in denial

Stephen Bradley has told Shamrock Rovers striker Dan Carr to up his game.
https://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/dan-carr-needs-up-game-16221449

(c) appears to be largely unloved by the Rovers sporting intellegensa.

Just read back over this forum or Rovers forums for confirmation of this

marinobohs
17/08/2019, 12:06 PM

“Shortly “ clearly refers to the four months left on his contract (mentioned in earlier post), Bradley has been critical and simply didn’t play him or played him out of position (hardly a vote of confidence) and most shams on here have been negative in their view of Carr (as many opposition fans have noted with surprise)

Which of these do you think “aren’t true “ ? Or are you stating 4 months is “still longer than most full length contracts” ?

RathfarnhamHoop
17/08/2019, 12:25 PM
“Shortly “ clearly refers to the four months left on his contract (mentioned in earlier post), Bradley has been critical and simply didn’t play him or played him out of position (hardly a vote of confidence) and most shams on here have been negative in their view of Carr (as many opposition fans have noted with surprise)

Which of these do you think “aren’t true “ ? Or are you stating 4 months is “still longer than most full length contracts” ?

Same article says he was to go up to Derry too, and before Ez's post it was clarified he has a year and a half to go. His position is left wing, how have people not grasped this yet? He's a left winger that can play through the middle if needed. Hardly negative to be frustrated about a players inconsistency, similar attitude from Rovers fans towards Carr as Dundalk fans had towards Connolly if not more positive towards Carr.

(b) has been regularly criticised by Bradley

Here is just one snippet. Many more available if you are still in denial

https://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/dan-carr-needs-up-game-16221449

(c) appears to be largely unloved by the Rovers sporting intellegensa.

Just read back over this forum or Rovers forums for confirmation of this

Saying a player needs to up their game isn't criticism, and one example isn't regularly, been at the club a season and 2/3rds.

Being frustrated about a player isn't the same as him being "unloved" and a vocal minority isn't "largely"

17/08/2019, 2:28 PM
and a vocal minority isn't "largely"

And yet, in your own words, the contributions on here from a poster who supports Bohs and the same from a lad who supports Dundalk represent the thoughts and perspectives of those entire fan bases. Good man.

RathfarnhamHoop
17/08/2019, 3:08 PM
And yet, in your own words, the contributions on here from a poster who supports Bohs and the same from a lad who supports Dundalk represent the thoughts and perspectives of those entire fan bases. Good man.

The vocal minority of posters on here, jesus lads does everything need spelling out for yous?

Ezeikial
19/08/2019, 10:09 PM
Stephen Bradley sending more love out to Dan Carr

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/0819/1069764-carr-felt-he-was-bigger-than-rovers-says-bradley/

ger121
20/08/2019, 12:20 AM
Stephen Bradley sending more love out to Dan Carr

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/0819/1069764-carr-felt-he-was-bigger-than-rovers-says-bradley/

Shades of Dominic Foley to Gent with that transfer.

20/08/2019, 12:26 AM
Bradley knows exactly what he's doing - it'll go over great with the fans. I suspect it's probably 100% true as well. Bradley will still get slated over it from the usual sorts though.

joey B
20/08/2019, 8:30 AM
Dan Carr now called Bradster out,saying its a load of boll**ks what he said! Drama!!!!

CorribsideSteve
20/08/2019, 8:30 AM
Dan Carr has gone to Twitter to rubbish the claims Bradley made. Interesting. It's always hard to know who is in the right, when something like this happens.

Ezeikial
20/08/2019, 8:46 AM
Bradser playing to the Rovers fanbase here at the expense of the player?

This looks to me like a player who got an strong offer that he wanted to accept and the Rovers manager hanging him out to dry because Carr preferred the 3 year deal in Cyprus and the possibility of European group stage football to staying in Tallaght

"He just didn’t fit where we were going as a club," the Rovers manager said. "When representatives tell you that maybe his heart is not in playing for Shamrock Rovers, he’s not the right fit for you.

"People maybe think we needed to sell but we didn’t like what we heard, this club and this team and what we’re doing and what we’re building is bigger than any individual.

"If people don’t want to be part of it, no problem, we’ll shake their hand and let them walk away. That was the case with Dan.

"You don’t want people who are in the mindset of not being with the team and not being in the group.

"This club is a special club and it’s bigger than any one individual and unfortunately, that individual just felt he was a little bit bigger than us."

Dalymountrower
20/08/2019, 9:10 AM
[QUOTE=Charlie Darwin;2013270]Bradley knows exactly what he's doing - it'll go over great with the fans. I suspect it's probably 100% true as well. Bradley will still get slated over it from the usual sorts though.[/QUOTE

Bradley playing to the gallery alright. Its a great move forCarr, the fact thst he still went on twitter to rubbish Bradleys claims suggests to me that Bradley overegged the comments.I agree though, won't harm him at all.Very few players leave clubs with the good wishes of fans speeding them on their way

White Horse
20/08/2019, 9:24 AM
At times why people say something is more interesting than what they say.

The two things I took from Bradley's comments are:

1. He didn't want to lose the player.
2. Rovers got very little for him

RathfarnhamHoop
20/08/2019, 12:51 PM
At times why people say something is more interesting than what they say.

The two things I took from Bradley's comments are:

1. He didn't want to lose the player.
2. Rovers got very little for him

Don't know how you came to that conclusion for number 2.

Sounds to me from the fact Bradley previously talked about talking to Dan's representatives and not Dan himself that the agent may have deliberately twisted Dan's words and wishes when talking to Rovers to make a deal more likely.

marinobohs
20/08/2019, 2:38 PM

Sounds to me from the fact Bradley previously talked about talking to Dan's representatives and not Dan himself that the agent may have deliberately twisted Dan's words and wishes when talking to Rovers to make a deal more likely.

More likely another faux pas by Bradser, if Carr had 18 months left on his contract presumably shams got a decent fee (otherwise why release him) so happy days all round. So why would Bradser have an obvious pop at him if deal was a good one for both parties ? if he thought with Carr gone he could garner some credit from the Tallaght cavemen by slagging him off it was very silly, now needs to put up or shut up.

....get in the popcorn :cool:

20/08/2019, 2:39 PM
The likeliest answer from both is that something was said by the agent to accelerate the deal. But both can still be right.

He had been playing well and scoring well, so it's not as if he has been wanting away or indeed not being picked by Bradley.

20/08/2019, 4:51 PM

From the same place you have it seems - speculation and reading between the lines?

marinobohs
20/08/2019, 6:15 PM
From the same place you have it seems - speculation and reading between the lines?

Well, they said at the shams AGM......😂🤣

sbgawa
20/08/2019, 8:34 PM
Plenty of players have left and been wished well by the club so if bradser had a go it was for a reason.
Personally I would have left it alone , has gone end of.

20/08/2019, 8:54 PM
I think Bradley showed his hand with his obvious irritation. Ye dont want to lose players in a league run in especially when a squad is tight. Maybe there wasnt a courtesy from Carr to give Rovers a chance to convince him to stay? Maybe there were little contact at all and a deal was done - could it been done a bit over Bradley's head? If there was 18 months (?) on his contract that would mean a reasonable fee could be attained. Nobody will know until the next Rovers AGM ;)

Ezeikial
20/08/2019, 8:58 PM
Plenty of players have left and been wished well by the club so if bradser had a go it was for a reason.

Of course there was a reason for it, although it doesn't automatically follow that it was justified.

Although he has dramatically improved his record of put his foot in his mouth in media interviews recently, his long litany of previous media bloopers inevitably leads to speculation about his motives and judgement here

marinobohs
20/08/2019, 11:00 PM

That's pretty much it, why did Bradser say anything unless he was showing off to fans ?Even if Carr, his agent or his mum 😁 said he wanted to go shams had to agree (If he had 18 months left on contract). Why agree to release him if it was a bad deal for shams ?

All Bradser has done is get people asking...

21/08/2019, 6:53 AM
Fairly needless spat I thought. Don't know what Bradley thought he'd achieve by making the comments.

Carr is gone, it's done, move on.

disgruntled
21/08/2019, 9:28 AM
That's pretty much it, why did Bradser say anything unless he was showing off to fans ?Even if Carr, his agent or his mum 😁 said he wanted to go shams had to agree (If he had 18 months left on contract). Why agree to release him if it was a bad deal for shams ?

All Bradser has done is get people asking...

Bradley simply can't help himself.
You just wind him up & let him off.
Happens every time.

total hoofball
21/08/2019, 12:51 PM
I think Bradley is doing a good job at Rovers but you just know it will be his mouth that will contribute to him getting the sack at some point in the future

His comments about Carrs agreed departure were unnecessary and unprofessional

RathfarnhamHoop
21/08/2019, 1:33 PM

Except I cited reasons, Bradley only even mentions talking to representatives about the move. You just plucked something out to suit the view you want to have of the situation.

21/08/2019, 8:35 PM
Except I cited reasons, Bradley only even mentions talking to representatives about the move. You just plucked something out to suit the view you want to have of the situation.

Ugh do I really need to spell it out for you....

mcgonigle
21/08/2019, 9:07 PM

Yes you do and he still won't get it. But he will contradict himself until you get fed up and stop replying

RathfarnhamHoop
21/08/2019, 10:09 PM

Go ahead. I'd love to hear it

Ezeikial
22/08/2019, 6:57 AM
He joined us on our League of Ireland Podcast (https://www.offtheball.com/podcasts/page/1/filter?filter_selected=series-filter&series=off-the-ball-league-of-ireland-podcast&show=all) to expand on that view.

"I had 18 months left on my contract. I'm not going to ask to leave to go anywhere," he said.

"All that rubbish"

"So that wasn't the case and the bid was accepted by the club. As far as I'm concerned, that's just how I saw it.

"I don't want to go into too much detail and start stirring some more pots. That 'I said, he said, she said', all that rubbish. I sent that tweet for a reason, just to defend myself.

"Because I've had some good times here at Rovers. Everyone that knows me would know that I've never thought I'm bigger than anybody. Let alone a club. I could never think I'm bigger than Shamrock Rovers. Of course, I never portrayed that. I genuinely did love playing for Shamrock Rovers and got a lot of love from the fans."

He added that transfer movement were a normal part of football.
"This opportunity came to me and the club accepted the bid from Apollon Limassol. So yes, my time at Rovers was up I guess," he said.

Carr also said the "only disappointment was that I never got to win any silverware" at Rovers.

He also acknowledged that Bradley "helped me during my time" at the club.
"Which was a bit surprising hearing of his comments," Dan Carr continued.

"It was actually a friend that told me about the comments. When I learned of it, I said, 'What?' It's quite disappointing, to be honest. I'm not having that. Sorry, I'm not and I have to defend myself."

But he also thanked the fans for their support in the wake of the comments.

You can listen to the full Dan Carr interview on the League of Ireland podcast here (https://www.offtheball.com/podcasts/off-the-ball-league-of-ireland-podcast/otb-loi-podcast-ep-29-treacy-carr-cawley-devlin).

https://www.offtheball.com/sport/dan-carr-shamrock-rovers-896431

joey B
23/08/2019, 3:41 PM
Shamrock Rovers sign Danny Lafferty

Kiki Balboa
23/08/2019, 4:49 PM

In this and last season, Rovers competed and beat Dundalk in signing McEneff, Watts and Lafferty now. Are Dundalk not meant to be signing players on big bucks? I can't recall now any player signed by Dundalk that Rovers were in for as well (actually maybe Andy Boyle?).

Good signing for Rovers, replacemant for Clarke. Rovers have probably the collection of the biggest names in league at the moment.

23/08/2019, 5:07 PM

is the same fellow that was with Burnley?

23/08/2019, 5:34 PM
Looking more and more like Bradley wasnt kept up to speed on the deal being made by the board. His outburst may have been born out of frustration. He hasnt conceded the title obviously, nor should he, so losing a first teamer unexpectedly like that would rankle! It all happened very quickly and as Carr was showing some good form when he played.

23/08/2019, 5:37 PM
In this and last season, Rovers competed and beat Dundalk in signing McEneff, Watts and Lafferty now. Are Dundalk not meant to be signing players on big bucks? I can't recall now any player signed by Dundalk that Rovers were in for as well (actually maybe Andy Boyle?).

Good signing for Rovers, replacemant for Clarke. Rovers have probably the collection of the biggest names in league at the moment.

You could add Finn to that growing list also. The financial clout bewteen this seasons top two is nip and tuck - Rovers no longer vying for that 4th biggest budget spot!

marinobohs
23/08/2019, 8:24 PM
Another left back ? Is that now the 5 best in the League or does he take Clarke's place 😁
Love the bit "him and his wife wanted to move home" - direct bus from Derry to Tallaght now ?

sbgawa
23/08/2019, 9:45 PM
You could add Finn to that growing list also. The financial clout bewteen this seasons top two is nip and tuck - Rovers no longer vying for that 4th biggest budget spot!

If only ! We've got fees in for Bolger Car Furlong and clarke in the last couple of months and taken them off the wage bill Burke and Laverty probably balance up.

Mceneff dad is from crumlin and he has said in several interviews that family and the fact he loved playing in Tallaght was the deciding factor

oriel
23/08/2019, 9:57 PM

Rovers made a decent offer to Duffy, plus they went over to Oldham and spoke to McEleney so thats at least 2 more. I think DFC ceased interest in Lafferty once they sorted things with Jarvis two weeks ago, although he was close to leaving by all accounts. This left Dundalk with two left fulls, seems a good move by Rovers to then enter the fray and offer Lafferty a deal, good player.

wexfordned
23/08/2019, 9:58 PM
If only ! We've got fees in for Bolger Car Furlong and clarke in the last couple of months and taken them off the wage bill Burke and Laverty probably balance up.

Mceneff dad is from crumlin and he has said in several interviews that family and the fact he loved playing in Tallaght was the deciding factor
Course it is😉😉😉

I'm sure he'd play just for the love of the jersey and nothing else if you asked him🤔🤔🤔

Rovers fans must work for the dept of finance given their delusion and/or head in the sand attitude to their finances

23/08/2019, 10:29 PM

So all in all the books balanced and 4th biggest budget it remains!